Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars play it cool
Play it cool is a fantastic film I am a Billy Fury fan from the 60s so this was a must to own with lot's of Rock & Roll music From Billy Fury & The Satellites, Bobby Vee, Shane Fenton,Helen Shapiro and Danny Williams.

If you are a Billy Fury Fan or you like the 60s era this is a Great film to buy, if your like me trying to find Great Old Films on DVD instead of...
Published on 19 Jun 2011 by Mr. A. Nicholls

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars fair
as good as expected. very early..enjoyable hokum.good fun but not billy at his best..would want more for my money next time
Published 4 months ago by terry gallop


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars play it cool, 19 Jun 2011
By 
Mr. A. Nicholls "Mr A Nicholls" (PRESTON,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Play It Cool! [VHS] [1962] (VHS Tape)
Play it cool is a fantastic film I am a Billy Fury fan from the 60s so this was a must to own with lot's of Rock & Roll music From Billy Fury & The Satellites, Bobby Vee, Shane Fenton,Helen Shapiro and Danny Williams.

If you are a Billy Fury Fan or you like the 60s era this is a Great film to buy, if your like me trying to find Great Old Films on DVD instead of Video I found Play It Cool from [...] As I've been looking for hard to find films on dvd for a while.

Mr A Nicholls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Billy fan, 15 July 2009
By 
H. Fredriksen (Merseyside England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Play It Cool! [VHS] [1962] (VHS Tape)
A good film, Just like it was in the early days,
Some great artist appearances, Helen Shapiro, Jess Conrad And many more,
If you are a Billy fan you need to watch this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, 23 Jun 2012
This review is from: Play It Cool! [VHS] [1962] (VHS Tape)
Contrary to M.W.Salter's review, I've always enjoyed watching this film. The soundtrack IS good with great songs all of which can be found on various CDs but which came out in the early 60's on an E.P. (Extended Play record - the size of the old 45s for the modern reader). Yes, Billy was not in the same league as Elvis acting wise but he does give the film it's punch and Michael Winner wisely turned it into a happy go lucky search for a lost girl. If you like the early 60's era, you'll love this inoffensive little gem. When it first came out, audiences were queuing round the block to get in to see the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ''Billymania is Reborn!'', 19 Oct 2013
This review is from: Play it Cool [DVD] (DVD)
Finally after all these years Play It Cool Britain's first twist film starring the legendary Billy Fury is going to be released for the first time on DVD. Before Beatlemania was even born Britain was in the grip of Billymania, and this film played a huge part in it. In 1962 a large audience of teenagers flock to their nearest cinema to see the movie, and within the first week it was a box office hit! Sadly the film slipped under the radar over the years, but the fans have never forgotten it. It's been a long wait, but somethings are worth waiting for. Hopefully the film will be remastered so it can shine once again. If your a fan of Billy Fury or rock n' roll this is a must have for your collection!

5/5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Play it Cool, 19 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Play it Cool [DVD] (DVD)
About time Billy's the greatest Ive waited a long time for this to come out can we also have Ive Gotta Horse on DVD please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars fair, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Play it Cool [DVD] (DVD)
as good as expected. very early..enjoyable hokum.good fun but not billy at his best..would want more for my money next time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Saw it at the cinema when it was originally released..., 12 Feb 2014
By 
C. FULLER (Brixham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Play it Cool [DVD] (DVD)
This was a very popular film when originally released and I well remember going along to the cinema to see it. This new release by network is from an excellent original and is in all respects everything I had hoped for. A strong central performance from Billy Fury and many musical guests. Plenty of well known actors take part and keep the pace moving nicely. Great value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This new release is great quality, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Play it Cool [DVD] (DVD)
Just wanted to say this new release today 12 February 2014, a new transfer from original cleaned film stock, is much better quality both in sound and picture, and it makes it much more enjoyable to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent film for its day!, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Play it Cool [DVD] (DVD)
This is exactly how we churned out pop films in the sixties, so I rate it 5-star as it compares favourably with all and better than some. What in heavens name is the problem with the current 3-star reviewer, I don't know. One bland comment suggests that, and I quote: "Dennis Price actually looks quite embarrassed". Duh! I am guessing that the reviewer hasn't seen many films featuring Dennis Price (spelt with an i, not y). Just look at Dennis Price in the 1949 film: Kind Hearts And Coronets thirteen years earlier - same Dennis Price and pretty much identical acting - that's Dennis Price folks!

Anyway, let's not detract too much from Billy Fury, who's acting and 'stage presence' in the film were impeccable, and the voice and style - superb! So it was a weak plot, so it might seem a little corny or dated to modern audiences (not me!). This was one well-acted and well-directed 1960's film. Billy was great. The supporting cast was great (including Dennis Price). Richard Wattis was a little troublesome to watch - but hey, that's showbiz. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Classic from Network!, 7 April 2014
By 
H. Hopkins (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Play it Cool [DVD] (DVD)
79 minutes of pure cheese! Great fun though, with fab sound and picture quality too. The past is indeed another country!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Play It Cool! [VHS] [1962]
Play It Cool! [VHS] [1962] by Michael Winner (VHS Tape - 2002)
Used & New from: 19.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews