Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars24
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:£9.68+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 January 2003
There simply isn't enough good to say about this record. If you are getting a little tired of the poppy nu metal and generally softer rock that the USA produces so well, then get your listening gear around this and let the Brighton based rockers show you how it is done.
From the first bars of 'Celebrate your Mother' the band carry you off on a twisted tour of everything you never expect but come to miss immediately the record finishes. At only 25 minutes long it seems like a bit of short changing has occoured, but rest assured you will listen again & again.
Should you be thinking twice about paying for it, then don't. If you want to have your soul shaken by rock, buy it now. Right now.
0Comment6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2002
It's not background music. You must play this album up LOUD. It rocks it's heart out and makes the blood flow faster and harder. Don't listen if you've got high blood pressure, this could be all it takes to throw you over the edge.
Fast and furious. Head shaking mental music that makes me feel ALIVE and briliant.
I love it. It's an essential for anyones CD collection - even if you aren't into harder music - you should still own it - as a conversation piece - to help open your mind to the limitless possibilities there are in music.
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2006
An almost ridiculous barrage of mental, short and filthy tales wrapped in rock `n' roll that lasts for a glorious 22 minutes, the extravagantly named pull off the extravagantly basic and repulsively beautiful.

There is a lot of memorable blurts from the clubsinger-meets-Misfits style vocalist, with more `Owww!'s and screams than you can shake a stick at, as guitars slice through with menacing and sometimes American southern-rock substance. The goodness `Horse of the Dog' supplies is inexpressible as the blend within the music just works and has obviously just appeared without a second thought as to what it consisted of.

They show that there still a light of the well-used rock `n' roll tunnel, and it is they who are bearing the torch, aiding those hard-edged newcomers to follow.

But: how is this band British when everything reeks of U.S swagger?
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2003
Eighties Match Box B-Line Disaster are a band that have given my desire for music a much needed boost. From the opening song 'celebrate your mother' with its catchy beats and lyrics to my favourite 'Morning has broken' that jumps between genius and insanity this album is awesome. Unlike most albums that grace my top ten such as RadioHead 'The Bends' and the Pixies 'Doolittle' Horse of the Dog keeps you moving to a frenzy of stylish drug fuelled carnage, that injects your veins with punk-rock spasms.
I've listened to this short album non-stop and can't fault it.
This is the sort of band that once you listented to the album you just have to see them live depsite fearing for your health in quest to do so.
Don't even THINK about buying this, if you want to turn up the volume and raise your adrenaline to a dangerous (thets do something crazy) level JUST BUY IT> NOW!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2004
Now in the states recording their next album which is gonna be excellent (buy the new single 'Mister Mental'which also includes fantastic B-Sides) this is their first album, and it blew me away when i first heard it. I was so amazed by the raw power of it and it jus makes u want to jump up and mosh! The band also combines a thrashing blend of guitars with gritty bass and drums added over with Guy Mcknights twisted voice and lyrics it makes this album a must for metal/rock fans. Alsp proof that Brit rock is not dead, this is a very unique band and there live show is magic. Great buy! (Very shot album, worth every penny though!!)
Best tracks - Celebrate Your Mother (lyric content,lol),Chicken,Fishfingers,Morning Has Broken. All good really. BUY IT!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2007
In my opinion this is a genre defining classic, not only is completely original it is also a damn good listen. The only way for me to describe the music is like some sort of Rockabilly on amphetamines mixed with goth and a dash of thrash.

The bass work and drumming gives the music it's Rockabilly sound. The guitar work is thrilling which gives the music its adrenaline buzz. The vocals are gothic but he can also scream all to good affect.

The sound of this band is totally unique and this is why, in my opinion, they haven't started a whole new genre. If Queens of the Stone Age rate them highly then they deserve respect and a should be given a listen.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2006
I heard 'giant bones' on a free kerrang cd and thought id investigate further. I had deliberated whether to buy this album although after i purchased it i was so glad i did. The music is kind of 50s rockabilly mixed with gothic tendancies. I must add that this is like proper gothic music (i.e people who live in coffins and not the teenagers wearing cradle of filth t-shirts)The music is very heavy and schizophrenic and very uncommercialised. (I feel that the follow up was good but weaker.) This is a great album and i felt much displeasure when i heard System of a Down fans booing 80s matchbox when they supported SOAD.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2003
I love watching bands live, and I love listening to a good album. It's not often that the power of the live show can be recorded onto a little round silver thing and still poccess the power of the live show...the Eighties Matchbox B-line Disater manage to do this on "Horse of the Dog".
The raw power and dynamicism of this disc make it a fantastic buy for anyone who likes catchy, noisy British rock. The comparisons with Nick Cave's The Birthday Party and The Cramps are justified, even though these young lads weren't actually influenced by either.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2005
Brilliant. Offensive. Violent.
Surf-blues-metal? deathabilly? only an NME journo could box this band. buy it- it'll blow your world up
chicken is the ultimate poker song
charge the guns is the best song ever about the 1st world war.
psychosis safari is possibly the best song for doing 32 in a 30 zone i've heard in a long while.
celebrate your mother is just a great song.
if you're a moronic system of a down fan who booed them, you should listen to their album, then headbutt a wall for being such a fool.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2004
I saw the 80s matchbox play reading festival in 2002 and they were amazing. The album is short (around 25 minuites) but its so full and fast that it dosnt matter. not such a well know band, but certainly worth a listen. Best track is 'Psychosis Safari', but all the tracks are great anyway. Mixture of speed drumming, funky effects on guitars, deep bass lines and and some cool effects on Guy McKnight's vocals makes an amazing and unmissable combination.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£12.98
£12.98

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.