Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


102 of 105 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!
Having seen the original Lonesome Dove film with Tommy Lee Jones playing one of the main central characters, I was somewhat daunted at the idea that Jon Voight would be able to fill his shoes. WRONG! within a few minutes of the film starting it is easy to forget that he did'nt feature in the first film.
I loved Lonesome Dove, the trials and tribulations of the...
Published on 9 Feb. 2003

versus
24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Suffers from America's love of sequels
I am such a massive fan of Lonesome Dove that I couldn't wait to watch RtLD, only to be hugely disappointed. To me it didn't capture the same magic or passion from the original - everything that shone in LD, was dull in RtLD. Yet again the story attracted an all-star cast but LD had set too high a standard that RtLD was never going to be able to reach. Having said that,...
Published on 23 July 2007 by Josey-Jo


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Suffers from America's love of sequels, 23 July 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Return to Lonesome Dove [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
I am such a massive fan of Lonesome Dove that I couldn't wait to watch RtLD, only to be hugely disappointed. To me it didn't capture the same magic or passion from the original - everything that shone in LD, was dull in RtLD. Yet again the story attracted an all-star cast but LD had set too high a standard that RtLD was never going to be able to reach. Having said that, if you watch RtLD as a stand-alone, the story is very strong with excellent acting. Maybe I had too high an expectation but sadly for me, this was yet one more example of why America needs to lose it's love of sequels...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


102 of 105 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 9 Feb. 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Return to Lonesome Dove [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
Having seen the original Lonesome Dove film with Tommy Lee Jones playing one of the main central characters, I was somewhat daunted at the idea that Jon Voight would be able to fill his shoes. WRONG! within a few minutes of the film starting it is easy to forget that he did'nt feature in the first film.
I loved Lonesome Dove, the trials and tribulations of the cattle drive from Texas to Montana, I found it both exhilarating and heart wrenching. Return to Lonesome Dove follows on perfectly from where the first film left off, another tale of loyalties, hardships and lives entwined.
It is so very easy to lose yourself in this film, once started I had to sit through from start to finish, like a good novel I could'nt put it down, or should I say push the pause button.
A highly recommended sequel to a classic first film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A satisfying - if not exceptional - revisit of much loved characters, 11 Jun. 2008
By 
Mr. Stephen Kennedy "skenn1701a" (Doha, Qatar) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Return to Lonesome Dove [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
The original Lonesome Dove was a milestone in cinema - a big budget epic, which was driven by developments in characters rather than events. So how to follow such an evocative drama? Well, surprisingly well as it happens - by continuing the coming of age of Newt, Captain Calls unacknowledged son. Events this time are more event driven, with a faster pace than Lonesome Dove. Following the death and burial of Gus in the first series, the Captain gathers a new crew to take a herd of horses North to his new ranch. Meantime, the ranch is having its own difficulties, and Newt falls in with a rancher played by Oliver Reed, not least due to the allure of his wife, played by a surprisingly young looking Reese Witherspoon. Events move on at a fair lick, smoothing over the occasional plot holes and helping disguise the fact that Jon Voight struggles to keep up a Tommy Lee Jones impersonation throughout. Rick Schroeder (Newt) is the star performer here, given the bulk of the character growth in the story. Apart from his role, the women in the story are well served, driving events as well as being victim to them.
If this series distinguishes itself, it is in portraying a fascinating period of history as the ranches and ranchers that formed them grew in a land struggling to find an identity and sense of order.
There is a big hole however in the absence of that delicate first hand understanding that Simon West the director and Larry McMurty the author brought to Lonesome Dove.. its feeling of realism is much diluted here. Notwithstanding this deficiency, this is still much superior to other mini series of the same ilk, and well worth a watch.
As for extras, when the DVD advertises chapter indexing as a DVD extra you know there is a problem - a short few pages of filmography for each of the principals, and a `Western Trivia quiz' which acts as a spoiler of the ending if you watch it before completing the show, and is hardly worth the effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good Series marred by very poor picture quality, 15 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Though not as good as original series, this is still a worthy sequel well worth viewing.
However, considering that this is a blu-ray release and is supposed to be in high-definition,
this is in my opinion, a very shoddy release and provides a picture quality that is no better
than the DVD release. When watched side by side I observed no difference whatsoever in the
quality of the definition between the two.

This was a big disappointment, especially after the American blu-ray release of the original series,
which though slightly spoilt by the aspect ratio being formatted as 1:1.85 ratio from the original
1.1.33, provided a far better quality picture than the DVD release and was worth the cost of the
up-grade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Return to Lonesome Dove, 30 Nov. 2005
If you've seen Lonesome dove, then this follow-on is a must-see!
Full of panoramic country, and heartwarming characters, this is a classic in it's own right, and one that you'll want to watch time and time again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, though not as good as the original., 19 July 2010
This review is from: Return to Lonesome Dove [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
This is a decent follow up to the original 'Lonesome Dove' mini-series, though it's sadly missing the near on all the original series cast with only Ricky Schroder and a few supporting actors returning to the sequel. Jon Voight is re-cast as Woodrow Call, though he's a poor replacement for Tommy Lee Jones, and while the story is fairly enjoyable it lacks the epic quality of the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars as good as Lonesome Dove!, 23 Feb. 2007
This review is from: Return to Lonesome Dove [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
this film continues on directly from the end of Lonesome Dove.we see many of the characters from the original - clara allen,july johnston, newt, woodrow call, etc - plus numerous new bad guys. throughout the film, Newt matures and towards the end there are changes even in Call. although played by a different actor, Call's distinctive personality remains visible. this is a compulsively watchable film, a brilliant sequel and not to be missed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Return to Lonesome Dove, 17 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Return to Lonesome Dove [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant series, would recommend to anyone who likes cowboys. Makes you feel like you are really out riding with them. Also has love element to it. Great follow up to Lonesome Dove. You get really attached to the characters. Great storyline and will certainly watch it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Continuing Saga of "LOnesome Dove", 26 Jan. 2012
By 
B. D. Compton "Gettysburg" (Johannesburg,South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Return to Lonesome Dove [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
I was interested to see that there was a lot of critiscim to this follow up and while the story
is not as good as "Lonesome Dove", i still found it to be a worthy addition to the Series and it
held my interest with once again superb cinematography, good acting and for the most part believable characters.

In fact, i found John Voight's performance as Woodrow Call superior to Tommy Lee Jones of "Lonesome Dove" in every respect but i did miss the other characters from the original, i have to admit with the exception of Ricky Schroeder, who was from the original. Barbara Hershey was not a patch on Angelica Huston for instance as Woodrow Call's big dislike.

Also, this series does not have English subtitles and i missed some dialogue as i did in "Lonesome Dove", but i will definately keep this in my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars The story is edited with huge chunks missing(See below), 13 Feb. 2010
By 
Mr. J. Gibb (Whitley Bay. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Return to Lonesome Dove [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
I had previously seen this film on the television so I was familiar with the story, however, I realised that portions were missing throughout and the film ended prematurely. I am extremely disapointed and it would be a generous gesture if I could be refunded but I realise that this is now unlikely as I waited far too long before viewing the product. I intend speaking to ACORN.
Yours sincerely/
Joseph Gibb
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Return to Lonesome Dove [1993] [DVD]
Return to Lonesome Dove [1993] [DVD] by Mike Robe (DVD - 2009)
£11.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews