Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars108
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.88+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 October 2002
Following Dave Grohl's appearances this year on the Tenacious D album and as drummer on the new Queen of the Stone Age album, The ex-Nirvana man gets back to regular business with his band the Foo Fighters, and gets things going pretty quickly with rock anthem 'All My Life'.
'All My Life' is definitely the standout track, for being so heavy and for being so straight rock.
But don't get worried; there are a few more straight hard rock songs along this record as well.
'Times Like These' and 'Overdrive' stand tall above the other songs, and are as straight rock as 'All My Life'.
These are great rock songs, and mix well with the slower songs played in-between them.
This album is simply a rock album, and each song no matter how slowly it starts always soars into some sort of monstrous riff, or heavy sound, or provides a strong anthem like chorus that Grohl seems to pull off well with his powerful voice.
Every track is great, and is definitely Foo Fighters best work to date.
So if you’re a Foo Fighters fan don't hesitate in thinking about buying this, it really is great stuff.
Apart from the excellent album, the DVD that comes with this provides the funny still clip audio for 'The One' (which is a track that can only be found on the 'All My Life' single release or the Orange County soundtrack, so this is the only Foo Fighter album so far you'll hear it on), along with the unreleased video for 'Walking A Line', and the funny, but serious video for the leading track on this album, 'All My Life'.
The DVD also features a photo gallery of the band backstage, playing live and clips of them in the video for ‘All My Life’.
Going back to the CD, the inside case will give you a code to use on the Foo Fighters website to gain access to a secret site that contains exclusive songs.
So apart from the amazing album, this comes with plenty of extra features to have fun with.
Enjoy.
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2007
After reading the review about this being a copy protected disc, I wasn't sure whether to buy this album or the original version as I listen to a lot of my music on my mp3 player. I took the risk anyway as others had not mentioned it and am glad I did. Although the disc does say that it is copy protected, I had no trouble playing and ripping it to my pc using media player. It is a brilliant album and also includes a bonus disc which has some really good tracks on too. Do not miss out on this great bargain.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2002
The Foo Fighters finally follow up their highly acclaimed 1999 album 'There Is Nothing Left To Lose' with One By One. The Foos are as solid as ever, playing and sounding like the rock band they want to be.
The album opens with the forceful All My Life, which is a pure slice of rock'n'roll fun. The driving powerful guitars hit home and this is an exhilarating ride. This song is quite heavy for the Foos and the next song, Low follows suit. Low is quite simply unique and quite simply brilliant. Continuing the dark edge present in All My Life, the powerful fuzzy guitars and tribal drumming are contrasted perfectly by Grohls calm vocals. Next on the agenda is Have It All, which reminds of the Foo of old and easily is one of the strongest songs on the album. The sweeping catchy chorus and riff is perfect single material. Another song, which reminds of old Foo Fighters material, is the beautifully written Times Like These. Emotional and straight to the point, again a standout track. Disenchanted Lullaby follows with quite a misleading title. The aggressive grunge chorus (“I maybe scattered, A little Scattered…….No-one has fit like I do”) helped by Hawkins forceful drumming makes this a powerful song. A certain Queen guitarist by the name of Brian May crops up on the next track Tired Of You and adds a nice guitar track but the most surprising part of this song is just how powerful Grohls vocals can be. We find Grohl in a thoughtful, reflective mood (“is this just desire, or the truth?”) but the vocals are truly haunting and send a shiver down the spine.
The second half of the album begins with the stadium-rock of Halo. A powerful desperate chorus and deep lyrics, Halo fits nicely after Tired Of You. Again a potential hit as a single. Lonely As You is a slow burner, but a powerful track nonetheless. It grows on you and evidence of the dark edge the band seems to be exploring as well as their lighter side is present here too. A good example of Hawkins drumming ability too. Overdrive is simply an inoffensive punk rock song that’s catchy and fun. Nothing new for the Foo Fighters but then theres nothing wrong with that if its quality. An Overdrive is so no problems there. Burn Away is another slow burner but the hooky chorus and fuzzy guitars soon draw you in. The album finishes with the truly epic Comeback, almost eight minutes in length, the sound is quite raw not unlike All My Life. The album finishes as it started. As a rock’n’roll album. Sometimes the album does feel a little too produced, and there is a sense that the band could have gone for it a bit more on a few tracks but these are minor faults that in no way spoil the album. There is a constant theme in the album of different relationships through Grohls lyrics. He is progressing as a lyricist all the time and One By One is perfect evidence of this. The Foos continue to do their own thing and we should be thankful for that. Its an album that will no doubt go down well with their ever growing fan base, but will also help add a few more. Its an album which can hold its head up high next to the epic The Colour And The Shape and the Grammy winning There Is Nothing Left To Lose-and if that’s not praise I don’t know what is.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2003
It is August 24th 2002 in a Berkshire field. Dave Grohl, front man of the Foo Fighters is standing alone on the Reading Festival stage for the encore to another brilliant set. An adoring crowd is hearing, for the first time, the haunting Tired of You and realising two things: 1. Grohl's past as drummer of the legendary Nirvana, is irrelevant because at this moment, he has cemented himself as true rock legend in his own right. 2. His sabbatical from the Foos to drum for Queens of The Stone Age was no mistake, nor has it led to the predicted downfall of his band. In fact, the opposite has occurred: the experience has given him a ten-fold increase of urgency and aggression - and this album is all the better for it.
In the difficult position of writing a fourth album, Grohl has succeeded admirably, exemplified by the low-slung guitar genius of All My Life and the brilliant Low and Halo. Even the haunting ballad of Tired of You has undertones of real passion, and is possibly the best non-shouty song Grohl has ever written. It was a shrewd move to leave behind the polished more commercial sound of previous album There Is Nothing Left To Lose, and it is an ironic twist that with this album the band have been rewarded with their most commercial success yet. Although track Burn Away is a little limp and Overdrive is a less successful attempt to re-create previous track Generator, the rest of the album more than makes up for these slight inconsistencies.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2002
Following Dave Grohl's appearances this year on the Tenacious D album and as drummer on the new Queen of the Stone Age album, The ex-Nirvana man gets back to regular business with his band the Foo Fighters, and gets things going pretty quickly with rock anthem 'All My Life'.
'All My Life' is definitely the standout track, for being so heavy and for being so straight rock.
But don't get worried; there are a few more straight hard rock songs along this record as well.
'Times Like These' and 'Overdrive' stand tall above the other songs, and are as straight rock as 'All My Life'.
These are great rock songs, and mix well with the slower songs played in-between them.
This album is simply a rock album, and each song no matter how slowly it starts always soars into some sort of monstrous riff, or heavy sound, or provides a strong anthem like chorus that Grohl seems to pull off well with his powerful voice.
Every track is great, and is definitely Foo Fighters best work to date.
So if you're a Foo Fighters fan don't hesitate in thinking about buying this, it really is great stuff.
Apart from the excellent album, the DVD that comes with this provides the funny still clip audio for 'The One' (which is a track that can only be found on the 'All My Life' single release or the Orange County soundtrack, so this is the only Foo Fighter album so far you'll hear it on), along with the unreleased video for 'Walking A Line', and the funny, but serious video for the leading track on this album, 'All My Life'.
The DVD also features a photo gallery of the band backstage, playing live and clips of them in the video for 'All My Life'.
Going back to the CD, the inside case will give you a code to use on the Foo Fighters website to gain access to a secret site that contains exclusive songs.
So apart from the amazing album, this comes with plenty of extra features to have fun with.
Enjoy.
11 comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2006
When I first heard this it became my favourite, why? Because it rocks alot more than it's previous effort but after a couple more listens something clicks and it's not the songs. All My Life is the best open the foo's had done till then and the next 4 songs are brilliant. The some reason the second half of the album seems rushed with only Overdrive and Come Back being the songs that foo fans love to hear. Times Like These would have been a classic if it was released in the age of power ballads and Low has the best drumming from Taylor yet proving why he's worthy of the foo's. A great album but just wished they could've made more in your face and the longievity would have been alot long.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2003
Firstly, i am a huge Foo's fan, i've been to countless gigs and own everything they've ever released, so i was a bit dissapointed listening to this album after hearing all the hype.
The album starts well with the stomping 'All My Life', did'nt like it at first but it really grew on me!
'Low' is an good track, sounds different to any Foo's track but i feel does'nt quite work.
'Have It All' and 'Times Like These' are excellent standout tracks, as good as anything they've produced with a real sense of progression in the Foo's actual sound!
And after that 'Disenchanted Lullaby' and Tired Of You' are a REAL dissapointment, very boring slow tracks that go nowhere, tracks which sound like they might just make it as b-sides!!
'Halo' and 'Lonley As You' are average Foo's tracks which have some quite good moments tucked away.
'Overdrive' is another track which should'nt have made the album. It's too chirpy, does'nt sound like a Foo's song, i actually found it quite annoying!
'Burn Away'. Another average mid-tempo track with an o.k guitar hook and melody which i expected them to step up toward the end but did'nt.
'Comeback' pretty much saves the end of this album, an excellent epic track with a well placed breakdown in the middle which i did'nt expect to hear! Brilliant acoustic lead play which stirs and builds up to a crashing end.
Overall i'd say this is by no means a bad album. It has some definite sounds of progression and song writing maturity. let's put it this way, if it was an unknown band's debut, i probably would have given the album 4, maybe 5 stars! But with only 4 classic tracks it's not what i'd expect from a band of the Foofighters quality.
If you like the Foo's, by all means buy the album, but if you were expecting 'The Colour And The Shape mark 2' or something better, you will be disapointed.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2002
I've had this album a few days now and it is definitely growing on me. i'm a big foos fan so i'll try not to be too blinkered:
the album has some fantastic songs on it. the pounding "all my life", "have it all" and "times like these" are easily five star material. "tired of you" is stripped down foos revealing dave grohl at his most vulnerable. it works powerfully as it is a heartfelt song but with no drums. "come back" - the last song on the album is brilliant - not least through the way in which the first 5 minutes are muscular then wonderfully chilled to a growling finale. Some of the songs on the album don't seem as immediate as they could be, but then again all the albums i've really come to cherish take a bit of listening to hear the hidden gems tucked away in the depths. maybe the four stars will turn to five as i've had more time....
the playing and production is really tight. I'd recommend getting the limited edition cd/dvd version if you're a bona fide fan. The music video for "all my life" is really good and the song "the one" is a belter too. plus the foos are one of the most watchable bands about and very charismatic.
to sum up: worth buying for the great songs on the album - stick with it to get under the skin of the other tracks and who knows in a week or two you may be sleeping with it under your pillow. real good!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2003
I got this album free on a buy-one-get-one-free deal, and wasn't even going to listen to it. How glad am I that I did? I was expecting one of those intensely irrtating Nirvana spin-offs with screaming voices and guitars and nothing else, but this is compltely different. Dave Grohl has a versatile voice which can range between throaty screams and soft vocals, as shown on the brilliant 'Tired of You'. This album had plenty of variety and 'light and shade' ie alternation between heavy rock and soft sweet vocals. The only reason it would not get 5 stars is that, in comparison to some of the really great tracks like 'Disenchanted Lullaby', 'Tired of You', 'Come Back' and 'All My life', songs like 'Low' and 'Lonely as You' are a real let down, sounding flat and lacking the exuberance of some of the other songs.
However that's not to say it is a bad album; far from it, one of the best that I own. The Foo Fighters have progressed so much from their earlier music, lyriclly and instrumentally, and I think this album serves to highlight how much work they have put in. Definately worth buying.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2003
The latest installment from the foos is very good indeed. it doesnt quite reach the heights that Nothing Left To Lose did but i never expected it to! How can u follow the greatest rock record ever? Well they'v made a damn good effort at least!! All My Life is one of the best Foos songs and Times Like These is very uplifting (and DG's fave song). the only bad song on the album is Burn Away. Low shows a darker side to the normal "happy" foos we all know and love and the bendy guitar riff on Have It All is a delight! Disenchanted Lullaby shows off DG's screaming talents and Tired Of You once again shows a mellower side of the foos. They do make good mellow songs tho! Halo is a great song, it starts off with a kind of folk guitar sound but is very catchy. On the whole this album is heavier than the last album but not quite on the same level. Ive been listening to the Foos since god knows when and Dave's vocals have definitely improved. If You own the other three albums then why not complete a great quintet? If you dont, buy it anyway cus it still rocks!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)