Customer Reviews


91 Reviews
5 star:
 (69)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Feeder Are Back!!
You must own this album. It's typical Feeder with the slightest of changes.
Feeder used to put 2 and 2 together and get 4, now they have put 3 and 1 together and got the same result - a great album by the best British band around. The slight change in sound comes from more electronic and background sounds, which gives a new dimension to songs.
A more restrained...
Published on 23 Oct 2002 by Mr. M. Davies

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stick to the standard CD
Most of what is good and bad about this album has already been said. It contains some absolutely stunning songs filled with emotion. Forget About Tomorrow and Just The Way I'm Feeling still really hit the spot for me. There's a couple of useless throwaway moments that let the side down but that's what the skip button is there for.
What is a real let down is the SACD...
Published on 16 Feb 2005 by J. Milner


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Feeder Are Back!!, 23 Oct 2002
By 
Mr. M. Davies "mad_michael" (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Comfort in Sound (Audio CD)
You must own this album. It's typical Feeder with the slightest of changes.
Feeder used to put 2 and 2 together and get 4, now they have put 3 and 1 together and got the same result - a great album by the best British band around. The slight change in sound comes from more electronic and background sounds, which gives a new dimension to songs.
A more restrained affair than previous albums, Comfort In Sound sees more of Feeder's slower songs similar to classic Feeder tracks such as Yesterday Went Too Soon and Satellite News. These types of songs really show Grant's song writing abilities and musical talent. However there are moments of Feeder's powerful songs such as Seven Days In The Sun and Insomnia.
Picking out a best track is an impossible task. Opener 'Just The Way I Feel' sets the feel for the whole album and shows the feeling of loss surrounding Jon Lee's death (many tracks are related to loss or wanting somebody back). Tracks such as Forget About Tomorrow, with it's opening sounding similar to U2's Beautiful Day, and Love Pollution also stand out. The best two tracks have to be the title track, Comfort In Sound, and closing track, Moonshine. Both of which should become classic songs and at least one will appear as a single in the near future.
Brilliant as Comfort In Sound may be, it has its faults. Godzilla sounds like a song put together quickly, and not like the carefully constructed sound of most Feeder songs. Little things also let the album down slightly, putting the beautiful Quick Fade after Godzilla doesn't fit somehow, and leaves the song seeming out of place and taking something away from the song.
Is this Feeder's best album? Almost. It is almost a perfect album, but in places doesn't rise to the heights of Yesterday Went Too Soon. However, the band will probably be most remembered for Comfort In Sound because of the death of Jon Lee. It's Feeder's equivalent of the Manic's Everything Must Go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Feeder discover melody, 7 Jan 2003
This review is from: Comfort in Sound (Audio CD)
Feeder have always bursted with promise. Finally, they have moved on from the bubble-gum pop-rock of Buck Rogers, the kind of music that requires little talent, a three chord riff and scarce more than a bucket of adrenaline. Having been held back creatively by the constraints of such a genre, it is a relief to see they have matured into the arena of rock. Whether it was the death of drummer Jon Lee that inspired frontman Grant Nicholas' emergence as a songwriter of delirious talent is unimportant, though there has never been more emotion of the heart-on-sleeve variety exhibited on a Feeder recording to date which indicates that Lee's death had something to do with it. This is poignant stuff indeed.
Tracks such as the opener 'Just the Way I'm Feeling', 'Forget About Tomorrow' and 'Summer's Gone' reveal how Nicholas is revelling in his new found love-affair with melody - this material really is a world apart from previous albums. Feeder do not forget their roots though, and rather than rapping their riffing in the kind of thrashing noise associated with American rockers Sum 41 and Blink 182, the band have produced intelligent riffs and packaged them into slick, carefully crafted songs such as 'Come Back Around' and 'Helium'. Such bands as Hundred Reasons could learn much from these tracks.
Admittedly, the material becomes weaker towards the end of the album, 'Quick Fade' and 'Find the Colour' are reasonable but ultimately forgettable. However, the final song of the album, 'Moonshine', is arguably the best. Merging touching melody with driving riffs and Nicholas' best vocal performance, this track is outstanding. Nicholas cries 'its only you, only for you', and if it were not delivered with such intimacy it wouldn't work. Like the rest of the album, however, it works beautifully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Feeder are back & better than ever!, 26 Dec 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Comfort in Sound (Audio CD)
When drummer Jon Lee died last year, I thought it was the end of Feeder. Their new album 'Comfort In Sound' is a rather lyrically dark album which basicly is a tribute to Jon.
When 'Echo Park' was released, I was a little dissapointed. It was a rushed album and I feel that Grant, Taka and Jon were pressurised by their label to produce an album. The outcome was an album with a few good tracks and the rest poor. The 'Just A Day' EP released afterwards gave the impression that Feeder were on the up.
'Comfort In Sound' is a trully excellent album because Grant and Taka wanted to make this album and did it in their own time, the result is a very complete and enjoyable album. It kicks off with the second single 'Just The Way I'm Feeling' which for me is the best song on the track - it reminds me of the early days of 'Polythene' where everything was simple and straight forward. Other standout tracks include 'Come Back Around', which is typical Feeder rock-anthem, 'Child In You', 'Forget About Tommorrow' and 'Love Pollution'.
Songs are quite slow in places, but for me I prefer this as it brings the best out of Feeder: think of 'High'. This really is a MUST-GET album for all 'rock' fans. I the next couple of years, people will really start to appreciate this album as Feeder's greatest!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Panoramic comfort, 21 Oct 2002
By 
This review is from: Comfort in Sound (Audio CD)
Having listened to the online streaming version of Comfort in Sound several times over the past few days, my expectations for the album were set fairly low, but I've proved to myself that you can't trust your ears. This album wasn't made to be subjected to the lo-fi constraints of computer speakers. It's a beautiful walk through Feeder's main influences (Smashing Pumpkins & Eels particularly) with renewed emphasis on what took the band to the place they now occupy after the overly-commercial moments of Echo Park. The production is flawless, reminiscent of a classic Beatles moment or two. And though the opening strains of Just the Way I'm Feeling threaten Oasis-style indie, by the time you reach the chorus it's obvious this is real feeder and not subject to the misplaced direction that resulted in the title track of Yesterday Went Too Soon. Other highlights include the out-and-out distortion of 'Helium' and the astonishingly beautiful 'Forget About Tomorrow', one of the finest moments the band have enjoyed to date. If the string arrangement of the latter doesn't move you, your soul is dead. Mark Richardson's drumming is superb throughout the record, particularly on the Foo Fighters-esque 'Come Back Around'. There are a few weak moments where Feeder's legendary B-sides ought to have replaced album tracks, such as on Find the Colour, but other than that, this is a much much better album than Echo Park, a more honest snapshot of the band that was, even though they're now without an original member. Comfort in Sound will be a classic album in years to come where the previous album does not sound fresh today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars tragic but justified, 21 Nov 2002
This review is from: Comfort in Sound (Audio CD)
A lot has been made of Jon Lee's tragic suicide this year and almost inevitably 'Comfort in Sound' doesn't follow the path of - the largely successful - 'Echo Park' and its bubble-glam sensibilities and in many ways is all the better for it.

After an emotional return to the live circuit at the Reading and Leeds Festivals earlier this year this record (Feeders fourth long-player) finds Grant and Taka inhabiting a darker, highly emotional and deeply personal place. Many people would have expected the boys to pack it all in, but Feeder continued as a tribute to Jon, themselves and not least the fans. What people can't have expected is just how goods this collection is. A step on musically, yes, but only as a development of their own inimitable style.
"Just The Way I'm Feeling" recalls the strings and scope of 'Yesterday Went Too Soon' but is more heartfelt and honest. As an opener it's a strong indication of the bands intent, with Grant's voice peering over layers of typical Feeder melody. "Love in love out / find the feeling.". Current single "Come Back Around"; (come on you know it), it's the one that sounds a bit like the Foo Fighters only better, is an emotional burst back to form. Title track "Comfort in Sound" is a little like 'Echo Park's' stand out 'Piece by Piece' crossed with 'High', "We fall right in / and suffer our sins". Another indication of the power one of the most under rated bands in the U.K can convey.
"Forget About Tommorrow" is classic Feeder, another gorgeous tune with those mammoth sized strings that builds on waves of hooks and melody. "Child in You" is an ode to lost times, while "Godzilla" changes direction toward, b-side 'Divebomb' and 'Bug'. A strange break in preceding's.
"Love Pollution" is in all honesty one of, if not the, best tracks Nicholas has penned, with its descending guitar motif, a tune to die for and the multi-layered effects recalling an "Achtung Baby" U2. Matched only by unbelievable closer 'Moonshine'. Grant Nicholas was voted in Kerrang 1997, as the 14th most important musician in the U.K after this that list may need revising.
Instead of mixing an matching different styles and paces, Feeder seem to have found a consistency missing since 'Polythene' and matured into a sound of an epic scale. Those expecting more hi- octane belters in the vein of, 'Insomnia' or 'Evergreen' will be pleasantly surprised rather than disappointed. Imagine an album crammed full of the anthemic tunes that have graced the previous three records and multiply it by 10 and you'll get the gist. Whereas 'Echo Park' was a decidedly patchy affair, C.I.S is a collection of songs guaranteed to have you humming along and investing in a new air guitar.
One of the most important releases of the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Streets ahead of 'Echo Park', 8 Jun 2003
By 
Stephen Siragher "therajman" (Wakefield, West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Comfort in Sound (Audio CD)
Though Feeder's previous album 'Echo Park' contained some excellent tracks ('Just a Day', 'Buck Rogers', 'Turn'), it doesn't even come close to the latest offering, a far maturer, better realised album which contains both melancholic and upbeat tracks.
The singles 'Just the Way I'm Feeling' and 'Forget About Tomorrow' are epics in every sense, piling on the strings and guitars below an excellent lead vocalist in Grant Nicholas, particularly the latter. Considering Feeder are not known for their string writing Nicholas pulls out all the stops in maintaining an atmosphere of beauty without resorting to overblown stadium rock. The album has it's rockier moments, particularly the insistent 'Helium' with more distortion than heard elsewhere on the record, and 'Come Back Around', harking back to 'Just A Day' with similar guitar riffs.
The record really comes into its own however in the final tracks. After the brief diversion that is 'Godzilla', a ridiculous 2 minutes of distortion and shouting that just about works, Nicholas pours his heart out to a departed friend, most probably Feeder's former drummer, in 'Quick Fade', before emerging into daylight with the poppy 'Find The Colour'. 'Love Pollution' and 'Moonshine' are probably the best two tracks, slower and again epic, the latter track clocking in at over six minutes.
Nicholas' songwriting has matured unbelievably since 'Echo Park', both lyrically and melodically, and by taking things slower and thinking about arrangements in more depth, he and his band have produced an excellent album of intelligent rock music that leaves the listener eager for new material. A great all-round buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Impressive 4th Album, 26 Oct 2002
This review is from: Comfort in Sound (Audio CD)
I bought this album on the day of its release hoping it would be as good as the excellent Echo Park. I Wasn't Dissapointed. Comfort in Sound starts off with 'Just The Way I'm Feeling' which, despite sounding like Wonderwall by Oasis at the start still manages to work its way into an epic track. The first single 'Come Back Around' is also brilliant, it combines the pop rock catchiness of Buck Rogers with the type of lyrical excellence we've never really heard before. 'Helium' is nothing too specail, though it has its moments but 'Child In You' is a quality song. The title track is very good with a soaring chorus and Grant Nicolas lyrical genius. Don't bet against 'Comfort in Sound' being a single. Next comes probably my favorite track on the album 'Forget About Tommorow' (even though it starts off like U2's Beuatiful Day). Its a haunting track that never gets dull, which is so beautiful and so epic it has got to be one of the best Feeder songs ever. 'Summers Gone' sounds like Muse, only lighter and 'Godzilla' is rocking and loud, a touch too loud for most Feeder fans I'd say. 'Quick Fade' has wonderful lyrics and 'Find The Colour' is a poppy little number. 'Love Pollution' is another of my favorites becuase of its great chorus. The album ends on the almost 7 minute long track 'Moonshine'. Overall this album is good but after hearing it the whole way through you wonder, where's the poppy rock like Buck Rogers or the fast riffing thriller like Just a Day, however the album makes up for its lack of riff with its many excellent ballads
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brilliant, 20 Mar 2003
This review is from: Comfort in Sound (Audio CD)
I'm not going to pretend I knew a lot about Feeder before this album came out. Granted, I'd heard Buck Rogers a lot but to be honest I'd thought it was by by Sum 41. (Don't ask me why). But this album... wow it's amazing. I bought it straight away on hearing 'Just the Way I'm Feeling', and I can truly say that this just makes me feel (see what I did there) like I'm let into the artist's head and allowed to roam around a bit to see all his thoughts. Which after all, is what music should about, isn't it? In my opinion the best songs on here are the afore mentioned 'Just the Way I'm Feeling' the emotinally charged 'Comfort in Sound' and the classically rocky 'Helium.' There are moments of Lifehouse, Muse, Remy Zero and even... actually I can't think of anymore... but let me just say that this is a wonderful album that you can hear an unlimited number of times and feel something different every listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 6 Sep 2003
This review is from: Comfort in Sound (Audio CD)
Having listened to the online streaming version of Comfort in Sound several times over the past few days, my expectations for the album were set fairly low, but I've proved to myself that you can't trust your ears. This album wasn't made to be subjected to the lo-fi constraints of computer speakers. It's a beautiful walk through Feeder's main influences (Smashing Pumpkins & Eels particularly) with renewed emphasis on what took the band to the place they now occupy after the overly-commercial moments of Echo Park. The production is flawless, reminiscent of a classic Beatles moment or two. And though the opening strains of Just the Way I'm Feeling threaten Oasis-style indie, by the time you reach the chorus it's obvious this is real feeder and not subject to the misplaced direction that resulted in the title track of Yesterday Went Too Soon. Other highlights include the out-and-out distortion of 'Helium' and the astonishingly beautiful 'Forget About Tomorrow', one of the finest moments the band have enjoyed to date. If the string arrangement of the latter doesn't move you, your soul is dead. Mark Richardson's drumming is superb throughout the record, particularly on the Foo Fighters-esque 'Come Back Around'. There are a few weak moments where Feeder's legendary B-sides ought to have replaced album tracks, such as on Find the Colour, but other than that, this is a much much better album than Echo Park, a more honest snapshot of the band that was, even though they're now without an original member. Comfort in Sound will be a classic album in years to come where the previous album does not sound fresh today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forget About Yesterday, 24 Jun 2003
This review is from: Comfort in Sound (Audio CD)
Feeder's fourth album is disconcertingly feelgood-after all, it was made soon after the tragic suicide of former drummer Jon Lee. So you would expect it to be a million miles away from the jubilant anthemic rock of it's predecessor, Echo Park. But it's not. An album which Grant Nicholas could justifiably have filled with angst is instead a beautiful, upbeat record that seeps into you and fills you with joy.
It begins with the magnificent Just the Way I'm Feeling-personally, I think it's one of the best songs ever written, and while the lyrics are not poetry, they have notieably progressed from the simple-but-catchy refrains on Echo Park. The song is full of passion and is complemented by a beautiful melody.
Next is Come Back Around-released as a single and very good but not really one of my favourite songs on the album, which just proves how good this record is. Then it's the grungy Helium, a great catchy song which would not have looked out of place on Echo Park.
The fourth track is Child in You. It is wonderful, a whistful but never depressing ballad. If you get the chance to hear the acoustic version (it's on the single Just the Way I'm Feeling) then do so, it is also great but different.
Then comes the title track, Comfort in Sound, which is a real grower although it sounds pretty darn good the first time! The song really provides it's namesake, and is definitely the defining track of this album-the shimmering guitars, superb lyrics and soaring, magical chorus.
Forget About Tommorrow is probably lyrically the strongest track on the album, not as catchy as some Feeder tracks but you wouldn't dance to it anyway. This is simply another great song.
All the other songs are brilliant too, apart from Godzilla, a terrible mistake as other reviewers on amazon have commented, the band must really be regretting it. I would reccommend listening to it once (if you can cope with it-I got about half way through) just to make sure you hate it. It's just a load of pointless noise. However, it should in no way overshadow how great the other eleven songs are. Love Pollution is another favourite of mine.
Ratings:
Just the Way I'm Feeling 10
Come Back Around 8
Helium 9
Child in You 9
Comfort in Sound 10
Forget About Tommorrow 10
Summers Gone 8
Godzilla 3
Quick Fade 7
Find the Colour 8
Love Pollution 9
Moonshine 9
If you are down, or even if you aren't, this album is perfect, one of the best I have ever heard. Please Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Comfort in Sound
Comfort in Sound by Feeder (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews