Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Return Of The Grand Court Jester
When first released in 1974, I recall many being disappointed with Warchild, in comparison to its illustrious predecessor, A Passion Play, but over the years this view has changed considerably and the album is rightly considered one of Tulls best offerings.
Warchild is essentially a collection of outtakes from the Passion Play sessions and from the soundtrack to the...
Published on 14 Oct 2002 by Magnus Quad

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Run of the mill Tull; that doesn't mean bad.
'War Child' does not stand among the best Jethro Tull albums by any means but it's still worth a listen. The title track, `Skating Away On The Thin Ice Of The New Day' and `The Third Hoorah' are all strong and the bonus tracks are as good as the album tracks, which is unusual.
Published on 23 Aug 2010 by MR K J DOWNING


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Return Of The Grand Court Jester, 14 Oct 2002
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Warchild (Audio CD)
When first released in 1974, I recall many being disappointed with Warchild, in comparison to its illustrious predecessor, A Passion Play, but over the years this view has changed considerably and the album is rightly considered one of Tulls best offerings.
Warchild is essentially a collection of outtakes from the Passion Play sessions and from the soundtrack to the ill fated Warchild movie. Similarities with APP abound, especially in the use of saxophones and lyrical themes. There are Piano accordians in the mix, too and the album has a humorous, surreal English Music Hall / circus feel.
Standout tracks from the album proper, include the magnificent Backdoor Angels which features some savage guitar from Martin Barre; the classic Skating Away ( on the thin ice of a new day ); hit single Bungle in the Jungle and the sardonic Only Solitaire - an acoustic jingle, part self parody part searing attack on the rock press.
This remastered version features some outstanding bonus tracks ( 7 in all ) culled from various collections, all of which are regarded as cult classics by the Jethro Tull cognescenti and the album would be worth buying for these alone. Add all the original tracks and the pristine, crystal clear remastering job and you have what can only be described as an essential album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great introduction to the golden age of Tull, 15 Oct 2002
By 
This review is from: Warchild (Audio CD)
Strangely this was the album that got me into Tull after I borrowed it from a friend rather than Aqualung or Songs from the Wood which seem to be the usual roads in. Listening to the remastered version I remembered really how good this album is, the lyrics are just great, full of puns and yet never fail to hit their intended target and the music is full of great hooks and yet opens up layer by layer on each listen. The remaster has worked really well on the seperation so theres a real dynamism when instruments come in. Its good to have the extra tracks in context (even if they were on 20 years of Tull and Night Cap). My one niggle is the sleeve notes which give no info on the writing of the tracks or why some were left off originally. Most annoyingly is Warchild Waltz which I know nothing about and the sleevenotes enlighten me no further. All in all though its the music you just cant fault.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece, 5 Oct 2011
By 
Mark Shackelford "mark shackelford" (Worthing, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Warchild (Audio CD)
One of the (many) excellent, unique, masterful albums from the legendary Jethro Tull.
Their musicianship (even though the line-up changed over the years) is never less than stunning, the songs range from gentle ballads to all out heavy rock, via folk, jazz and classical.
I have been listening to Tull albums over the years (ever since "This Was") and (apart from a couple of synthesier oddities in the '80s) have been delighted, amazed and awe-inspired by them.
I saw Ian Anderson's tour last year (with most of Tull) and they are still wonderful...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tull Strike again, 25 Nov 2014
By 
Stephen Johnson "stevie boy" (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another smashing release from Jethro Tull.
Warchild was never at the time of original release one of my Favorite Tull albums but listening
to it again now sounds great.
Ok the 5.1mixes i could live without but with some Video content and plenty of Bonus tracks this makes
a nice item to add to your Tull collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential., 31 Mar 2012
This review is from: Warchild (Audio CD)
I first heard this album at one of those "Party Seven" parties in the 70's when I was more into glam pop than anything even remotely progressive. However, it shone out like a beacon and I loved every track and could hardly wait to buy it myself. While I often wonder where nearly 40 years went, this still stands out as one of those great albums that I never ever tire of listening to which, like several 70's albums, never had a bad track you needed to skip. It is sublime.
I confess I'm not a huge Tull purist so maybe it is more commercially accessible and I do find their later melodic stuff preferable to the early self-indulgent stereotypical prog rock. Anderson has a great voice and while I found his "acting" on TOTP and other shows a little "disturbing", the music has never lost it's quality or appeal.
Another "must have" for your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fabulous Album From A Fabulous Group, 30 Oct 2000
By 
Elizabeth I Simar (Reed City, MI United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: JETHRO TULL - WAR CHILD (Audio CD)
As far as Tull albums are concerned, this is by far one of the best! Different musical journeys abound this masterpiece. The use of several different instruments throughout this album only enhance the genius that is Jethro Tull. For the Tull enthusiast, this album is a MUST! For those of you who have only sampled a bit, this album proves to be quite a treat. (Besides, how many 'rock' albums do you know that would have a bagpipe processional included?)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An album that grows on you, 10 Dec 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Warchild (Audio CD)
On listening to this album, it doesn't strike you as typical Tull until perhaps 'Sealion' and 'Skating Away' make an appearance. It is the sort of album that eventually grows on you. I recommend the remastered expanded version as it has some great bonus tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent deluxe edition, 26 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another excellent deluxe edition,but there does seem to be a small glitch on the first cd during Warchild plus a couple of static clicks,maybe its on the master tape,or it could just be what i am playing the cd on
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Give it a chance, 7 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Warchild (Audio CD)
A typical Tull CD of the time, infused with unique brilliance and idiosyncratic indulgences. I love their music, and their stage shows are still worth travelling many a mile to see. I'm not sure how many young people listen to Tull, or whether many under 40 would get them if they did. Sadly many over 40 don't get them either, and too many have forgotten all about them. This is a real pity, they are missing out on a lot.

I don't feel this is Tull at their absolute peak, but that said they continued with this album to show what an excellent band they were, with the leadership of Ian Anderson constantly pushing them into exploring new ground. There is terrific musicianship and some fabulous songs as you would expect, and although occasionally elements of some of them might now appear self indulgent and a little obtuse (a bit prog rock) this is still a collection of songs that will immediately reward hearing. Very much worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid, but unspectacular, 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Warchild (Audio CD)
This is a welcome departure from the previous 2 albums in that the songs are much shorter and the subject matter is less tiring on the poor old brain cells!!. However, with the odd exception, this is not a particularly strong collection. 'Back-Door Angels' stands out as an excellent piece of hard rock with a fabulous guitar solo from Martin Barre and 'Skating Away On The Thin Ice Of The New Day' and 'Bungle In The Jungle' are both lovely whimsical Tull singles; indeed there is a light-hearted feel throughout the 40 minutes. As with all the Tull remasters, there are plenty of bonus tracks here (7 of them - over 20 minutes of extra material) and so a 4th Star is awarded. For me, the follow-up album 'Minstrel In The Gallery' is a far better album and I would invest here before getting 'War Child'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Warchild
Warchild by Jethro Tull (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews