Customer Reviews


115 Reviews
5 star:
 (68)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


155 of 160 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five star entertainment
Hammer House of Horror, one of the best horror collections you can buy, quite often at a bargainous price, is not to be missed. Allowing for personal tastes the consensus seems to be that there are 10 or 11 of the episodes which are good or very good with 2 or 3 not so good but worth a watch. Personally I would say there is only one real duffer 'Growing Pains' but a few...
Published on 1 Oct 2008 by All of them Witches

versus
28 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wipe your feet on the way in
Welcome to the Hammer House of Horror. Like any anthology series it's a bit of a mixed bag. There are some good stories and there are some less good stories. Despite the name, it's not much like Hammer horror at all- with their contemporary settings the episodes are more like extended versions of the stories from those old Amicus anthology films.
That's one of the...
Published on 9 Dec 2002 by I. Kirby


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

155 of 160 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five star entertainment, 1 Oct 2008
By 
All of them Witches (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hammer House Of Horror - Complete Collection [DVD] [1980] (DVD)
Hammer House of Horror, one of the best horror collections you can buy, quite often at a bargainous price, is not to be missed. Allowing for personal tastes the consensus seems to be that there are 10 or 11 of the episodes which are good or very good with 2 or 3 not so good but worth a watch. Personally I would say there is only one real duffer 'Growing Pains' but a few other reviewers have expressed their like for this episode so as I said it all boils down to personal preference.
I'll quickly run thru the episodes in their chronicological order on the disc for ease though as one reviewer stated this was not the order in which they were originally aired.

The House that Bled to Death - A lot of peoples favourite episode concerning a family who have moved into a house where a gruesome murder had taken place. Good solid episode with an appropriate and deserving conclusion!

The Silent Scream - Excellent episode with Peter Cushing as the proprietor of a pet shop with a difference. Incredulous that one reviewer here doesn't like it!

The Two Faces of Evil - Enjoyable, slows to a crawl occasionally but good story and good finale concerning evil doppelgangers.

The Mark of Satan - I'm a little bit ambivalent about this one, interesting though strange exploration of demonic possession.

Witching Time - A 17th century witch returns to haunt the occupants of her old farmhouse. Unremarkable but fine.

Visitor From the Grave - Lots of people don't like this one, I do however. The episode most guilty of staging set pieces which are far fetched if not impossible in light of what is really happening in the story. A woman is haunted by the ghost of a man she has killed. Great ending I thought.

Rude Awakening - Estate Agent Denholm Elliot struggles to differentiate between dreams and reality. Don't bother watching the intro sequence before the music with this episode as it just shows excerpts of what happens in the forthcoming programme.

Charlie Boy - Voodoo doll with a bad attitude, good.

Children of the Full Moon - Great episode, Diana Dors puts in a suitably sinister performance as the mother figure of a whorde of children in a large isolated house who put up stranded unwary travellers.

The Thirteenth Reunion - Another strong episode concerning bizarre deaths and happenings between a health centre for the overweight and a funeral parlour. Nice story.

The Carpathian Eagle - Suzanne Danielle, if you can remember her from the 70's and 80's, dispatches men who fall for her considerable charms. No guesswork required in this one as she is revealed early on and nice that the programme doesn't try to con you otherwise. Good in a typical Hammer, sexy kind of way.

Guardian of the Abyss - Quite good devil worship/sacrifice episode

Growing Pains - Didn't think much of this one. Annoyingly posh child actors and all a bit silly really.

The series stands the test of time incredibly well and provides a great legacy for Hammer as an institution, very very recommended; even if you don't like every episode there are enough truely classic episodes here for any fan of well written horror.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


122 of 127 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A long-neglected gem of a collection, 31 Jan 2003
By 
N. Madle "Neil64" (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hammer House Of Horror - Complete Collection [DVD] [1980] (DVD)
At its best, this imaginative series was capable of sending a shiver down the spine and, particularly in the case of 'Two Faces of Evil' and 'Children of the Full Moon', it still does. With high production values and some top talent both in front of and behind the cameras, this was an admirable experiment in contemporising traditional horror themes. Almost every genre is represented here, some more effectively than others.
I recall watching most of these shows when they were first broadcast. Although I'm not easily scared, I have to say that 'Two Faces of Evil' has remained with me ever since. It's a mini-masterpiece, played to perfection. Gary Raymond is tremendous as both the gentle dad and the monstrous doppelganger.
Other classy episodes include 'The House That Bled to Death', with a twist ending that's endlessly foreshadowed yet tremendously effective; 'Carpathian Eagle' is an entertaining feminist romp featuring the gorgeous Mrs Sam Torrance and a laughably plain and seedy Pierce Brosnan in his first screen role; 'Rude Awakening' maintains its Dead of Night recurring nightmare theme remarkably well and reminds us what a great actor we had in Denholm Elliot; 'Children of the Full Moon' is flawless from start to finish and has the added bonus of featuring the very beautiful Celia Gregory; 'The Silent Scream' is a taut little story that's fairly gripping without being particularly scary; 'The Thirteenth Reunion' is a refreshingly gruesome tale of everyday cannibals; 'Witching Hour' is reassuringly nasty with plenty of gratuitous nudity; 'Guardians of the Abyss' is intriguing enough to overcome a somewhat faltering finale and some dodgy special effects.
On the minus side, 'The Mark of Satan' never really goes anywhere - it's mildly interesting but all rather pointless; 'Charlie Boy' is funny rather than scary, as various contrived calamities befall everyone who comes into contact with the eponymous idol; 'Visitor from the Grave' features some well-known actors making fools of themselves - including 'Howard' from Ever Decreasing Circles' 'Howard & Hilda' as an attempted rapist! - and it's easily the most predictable of the whole series: so predictable, indeed, that the DVD sleeve-note writer seems to have felt compelled to get his synopsis completely wrong. 'Growing Pains' is a fairly uninspired season climax.
As with any series, we're talking about a mixed bag here, but it's well worth tolerating the odd turkey and revelling in the gems. What's particularly refreshing here is that these tales are largely downbeat in tone - they've got the courage of their convictions and carry them through to their logical conclusion. No happy endings here.
So dim the lights, draw the curtains and experience 'Two Faces of Evil' in all its glory. Believe me, you'll never pick up a hitchhiker again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great television and classic British horror that stands the test of time, 3 Jun 2009
By 
This review is from: Hammer House Of Horror - Complete Collection [DVD] [1980] (DVD)
When I was 10 or 11 years old, there were two TV theme tunes that I always looked forward to hearing on a Saturday night: one was Doctor Who and the other was the atmospheric music that opened this series of programmes. I wasn't alone - Monday morning, in the last year of junior school, always started with gasps of, "Did you see it on Saturday night??" and we'd talk in excitable tones about murderous wooden idols from Africa or the woman driving down country lanes and gorging herself on raw steak. These shows made a big impression on me and I still remembered scenes from them when I purchased these DVDs.

I wasn't sure whether these hour-long shows would stand the test of time when I recently bought the set, but I've been really impressed. Although they bear the "Hammer" name, they are quite different from the enjoyably schlocky melodrama and technicolour goriness of the films of the 60s and 70s - but I think the contemporary everyday settings make them even more effective at being genuinely scary. There is a supernatural element to most of them, but some of them are more like thrillers or extended (and much better) `Tales of the Unexpected'.

The casting is really strong throughout with great British character actors such as Denholm Elliot, Diana Dors (I hadn't watched her in anything for a long while and seeing her in this set was a reminder of why the British public took her to their hearts), Sian Philips - and youthful appearances from Brian Cox and Pierce Brosnan. Apart from the famous names, there are a host of fine actors who regularly appeared on our screens in the 70s and 80s, whose names I had forgotten but whose faces I recognised.

I know I'm making this review sound like a bit of a nostalgia fest and to some degree watching these shows did have that effect for me - the two ominous drumbeats that launches the haunting theme tune and the opening credits still sent a tingle down my spine! But on top of all that, the scripting and production values are really high and they still work really well on their own terms. My partner is American so didn't grow up with the same cultural references as I did, but we both felt that this series didn't look dated at all. Even the film stock looks remarkably fresh.

We've really enjoyed watching these programmes - and even though I'm nearly 40 years old, they still had me jumping out of my skin a few times. Definitely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


86 of 90 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hammer House of Horror Complete (box set of 4), 21 Oct 2002
This review is from: Hammer House Of Horror - Complete Collection [DVD] [1980] (DVD)
At last, some proper old-fashioned hammer horrors! They don't make them like this anymore. Just the actors are enough to terrify you, no special effects necessary! The stuff that childhood nightmares are made of! Brilliant buy!! These are a one off, only one of this series was ever made. Well worth the price for 13 episodes of British horror!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Top level nostalgia, 15 Oct 2005
This review is from: Hammer House Of Horror - Complete Collection [DVD] [1980] (DVD)
4 Stars for me personally, if only because of the nostalgia it provoked. There's no point in going into how dated it looks. Instead (and this may only apply to folks between 30 and 50 years old) let's remember what a very good series this was. Hammer commanded a huge audience (or is it just my fading memory) with some great actors of the age. My overriding memory is "Two faces of evil", which i watched when i was (i think) eight or maybe nine, and still remember to this day being so scared i couldn't sleep. This won't appeal to all audiences, but my generation (30 somethings, you know who you are) will love it, if only for the memory of being too scared to switch the light off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


65 of 71 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I�ll never eat tofu again!, 3 Jan 2005
This review is from: Hammer House Of Horror - Complete Collection [DVD] [1980] (DVD)
Televised in 1980, here are 13 hour long episodes- all self contained with shock endings - some predictable, some not. They're never out-and-out horror but very disturbing all the same.
Very good value despite being a mixed bag. Reading the other reviews it seems everyone has a different opinion on the best and worst......
Most seem to have watched this in 1980 and I'm no exception- the theme music was scarily familiar- you'll be humming it for ages......
The production values are very 'Hammer'-like. A lot of episodes shot in various country mansions in the Home Counties using cheap TV actors.
As a side issue, they were televised weekly in a different order to that on this DVD. The episode order in 1980 was: 5,10, 7,13, 1, 8, 2, 9, 11, 12, 6, 3, 4.
1/ THE HOUSE THAT BLED TO DEATH 8/10
A young couple (Nicholas Ball and Rachel Davies) with their little girl move into an innocent semi-detached- then things start to go wrong. They discover the house has a nasty history.......
It doesn't take long to start acting up- and it's always the family pet that suffers first! It has a very ordinary family under great strain- and especially where kids are involved your heart goes in your mouth.
Very effective.
2/ THE SILENT SCREAM 9/10
Another classic.
An ex-con (a youthful Brian Cox) is given a job by a nice pet-store owner (guess who) with a penchant for cages.
Peter Cushing is chilling and very very good.
What kind of mind thought of this? No violence, no bloodshed, no aliens or monsters but this will stay with you forever (I can remember lying awake as a kid trying to figure ways to escape.......)
3/ THE TWO FACES OF EVIL 6/10
A perfect family on holiday picks up a hitch-hiker with depressingly inevitable consequences.
This where things start to go downhill- lots of illogical happenings- more a nightmare and nothing is ever explained. A bit silly at times but still disturbing as a result with plenty of sinister odd people with sly off-set glances. Ugh!
4/ THE MARK OF SATAN 6/10
Disturbing as a descent into madness and nothing to do with devil whorship really. It keeps you guessing where the real danger lies.
Melodramatic and intense. It has it's good moments- it's bizarre if nothing else! Edwin (Peter McEnery) is very good
5/ WITCHING TIME 4/10
A cuckolded musician (Jon Finch) is entranced by a witch (a delightful Patricia Quinn as 'Lucinda Jessop') who's managed to escape death and travel forward through time. His wife (Prunella Gee) is now enemy No.1...
A bit lame but quite amusing in places.
6/ VISITOR FROM THE GRAVE 4/10
A woman with mental problems is attacked but kills her assailant. Then he returns to threaten her.
It seems obvious what's happening from the start and is only worth watching for well known faces- Simon MacCorkindale and Gareth Thomas ('Blake' from 'Blakes7') as the 'Swami Gupta Krishna. This is classic (corny) stuff.
7/ RUDE AWAKENING 8/10
This is more like it!
Denholm Elliot is absolutely head and shoulders above everyone as a deranged estate agent in a recurring nightmare.
It's scary and puzzling but has some really good comic moments too.
And look out for the brilliant (literally) bedstead and bedcovers in his house.
8/ CHARLIE BOY 5/10
No happy endings here! Interesting if predictable tale of an African 'Witchdoctors' doll that wreaks havoc in the lives of a couple that inherit it.
There's some good acting but it couldh've been made more sinister for me.
9/ CHILDREN OF THE FULL MOON 7/10
I quite liked this one- although it's pretty obvious what's happening from the start. Young couple (the man is Christopher Cazenove) break down and are very well looked after by an odd lady (Diana Dors is brilliantly creepy) and her collection of children in a secluded mansion.
For once the male lead is spot on the mark as far as assessing where the danger lies......it's an interesting slant on werewolves.
Looking at the credits I also notice Victoria Wood is in this one too! Must play it back again........
10/ THE 13TH REUNION 7/10
A farce initially it turns out better than you think it will- and quite grisly too!
This is a good-old fashioned mystery with a 'Woman's Weekly' reporter taking the lead investigating dodgy-goings-on at a health farm.
The dinner scene is very good- lots of close-ups of hungry faces- yum yum!
11/ THE CARPATHIAN EAGLE 6/10
This centres around a series of grisly killings where men are lured to their deaths by a 'mysterious' psychopath.
It's pretty obvious who the killer is: I mean, who is the fittest, most 'Amazonian' character in the episode?
It includes a young Pierce Brosnan as 'cannon fodder' and Suzanne Danielle is gorgeously strong- whatever happened to her?
Anthony Valentine is a stalwart too- I felt real sympathy for his character.
12/ GUARDIAN OF THE ABYSS 5/10
Charles Randolph (a mesmeric John Carson) runs a cult that is up to no good and wants to sacrifice various ladies (makes you wonder what possessed them to join up initially.......?)

Paul Darrow (another 'Blakes 7' actor: Avon this time) is a very bad antiques dealer (his attempt to buy the 'scrying glass' initially is ridiculous)
The hero (Ray Lonnen as Michael Roberts) is irritating and I found myself cheering on the baddies on this one.....
13/ GROWING PAINS 4/10
Happy Families! Horrible kids and possessed bunnies.......
An irritatingly stupid kid eats chemicals from his father's laboratory and dies (you later feel bad when you learn he was trying to gain attention from his preoccupied father and errant mother).
The parent's get another 'ready-made' child but it turns out to be a bad mistake.
There's a few creepy moments (with the bunnies) but some ridiculous bits with two Oxford-educated 'third-world' politicians and a deranged dog.
I'll never eat tofu again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good old fashioned thrills and chills, 24 May 2009
This review is from: Hammer House Of Horror - Complete Collection [DVD] [1980] (DVD)
Unlike the Hammer Horror output of the 60s and 70s where the majority
of the films were set in some gothic,fairytale,ye olde England type
land,the "Hammer House Of Horror" TV series takes place in the present
day(well...when it was originally shown in 1980 it was)which,indeed,makes
it a welcome diversion from the norm.
I can remember watching these on Saturday nights as a youngster and
the contemporary setting made it even more terrifying.No gore,blood,
no CGI or startling special effects,just good old fashioned thrills
and chills in a very diverse and entertaining bunch of hour long tales.
My views are practically identical to most of the reviewers here.Some
are hit and miss.My particular highlights include...

1."Children Of The Full Moon"-A variation on the traditional werewolf
story,ye gods....that woodcutter,that creature outside the window,and
a nicely understated and sinister turn from the legendary Diana Dors
who is not as benevolent as she initially appears to be.

2."The Two Faces Of Evil"-Full of nightmarish scenarios and i can
recall being petrified of that hospital sister...for some reason.

3."The Thirteenth Reunion"-I love this one,just for the final
shocking scene,even if you could guess what was going to happen.
You can also see a much younger Warren Clarke pre "Dalziel And
Pascoe" and Von Smallhousen from "Allo Allo".

Even the title sequence and theme music makes the hairs on the back
of my neck stand up.Perfect viewing on those long dark winter evenings
and an essential purchase for fans and newcomers of Hammer Horror.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Satanism, witchcraft, cannibalism, lycanthropy, murder and much more...., 6 May 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hammer House Of Horror - Complete Collection [DVD] [1980] (DVD)
This is a four disc set of thirteen contemporary horror stories that Hammer made for television. They were first shown on tv in 1980 and certain episodes featured some well-known Hammer actors and were helmed by some famous Hammer film directors.

Here's a summary of each episode:

Disc One

The House That Bled To Death
Directed by Tom Clegg
Starring Nicholas Ball, Rachel Davies, Brian Croucher, Patricia Maynard....

A young couple and their daughter move into a house where a murder was committed and bizarre and horrible things start to happen.

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The Silent Scream
Directed by Alan Gibson
Starring Peter Cushing, Brian Cox, Elaine Donnelly, Antony Carrick....

An ex-convict takes a job in a pet shop and is held captive by the shop's sinister owner as part of a strange experiment.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The Two Faces Of Evil
Directed by Alan Gibson
Starring Anna Calder-Marshall, Gary Raymond, Paul Hawkins, Philip Latham....

Evil doppelgangers are trying to take over the world in this "Invasion Of The Body Snatchers"-type story.

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Disc Two

The Mark Of Satan
Directed by Don Leaver
Starring Peter McEnery, Georgina Hale, Emrys James, Anthony Brown

A hospital worker becomes obsessed with the number nine and is convinced that there are forces of evil at work all around him.

Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Witching Time
Directed by Don Leaver
Starring Jon Finch, Patricia Quinn, Prunella Gee, Ian McCulloch....

A film composer and his actress wife are menaced by a 300 year-old witch.

Rating: 4 stars out of 5

Visitor From The Grave
Directed by Peter Sasdy
Starring Kathryn Leigh Scott, Simon MacCorkindale, Gareth Thomas, Mia Nadasi....

A woman becomes the victim of a 'let's try to drive her completely mad' conspiracy.

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Disc Three

Rude Awakening
Directed by Peter Sasdy
Starring Denholm Elliott, James Laurenson, Pat Heywood, Lucy Gutteridge....

A slimy estate agent, who lusts after his young female assistant, becomes trapped in a series of nightmarish situations.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Charlie Boy
Directed by Robert Young
Starring Leigh Lawson, Angela Bruce, Marius Goring, Janet Fielding....

A young man inherits a weird-looking African doll that his girlfriend nicknames Charlie Boy but the doll has black magic powers.

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Children Of The Full Moon
Directed by Tom Clegg
Starring Christopher Cazenove, Celia Gregory, Diana Dors, Robert Urquhart....

A couple's car breaks down during a trip to the countryside and they encounter a family of werewolves.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Disc Four

The Thirteenth Reunion
Directed by Peter Sasdy
Starring Julia Foster, Dinah Sheridan, Norman Bird, Warren Clarke....

A female journalist, who writes articles for the woman's page of a paper, investigates a series of strange goings on at a health farm.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Carpathian Eagle
Directed by Francis Megahy
Starring Suzanne Danielle, Anthony Valentine, Siân Phillips, Pierce Brosnan....

Inspired by the 300 year-old legend of a Countess from Eastern Europe, a beautiful, homicidal woman lures male victims into bed and then cuts out their hearts.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Guardian Of The Abyss
Directed by Don Sharp
Starring Ray Lonnen, Barbara Ewing, John Carson, Paul Darrow....

A Satanic Cult tries to gets its hands on a special, ancient mirror that has been acquired by an antiques dealer.

Rating 3 out of 5 stars

Growing Pains
Directed by Francis Megahy
Starring Barbara Kellerman, Gary Bond, Norman Beaton, Tariq Yunus....

A married couple adopt a child after their own son tragically dies but creepy things start happening when the new boy moves into their home.

Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

On the whole, this is a great collection of horror tales that are generally well-made and well-acted. The only two really weak episodes, in my opinion, are "The Mark Of Satan" and "Growing Pains". I think that the best episode is "The Two Faces Of Evil" which features some wonderfully-creepy moments that will haunt you for a while afterwards. I remember watching this famous series when it was first shown and I have memories of being quite scared at the time by most of the episodes. This four disc package is an essential purchase for Hammer fans or fans of good quality, made-for-tv horror.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hammer house of horror, 23 Mar 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Hammer House Of Horror - Complete Collection [DVD] [1980] (DVD)
The Two Faces of Evil is by far the scariest film I've ever seen. I was 14 when it was televised in 1980. It kept me awake all night. Lots of sly sideways looks, and real evil the eyes of the Hitcher. Not one bit gruesome, purely psychological terror... I've never forgotten it. Enjoy... I just hope afterwards, you're able to turn the light out!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Suprisingly good horror, bargain price., 12 Jan 2004
By 
J. J. Smith - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hammer House Of Horror - Complete Collection [DVD] [1980] (DVD)
Remembering this series from when I was VERY young, I was desperate to buy it when it was released this year on DVD as it has rarely been shown much. The general impression of the set as a whole is very good. The acting is very often of a high quality, a lot of very believable performances. This helps a great deal in horror stories, you actually care about the protagonists. Secondly, the stories impress, in the most part, thanks to their nastiness and, as another reviewer pointed out, their willingness not to go for the easy way out. Here's an episode guide!!
The Thirteenth Reunion
Starts like a BBC sunday night comedy drama but turns into one of the most horrific stories. Good acting, great final 10 mins to the ep.
The Carpathian Eagle
Some good acting but the sillyish story is executed badly. Some stupid plot holes and not a very inspired end.
The Guardian of the Abyss
In general some pretty good acting, and a story which gets progessively better and is quite frightening by the end. Spoiled a bit by rubbish mirror effects.
Growing Pains
Ultimately a less than satisfying ep, but it does hold your interest throughout thanks to the perfomance of the young boys and an original sub plot concerning world hunger!
The House That Bled To Death
Classic stuff, Amytiville London suburb style, and much creepier. Very believable acting even from the children. SOme memorable scenes in this one!!
The Silent Scream
Very good ep, not horror as such but extremely involving thanks to a believable story and fine acting all round (apart from the girlfriend suddenly fgoing crazy once or twice, totally out of otherwise great character!) Ending is great and not overly signposted, though not as drastic as it thinks it is!!!
Two Faces Of Evil
Quite an interesting ep. Story is a tiny bit predictable but it is done so well, thanks to the main man and the unsettling flashback structure, it is still a really enjoyable ep.
The Mark Of Satan
FANTASTIC episode! A really original plot, though it has shades of Rosemary's Baby at times! You really don't know what is going on, whicks makes you identify with lead even more. Very good acting, and a kind of shocking resolution...when the dril is reached for at the end it seems like it is the only option...scary!!
Witching Time
This starts well, and the central idea of a witch in our time is neat, but it drags on and gets too silly to care about it much. Stupid scream at the end, too!
Visitors from the Grave
DONT WASTE YOUR TIME WITH THIS RUBBISH. Without doubt the worst ep, awful acting coupled with Predictable un-scary story, with shocking double pay off...not.
Rude Awakening
A very strange, original episode, with good acting, some good funny moments and though the end is slightly predictable the whole package is very entertaining.
Charlie Boy
A bit silly, all in all, but quite gruesome and nasty! Frightening looking doll adds atmosphere!
Children Of The Full Moon
Really enjoyable ep, traditional horror movie stuff, well done and with no cop out ending. It seems to drop a bit in the middle but, as with a lot of these eps, the story is one step ahead of you.
Enjoy horror? GET THIS NOW!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hammer House Of Horror - Complete Collection [DVD] [1980]
£9.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews