Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE EXORCIST DVD TRILOGY
THE EXORCIST
One of the best horror films there is. The film conveys a certian atmosphere, that changes throughout the movie. The fact that it looks real and to some extent feels real, mixed with the surrealism and spritualism. This then gives the feeling of shock and unease. I feel it sways from being a horror film to a thriller as the scene between Chris MacNeil...
Published on 27 Oct 2002

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars the exorcist trilogy
received the exorcist trilogy they all play ok didnt have to wait to long for delivery after all these years still a brilliant film
Published 20 months ago by ann hubbard


Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE EXORCIST DVD TRILOGY, 27 Oct 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Exorcist/The Exorcist 2/The Exorcist 3 [DVD] (DVD)
THE EXORCIST
One of the best horror films there is. The film conveys a certian atmosphere, that changes throughout the movie. The fact that it looks real and to some extent feels real, mixed with the surrealism and spritualism. This then gives the feeling of shock and unease. I feel it sways from being a horror film to a thriller as the scene between Chris MacNeil and Lt. Kinderman would suggest. Overall that sense realism, a excellent script and superb acting make this film so fasinating to watch. THE EXORCIST never seems to age because of those factors.
EXORCIST II: THE HERETIC
John Boormans's EXORCIST II is a vey bizzare movie to watch, as this never really is a horror film althought it does have its moments. It has a futuristic quality to it, such as the dream and hypnotic sequences. Which explains Father Merrin's past and how he encountered the demon Pazuzu. The film also shows how Merrin died in THE EXORCIST, and the fact that he was a heretic. The special effects in this film are imperessive. The exorcism of the Africian boy was excellent, but Boorman and Lederer do not come close to the realism of Friedkin's and writer/producer Blatty's original.
THE EXORCIST III
William Peter Blatty directed this film which was based on his book LEGION. This film is excellent thriller. As the plot overall has a connection with the original. Blatty creates a perfect sense of dread and unease much like THE EXORCIST. The use of lighting is perfect in this film, it doesn't seem unreal rather surreal, there is a difference. Blatty's shock tactics are fast and well done. Overall a film that grips and shocks you. This film is has that same shocking feeling of the first. A brillant sequal.
THE EXORCIST DVD packed full of features. Such as "The Fear Of God" Documentary. EXORCIST II: THE HERETIC has two trailers and alternate opening. THE EXORCIST III has a trailer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spooky Movies with unique direction and ideas!, 10 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Exorcist/The Exorcist 2/The Exorcist 3 [DVD] (DVD)
The original Exorcist Trilogy is essential viewing. The films are spooky, Stylish, well cast and very entertaining.
The first is the classic horror that starred Linda Blair, Max Von Sydow and Jason Miller. The first film works so well on its own that some people I'm sure probabaly wish there hadn't been any sequels. I though am a fan of the sequels as neither are simple re-treads of the original but are both films that continue the story in unique styles.
In the second film directed by John Boorman, you get Richard Burton starring as well as Linda Blair and Max Von Sydow features. Ennio Morricone does the score, watch the trailer and you can hear how great his score is. This first sequel will definately not be everyones prefered sequel as it is very different to the original.
I suspect more will appreciate the third entry which is superb and fits better with the original but is still very different. The third film stars an exellent George C Scott and the always brilliant Brad Dourif. You also get the return of Jason Miller. This third film is very spooky and atmosheric.
This boxset doesn't include the two prequel films, but I don't think they're worth owning especially as the second film features prequel scenes with Max Von Sydow anyway. This Boxset has some good extras such as the documentary 'Fear of God' and audio commentaries and original trailers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An ideal boxed set, 12 July 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Exorcist/The Exorcist 2/The Exorcist 3 [DVD] (DVD)
The Exorcist- Greatest horror film of all time? It's VERY well made, but probably not. Looking at it for the first time, I really enjoyed watching it, but I didn't faint and I went to sleep quite comfortably afterwards. That said, I do know people who have had quite different experiences...
One of the strengths of this film is that it strips away all rational explanation for Regan's behaviour until only the supernatural is left- the word 'exorcism' is only mentioned after an hour. The small things keep developing (rats in the attic, Regan's behaviour at the party) until we reach the true horror of her condition. And yet it's not just about Regan; this film is called 'The Exorcist' for a reason. The demon wants to get to Merrin to resume where they left off, telling Father Karras it would like an exorcism 'intensely' and yelling Merrin's name when he's entered downstairs... Visually and audibly it is compelling, with very little gore thrown about the place by some standards. (Alas! The projectile vomiting just doesn't cut the mustard!)And if you want to bring Christian attitudes to the film, that's fine, but you are not obliged to. You can view it on any number of levels. All in all, a fun film for all the family!
Exorcist II- Time for a confession. Had this film been any better, I'd have given the set four stars. However, I like bad films quite a lot, and Exorcist II is a failure both as a stand-alone film and put into context. It runs rampant over continuity (for example, it is discovered that Regan still has the demon inside her, completely negating the moving climax of the first film) and it is loaded with dodgy plot details, blatant symbolism, laughable dialogue and Richard Burton standing there sweating. I do not lie. He generally just stands there doing nothing but sweat. In one eight minute sequence the camera cuts to him over twenty-five times doing nothing. And the rest of the acting is not up to much either. Put simply, it doesn't move you, or make you think, or scare you. You just laugh at it. Which is perfect for me, but caveat emptor...
Exorcist III- well, it doesn't say very much to call this better than 'Exorcist II', but it's rather good. Kinderman, the detective from 'The Exorcist', is investigating a group of murders copying the methods of an executed criminal called the Gemini killer. The investigation leads him to a lunatic asylum where one inmate tells him he's the Gemini killer- and the inmate bears a striking resemblance to the late Father Karras... Good acting, surprisingly good plot (it doesn't disintegrate half as much as it easily could have done!), but the dialogue is not always the most natural. Again, little gore (I don't like gore- can you tell?). The effect is all that's needed, such as with the killing of the nurse or the murder in the confessional- we just see a pool of blood on the floor slide gently into the frame... Unfortunately Father Morning is an unecessary character who does nothing and shouldn't really be there dramatically, and the climax jars a little in execution, even when the film isn't put in context. It's also a little slow in places, but is nowhere near the car crash that some make it out to be. On its own, I'd give it three stars.
But since the box set contains both 'The Exorcist' and 'Exorcist II', 'Exorcist III' is pretty much just icing on the cake. The average is dragged up, especially since you can't yet get the sequels separately on DVD in England.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars the exorcist trilogy, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Exorcist/The Exorcist 2/The Exorcist 3 [DVD] (DVD)
received the exorcist trilogy they all play ok didnt have to wait to long for delivery after all these years still a brilliant film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Exorcist - And thats how it should of remained., 8 Aug 2007
By 
T. Lindsay "tlinds" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Exorcist/The Exorcist 2/The Exorcist 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Too often we see brilliant horror movies spawn rubbish sequels which just get worse as each one is created, and unfortunately the Exorcist falls into this catagory. As we all know, the first is probably one of the best horror movies ever made, but after that, oh dear...
The Exorcist: The Heretic is in my view, so far away from what the original is about that it is not even related, apart from the actors. Exorcist III is one of the worst movies i have ever viewed. It is so boring you wouldn't believe it. So do yourself a favour and just buy a special edition copy of The Exorcist and enjoy that, cause your missing nothing with the sequels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie trilogy, 1 Jan 2004
This review is from: The Exorcist/The Exorcist 2/The Exorcist 3 [DVD] (DVD)
This is definately a trilogy to have a try with. The exorcist is just one of the most talked about movies ever and probobly the most famous movie in history.
I won't tell you what each film is about since we can see them on the other reviews but I will tell you how I fell about them.
The exorcist: One of the best horror movies to hit the screen. I don't find it that scary but its still a damn good film.
Exorcist 2 the heretic: Actually I really enjoyed this film. Again it wasn't scary for a horror movie but it was entertaining. Not as good as the first.
The exorcist 3: The film was reasonably good but I found it so confusing. I still don't really get what its about. It has a connection with the first film. This is the weakest one for me.
The special features are okay for the first film but not for the last two.
Other great movie trilogys are Star wars, Indianna jones and the godfather.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Exorcist/The Exorcist 2/The Exorcist 3 [DVD]
The Exorcist/The Exorcist 2/The Exorcist 3 [DVD] by William Friedkin (DVD - 2002)
£13.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews