Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Prime Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars185
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£9.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Not only are the vast majority of the programmes contained here thoroughly entertaining but watching them is sure to bring back so many other 70's related memories. Each episode begins 'straight in' just to build up the tension before the classic HHOH creepy music comes in. With the footage of that big old house and it's very creepy grounds you know every time that as soon as the guy at the end of the scene pulls back that curtain you're going to be scared! While some of the tales on here are better than others ('The House That Bled To Death' and 'Charley Boy' are particularly good) all are indelibly stamped with the classic 'Hammer feel' and I feel bring 70's Britain back to life. I loved watching these old programmes again as much for the glimpses it gave me of so many now classic cars as anything! Mini's, Ford Escorts and God, how I still love those old Rover 3.5's that used to be cop cars everywhere, remember? There were even places to park in those days too!!!

Stick a T Rex cd on first then sit down and watch this, I guarantee that if your a horror fan and liked the recent 'Life on Mars' series you will love this too. Return to a much less scarey era for a few hours and for once be scared by something that is NOT real. BUY THIS!
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 1 September 2012
ITV's 1980 'Hammer House Of Horror' anthology series was, for the most part, a quality television show with a host of star character actors including Pierce Brosnan, Brian Cox, Peter Cushing and Diana Dors.

This excellent value DVD box set contains all 13 episodes of this memorable entry in television horror. A wide range of genre was covered here, everything from mystery and intrigue, to supernatural and sinister drama, as well as some seriously chilling moments, there is something for every horror/drama enthusiast.

Several of the episodes in this series were very good indeed, 'Children Of The Full Moon' could have actually made a very credible feature length movie, and along with the thrilling 'The Silent Scream', 'The Thirteen Reunion' and 'Visitor From The Grave' these are my personal favourites. There were a couple of episodes that weren't so good in my opinion, some of them were pretty silly, but none necessarily unwatchable.

The stories are not presented on these two discs in their original UK broadcasting order. The first episode to air on ITV was not 'The House That Bled to Death', but actually 'Witching Time', one of the more weaker episodes, but a chance to see the talented actress Patricia Quinn, and the lovely Prunella Gee (Patricia Fearing in the 1983 James Bond adventure 'Never Say Never Again') in her prime.

However, despite a few turkeys present, there is more than enough great entertainment here to merit at least a four star review, and for me to hail this box-set as a real treat for horror/classic British TV fans. The bonus features aren't anything spectacular, just a brief biography of each episode's major actors, and photograph still galleries.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2002
It's actually more than 20 years and I only had vague memories of some of the stories but this series really is a product from a much more imaginative era of television. Of course people don't scare as easily these days but most of these episodes can still raise the odd feeling of unease. Where it scores most of course is in the tremendous wealth of acting talent that the series utilises...Peter Cushing, Brian Cox, Pierce Brosnan, Denholm Elliot, Diana Dors...the list goes on and on. Even the
minor characters are represented by the type of professional character actor that tv doesn't seem to require these days...was
anyone more fundamentally seedy and untrustworthy than the great Milton Johns ? Turn the lights down low and enjoy some cracking and original yarns....you'll soon see why this show did so well at the time. Sadly a planned second series never happened, and the "Hammer House of Mystery and Suspense" from the mid eighties wasn't fit to be considered as a follow up !
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2013
I can't believe my parents used to let me watch this series when I was a kid in the 1980s. Great stories, brilliant cast members, some genuinely creepy viewing - especially the famous 'The House That Bled To Death' (everyone in my PRIMARY SCHOOL class talked about that one the next day! Parenting in the 80s was obviously less protective than today's parenting!) But this isn't horror for children, it's a genuinely disturbing watch in some places. Such an original series, nothing else like it on TV before or since.

Only issues, the stories get weaker towards the end of the run, and one of the episodes seems to start a little way in and so you miss the beginning (and in my DVD a couple of episodes kept jumping about and I didn't get to see it the end of them, shame)
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2013
I'll be one of the first to admit that I am no lover of horror films and the excessive amount of gore and violence they contain, but this TV series has more of what I call 'watered down' horror, in that it has been toned down especially for the small screen. And I bought this boxset having watched a couple of episodes previously on the now defunct satellite channel Men & Motors, as well as one online via Youtube.

My review comes two days after my boxset arrived, and although I've not yet watched all the stories on the first disc, so far I'm hooked and chilled both at the same time! The Silent Scream and Witching Time have to be contenders for best episode of the series, although The Two Faces Of Evil also comes pretty close. No matter which episode you watch you will spot at least one familiar face in an early TV role before going on to bigger and better things, or in some cases already popular actors in a big or small role - Peter Cushing, for example, playing the central character in 'Scream'.

There is an eerie feel to each and every episode, in that you never know what will happen - or when - from one moment to the next. But isn't that what enjoying being scared is all about? There is also the odd exposure of flesh from time to time, something that Hammer Films were well known for in most of their productions.

Horror fans and lovers of the supernatural will certainly not want to miss out on snapping up this series on DVD, especially if they have never seen it before and because there were only 13 episodes made, so by all means get it soon! Just don't watch it late at night and before you go to bed - I predict not a lot of sleep otherwise...
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2010
It's a great boxed set, not dated and it's great to see the fashions, cars and surroundings from that era. The actors were big names in TV and film and many I'd forgotten until I saw this. The stories haven't dated, they are timeless and it's an extremely entertaining watch all round.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2013
I am thrilled to have this collection on dvd. I remember this as my favourite series back in the 80s. Although I would hardly call this horrific by todays standards, some of the stories still pack a mean punch, especially Two Faces of Evil, 13th Reunion, Witching Time and Children of the Full Moon. I also love Charlie Boy and even Visitor from the Grave is enjoyable if completely unlikely!

Bring back those behind the sofa moments and treat yourself to this great collection.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2013
This is a TV series that was very successful. You get four discs containing 13 episodes each running about 50 minutes.
Every episode has famous stars in them. The quality is top notch. Enjoy.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2009
They don't make films like this now. Of course these weren't films, they were hour-long television episodes, which were very successful in transferring the Hammer name to the small screen. Looking at them now, with twenty-first century eyes, there's very little to cavil at. The acting is on the whole very good, with lots of well-known faces, and the production values excellent (for heaven's sake, they even have top-notch classical composers like McCabe and Salzedo writing the music). So what we have are examples of old-school horror, that is, films that are unsettling and pyschologically disturbing, rather than dumbed-down in-your-face shocking.

Any minus points? Well, some of the 80s fashions (particularly the beards) are horrific in the wrong way, and some might find the occasional nudity a bit gratuitous. But there's a lot here to enjoy, and several of the episodes are genuinely memorable, with some striking photography. These are quality productions, whether or not they were meant to be!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2011
brilliant series as with other reviewers couple not so sharp but not enough to give this anything less than 5 stars.
from the moment the haunting music is played you know you in for something special.
creepy and atmospheric with right amount of gore,affects and using characters and places which seem to be lost in a lot of todays tv.

best episodes,no order-house that bleed to death (old couple in beginning very unsettling),charlie boy(sound of the fetish and its look),children of the full moon(another unsettling start and very creepy with overgrown woods ect),silent scream (clever and mr cushing),witching time (spooky in places and apart from something about patrica quinn she also makes a great witch).

least fav but worth a watch - mark of satan (bit of a mess) and rude awakenings (lazy start and had the potential to be so much better,shame as great cast and actors did best with what they could).
go buy my underworld friends
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)