Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Completely barking mad, but strangely addictive
RW had obviously gone somewhat creatively loopy at this stage - just where do you get the idea for basing an album on a Taffy Hawkings character who controls radio waves using some Bacofoil? Having said that, there are some corkers on this album. Am listening to Home as I write this and it is a beautiful piece; Who Needs Information kicks as well. There are some...
Published on 28 Oct 2010 by Bass God

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Barmy......bonkers.....but.........
This record is so flawed (awful 80s' production, patronizing tone, bonkers plotline and RW's silly pseudo-Atlantic drawl) , and has been so much maligned, that it's easy to overlook the fact that it was actually addressing some quite serious issues about the nature of community and 'home' (its original title interestingly enough). Very pertinent then in the midst of 1980s...
Published on 11 April 2011 by Nicholas B. Gibbs


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Completely barking mad, but strangely addictive, 28 Oct 2010
This review is from: Radio K.a.o.s. (Audio CD)
RW had obviously gone somewhat creatively loopy at this stage - just where do you get the idea for basing an album on a Taffy Hawkings character who controls radio waves using some Bacofoil? Having said that, there are some corkers on this album. Am listening to Home as I write this and it is a beautiful piece; Who Needs Information kicks as well. There are some cringe-inducing moments too, I admit, e.g. mixing Live Aid, Stallone, and a Welsh male voice choir, but overall this is, as I say, strangely addictive. The Wembley gig was bizarre, too, but a lot more enjoyable than the libraryesque atmosphere of the Pros and Cons gig at Earl's Court (half-full, if memory serves me).

Don't buy this album if you're a casual Waters fan (if that's not an oxymoron) as this one's for those of us too far in to get out now. By the way, £85 for the O2 - you need a mortgage advisor to afford gigs these days. That's worth one star, not this box of frogs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just keep coming back to this one..., 16 Feb 2004
This review is from: Radio K.a.o.s. (Audio CD)
This is one of those CD's that seems to find its way into my CD player at least once a month - and I've owned it for many many years.
This is a concept album in that all of the songs within contribute to a single unified vision: that of a late-80's anti-Thatcher, ludditic, and apocolyptic tale stemming from an actual 1984 news story in which a Welsh taxi driver was killed by a concrete block dropped from an overpass by striking coal miners.
In Radio Kaos, this story is told from the perspective of Billy, a wheelchair bound young adult whose twin brother, Benny, is mistakenly arrested and sent to jail for the concrete block incident. Billy, however, has an astounding ability - he can hear radio waves in his head. He is subsequently sent to live with his uncle and learns to communicate using his radio-wave enabled mind and a cellphone. Using his new-found "voice" he befriends an LA based DJ and they converse. It's these converstations that lead to Billies final oeuvre: a faked nuclear apocolypse (a la "War Games"). When the hour of destruction passes and the world realises that there was no nuclear war, a new "tide" of understanding turns in which - we are left to presume - the great nations lay down arms, learn to harness the power of technology, stop hunting whales, and so on and so on...
Listening to this CD in 2004, the story seems far less relevant. We have seemingly escaped The Bomb, the miners strike is over, Thatcher-Reagan are now distant memories, and Britain is a wealthier place. However, for a thirtysomething like myself, this album survives as a snapshot of the world that was mid-late 1980s Britain. Indeed, listening to the first half of the album, I am transported back to my teenage years; flashbacks of the miners strike, Margaret Thatcher, and concrete blocks come easily.
The album sounds late-80's without being Pop-ish. You can hear the immense experience that is brought to bear in the production; vocals are haunting, the rhythm section is tight, and - as we would expect - all of the Floydish voiceovers and special effects are there.
I suspect that the modern young listener may not connect with this album as the themes and style may seem outdated and irrelevant. However, to those of us who lived through the late 80's this is a piece of work that, thanks to some good writing and great production, remains eminently listenable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Underrated., 30 Mar 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Radio K.a.o.s. (Audio CD)
Roger Waters' solo work has never had the ubiquity that his Pink Floyd albums have. You can often see why; his political ranting and pretention reaching an often intolerable on a regular basis, it was unlikely to win many new fans looking for another Dark Side Of The Moon. However, his solo albums - particularly Radio KAOS, even forsaken by its creator in recent years - remain underrated.
It is - as usual - a concept album, and an odd one at that. A crippled, disabled Welsh youth moves to LA and discovers he can hear computers in his head. Figuring out how to control them, he creates an imitation apocalypse, before revealing his little joke to the world. Confusing and bemusing, it's not exactly pop music.
However, a lot of the songs on this album are brilliant. 'The Powers That Be,' featuring the glorious voice of Paul Carrack, is one of the best moments as he duels with the backing singers. 'Who Needs Information?' has a divine bridge melody, and the euphoric rush of opener 'Radio Waves,' eighties-sounding though it is, is only equalled by closer (and possibly defining moment of his solo career) 'The Tide Is Turning (After Live Aid).' Ironically enough he was apparently forced into writing this song to give the album a happy ending.
All in all, while the production doesn't really suit the album and the concept's pretty bizarre, this underrated LP is one which Floydians should certainly give a look after exhausting the Pink Floyd back catalogue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Barmy......bonkers.....but........., 11 April 2011
By 
Nicholas B. Gibbs "Nick Gibbs" (Brussels, Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Radio K.a.o.s. (Audio CD)
This record is so flawed (awful 80s' production, patronizing tone, bonkers plotline and RW's silly pseudo-Atlantic drawl) , and has been so much maligned, that it's easy to overlook the fact that it was actually addressing some quite serious issues about the nature of community and 'home' (its original title interestingly enough). Very pertinent then in the midst of 1980s Thatcher's Britain, and as much so now (still) in the wake of it. At times silly - yes, overblown - undoubtedly, but actually quite articulate, thoughtful and intelligent. Not three adjectives you usually reach for when describing rock music, which is why RW is held in such esteem by so many people. And The Tide is Turning is still very moving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Luv it!, 5 Jun 2012
By 
D. Chandler "Darts Fanatic" (Merseyside, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Radio K.a.o.s. (Audio CD)
One of my favourite albums. Absolutely love it. Not to everyone's taste though probably. Better than The Pros and Cons Of Hitchhiking which I don't really like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Waters, 9 Aug 2013
This review is from: Radio K.a.o.s. (Audio CD)
A concept album that I enjoyed much for than The Pros and Cons of Hitch Hiking. Quite short with just eight tracks and coming out at about forty-three minutes. An enjoyable story and Waters usual deft touch with the music. My favourite is The Tide Is Turning. A sweet lovely song with a beautiful message.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good cd, 2 Mar 2013
By 
C. Manning "mud man" (devon,uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Radio K.a.o.s. (Audio CD)
I admire all R W,s work and this one is no exception ,but i had to listen to it several times before i understood the whole cd .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars THE NAME OF THE TAXI DRIVER..., 21 Aug 2005
This review is from: Radio K.a.o.s. (Audio CD)
The name of the taxi driver killed by a 46lb concrete block and a 65lb concrete post that Roger Waters sings about was DAVID WILKIE.
At the time he was a father of three with a fourth baby born soon after his death. Killed by two 21yr old men trying to stop him from taking a local miner to work during the bitter Miners Strike of 1984-5. The 2 men were sentenced to Life imprisonment but on appeal only served 5 years.
However fascile our endearing you find Radio KAOS, I defy anyone to condemn Waters' knack for confronting hard and uncomfortable storylines leaving the listener with a more enlightened view on the subject.
I remember owning this on vinyl and playing it regularly. Although I feel in some areas it doesn't have a patch against some of Floyd's work, I believe it's sublime and unequalled in others.
6/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Roger should be ashamed of himself..., 14 April 2008
This review is from: Radio K.a.o.s. (Audio CD)
I have just listened to this record for the first time in years and let me tell you, it hasn't got any better with age.

I'm not really sure who would like the album. Not fans of Floyd nor those who prefer Waters' solo work. It's a daft album from the start, the whole concept is silly and Waters' voice isn't suited to this type of music. The production doesn't help either

There is one good song on the album: The Tide Is Turning (After Live Aid).

If you want to hear Waters at his best, buy Amused To Death instead. I will put this album away for a few years now and give it another listen in about 2012.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Radio Kaos- Roger Waters, 17 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Radio Kaos (Audio CD)
RADIO KAOS, not one of my favourite albums but still worth listening to, if you've not heard it already. Concentrated around a story about a cripple who can communicate through radio-waves Waters filters his disdain at a host of political issues through the passages of the music. Complimentary to this, there are various references to the narrative, to the albums character Billy, and Billy's communications with a subversive radio station, called KAOS. Billy, lacks the same depth as Pink did in The Wall Video, and the album seems somewhat 80's influenced. Yet, this is still a good album, with The Tide is Turning a gem in comparison to some of the other material. I believe Roger even used his own two children on this album, for texture in one of the songs. (background sounds) Dedicated 'to all those who find themselves at the violent end of monetarism', I would say this is a reasonable album with the occasional hint that it could have been far better, and would still recommend it despite its lack of flair that his other albums contain. For other RW albums, check out Amazon. (see also the When the Wind Blows soundtrack which contains music by Waters with the Bleeding Heart band and other artists)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Radio K.a.o.s.
Radio K.a.o.s. by Roger Waters (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews