Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This DVD is fantastic
I removed it from the DVD box and immediately marveled at the perfect balance of the disc. It is truly weighted equally all around the disc and the central hole had just as much attention to detail. Obviously the producer of the disc is highly skilled and this tells me they are very experienced. It reeks of class. I have not managed to watch the film yet because I am...
Published 10 months ago by Charlie

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A cockney Lear with the gloves off
Michael Caine and producer Geoffrey Reeve's frequent collaborations usually result in exponentially bad cable-movie-lite style movies (The Whistle-Blower, Half Moon Street), so it's a surprise how effective much of Shiner is, especially since it comes from the usually disappointing John Irvin and was part of the tidal wave of British gangster movies that flooded the...
Published on 18 Feb 2009 by Trevor Willsmer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A cockney Lear with the gloves off, 18 Feb 2009
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Shiner [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Michael Caine and producer Geoffrey Reeve's frequent collaborations usually result in exponentially bad cable-movie-lite style movies (The Whistle-Blower, Half Moon Street), so it's a surprise how effective much of Shiner is, especially since it comes from the usually disappointing John Irvin and was part of the tidal wave of British gangster movies that flooded the market post-Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels. The first hour is often very good indeed as Caine's vicious illegal fight promoter finally gets his day in the sun with his first legit fight that could see his own son on the way to a title fight. The kind of guy who makes the National lottery show look tasteful and who'll have your arm broken if he thinks you've shortchanged him, he bulldozes his way through the preparations, not letting little things like a police investigation into a fighter's death or his son's nerves standing in his way, literally betting everything - including his children's houses - on his boy winning. Naturally he's heading for a big fall, with shades of King Lear en route with his two daughters squabbling over family loyalty vs. Shiner pissing away the kids' inheritance (not helped by Francis Barber's terrible performance as a grotesquely caricatured Regan and Goneril in one). The last 40 minutes when everything goes horribly wrong don't work nearly as well, though the revelation at the end is suitably banal - no real conspiracy, merely the consequence of Shiner's hubris - even if the final gunplay seems a little overblown, but Caine's powerhouse turn makes it well worth a look.

The DVD boasts a decent transfer, but unfortunately not in it's original 2.35:1 cinema ratio but a more TV-friendly 1.85:1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This DVD is fantastic, 1 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shiner [DVD] (DVD)
I removed it from the DVD box and immediately marveled at the perfect balance of the disc. It is truly weighted equally all around the disc and the central hole had just as much attention to detail. Obviously the producer of the disc is highly skilled and this tells me they are very experienced. It reeks of class. I have not managed to watch the film yet because I am compelled each time to just stare at the workmanship which went into the disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Return To Get Carter, 27 July 2004
This review is from: Shiner [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
For anyone who likes Michael Caine, and particularly his performances in as tough, imposing gangsters, Shiner is a film for you. Caine is at his best in this superbly written thriller, about a boxing promoter who gambles everything on his son winning a title fight. But when his son is knocked out in th first round, and subsequently murdered, Billy "Shiner" Simpson (Caine) must unravel the truth as to who did it, and why his son only lasted one round.
Caines Performance is second only to the one he produced for Get Carter. Although much of Caine's stature may have gone, his dramatic vocal presence remains, with many of the best one liners he has produced for years.
Although it is said this film has an abrupbt ending, anyone who is a serious Caine fan will appreciate this well written and perfomed Vehicle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of "Shiner"., 13 Oct 2002
This review is from: Shiner [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Shiner is an excellent film,set and filmed in the East End. Michael Caine plays Billy 'shiner' Simpson in this gritty boxing drama.Up and coming movie actor Matthew Marsden shines through as he plays Eddie(Billy's son).Billy organises a fight between Eddie and the prize fighter of Spedding(Martin Landau).Billy has alot riding on this,Eddie needs to win,but things go badly wrong.Billy tries to find out some answers. There is an excellent supporting cast,including Andy Serkis as one of Billy's minders.This is a film with many subplots and some brutal fight scenes,but this is an excllent film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My heart in my throat, 3 May 2003
By 
Michael Bo (Frederiksberg Denmark) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Shiner [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
I am a big fan of the picture, because it so subtly plays with your expectations, and fails to deliver in such a spectacular fashion that the ending becomes the whole glorious point of it. Michael Caine, better than ever, is a lowlife boxing promoter who, with age and increasing paranoia, sees it fit to go out with a bang, on a level with the great Shakespearean tragedies. True to form, everyone dies around him, as he strives to find the meaning of life, the reason for all the terror that he initiated himself. In the final few pictures my heart was in my throat, I was that excited.
Go buy it, rent it, whatever - it has the makings of a great picture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Grim, 29 Dec 2005
By 
Joseph Haschka (Glendale, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
I don't know. Maybe I'm old-fashioned, but I remember learning in high school English Lit several decades ago that there are three basic elements to a story: protagonist, antagonist, conflict. To me, "protagonist" implies someone that the reader (listener or watcher) can root for. Hold that thought.
In SHINER, Michael Caine plays Billy "Shiner" Simpson, a British boxing promoter so brutal and unsavory that he's been excluded from the "legitimate" fight world and limited to fringe bouts. Now, he's maneuvered his own son, "Golden Boy" Eddie, into an un-licensed match-up with an American lightweight title holder managed by Frank Spedding (Martin Landau). The big event in a dumpy arena is the high point of Billy's professional and personal life. And, by the way, he's bet everything he and his family own on the outcome. In any case, Eddie throws the fight in the second round. Later, as Billy angrily confronts his son in a blighted lot down by the railroad yards, the latter is shot dead by a hidden assailant. Totally bereft, Simpson sets out to find Eddie's killer and exact revenge. By this time, knowledge of Billy's character leads the viewer to expect that the vengeance won't be pretty.
Even another riveting performance by the great Michael Caine can't obscure the ugliness of this film. Aside from perhaps Eddie, who isn't around long enough, there's absolutely no major character in the plot worthy or capable of engaging the viewer's sympathy. They're all vicious, violent people: Billy, his two thuggish bodyguards, and Frank. A scene wherein Billy holds a gun to a pregnant woman's swollen belly is particularly noxious. Even Billy's two adult daughters are revealed to be chips off the old block when they get into a hair-pulling, slap fight.
The ending to SHINER is notably anti-climactic and grubby. And, before I forget, there's a subplot involving the police investigation of the fatal beating of a fighter in one of Billy's previously arranged exhibitions - a subplot so completely tangential as to be hardly worth this mention.
Eeeuwww!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film since Get Carter.., 17 Oct 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Shiner [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Shiner is one of the great films starring Michael Caine as a boxing promoter who puts his son up against the American champion.. When he loses and gets murdered in the process.. everything around Caine's character Billy Simpson, collapses..
Soon Billy decides to make his own personal investigation into his son's death.. and find out what really happened.
This film kind of keeps you guessing until the end..
But it's the type of film that puts Get Carter into a darker world of dodgy dealings and violence..
I've enjoyed this film from start to finish..
It was worth my money..
Great stuff..!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A good cast but a poor film, 6 Nov 2011
By 
John Atkin (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shiner [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
A good cast but a poor film. Weak ending and lots of foul language. Surprised Michael Caine agreed to star in this mediocre film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shiner [DVD] [2001]
Shiner [DVD] [2001] by John Irvin (DVD - 2002)
£5.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews