Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Denzel at his Best !!
This is one movie which I feel is probably Denzel Washington at his best.It starts with a family ( Denzel's) trying to keep it together in recession hit America. When his son collapses on the baseball field of a little league game and the problems it throws up over the American Health Insurance system. John.Q.(Denzel) finds out that his insurance policy will not pay out...
Published on 13 Nov 2002 by dmskinuk

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This didn't work for me...
The story had it all going for it and Denzel’s acting was up to scratch as usual, however, for some reason I can't quite put my finger on, this film just didn't gel together. Characters seemed to change their mind for no obvious reason and others who were once adamant in their point of view were easily talked round with a few lines of moralistic gush...
Published on 5 Mar 2006 by CH


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Denzel at his Best !!, 13 Nov 2002
This review is from: John Q [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
This is one movie which I feel is probably Denzel Washington at his best.It starts with a family ( Denzel's) trying to keep it together in recession hit America. When his son collapses on the baseball field of a little league game and the problems it throws up over the American Health Insurance system. John.Q.(Denzel) finds out that his insurance policy will not pay out for his sons treatment. So he tries different ways to get the necessary money ( $250,000 ) i.e. medi-aid. He finds himself running against a clock that is ticking down for his son. Finally frustrated with total apathy from insurers to doctors and hospital admin and an equally upset wife,he decides to force the issue with the hospital and staff involved. This movie took me from disbelief, to frustration,then rage,then shock and tears that in this day and age a so called World Economy could turn its back on its citizens without a care in the world attitude (MONEY). I know this is only a movie but it makes you realise that for all its faults the U.K. has a good and free on demand health service.As a grown man I can really understand the emotions and fear that is shown in this movie. I hope that this helps you decide to add this movie to your collection. It did me.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Terrfic Denzel Performance, 26 Nov 2002
By 
J. E. Parry "Jeff Parry" (Pontypool, Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: John Q [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
This film is enjoyable but lacks the depth that could have turned it into a real winner.
You are pulled along with the story as you follow the family's treatment at the hands of the US healthcare system. It details how a family can go from having no diffiulty obtaining treatment under their insurance to finding that, because of his employer's cutbacks, they are finally denied this very important benefit. You also ask how a family can be so badly off but still not enough to qualify to Medicare.
This film makes you want to do something about the injustice portrayed. It does make you cry, sympathetic and angry. How the American people can still allow this to happen beggers belief.
Washington's character is both appealing and exasperating. He makes the promise that his son WILL be treated and then we follow him as he hits brickwall after brickwall and can do nothing himself until he has to take drastic action.
What lets this film down slightly is that more could have been made of the hospital's stance and why it was wrong. We have one scene where we begin to get to the root of the problem facing the US healthcare system but it does not really build on this.
The support from Woods, Liotta and Duvall is great but you do feel that more could have been made of their characters. The same applies to Anne Heche as the hospital administrator. Not enough time is spent showing why she responds the way she does.
This is well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars John Q..a thrilling tearjerker, 10 Feb 2003
By 
Mrs Elaine C Woollam (St Antonin Noble Val France) - See all my reviews
This review is from: John Q [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
My husband and I both watched this DVD, knowing absolutely nothing about it....we were mesmerised, enthralled and sitting on the edge of our chairs. A brilliant story...as far as we know it it is fiction, not based on reality as per Erin Brokavitch.
It is exciting, full of succulent suspense, some incredible humour under unbelievable conditions and a real tear jerker...guys you will need the box of tissues close by for both yourself and partner.
It has everything..a man down on his luck, a supportive but angry wife,a sick kid and American medical bureaucracy. He tries to resolve the problems within the law, but reaches breaking point when his son is on the point of death and so takes the law and his son's hospital into his own hands.
You will not be disappointed a great film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Health is a basic human right, 14 Aug 2007
By 
This review is from: John Q [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
This film is the pioneer and precursor of Michael More's documentary Sicko recently released, but this one is based on a fictional situation. What is a father ready to do to enable his son to get a heart transplant? And what is the system able to do to prevent him from getting it because he does not have enough insurance coverage? The second question is easy to answer: nothing and the system will let the child die. No insurance coverage, no treatment. The first question is a lot more difficult to answer; the film goes very far in the fiction and yet it is absolutely believable. Yes a father is able to kidnap innocent people and medical personnel to impose a positive solution. Then the rest is pure luck, haphazard chance, good effective media, a lot of human feeling, a mistake done by the shoot-first-ask-questions-second chief of police in his four star uniform, and of course a lot of sympathy from the public which is perfectly understandable when you know 46 millions Americans have no health coverage at all and probably twenty more millions have a partial coverage, i.e. not full coverage or full coverage not all the time. The film is of course very effective emotionally, and it uses some short sequences from the news programs of the 1990s when Hillary Clinton was trying in the name of her husband to convince Congress to pass legislation on the subject and failed. I think even to kill yourself to provide your own son with a heart is an option that could be considered by some fathers. Of course the film did not emphasize the real negative sides of the problem, the greediness of some doctors, the total indifference of most administrative personnel, the brutality of the police in such cases who would consider a forceful solution before a peaceful one. But there must be some dream even when dealing with such a subject.

Dr Jacques COULARDEAU, University Paris Dauphine & University Paris 1 Pantheon Sorbonne
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars John Q, 21 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Q [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I loved this. Shows the lengths that people are willing to go to to save their children when they are left with very little option. A dad resorts to actions that are completely uncharacteristic and is willing to pay any price to save his young son.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME, 14 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Q [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
THIS IS AN ABSOLUTE MUST BY IF YOU LOVE DENZEL WASHINGTON SUCH A MOVING FILM HARD HITTING DEFO MUST BUY
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great movie!, 16 Aug 2003
By 
K. Wyatt "ssintrepid" (Cape Girardeau, MO United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: John Q [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
John Q is definitely a wonderful movie, full of a lot heart. Denzel Washington does an outstanding job as John Q. In my opinion, an even better job than in Training Day. He definitely should’ve gotten an Oscar for this one.
John Q is essentially about a man whose son encounters a life threatening medical situation. His job has changed medical plans and his hours have been cut, all more or less without him being aware of it. When told his son needs a heart transplant, he finds out that his insurance won't really be there help out. As a good father, he does every thing he can, within the system to get this surgery for his son, but to no avail. He's left with no options, so he chooses to basically kidnap the ER and his son's heart surgeon.
Overall, this is a very gut wrenching and, at times and extremely enlightening film. While not approving of his final solution, John Q is a very good movie that brings to the spotlight some facts about health care in the United States! {ssintrepid}
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fantastic Film, 2 Mar 2004
This review is from: John Q [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
This film is brilliant. Denzel Washington deserved an award for the role of John. Q. Its brilliant. While watching it, I was choked up with emotion. This is certinately worth buying. Its one of the best films I have seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vintage Denzel, 29 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Q [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Like all his films you end up liking Denzel Washington as he always seems to be the good guy what ever the out come. In this film there is no doubt as he fights for and eventually gets a heart transplant for his terminally ill little boy. Not in my opinion one of his best as the story is a bit weak and predictable but it does underline how corrupt the establishment is in dealing with the 'little man'. Frankly how many of us have been ripped off by Insurance companies promising all and delivering very little. It explains in no uncertain terms that to beat the system violence is the last resort to obtain justice. Well worth a viewing but not the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A moral study, 8 April 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Q [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
An excellent film beautifully acted by Denzel Washington. The story asks profound questions about the value of life and can or should we put a price on it. It is a very emotive film for anyone with a deep level of empathy, and I think for parents especially this will be a heart rending film to watch. It is, however, very watchable, and has the necessary light moments to relieve the sadness that can make this type of film hard to watch. You go on a journey with the lead character and are convinced of his essential goodness, inspite of the fact that he is "the bad guy". In fact the whole good and bad dichotomy is turned on its head. As in life the respectable, decent sterotype is questionable in this tale. A film everyone should watch and think about. Buy this film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

John Q [DVD] [2002]
John Q [DVD] [2002] by Nick Cassavetes (DVD - 2002)
£4.14
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews