Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Track Listing- This Track Listing Ain't Big Enough For the Both Of Us..
The great reviews of this Cd realy say it all BUT there are a few 'greatest hit' type releases ou by Sparks so you realy need to know which tracks are on which CD.

Like a few such releases Amazon have not provided a list so I have.

I really hope this helps in your choice of which 'Greatest Hits' by Sparks you need to buy.

Track...
Published on 23 Sept. 2012 by Glenn Cook

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some great tracks, quite a lot of filler
Sparks were always a quirky sounding (not to mention looking!) band and this CD features the hits I remember.

Sadly, there weren't that many and whilst Beat The Clock, Number 1 Song in Heaven and This Town Ain't Big Enough all sound great, quite a few of the other tracks feel like album filler trackss, which on a 'Best Of' is a bit of a shame.

Not a...
Published on 23 Sept. 2012 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Track Listing- This Track Listing Ain't Big Enough For the Both Of Us.., 23 Sept. 2012
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: This Album's Big Enough - The Best of Sparks (Audio CD)
The great reviews of this Cd realy say it all BUT there are a few 'greatest hit' type releases ou by Sparks so you realy need to know which tracks are on which CD.

Like a few such releases Amazon have not provided a list so I have.

I really hope this helps in your choice of which 'Greatest Hits' by Sparks you need to buy.

Track Listing
1. This Town Ain't Big Enough for the Both of Us
2. Amateur Hour
3. The Number One Song in Heaven
4. Get in the Swing
5. Looks, Looks, Looks
6. Something for the Girl With Everything
7. Beat the Clock
8. Young Girls
9. Cool Places
10. La Dolce Vita
11. A Fun Bunch of Guys from Outer Space
12. Dance Godammit
13. Tryouts for the Human Race
14. Never Turn Your Back on Mother Earth
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DAZZLINGLY INNOVATIVE MUSIC, 23 May 2003
By 
Peter Uys "Toypom" (Sandton) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: This Album's Big Enough - The Best of Sparks (Audio CD)
Sparks first hit the limelight in about 1974 with the gorgeous This Town Ain't Big Enough, a powerful hook-filled pop song with dynamic falsetto vocals. It was a UK Top 20 hit but didn't do much elsewhere. Other seventies successes included Amateur Hour, Never Turn Your Back On Mother Earth and Something For The Girl With Everything. Sparks continued to make music throughout that decade but remained fairly obscure until 1979 when the groundbreaking electronic synth-masterpiece Number One In Heaven (produced by Giorgio Moroder) gained them critical respect and commercial success again. Tracks like Beat The Clock and Tryouts For The Human Race are drawn from that one while the equally enjoyable Cool Places comes from 1983. These brilliant songs are enough to make This Album's Big Enough a winner, but it would have been even better if a couple of their pop masterpieces from Whomp That Sucker had been included, songs like That's Not Nastassia, Suzie Safety or Tips For Teens. Sparks are masters of unusual but addictive melodies and clever quirky lyrics. That's probably why their music has aged so well. It sounds very contemporary today. If you like pop music with a bit of brain and you haven't heard Sparks before, this album will be a revelation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This Town Ain't Big Enough For The Both Of Us, 26 Sept. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Album's Big Enough - The Best of Sparks (Audio CD)
This 2002 compilation remains the most comprehensive of the Sparks greatest hits collections as it contains all their charting UK and US singles - the exhilerating This Town Ain't Big Enough, Amateur Hour, Get In the Swing, Looks Looks Looks, Something for the Girl With Everything, Never Turn Your Back on Mother Earth, plus their later thumping Moroder dance hits Number One Song in Heaven, Beat the Clock, and Tryouts for the Human Race. The other songs are less great, though we do get La Dolce Vita from the same Giorgio Moroder album which spawned the hits.

In their 70s heyday Sparks startled with their performances on TOTP and elsewhere with their strange appearance - the camp dancing pretty lead singer vs his Hitler-like motionless keyboard-rooted brother. The music has lasted extremely well, and they anticipated the frenetic hi energy rhythms which followed in the 80s.

1. This Town Ain't Big Enough for the Both of Us
2. Amateur Hour
3. The Number One Song in Heaven
4. Get in the Swing
5. Looks, Looks, Looks
6. Something for the Girl With Everything
7. Beat the Clock
8. Young Girls
9. Cool Places
10. La Dolce Vita
11. A Fun Bunch of Guys from Outer Space
12. Dance Godammit
13. Tryouts for the Human Race
14. Never Turn Your Back on Mother Earth
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Resurrection, 18 Jun. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: This Album's Big Enough - The Best of Sparks (Audio CD)
This album was the perfect way to resurrect all those Sparks singles I bought on vinyl, which no longer get played.
Sparks were way ahead of their time in terms of synth-pop. What they were doing in the 70's wasn't matched by anyone else until well into the 80's and 90's.
There's a great variety of styles here - the mechanical rhythms in the Giorgio Moroder collaborations, pop, dance and even some big-band swing. They all go to show Ron Mael's underestimated talent for writing music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fine introduction, 16 Sept. 2014
By 
Tim "Tim" (Belfast, Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: This Album's Big Enough - The Best of Sparks (Audio CD)
I don't usually review 'best of' compilations but this was a very important one to me as it made me a Sparks fan. For a budget label release, it surprisingly covers several important eras of Sparks' music and contains most of their big singles from 1974 till 1983 (When I'm With You being the only major exception). Kicking off with a trio of absolute classics - This Town Ain't Big Enough For Both Of Us, Amateur Hour and The Number One Song In Heaven, it's no wonder it made me such a rabid fan. A couple of weeks walking around with these heavenly sounds on my headphones whilst holidaying in Singapore in 2006 had me snapping up many of their albums when I got home (some of which in the airport on the way home!). My only complaint is the inclusion of a couple of album tracks from In Outer Space (Dance Goddammit and A Fun Bunch Of Guys From Outer Space) which are fine on their respective studio LP but slow down a set of hits like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sparks are Flying, 21 April 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Album's Big Enough - The Best of Sparks (Audio CD)
This is one of those best of albums that shows a band that went throughdistinct stages in their career and were successful with nearly all ofthem. Unable to make it in their native US, they moved to the UK andrecorded with a british backing band and had their first success with thebrilliant 'This Town Ain't Big Enough for Both of Us'.
The early glam rock gave way to more complex swinging arrangements ontracks like 'Looks Looks Looks', and the music veered from style to stylewith consumate ease. Their most commercially successful period in the UKis covered here too, with the inclusion of the Giorio Morodercollaborations such as 'No 1 Song in Heaven'.
The Mael brothers really made you get up and take notice, whether it wasthe piercing falsetto of Russel, or Ron's predilection for wearing amoustache that meant that every review of them mentioned the nameHitler...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sparks were flying when I played this CD as I'd just sold my old 45 singles collection from the 70s & 80s, 21 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Album's Big Enough - The Best of Sparks (Audio CD)
Wow, those guys were different, from many groups in the 70s and 80s, just as I remember, fantastic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some great tracks, quite a lot of filler, 23 Sept. 2012
By 
Amazon Customer (Fleet, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Album's Big Enough - The Best of Sparks (Audio CD)
Sparks were always a quirky sounding (not to mention looking!) band and this CD features the hits I remember.

Sadly, there weren't that many and whilst Beat The Clock, Number 1 Song in Heaven and This Town Ain't Big Enough all sound great, quite a few of the other tracks feel like album filler trackss, which on a 'Best Of' is a bit of a shame.

Not a bad collection, but it highlights Sparks' hit and miss nature as much as anything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good, 19 Oct. 2014
By 
Mrs. L. Wicks "l wicks" (oxon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Album's Big Enough - The Best of Sparks (Audio CD)
super 70s
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Album's Big Enough - The Best of Sparks (Audio CD)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews