Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars DVD
Really a good film I love these suspence films and Melissa Sagemiller is so good as also the other actors.
Published 14 months ago by Debra Micallef

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Easy waching movie.
Typical teen horror film. You'll like it of this genre is your thing. Worth a watch just to tick it off your list of movies to watch.
Published 12 months ago by tina Carter


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Easy waching movie., 15 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soul Survivors [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Typical teen horror film. You'll like it of this genre is your thing. Worth a watch just to tick it off your list of movies to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DVD, 26 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soul Survivors [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Really a good film I love these suspence films and Melissa Sagemiller is so good as also the other actors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars a film that reveals the twist ending before the end, 8 Sep 2012
By 
bizmandan (staffordshire, england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Soul Survivors [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Ambiguity works in some films like mystery stories, and thrillers that depend on paranoia to add to the suspense. But in this film, the uncertainness of it all just makes it tedious. I think the main problem is that although the story is set up as a mystery thriller, the audience are given the answer to said mystery on a platter. For example this film is like if in the opening scene of The Sixth Sense (spoiler alert) after Bruce Willis is shot we see his spirit leaving his body giving away that he spends the rest of the film as a ghost, that is what the story in this film is like.

Soul Survivors is a generic teens-in-trouble saga that strings together scenes featuring characters reciting pointless dialogue that eventually leads to nowhere and not anytime soon. The 85-minute running time, although relatively short, seems like forever, and the film makes the gravest mistake a movie can make, it's boring. The characters are uninteresting, the would-be surprise ending is anti-climactic (you can see it coming from a mile off), and since you know where it is going, you find yourself wishing the film would just get on with it.

Stories about supernatural limbo are by nature ambiguous, the greatest example of this would probably be the last season of Lost, at the end of the day the character is, after all, between life and death, what could be more uncertain? But unless the film is given the Midas touch like The Sixth Sense was, the story can seem a little pointless. Soul Survivors proves that point, and that is the only point to this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars pretty predictable, 22 May 2012
By 
Mark Mc (Liverpool, Merseyside, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This film was slightly interesting trying to work out who was dead and therefore a ghost and who wasn't. Decent enough story line throughout which kept me watching till the end. I would probably say it was one of those films that you can waste a couple of hours or so watching and not kick yourself for doing so
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too surreal for its own good, 15 Feb 2003
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Soul Survivors [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I have mixed feelings about Soul Survivors, especially this self-proclaimed “The Killer Cut” version. This movie oversells itself, and it tries much too hard to be confusing, providing so many last-minute twists that it ruined some of my appreciation for it. I think the moviemakers are also wrong in thinking it explains itself fully in the end; surely, one figures out the whole gist of the thing, but some of the nuances really don’t resonate that well. Having watched the movie and the limited commentary included with it, I still must question several scenes that either do not make sense in the proper context or seem to have nothing to do with the actual story.
I won’t dwell too much on plot here for fear of giving something away. Basically, this is a story of four friends: Cassie (played wonderfully by newcomer Melissa Sagemiller), her boyfriend Sean (Casey Affleck), her best friend Annie (Eliza Dushku), and Annie’s boyfriend/Cassie’s former boyfriend Matt (Wes Bentley). The gang goes to a rave on the eve of starting college, where a bunch of weirdoes wearing featureless masks keep popping up. Then Cassie and Sean have a misunderstanding after Matt talks Cassie into giving him a goodbye kiss. On the way home, a car full of masked people swings around the front of the group’s vehicle and causes a hellacious accident. Cassie survives, but she is emotionally traumatized by Sean’s death. Matt and Annie somehow come out unscathed. Cassie goes on to college and begins to lose her grip on reality. She keeps seeing the weirdoes from the club following her, and on several occasions they attempt to kill her. Matt stays to take care of her, but as time goes on Cassie becomes suspicious of her friends, relying on the comfort of Sean (whose ghostly presence appears to her on a number of occasions) and a young priest at the school. There is an element of suspense here, one which builds up as the movie progresses, but I found myself preoccupied trying to figure out just who was actually dead here and what the final twist of the movie would be.
Soul Survivors is basically a psychological thriller. The “killer cut” promises more blood, sex, and terror than the theatrical version; there is some blood, particularly in one scene, but there is basically no sex to be found anywhere here, nor can I say I felt a lump of anything resembling terror building up in my stomach. Suspense-wise, the movie shoots itself in the foot; by the time you get past the surreal marathon of images, flashbacks, and dreams at the end, all you really care about is seeing the movie end. The basic idea of the film is good, the actors are very good indeed, but there’s just something missing in the whole atmosphere.
It’s interesting to note that Eliza Dushku is featured most prominently on the movie case, while the real star, Melissa Sagemiller, is almost lost in the background. Dushku fans will definitely want to see this movie, but her role is basically that of a supporting actress. I liked the commentary by Sagemiller included on the DVD. She explains about half a dozen scenes (there is no movie-length commentary) and offers some insight on the film that I was interested in hearing. The behind-the-scenes featurette was short and interesting but nothing special. The featurette on Harvey Danger basically has nothing to do with the film, but it was certainly unusual and slightly comical. The extra features on the DVD are much appreciated, but they can’t make up for the flaws in the actual movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Just Rubbish, 19 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soul Survivors [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Read the other reviews and thought id send for it ,wish id have saved my money it was rubbish would not bother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars worthy watch, 16 Jan 2012
By 
David Mcmahon - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Soul Survivors [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Thankfully I watched the film before I saw the reviews! I found it to be quite clever- Especially when thinking back to certain parts in the film, once the ending was revealed.

I guess for people who like to try and guess the ending or who need to know whats going on every instant in the film it wouldn't be much fun, but for anyone who will sit back and let the film tell the story, it will be a surprise treat.

for me, much better than scream, I know what you did last summer etc, of that era, due to the not quite knowing whats going to happen, or whats going on at times- but still being intrigued and glued until all is revealed at the end.

(4/5 just about... i'd rate scream a 3/5... just a point of reference!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well made but an OK film, 27 Sep 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Soul Survivors [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
This is quite a dark film about 4 students heading off to a new college, it seems very weird in places but it should all make sence by the end of the film (I dont want to give away the ending).
The film is well put together but events during the story may appear weird at the time of seeing them, once you get to the end of the film these events are explained.
If you liked films like "The sixth sence" and "the others" you will most likely enjoy this film.
Not stunning but OK 3/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Soul Survivors [DVD] [2002]
Soul Survivors [DVD] [2002] by Stephen Carpenter (DVD - 2002)
£2.73
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews