Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Performance of ethereal beauty
Chopin's Nocturnes can be played as passionate love songs or as an intimate, soul-to-soul coversation. I think Barenboim's interpretation belongs to the latter and I like his unfussy style of playing, which exudes noble poise, subtle nuances and fragile sort of beauty. The music sounds more like reflection on lost love or meditation. Just right kind of music to listen to...
Published on 17 Dec 2009 by Scriabinmahler

versus
12 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Incomplete
Though Daniel Barenboim's performance of these Nocturnes are gorgeous, the CD suffers from one fatal flaw - it is incomplete. If you are looking at this CD because you want to buy all of Chopin's Nocturnes on 1 CD then look elsewhere. This only has 11 of them out of a total of 21! I bought this CD and was disappointed. If you are just looking for more Barenboim recordings...
Published on 29 July 2012 by qazwerspoil


Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Performance of ethereal beauty, 17 Dec 2009
By 
Scriabinmahler (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Chopin: Nocturnes (Audio CD)
Chopin's Nocturnes can be played as passionate love songs or as an intimate, soul-to-soul coversation. I think Barenboim's interpretation belongs to the latter and I like his unfussy style of playing, which exudes noble poise, subtle nuances and fragile sort of beauty. The music sounds more like reflection on lost love or meditation. Just right kind of music to listen to all alone at night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I cant stop listening, 12 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chopin: Nocturnes (Audio CD)
Amazing music, the pianist Daniel Barenboim is fabulous, he plays the Noctures amazingly,
I bought 2 more CDs to give them as a christmas gift
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You can't go wrong with this one, 14 Jan 2014
By 
J. Scott-mandeville "jackie veronica" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chopin: Nocturnes (Audio CD)
If you like Chopin, the nocturnes have never been better realised than by one of the greatest pianists of our period, Daniel Barenboim. A beautiful CD and one to listen to over and over and be inspired, relaxed, and moved into a better world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved, 21 May 2013
By 
Patrick W. "Patrick W." (Haywards Heath, West Sussex) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chopin: Nocturnes (Audio CD)
I bought this for my mum's mothering sunday. She loves it and I am now going to buy it for myself as well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Incomplete, 29 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chopin: Nocturnes (Audio CD)
Though Daniel Barenboim's performance of these Nocturnes are gorgeous, the CD suffers from one fatal flaw - it is incomplete. If you are looking at this CD because you want to buy all of Chopin's Nocturnes on 1 CD then look elsewhere. This only has 11 of them out of a total of 21! I bought this CD and was disappointed. If you are just looking for more Barenboim recordings or something to have in the background, perhaps studying or relaxing then this should be a winner for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just adore Chopin love the complete nocturnes set , also sent a set to friends , wonderful to relax to , so undemanding, 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chopin: Nocturnes (Audio CD)
Just adore Chopin , love the complete Nocturnal set , also sent to friends , wonderful to relax to , so undemanding
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nocturnes by Chopin, 24 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chopin: Nocturnes (Audio CD)
Not so good as I thought they would be, but they might grow on me. A bit samey and not a lot of melody.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chopin: Nocturnes
Chopin: Nocturnes by Daniel Barenboim (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews