Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars what jolly good fun
I bought Mary kings riding star and equestriad 2001 I would have to say equestirad is the better of the two games and easier to play. If you love horses and have always wanted to see badminton from the horses view then it's a winner. The controls arnt easy to master and it dose take a lot of hand eye coordination but other then that it's a bit of a laugh the visual...
Published on 26 Jan 2004 by georgina

versus
14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars M K R S --> Authentisim
I would like to reveiw on how authentic the feel is for this game.

Firstly, I find that it seems to be a cross controll between the horse and rider seing how it is up to you when it is best to jump and not the horse (unlike barbie and wild horse rescue where you are barbie doing all the comands but not necisarily under full controll).
Then again, you do...
Published on 23 Feb 2006 by Ferretlady858469


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars what jolly good fun, 26 Jan 2004
By 
georgina (liverpool, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mary King's Riding Star/ Equestriad (Double Pack) (PC CD) (Video Game)
I bought Mary kings riding star and equestriad 2001 I would have to say equestirad is the better of the two games and easier to play. If you love horses and have always wanted to see badminton from the horses view then it's a winner. The controls arnt easy to master and it dose take a lot of hand eye coordination but other then that it's a bit of a laugh the visual effects are great and you get a real sense of competion from the game. Mary kings riding star is confusing and the action graphics are poor compared to equestraid but again not a bad game definitely addictive if you like horses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Real Thing, 1 Sep 2003
This review is from: Mary King's Riding Star/ Equestriad (Double Pack) (PC CD) (Video Game)
If you are a horse fanatic (just like me) then you will absolutely love this game. You are able to enter competitions at world class level. You are able to become the rider and have complete control over your horse whilst competing in several different competions from beginner to experienced in dressage, show jumping and even cross country. A training arena is available whenever you feel like riding.
As well as riding, you are able to take full responsibility for your horse by looking after its every needs. I mean everything, from feeding and grooming to the job i'm sure none of us look forward to, mucking out.
Overall, it is an excellent game which i believe is as close to "the real thing" as possible. It has entertained me for hours on end and i am sure it will you to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mary King and Equestriad, 15 Feb 2004
By 
This review is from: Mary King's Riding Star/ Equestriad (Double Pack) (PC CD) (Video Game)
Equestriad is excellent and is not a game you can complete very easily. Everthing is realistic and if you are horse mad then this is the game for you. It has the weather, cheats, jockeys, horses and loads more. You can compete in dressage, show jumping and cross-country.
Mary King is not as good because it is not as realistic but this game is still good. Unlike Equestriad you get to do stable management as well as riding. I would definetly reccomend these games to anyone horse mad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Equestriad - My favourite game, 26 Jun 2005
This review is from: Mary King's Riding Star/ Equestriad (Double Pack) (PC CD) (Video Game)
I am 8 years old, horse mad and absolutely love this game. i could never find a better game about Horses. i sometimes get frustrated at the jumps and the difficulty of the dressage. By the way, we've got Windows XP but the compatability wizard in Accessories sorted that out so it plays fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 45 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth the frustration, 28 April 2004
By 
M. Andrews (South Jersey, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mary King's Riding Star/ Equestriad (Double Pack) (PC CD) (Video Game)
Equestriad 2001 -- If you can get past the frustration of the repeatingcommentary (I turn the volume off) and the "hiccups" when approachingcertain jumps (it's always the same jumps, I just ride a circle to getpast the hiccup and then go over), it's a game that certainly pays foritself in terms of challenge and enjoyment.
I am running the game on XP(contrary to advise) - I simply ran the compatability wizard (inPrograms/accessories) which downgrades XP to 98 when the game isrunning.
Riding Star - I've only played with it a couple of times - it's hard tobelieve that it's a children's game because it just seemed very confusingand slow moving... I'll take Equestriad over Riding Star anyday!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not XP compatible, 18 Aug 2005
This review is from: Mary King's Riding Star/ Equestriad (Double Pack) (PC CD) (Video Game)
My 7-year old loves these games but I had to install Equestriad on an old Pentium III with windows 98.
It DOES say on the box 'not compatible with Windows XP or Pentium 4'
The Mary King game is relatively stable on XP but Equestriad crashes repeatedly.
Works fine on older machines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Help please!, 28 Jan 2006
By 
This review is from: Mary King's Riding Star/ Equestriad (Double Pack) (PC CD) (Video Game)
On the Mary King riding star it says...Code assertion failed (null)... i think this is because it doesnt work with a pentium 4 thing! i have XP. could someone help me to work it??...equestriad works but only after I did the compactibility wizard...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars M K R S --> Authentisim, 23 Feb 2006
This review is from: Mary King's Riding Star/ Equestriad (Double Pack) (PC CD) (Video Game)
I would like to reveiw on how authentic the feel is for this game.

Firstly, I find that it seems to be a cross controll between the horse and rider seing how it is up to you when it is best to jump and not the horse (unlike barbie and wild horse rescue where you are barbie doing all the comands but not necisarily under full controll).
Then again, you do have to give your horse a push to get them jumping.

secondly, I think this is a highly appropriat game for a novice or in-active horse enthusiast, as althogh it could have more chores to do (all of the regular horsey chores insted of nearly all) it's enough for someone who is learning. A good thing is that you can groom the horse again and again.

I got well tucked into this game first time round as I had the ps1 version as a younger child which was alot of fun with my freinds.

I have a windows XP *sratches head and thinks I HOPE* It runs well but on an odd occasion or two has auto-closed or simply shuddered and mostly in mid-moovement (jumping, changing pace and sometimes in competittion!!! >:-| ). Altough, I blame this on my pc's lack of RAM or decent game card.

Perhaps you have a better PC like the one you are reading this on now?
And perhaps you will enjoy a basic horse game such as Mary King's Riding Star?

ENJOY
lu-lu
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great!, 4 Jan 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mary King's Riding Star/ Equestriad (Double Pack) (PC CD) (Video Game)
i have an xp computer and equestriad plays perfectly fine on it. the graphics are what are so good about it and the cheats are really good fun i really love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to play this game on XP, 30 May 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mary King's Riding Star/ Equestriad (Double Pack) (PC CD) (Video Game)
What you have to do is to get your pc emulate win 95 which it does quite easily by right clicking on the game .exe file and then in properties you will see an option to run your pc as a 95 or whatever for that game only ..it does work and it will stop the crashing problem

Jilly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mary King's Riding Star/ Equestriad (Double Pack) (PC CD)
Mary King's Riding Star/ Equestriad (Double Pack) (PC CD) by Focus Multimedia Ltd (Windows 2000 / 98 / Me / NT)
Used & New from: £2.21
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews