Customer Reviews


154 Reviews
5 star:
 (97)
4 star:
 (37)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm going to give you the choice I never had
Having never read Ann Rice's novel I cannot comment on the accuracy of the film. What I will say is that, on its own strengths, this film is essential viewing. Those seeking thrills and frights should turn away now, those interested in depth and character development should buy this instantly. Tom Cruise turns in a great performance as the lonely, malicious vampire...
Published on 19 Sep 2002 by thelittlegreyartist

versus
16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good Film, poor Transfer
Good solid film - but disappointing blu ray transfer. That said, this is a dark film - as in it's mostly set in a dark environment - and it was never what you'd call a pretty film to look at to start with. It's a little frustrating that people compare it to, say The Dark Knight, in terms of transfer quality. This is a much older film. That a film is 'grainy' is often the...
Published on 21 Jan 2011 by P. Morgan


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm going to give you the choice I never had, 19 Sep 2002
Having never read Ann Rice's novel I cannot comment on the accuracy of the film. What I will say is that, on its own strengths, this film is essential viewing. Those seeking thrills and frights should turn away now, those interested in depth and character development should buy this instantly. Tom Cruise turns in a great performance as the lonely, malicious vampire Lestat, with Brad Pitt as his brooding, conscience-stricken protege. Despite the fact that the leads are all vampires and drink blood, at times quite graphically, you cannot help but feel sympathy for them as prisoners of eternal darkness. This is partly because of the phenomenal acting on offer and partly because of the screenplay. Some very intense issues are dealt with in the course of the film, Louis struggles with his morality over killing people for a large chunk of the film until eventually he resigns himself to his fate, biting a young girl (Kirsten Dunst). The scope of the film expands from just Lestat and Louis in America to a whole secret society in Paris, along the way revealing some of the vampire laws and customs. The plot also spans a huge time period, ending in the modern day with Louis telling his tale to a journalist (Christian Slater). After watching this film I remember thinking to myself "yeah... if vampires existed I could see them being exactly like that," Rice's vampires are still human, they just become resigned to the fact that they have to drink blood to survive.
My advice is if you like the sound of my review go out and buy the film. If you are not sure definitely rent it, you never know, it might surprise you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great movie!, 1 Jan 2006
By 
Ms M. Rea "corkdragon" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Interview With The Vampire -- Special Edition [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
When you normally read that a film is being made of a book you like, your thinking of all the things they won't be able to show or what will be cut out or changed. Although slightly varying from the original book by Anne Rice, this first film adaptation of the first of Rice's Vampire Chronicles, Interview is quite good! Tom Cruise isn't who most would say best characterises the character of Lestat but as you watch he really gets across what Lestat was like. Interview centres around Louis, played by Brad Pitt, a vampire made by Lestat, "whining" Louis tells us of his life shortly before he was given the blood. Louis and Lestat, joined later by a young Kirsten Dunst as Claudia (based on Anne Rices own deceased child) travel and hunt together in America ... Some funny moments in the film like the draining of the rat's blood into a goblet scene (Cruise and Pitt trying in vain not to smirk!).
I won't tell you all the story - most already know from the book but with appearances of Stephen Rea, Antonio Banderas (great in his role - wouldn't mind him biting my neck!) and some fantastic music you will be drawn to it if you love the genre. Not a terror inducing film but a dark gothic feeling movie all the same. It's a pity the original cast did not continue with the chronicles - Queen of the Damned should never have been made - was a poor attempt at Rice's work. Love watching this film every now and then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good Film, poor Transfer, 21 Jan 2011
By 
P. Morgan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Good solid film - but disappointing blu ray transfer. That said, this is a dark film - as in it's mostly set in a dark environment - and it was never what you'd call a pretty film to look at to start with. It's a little frustrating that people compare it to, say The Dark Knight, in terms of transfer quality. This is a much older film. That a film is 'grainy' is often the intended look of the film by the director and not necessarily a slight on the transfer itself. That said, even by the blu ray standard set for some older films where there is an obvious and sometimes considerable improvement; this is by contrast little better than it's DVD counterpart. Those expecting a pristine, re mastered version of this film will be very disappointed. My advice is buy only if you don't already own this on DVD. Simply put, not worth the upgrade as good as the film may otherwise be. The Star Rating reflects the blu ray quality rather than the film, which is easily worthy of 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hors d'oevre de 'NOVEL', 9 Oct 2003
This review is from: Interview With The Vampire -- Special Edition [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
Interview with the Vampire as a film, is like a vivid dream of the book by the same name written by Anne Rice. If possible, see the film first. But because I'm writing a review for film media, I will treat it as such.
In short, the synopsis: What happens if a Vampire chooses you not for a moveable feast, but to tell you it's tragic life story?
Luckily the novel was adpated for screen by Anne Rice, so the story stayed intact. Wonderful story, well (visually) told by Neil Jordan, and characters well portrayed by selfless actors.
Brad Pitt as Louis and Tom Cruise as Lestat. I was very much surprised and touched by Kirsten Dunst, playing the part of a woman trapped in a girl-vampire's body.
Production design and cinematogrphy was absolutely brilliant, not to cast aside the costumes. And finished of with Elliot Goldenthal's brooding and dark score, it makes for a film destined to become a classic for those who really care about film, and not for their own ego's and clever 'criticism'.
If by chance you are interrested in this title, but put off by bad mouthing, please ignore the bad reviews. It is a film to see and remember. It is a film (complementing the novel)that could change the way you see yourself as top of the food chain.
Enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fang tastic, 8 May 2007
By 
Mr. J. Mccaig "Jodo Mahodo" (West Lothian, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Interview With The Vampire -- Special Edition [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
In my opinion this is by far the best vampire film ever made. Not because of the all star cast, but because of the shear brilliance displayed from every aspect of this film. The acting is absoloutley superb. Tom Cruise in particular was fantastic. Im telling you, that guy does not get enough credit for his capabilities as an actor. Brad Pitt was slightly less impressive but by no means awful. I have seen a lot worse from him. The supporting cast inctuding Christian Slater and Anotonio Banderas also gave excellent performances and helpd hold this film high. The attention to detail in Interview with the Vampire is second to none, from the excellent make up and effects, to the flawless set-pieces and the beautiful costume wardrobe. Any review giving this film less than 5 stars has to be the eighth deadly sin. Do not miss this film!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Frightfully... frightfully beautiful, 30 Aug 2004
This review is from: Interview With The Vampire -- Special Edition [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
To start with, I don't like horror movies in general, and vampire movies in particular. However, this one was different.
I was amazed by a magnificent directing of this movie. I love movies about past times. The romantic 18 century atmosphere was beautifully represented. And all the vampires in the movie - Louis, Lestat, Santiago, Armand and Claudia - were appropriate: the most elegant vampires one could ever imagine. The scenes of slaves practising woodoo, the slaves' arising, the burning of Louis's house - all these added the enigmatic touch to the movie.
Louis was pictured as the vampire who kept some human feelings - he resisted taking human lives and drinking human blood as long as he could. However, it only made him suffer. If one is a vampire, one has to go on with it...
There were some scary moments, which made blood freeze in my veins. For example, the scene of Loius turning into a vampire. All the blood-sucking scenes were frightening as well - I'm generally frightened of everything to do with blood. And what about the scene where Lestat squeezes blood of a rat and offers Louis to drink it? And sleeping in coffins? Spooky, isn't it?Still - fascinating. Magnificently fascinating.
The acting of all the cast was amazing. Brad Pitt as Loius, very sophisticated and unhappy vampire. Tom Cruise as Lestat - more ruthless and yet more of a vampire. Antonio Banderas (one of my most favourite actors) as Armand - a vampire and a philosopher. Stephen Rea as Santiago - artistic vampire. Finally, little vampire Claudia, who wants to get rid of this spell, brilliantly acted by Kirsten Dunst. One can only admire the powerful talent of this girl - then no more than a child.
I would like to point out Brad Pitt's acting as Loius - he was fabuluous. He made the most beautiful and sensitive vampire in the world. I was mesmerized by the expression of his eyes - they were still alive, human, suffering. They showed the struggle Loius had to come through.
I also admired the dialogues between all the characters as well as the brilliant text Brad Pitt was reading, telling Loius's story. I rewinded the movie again and again to listen to it.
I was scared... and in the same time, I admired the movie. Scary and beautiful - very, very beautiful movie. I watched the movie again and again - and every time I enjoyed it even more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Love the film, uninspired by the bluray treatment, 29 Feb 2012
By 
brainleek007 (Bracknell) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
I remember going to see Interview with the Vampire nearly 20 years ago at the cinema. I came out really feeling I had been on a great journey helped no doubt by the the characters were believable and they weren't simple Hammer House of Horror Vampires but deep and multi-dimensional vampires.

I remember all the publicity at the time about Cruise and Pitt and it's kind of 'homo-erotic' overtones, and yes these are here, but somehow it all works. Pitt is a bit wooden at the best of times but personally and despite his shortcomings I actually find him quite watchable too and here I thought he did a decent job. Cruise really steals it with his Lestat though, as villains often do!

If you're not familiar with the story here it is in brief: Louis, a wealthy plantation owner in New Orleans loses his wife and child during childbirth and gives up on life. Giving himself over to drunken brawls and gambling in taverns he crosses paths with Lestat who is intrigued by Louis' lack of respect for his own life. Lestat turns Louis in an effort to create a partner who he can share the tribulations of vampirehood with. However, Louis doesn't take to the necessities of being a vampire with the same vigour as Lestat instead he constantly questions the morality of taking human life and questions the very nature of what he has become. That's just the start of it, and I don't want to spoil it for those who haven't seen it, but the film is worth seeing for Kirsten Dunst's performance alone.

The film tackles pretty heavy themes and the pacing is deliberately slow. If you're expecting any kind of fast paced action forget it. This is a drama plain and simple and it takes its time. If I'm in the right mood I find there's little to match this film for atmosphere which is all encompassing, dark, evocative and thoroughly engaging. The music is also excellent.

Ok, on to the bluray itself. Having owned a DVD of this movie for years I was bordering on indifferent with the increase in image quality. Like other have noted the film hasn't been given a remastering and it is dark, grainy and quite muddy. A lot of this will be intentional and is appropriate for film itself, after all, 99% of it happens at night. The image is generally quite soft but there is definitely more visible details than on the DVD version. Perhaps most disappointing was the lack of of lossless sountrack, instead just a dolby 5.1 track at 640 kbps. I think more could have been done to give fans of the film a better end product. So is it worth the upgrade from DVD? Tough one. If you don't have it already then yes, for six quid or so it's ok value. If you're looking for a major upgrade to your DVD then no, it will dissapoint.

It's a shame because the film itself is a 4 1/2 star effort let down by the lacklustre presentation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great film Poor DVD, 23 Oct 2001
I am a huge fan of the film Interview with the Vampire and the Vampire Chronicles of Anne Rice, and have looked forward to viewing the dvd for some time.
I was however very disappointed at the lack of extras in the package, with only the film itself, and a filmography of the leading characters included.
With extras now such a big influence on the dvd market I feel somewhat let down.
At least the movie itself is still excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANGTASTIC !!!, 8 July 2005
This review is from: Interview With The Vampire -- Special Edition [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
Now if your're not as Tom Cruise fan, you will be once you watch this, excellent adaptation of Anne Rice's Interview with a Vampire. The story and the screenplay are spot on, you forget that Bad Pitt and Tom Cruise are in it, because they play their characters so well! Tom Cruse is a fantastic performer, in this film.
A MUST SEE! plus a younger Kirsten Dunst is in it! and a killer soundtrack too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dies Irae, Dies Doloris ..., 6 May 2004
By 
Themis-Athena (from somewhere between California and Germany) - See all my reviews
"Libera me, Domine, de vitae aeterna" - "Free me, Lord, from eternal life": If a movie begins with a choir and boy soprano singing these words, in a requiem's style and overlaying the camera's sweeping move over nightly San Francisco bay, zooming in on a Victorian building's top-floor window after having followed the life on the street below like a hunter follows its prey - if a movie begins like this, you know you're not looking at your average flick, whatever its subject. (And if the first thing you catch is the Latin phrase's grammatical mistake, this is probably not your kind of movie anyway).
Much-discussed even before its release, due not least to Anne Rice's temporary withdrawal of support and her no less sensational subsequent 180-degree turn, Neil Jordan's adaptation of the "Vampire Chronicles"' first part, based on Rice's own screenplay, is a sumptuous production awash in luminous colors, magnificent period decor and costumes, rich fabrics, heavy crystal, elegant silverware and gallons of deeply scarlet blood, supremely photographed by Phillippe Rousselot, with a constant undercurrent of sensuality and seduction; an audiovisual orgy substantiated by one of recent film history's most ingenious scores (by Elliot Goldenthal). Although the book only gained notoriety after the publication of its sequel "The Vampire Lestat," followed in short order by the "Chronicles"' third installment, "The Queen of the Damned," by the time this movie was produced, Rice had acquired a large and loyal fan base, who would have been ready to tear it to shreds had it failed to meet their expectations. That this was not unanimously the case is in and of itself testimony to Neil Jordan's considerable achievement (only underscored by the botched 2002 realization of "Queen of the Damned"). Sure, some decry the plot changes vis-a-vis the novel and the fact that some of the protagonists (particularly Louis and Armand) look different from Rice's description. But others have embraced the movie wholeheartedly; praising it for remaining faithful to the fundamentalities of Rice's story and for its production values as such. I find myself firmly in the latter corner; indeed, in some respects I consider this one of the rare movies that are superior to their literary originals - primarily because the story's two main characters, Louis and Lestat, gain considerably in stature and complexity compared to Rice's book.
While both film and novel are narrated by Louis (Brad Pitt), giving an interview to a reporter (Christian Slater) in the hope of achieving some minimal atonement for 200 years of sin and guilt, and while Lestat (Tom Cruise) appears on screen barely half the movie's running time, Lestat is much more of a central character than in Rice's novel; and vastly more interesting. For Anne Rice's Lestat only comes into his own in the "Chronicles"' second part, which is named for him and where we truly learn to appreciate him as the vampire world's aristocratic, arrogant, wicked, intelligent and unscrupulous "brat prince," who although completely lacking regret for any of his actions nevertheless shows occasional glimpses of caring, even if he would never admit thereto. *This*, however, is exactly the movie's Lestat; not the comparatively uninformed and, all things considered, even somewhat brutish creature of Rice's first novel. It is no small feat on Tom Cruise's part to have accomplished this; and in my mind his portrayal has completely eclipsed the character's original conception, which was reportedly based on Rutger Hauer's Captain Navarre in "Ladyhawke."
Similarly, while every bit as guilt-ridden as the character created by Anne Rice, Brad Pitt's Louis regains more inner strength - and more quickly so - than the narrator of Rice's book, rendering him more of an even foil for Lestat, and equally lending greater credibility to his initial selection as Lestat's companion, his actions to ensure his and Claudia's escape to Europe, and his later decision not to stay with Armand. (Indeed, Louis's and Armand's separation after the burning of the Theatre of the Vampires makes perfect sense in the movie's context; it would have undercut both characters', but especially Louis's credibility had they gone on to share years of companionship like in the book.)
Kirsten Dunst's Claudia was not only this movie's biggest discovery - not surprisingly, in an interview included on the DVD Dunst calls this "the most prominent role" of her career so far - she, too, embodies the novel's child vampire to absolute perfection; capturing her eternally childlike features as well as her Lolitaesque seductiveness and the ruthless killer hidden under her doll-like appearance. Doubtlessly furthest from the novel's character is Antonio Banderas's powerful and charismatic Armand: But while I do somewhat miss Rice's auburn-haired "Botticelli angel," I always had a problem imagining him as the leader of the Paris coven, in control even of the quicksilver-like Santiago (marvelously portrayed by Stephen Rea in one of his most overtly theatrical performances). Here, too, the movie - if anything - gives the story greater credibility; although it's admittedly hard to reconcile with parts of the "Chronicles"' later installments, particularly Armand's own biography.
In interviews, Neil Jordan and Brad Pitt particularly have mentioned the emotional strain that this movie put on all its participants; due its almost exclusively nightly shooting schedule, and even more so because of its incessant exploration of guilt, damnation and, literally, hell on earth. Anne Rice's vampires truly are the ultimate outsiders; no longer part of human society, they feed on it, can neither be harmed by sickness nor by methods the world has taken for granted ever since Bram Stoker's "Dracula" (which are in fact merely "the vulgar fictions of a demented Irishman," as Louis explains, simultaneously amused and contemptuous) and are thus, if not killed by fire and/or beheading, condemned to walk the earth forever, without any hope of redemption. It is primarily this element which has given Rice's novels their lasting appeal, and which is perfectly rendered in Jordan's adaptation. I'm still not sure I'd ever want to meet them in person, though ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Interview With The Vampire -- Special Edition [DVD] [1994]
£4.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews