Customer Reviews


95 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One by One hidden up my sleeve...
Following Dave Grohl's appearances this year on the Tenacious D album and as drummer on the new Queen of the Stone Age album, The ex-Nirvana man gets back to regular business with his band the Foo Fighters, and gets things going pretty quickly with rock anthem 'All My Life'.
'All My Life' is definitely the standout track, for being so heavy and for being so straight...
Published on 25 Oct 2002 by dangee_hotshot

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what i was hoping for.
Firstly, i am a huge Foo's fan, i've been to countless gigs and own everything they've ever released, so i was a bit dissapointed listening to this album after hearing all the hype.
The album starts well with the stomping 'All My Life', did'nt like it at first but it really grew on me!
'Low' is an good track, sounds different to any Foo's track but i feel...
Published on 24 Nov 2003 by James hill


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One by One hidden up my sleeve..., 25 Oct 2002
By 
This review is from: One By One (Audio CD)
Following Dave Grohl's appearances this year on the Tenacious D album and as drummer on the new Queen of the Stone Age album, The ex-Nirvana man gets back to regular business with his band the Foo Fighters, and gets things going pretty quickly with rock anthem 'All My Life'.
'All My Life' is definitely the standout track, for being so heavy and for being so straight rock.
But don't get worried; there are a few more straight hard rock songs along this record as well.
'Times Like These' and 'Overdrive' stand tall above the other songs, and are as straight rock as 'All My Life'.
These are great rock songs, and mix well with the slower songs played in-between them.
This album is simply a rock album, and each song no matter how slowly it starts always soars into some sort of monstrous riff, or heavy sound, or provides a strong anthem like chorus that Grohl seems to pull off well with his powerful voice.
Every track is great, and is definitely Foo Fighters best work to date.
So if you’re a Foo Fighters fan don't hesitate in thinking about buying this, it really is great stuff.
Apart from the excellent album, the DVD that comes with this provides the funny still clip audio for 'The One' (which is a track that can only be found on the 'All My Life' single release or the Orange County soundtrack, so this is the only Foo Fighter album so far you'll hear it on), along with the unreleased video for 'Walking A Line', and the funny, but serious video for the leading track on this album, 'All My Life'.
The DVD also features a photo gallery of the band backstage, playing live and clips of them in the video for ‘All My Life’.
Going back to the CD, the inside case will give you a code to use on the Foo Fighters website to gain access to a secret site that contains exclusive songs.
So apart from the amazing album, this comes with plenty of extra features to have fun with.
Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Copy Protection?, 13 Sep 2007
By 
Jon1001 (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: One By One (Audio CD)
After reading the review about this being a copy protected disc, I wasn't sure whether to buy this album or the original version as I listen to a lot of my music on my mp3 player. I took the risk anyway as others had not mentioned it and am glad I did. Although the disc does say that it is copy protected, I had no trouble playing and ripping it to my pc using media player. It is a brilliant album and also includes a bonus disc which has some really good tracks on too. Do not miss out on this great bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dave Grohl and co return with a brilliant fourth album, 21 Oct 2002
This review is from: One By One (Audio CD)
The Foo Fighters finally follow up their highly acclaimed 1999 album 'There Is Nothing Left To Lose' with One By One. The Foos are as solid as ever, playing and sounding like the rock band they want to be.
The album opens with the forceful All My Life, which is a pure slice of rock'n'roll fun. The driving powerful guitars hit home and this is an exhilarating ride. This song is quite heavy for the Foos and the next song, Low follows suit. Low is quite simply unique and quite simply brilliant. Continuing the dark edge present in All My Life, the powerful fuzzy guitars and tribal drumming are contrasted perfectly by Grohls calm vocals. Next on the agenda is Have It All, which reminds of the Foo of old and easily is one of the strongest songs on the album. The sweeping catchy chorus and riff is perfect single material. Another song, which reminds of old Foo Fighters material, is the beautifully written Times Like These. Emotional and straight to the point, again a standout track. Disenchanted Lullaby follows with quite a misleading title. The aggressive grunge chorus (“I maybe scattered, A little Scattered…….No-one has fit like I do”) helped by Hawkins forceful drumming makes this a powerful song. A certain Queen guitarist by the name of Brian May crops up on the next track Tired Of You and adds a nice guitar track but the most surprising part of this song is just how powerful Grohls vocals can be. We find Grohl in a thoughtful, reflective mood (“is this just desire, or the truth?”) but the vocals are truly haunting and send a shiver down the spine.
The second half of the album begins with the stadium-rock of Halo. A powerful desperate chorus and deep lyrics, Halo fits nicely after Tired Of You. Again a potential hit as a single. Lonely As You is a slow burner, but a powerful track nonetheless. It grows on you and evidence of the dark edge the band seems to be exploring as well as their lighter side is present here too. A good example of Hawkins drumming ability too. Overdrive is simply an inoffensive punk rock song that’s catchy and fun. Nothing new for the Foo Fighters but then theres nothing wrong with that if its quality. An Overdrive is so no problems there. Burn Away is another slow burner but the hooky chorus and fuzzy guitars soon draw you in. The album finishes with the truly epic Comeback, almost eight minutes in length, the sound is quite raw not unlike All My Life. The album finishes as it started. As a rock’n’roll album. Sometimes the album does feel a little too produced, and there is a sense that the band could have gone for it a bit more on a few tracks but these are minor faults that in no way spoil the album. There is a constant theme in the album of different relationships through Grohls lyrics. He is progressing as a lyricist all the time and One By One is perfect evidence of this. The Foos continue to do their own thing and we should be thankful for that. Its an album that will no doubt go down well with their ever growing fan base, but will also help add a few more. Its an album which can hold its head up high next to the epic The Colour And The Shape and the Grammy winning There Is Nothing Left To Lose-and if that’s not praise I don’t know what is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Grohly's done it again..., 8 Jun 2003
This review is from: One By One (Audio CD)
It is August 24th 2002 in a Berkshire field. Dave Grohl, front man of the Foo Fighters is standing alone on the Reading Festival stage for the encore to another brilliant set. An adoring crowd is hearing, for the first time, the haunting Tired of You and realising two things: 1. Grohl's past as drummer of the legendary Nirvana, is irrelevant because at this moment, he has cemented himself as true rock legend in his own right. 2. His sabbatical from the Foos to drum for Queens of The Stone Age was no mistake, nor has it led to the predicted downfall of his band. In fact, the opposite has occurred: the experience has given him a ten-fold increase of urgency and aggression - and this album is all the better for it.
In the difficult position of writing a fourth album, Grohl has succeeded admirably, exemplified by the low-slung guitar genius of All My Life and the brilliant Low and Halo. Even the haunting ballad of Tired of You has undertones of real passion, and is possibly the best non-shouty song Grohl has ever written. It was a shrewd move to leave behind the polished more commercial sound of previous album There Is Nothing Left To Lose, and it is an ironic twist that with this album the band have been rewarded with their most commercial success yet. Although track Burn Away is a little limp and Overdrive is a less successful attempt to re-create previous track Generator, the rest of the album more than makes up for these slight inconsistencies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One by One hidden up my sleeve..., 21 Oct 2002
By 
This review is from: One By One (Audio CD)
Following Dave Grohl's appearances this year on the Tenacious D album and as drummer on the new Queen of the Stone Age album, The ex-Nirvana man gets back to regular business with his band the Foo Fighters, and gets things going pretty quickly with rock anthem 'All My Life'.
'All My Life' is definitely the standout track, for being so heavy and for being so straight rock.
But don't get worried; there are a few more straight hard rock songs along this record as well.
'Times Like These' and 'Overdrive' stand tall above the other songs, and are as straight rock as 'All My Life'.
These are great rock songs, and mix well with the slower songs played in-between them.
This album is simply a rock album, and each song no matter how slowly it starts always soars into some sort of monstrous riff, or heavy sound, or provides a strong anthem like chorus that Grohl seems to pull off well with his powerful voice.
Every track is great, and is definitely Foo Fighters best work to date.
So if you're a Foo Fighters fan don't hesitate in thinking about buying this, it really is great stuff.
Apart from the excellent album, the DVD that comes with this provides the funny still clip audio for 'The One' (which is a track that can only be found on the 'All My Life' single release or the Orange County soundtrack, so this is the only Foo Fighter album so far you'll hear it on), along with the unreleased video for 'Walking A Line', and the funny, but serious video for the leading track on this album, 'All My Life'.
The DVD also features a photo gallery of the band backstage, playing live and clips of them in the video for 'All My Life'.
Going back to the CD, the inside case will give you a code to use on the Foo Fighters website to gain access to a secret site that contains exclusive songs.
So apart from the amazing album, this comes with plenty of extra features to have fun with.
Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars they still have it......, 25 Oct 2002
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One By One (Audio CD)
I've had this album a few days now and it is definitely growing on me. i'm a big foos fan so i'll try not to be too blinkered:
the album has some fantastic songs on it. the pounding "all my life", "have it all" and "times like these" are easily five star material. "tired of you" is stripped down foos revealing dave grohl at his most vulnerable. it works powerfully as it is a heartfelt song but with no drums. "come back" - the last song on the album is brilliant - not least through the way in which the first 5 minutes are muscular then wonderfully chilled to a growling finale. Some of the songs on the album don't seem as immediate as they could be, but then again all the albums i've really come to cherish take a bit of listening to hear the hidden gems tucked away in the depths. maybe the four stars will turn to five as i've had more time....
the playing and production is really tight. I'd recommend getting the limited edition cd/dvd version if you're a bona fide fan. The music video for "all my life" is really good and the song "the one" is a belter too. plus the foos are one of the most watchable bands about and very charismatic.
to sum up: worth buying for the great songs on the album - stick with it to get under the skin of the other tracks and who knows in a week or two you may be sleeping with it under your pillow. real good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unexpected, 17 May 2003
This review is from: One By One (Audio CD)
I got this album free on a buy-one-get-one-free deal, and wasn't even going to listen to it. How glad am I that I did? I was expecting one of those intensely irrtating Nirvana spin-offs with screaming voices and guitars and nothing else, but this is compltely different. Dave Grohl has a versatile voice which can range between throaty screams and soft vocals, as shown on the brilliant 'Tired of You'. This album had plenty of variety and 'light and shade' ie alternation between heavy rock and soft sweet vocals. The only reason it would not get 5 stars is that, in comparison to some of the really great tracks like 'Disenchanted Lullaby', 'Tired of You', 'Come Back' and 'All My life', songs like 'Low' and 'Lonely as You' are a real let down, sounding flat and lacking the exuberance of some of the other songs.
However that's not to say it is a bad album; far from it, one of the best that I own. The Foo Fighters have progressed so much from their earlier music, lyriclly and instrumentally, and I think this album serves to highlight how much work they have put in. Definately worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "One By One" the Foos Are Producing Great Rock Records!, 10 Sep 2003
This review is from: One By One (Audio CD)
The latest installment from the foos is very good indeed. it doesnt quite reach the heights that Nothing Left To Lose did but i never expected it to! How can u follow the greatest rock record ever? Well they'v made a damn good effort at least!! All My Life is one of the best Foos songs and Times Like These is very uplifting (and DG's fave song). the only bad song on the album is Burn Away. Low shows a darker side to the normal "happy" foos we all know and love and the bendy guitar riff on Have It All is a delight! Disenchanted Lullaby shows off DG's screaming talents and Tired Of You once again shows a mellower side of the foos. They do make good mellow songs tho! Halo is a great song, it starts off with a kind of folk guitar sound but is very catchy. On the whole this album is heavier than the last album but not quite on the same level. Ive been listening to the Foos since god knows when and Dave's vocals have definitely improved. If You own the other three albums then why not complete a great quintet? If you dont, buy it anyway cus it still rocks!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Foos come of age at last, 21 Oct 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: One By One (Audio CD)
Having seen half of the songs on "One by One" performed live at this years Reading festival, it was with great anticipation that I awaited this new album, and the good news is, it does not dissapoint. 1997's "The Colour and the Shape" had tapped on the bands potential, but had one too many fillers in the middle, while 1999's overrated "There is nothing Left to Lose" was a better album, but somehow lacked the punch we have come to expect from Grohl and his cohorts. With their forth album "One by One", we get the best of both worlds, a riff heavy begginning which slows, then builds up to a truly awesome finish.
Its not unusual for an album from Mr. Grohl and co to start explosively, but the opening four songs on "One by One" are truly exceptional. As well as this, its the diversity of these songs that particularly impresses. All my Life, with its crunching QOTSA influenced riff youve heard already, jumps to the very moody "Low" which features some classic foo riffing, and then on to "Have It All", surely the albums biggest grower. Then comes "Times Tike These", which Grohl himself describes as the best song hes ever written, and he may not be too far off the mark. It will surely be released as a single at some stage. Then comes "Disenchanted Lullabye" & "Tired of You" (the latter featuring a great guitar cameo from Brian May). These two songs both build up nicely in classic Foo Fighters style, Lullabye has a very trippy feel, while the beautiful "Tired" is a sparse, dreamy guitar/vocal ballad(?) reminisant of "walking after you". As with every foos album, the late mid part of the record reverts to a few Foo standards, which showcase the Foos ever present pop sensibility, the pick of which is the superb "overdrive", but the band truly save the best till last with the magnificent "Come Back". On this track the band finally prove themselves as more than just riff masters with a 4 minute instrumental middle section that builds and builds untill it blows your doors off! Undoubtedly the best closer to any Foos album, Dave might have to reassess his earlier "Best song ive ever written" statement.
All in all the best Foo Fighters album to date, and the one I have been waiting to hear for 5 years. However, with media speculation of the bands demise, and the ongoung Love/Nirvana saga, it has risen from unlikely circumstances. There are plenty of blatant references to this in the lyrics to be found, but what makes this album stand out is the 11 stunning songs that the mand put together in an amazing 3 weeks. Fans of the Foos should rejoice, while fans of great rock music should do likewise. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Back To Rock But Something Ain't Right, 27 Jan 2006
By 
RICHARD RAYFIELD "hellheads" (Swanscombe, Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: One By One (Audio CD)
When I first heard this it became my favourite, why? Because it rocks alot more than it's previous effort but after a couple more listens something clicks and it's not the songs. All My Life is the best open the foo's had done till then and the next 4 songs are brilliant. The some reason the second half of the album seems rushed with only Overdrive and Come Back being the songs that foo fans love to hear. Times Like These would have been a classic if it was released in the age of power ballads and Low has the best drumming from Taylor yet proving why he's worthy of the foo's. A great album but just wished they could've made more in your face and the longievity would have been alot long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

One By One
One By One by Foo Fighters (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews