Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars9
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 10 November 2002
Special edition albums stink. Adding 3 b-sides and a video is no reason to ask people to part with their money all over again. This is how it should be done.
A brilliant representation of an acknowledged classic, "Luxe & Reduxe" takes the best option for such a project and creates a time capsule of the period 91-92. Thus we get the whole album (of course!), the odd unheard outtake or compilation track, b-sides from the singles, the whole "Watery Domestic" EP, 2 radio sessions almost entirely comprised of unissued songs and a cracking live date from the tail end of the period in question, charting their journey from 2 school friends and the studio owner to a fully fledged band, thrilling audiences whereever they went. Superbly presented with a thick and informative booklet, this is everything you could ask for from a reissue. Excellent work from a group who, even when disbanded, are showing the way. Here's hoping the group's other album will eventually get the same treatment. Magnificent, buy with confidence.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2002
A trip back to the halcyon days of yore. We all remember when this first came out and the arguments that ensued as to whether the flexi of 'My First Mine' was more valuable than the 10" of 'Perfect Sound Forever' etc. etc. This is the vastly aggrandised version of the album that started off all that lonely fanatical fervour.
The album remains a wonderful cacophony of influence from The Velvets and The Fall to the Pixies and Only Ones. There are a plethora of great tunes but, oddly enough, it's perhaps the most patchy of the Pavement albums - a reflection on the haphazard way in which it was recorded and (eventually) released. Nonetheless, it remains a timeless record of a catchy tunesmith with obtuse yet immediate lyrics in the guise of a garage rock band, en route to being the most important band of the 1990s.

There's no question that this is a must-buy (unless you own Stray Slack and the Garrulous 7"s) - 34 extra tracks, including the first 2 Peel Sessions and their entire gig in support of Sonic Youth at the Brixton Academy in 1992 (great version of Summer Babe). What are you waiting for?
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2002
If you wanna party like it's 1992, then this, my friend, is a double barrel blast of mid-tempo indie sputter cut just for you. The core S-n-E LP is presented here with much better sound [you'll notice the bass lines you’ve never heard...] w/o interfering with that classic sound. Beyond that, you get quite a good deal more: The Watery Domestic EP [compact bliss]; some Peel Sessions, the orig Summer Babe 7-inch -- with the jaw dropping Baptist Blacktick track, the Sue ME Jack 7-in and a slew of live tracks that bound to make you remember how much fun it was to see Gary do handstands across the stage -- and possibly into drums.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2010
I just wish I'd bought this album earlier in my life. It's rare that you find so many addictive hooks coming from one band. The music is laid back, supercool fuzz charged grunge pop at its best. Great vocals, great lines. This album comes with me to work, in my car, I play it at home, it's good for the summer, it's good for the winter - can't get enough. Slightly less accessible than the ultra hooks early Nirvana circa Bleach, but in my opinion, easily as good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2008
Challenging stuff this and an album I really had to persevere with. Eventually the tunes start emerging from the ether and like muck, they stay stuck. A lo-fi work of art. A toss-up between this and Brighten the Corners for my favourite Pavement album. Winning me over are the mumbled and oblique Zurich is Stained (what is that about?) and the perfect pop gem Here.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2003
This is, without doubt, one of the best albums ever made. A huge influence on the 90s indie scene, there are so many bands who owe a debt to Pavement just as Pavement do to The Fall. That said, this is an album to fall in love with. Not a single bad song, and on the new version you get loads of songs. Buy this now or you'll regret it.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2007
Not as varied as 'Crooked Rain, Crooked Rain' and rougher around the edges than that 5-star album, this is nonetheless a thrilling record of a fantastic band creating a new musical universe. My world's a much better place with Pavement in it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2003
Is it really a decade since this was released? In many ways this sounds fresher than Pavement's later albums - a pick n mix of ideas being thrown together, always surprising, sometimes touching.
This was the first of Pavement's 3 classic albums (along with the less erratic Crooked Rain and Wowee Zowee) and is a must-buy. 'Trigger Cut/Wounded-Kite at :17' is still a great pop song, while 'Here' is truly beautiful. Packed in with the original album are a collection of Peel Sessions, live tracks and b-sides - the cream of which has to be 'Secret Knowledge of Backroads', a sparse and surprisingly touching song.
Worth going back to.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2003
This is, without doubt, one of the best albums ever made. A huge influence on the 90s indie scene, there are so many bands who owe a debt to Pavement just as Pavement do to The Fall. That said, this is an album to fall in love with. Not a single bad song, and on the new version you get loads of songs. Buy this now or you'll regret it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)