Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who are the REAL rats in this movie??, 14 April 2003
By 
Mr. P. Ashby "Philly" (Swindon, Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Rat Pack [DVD] (DVD)
This is a fascinating insight into the lives of some of the biggest stars of the fifties and sixties. You know the music, you know the movies and all about this gang of buddies. Swanning around and doing their own thing.
But as this film shows, there were even bigger fish frying.
Politics, Organised Crime and Showbusiness were more closely linked than you might think.
A little known but great film in my view with more value and insight than JFK and with better tunes too!
No extras on the DvD but who cares? At the price of 5.99 it is utterley reccomended. Just buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Old Ones Are The Best, 5 April 2009
By 
M. C. Williams "Mike Williams" (Lincoln, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Rat Pack [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this film being advertised for TV airing but couldn't view it when broadcast. Being a fan of the Rat Pack, I thought it would be worth purchasing - Amazon have come up trumps yet again.

It's a great insight into the psyche of the US political landscape of the late 50's and early 60's, recounting all the intrigue of the Kennedy's involvement with the Mob via Sinatra's connections. The race issue is also covered and handled in a tremendous manner when it comes to Sammy Davis Jnr's marriage to a white woman.

A terrific film which I thoroughly endorse for anyone whose interests lie in this period of social reform.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 8 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rat Pack [DVD] (DVD)
Actors were believable in their roles. Would recommend this to anyone who are fans of Dean and Frank. Good insight into their world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars rat pack dvd film, 14 July 2013
By 
Edward John Harrison "tedh238" (Northants England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rat Pack [DVD] (DVD)
Loved it, a very good insight to the antics of the day in the murky world of show business and the power play that went on at the time,well acted and compelling, thanks, ted h
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 9 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rat Pack [DVD] (DVD)
great service and great condition-enjoyed this film.Recommend this as a great understanding of what they were really like.
Must see
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Film, 27 Dec 2011
By 
Brawny Withed (Leeds, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Rat Pack [DVD] (DVD)
First of all please don't be put off by the fact The Rat Pack is a television movie it's fantastic.

The film looks at the heyday of the Rat Pack in the early sixties when Frank Sinatra, Dean Martin, Sammy Davis Junior, Peter Lawford and Joey Bishop were the coolest guy's in the World with Movies, Music, Fame and Girl's all at their finger tips.

Based around true life events we see the members of the gang get mixed up with JFK, The Mafia and far more in between.

Ray Liotta (Goodfellas) plays Sinatra as a sensitive and volatile character. Joe Mantegna (Fat Tony in The Simpsons)shines as Dean Martin with an uncanny impression. Don Cheadle (Oceans Eleven) plays Sammy Davis Junior and although he doesn't look like Sammy he gets his character and impression just right.

If you like the Music of The Rat Pack or enjoy a good Drama then The Rat Pack is worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Rat Pack (DVD), 13 Aug 2010
This review is from: The Rat Pack [DVD] (DVD)
As a fan of Ray Liotta I was not disappointed. The movie seemed to stick to the facts as I understood them and the rest of the cast took good parts and it was easy to discerne the characters.
Top marks for Don Cheadle and his Sammy Davis junior impression,The Film is worth watching if only to watch this man at work.Fantastic.
gingernuts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars why no uk release, 16 April 2006
By 
E. Lark "ben ob 1" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
ray liotta is great as frank, perfect present for my old man i thought . but no uk release !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Who are the real rats in this movie?, 14 April 2003
By 
Mr. P. Ashby "Philly" (Swindon, Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Rat Pack [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This is a fascinating insight into the lives of some of the biggest stars of the fifties and sixties. You know the music, you know the movies and all about this gang of buddies. Swanning around and doing their own thing.
But as this film shows, there were even bigger fish frying.
Politics, Organised Crime and Showbusiness were more closely linked than you might think.
A little known but great film in my view with more value and insight than JFK and with better tunes too!
Utterley reccomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa5a67c8)

This product

The Rat Pack [DVD]
The Rat Pack [DVD] by Rob Cohen (DVD - 2002)
9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews