Customer Reviews


100 Reviews
5 star:
 (67)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Do you really want to go in there ?"
"Gattaca" is one of the better science-fiction films that I have seen in recent years. It looks stylish ,it is filmed superbly and it is well acted. It is an atmospheric and thoughtful futuristic film ,not of the high octane, pumping soundtrack variety . The premise of the film is interesting and also quite credible , namely that in the future genetically engineered human...
Published on 7 Mar 2006 by L. Davidson

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars German & English version
This is a German version that has English as a second language for the sound, as well as English subtitles. I really like the movie, so this is not an issue, but you do have to switch to English on some players...
Published 3 months ago by R. Berends


‹ Previous | 19 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stylish and original science fiction, 22 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Gattaca [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
This science fiction is set in a stylish not so distant future. It is one of a rare breed of science fiction movie that doesn't let the science get in the way of the fiction. This future world is very stylish and sleek and the movie is wroth a look for this original vision alone. I don't know how this movie slipped below the radar when it appeared in the cinema.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gattaca - the perfect complement to BladeRunner, 2 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Gattaca [VHS] [1998] (VHS Tape)
This is an excellent, thought provoking film, that is the perfect flipside to Bladerunner. It works best if you view them back to back - Bladerunner first, then Gattaca, as I feel Gattaca is more uplifting. Where BR is dark and grimy, Gattaca is white and clean and everybody wears nice suits. Where BladeRunner has a population of humans with a few "more human than human" replicants, Gattaca's protagonist is one of the only people in the film who hasn't had his DNA messed with. BR focuses on the man with the task of tracking down this minority; Gattaca on a member of the minority trying his best to fit in. Bladerunners message is that even those who aren't strictly human should be given a proper chance at life, Gattacas is that this is all very well but you mustn't let "Faith births" become second class citizens either. Anyway, I could go on, but even if you don't watch it as a double, you should definitely watch it. Gattaca is one beautiful piece of film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GATTACA, 6 Nov 2006
This review is from: Gattaca [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
In a world where an eyelash, a drop of blood from your finger-tip or even a scale of your skin is able to influence your whole life, Vincent Freeman is living in. "Gattaca" describes the personal destiny of Vincent in such a world.

First it is important to explain this world. There is made a difference between the Godchildren and the genmanipulated "valid" children. The last ones` genes are selective manipulated by their parents. These children are not growing up in the stomach of their mothers, they are grown in vitro.

Although Vincent is a Godchild and was born naturally and so he has no perfect or selected genes, he is following a dream. His dream is to become an astronaut and fly to the airspace. But in his way there are waiting many borders and difficulties. Just the valid humans get such good jobs as being a worker in an airspace station.

All bosses are allowed to make some tests before employing a new worker. Vincent Freeman would have no chance to be employed, because he has too many

"invalid" genes and the test would identify him as "invalid". The employers would not employ an "invalid", because they think they would bring risks to the workplace and could easier be crank and earlier unable to work. All in all the "invalids" have not as good qualities as the "valids" have. The parents of valid persons mostly manipulated the genes of zealousness, not being violent, ambition and intelligence and much more to make their children successful.

By watching the film, I have asked me the questions if this future-vision will come true and if yes, would these manipulations of genes make our lives easier or better? I think it is difficult to see, if a true character of these "valid" persons which are described in this film, exists. I think the humanity marks out that every person is different and even the so called "bad" character trades are important for the world and for each single person. Because so, everyone learns to value the good character trades of one person. If we would not know the bad things in this world, we would not recognize all the beautiful and good things in this world. Without emotions the whole sensitiveness would not exist. Neither the good nor the bad.

In the film "Gattaca" I missed the emotions of the valid people. Just Vincent showed some.

I think the maker of "Gattaca" placed many little details in the film which make the watcher thinking about it.

The following content of the film built the tension: Vincent Freeman gets the identity of Jerome Morrow. Jerome Morrow is a "valid". He is sitting in a wheelchair since a bad accident.

Vincent pays money to get Jerome`s identity. Therefore Jerome has to give up blood and urin, which Vincent can use to manipulate the medical tests and to become a worker at the airspace station. At one day the boss of this station is killed and many policemen make tests of all scales and hairs they can find. Now the danger exists that Vincent Freeman`s real identity will be discovered.

The film as a whole was very exciting and its themes are perhaps not as far away as we think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love Sci-Fi, a must for the collection!!, 11 May 2010
Haven't watched the DVD yet but if you're a sci-fi buff then its a must for the collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars VINCENT, 11 Feb 2004
By 
DAVID BRYSON (Glossop Derbyshire England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gattaca [VHS] [1998] (VHS Tape)
The world of this movie was never meant for one as deficient genetically as this Vincent, we are given to understand. In this nearish future, genetic design is depicted as at least a frequent occurrence, perhaps even the norm. Vincent was conceived normally and brings into the world a daunting catalogue of infirmities, summed up in a life-expectancy of 30 years, low by even the standards of certain far eastern counties today. This does not sit well with his consuming ambition to travel into space, and the film builds a collection of different plots and sub-plots around this basic quandary.
To start with what is particularly good about Gattaca, the sets are striking. They create a ‘futuristic’ aura very successfully, so much so that they they actually forced my attention on to what I believe to be one aspect of the film’s main weakness, namely the plot or plots – Vincent’s basic dilemma does not require a future setting at all. If he had been a weakling trying to get into a career in, say, sport or the armed services in 2004 that would have dealt with the issue just as well. The other thing that is distinctly good, in a certain kind of way, is the acting. When Gore Vidal, of all people, makes an early entrance in the role of Director, I reflected momentarily that I had never seen him acting before. In an instant I had corrected myself – I have never seen Vidal not acting. He acts a persona of his own creating whenever he appears on the media, and it is no surprise that he carries off his film role so convincingly. The Director is a far simpler personality that the real-life Gore Vidal. The three main roles are taken by Ethan Hawke as Vincent, Jude Law as the crippled but genetically perfect Jerome, and Uma Thurman as Irene. Like the Director, the characters are schematic and line-drawn, and such as they are they are very well done. The trouble, I hate to say, is the plotting.
Not only is the basic setting not really required, the theme of Vincent’s physical frailty actually has nothing to do with the ethical question of designer-vs-natural conception either. These threads are separate strands thrown into a single bag, so to speak, but not woven together. In much the same way the murder investigation, which threatens to blow Vincent’s cover and reveal his clever DNA exchange with Jerome, is very loosely integrated with the main action – anything of that kind would have taken only the smallest mischance to come to light, and the efforts of the investigators make the quest for certain weapons in Iraq even as I write look a model of competence. It all left me not even needing to make a willing supension of disbelief at how an impoverished janitor obtained the funds first to pay the rapacious clandestine transgenetics operator and second to pay his way though the Gattaca induction programme. To cap it all, there is a further sub-plot of sibling rivalry between Vincent and his eugenic younger brother Anton, which must be important, I have to assume, as one of their periodic swimming contests takes place at the climactic stage of the story. And of course there is a love-theme as well, in case the film ran out of themes.
I suppose this could hardly be called a rave-notice, and I fully admit that the film at least held my attention. It is not a bad film by any means, but the nearer in time to us that such an action is supposed to take place the harder it is to keep one’s normal rational faculties switched off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unexpectedly good, 6 Feb 2004
This review is from: Gattaca --Superbit [DVD] [1997] [1998] (DVD)
This film is really good. And i think AI was really boring. Worth renting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Barely adequate, but brings up some interesting ideas, 13 May 2010
By 
R. Court - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
They have no heart therapy? We do, now, but in the future they don't?

That's a plot hole so big you could drive the QE2 through it, sideways.

As someone said, Jude Law was good at a couple of points, but the rest of it was kind of wooden, which might be the direction rather than the actors, but you can't really tell.

None the less, there are some important points about prejudice in here. Natural Selection acts on all of us, always, it doesn't pay to bet against nature. I think we will mess with our own genes, and make some fabulous monsters, but they won't be perfect as these people thought they were. They will be at risk because they're not tried and tested stock. The next couple of hundred years will probably be interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring, 11 Aug 2013
By 
Cen (N-london, uk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gattaca [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Bought this because jude law is so cool,This was supposed to be about overcoming obstacles in your life and proving to everyone you can be better than what people think of you, i just couldn't click with it, again my attention span faded in to nothingness......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 47 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Strikes out on every count, 1 Dec 2002
This review is from: Gattaca [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
I think I must be missing something here.

Granted, Gattaca certainly tried to score on many levels - Philip K. Dick-esque sci-fi, Tense Political Thriller, Edgy Romance, Rumination on Filial Love and Oligation - but it failed miserably on every single one.

From the opening sequence (extreme close-ups of fingernail clippings, anyone?), the droning, unimaginative soundtrack got on my wick, and all seemed intractily lost.

First off, the sci-fi premise stinks (it's a rap on the genetically programmed to be perfect humans vs "human" humans debate: where "human" humans have become "invalid" citizens, electronically tagged and shut out mainstream society of perfectly engineered humans ... but if there is sufficient technology to eradicate human flaws at conception, then surely someone must clever enough to fix them later in life too, no?). The special effects adviser (who, in all fairness, didn't have a lot to do other than the aforementioned toenailclipping close-ups and depicting the launch of distant rockets every ten minutes) seems to have missed the last 35 years in development of special effects.

The brother vs. brother thread is schmaltz (the whole relationship can be summed up, apparently, by who was the better swimmer when they were boys), and guess who turns out to be the prosecuting cop when Ethan goes on the lam? Good grief.

What else... oh yes, the palpable lack of chemistry between Thurman and Hawke beggars belief (Thurman looks continually as if the very sight of Hawke gives her the screaming heebee jeebies, which is probably a fair call), and the thriller/whodunnit piece is a complete sop, which fails to import any sense of drama into the proceedings. And boy did the film need it.

I have to confess to being no great fan of Ethan Hawke as an actor, and I did dose off for about fifteen minutes in the first half, so may have missed something totally redemptive of the whole experience, but I am bound to say I find this terrifically hard to believe.

The only saving grace is Jude Law, who seems to make his living these days propping up dreadful films with solid performances (see A.I. and The Road To Perdition in this regard), and who at the critical moment in the film, performs a very deft ascent of a spiral staircase without using his legs.

That is to be commended, however bad the rest of the experience.

Olly Buxton
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 31 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars boring and unbelievable, 23 Oct 2005
By 
Ben Gabel (wet and windy wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gattaca [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
I'm sorry to disagree with everyone else on this, but we couldn't be bothered to finish this one. The characters are unbelievable and its just, well, boring. The buildings are cool; I liked the architecture . . . but this was about as exciting as watching paint dry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 19 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x1105f048)

This product

Gattaca --Superbit [DVD] [1997] [1998]
Gattaca --Superbit [DVD] [1997] [1998] by Andrew Niccol (DVD - 2002)
19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews