Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fabulous record
For such a talented musician, John Squire's output over his 20 year career has been sadly low in quantity, if not in quality - both Roses albums deserve to stand forever among the greats. This is only the 4th record he has been a part of, and the first for 5 years, so fans of his were desperately hoping for something good, or an improvement on the Seahorses at least. As...
Published on 23 Aug. 2003 by alexanderfuller

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A valiant effort but...
Well, it's been a long time coming - but it ultimately left me a little disappointed. I suppose the major talking point would have to be Squire's voice - it's not that bad actually, but it seems to me like he's trying too hard, trying to make his voice overly 'interesting' to cover up for an obvious lack of confidence. The guitar work is tasteful, but lacking a bit of...
Published on 16 Sept. 2002


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fabulous record, 23 Aug. 2003
This review is from: Time Changes Everything (Audio CD)
For such a talented musician, John Squire's output over his 20 year career has been sadly low in quantity, if not in quality - both Roses albums deserve to stand forever among the greats. This is only the 4th record he has been a part of, and the first for 5 years, so fans of his were desperately hoping for something good, or an improvement on the Seahorses at least. As it turns out, he has produced one of the standout LPs of the last few years.
Classy songwriting from start to finish, Time Changes Everything is filled with beautiful, heartfelt songs of such quality as to render the lukewarm critical reception inexplicable. It may not feature the same guitar grooves or charging riffs of his Roses days, but Squire has changed now (he is 40!), and his musical style has evolved with him. It may be something new, but he still manages to reach stantards attained by very few.
Whether you will like his solo efforts will depend to an extent on if you like his voice, which is pretty unique and certainly engaging, to me anyway. Whether you think he sounds like Dylan, Lennon or whoever is unimportant - he has put a lot into these songs, and this comes across in his singing. He may not exhibit passion in an exuberant fashion, but his music is personal and involving, and played out with so much spirit - a quality lacking in practically all other modern music. John also happens to be perhaps the greatest guitarist ever to come form the UK, and though his playing mostly takes a back seat, there are still plenty of calming, distinctly rock-based riffs to be found. He has obviously put a lot into his singing, but hasn't forgetten that playing guitar is what he does best. The music here is expertly structured and played, and quite effortless, without ever falling to plain acoustic strumming.
No track feels ultimately out of place, but not because they are indistinguishable from one another. Some may take a few listens to win you over, but in the end it's impossible to pick a favourite. There are just no low points at all. I really hope there will be a lot of re-evaluation of this album, as in my opinion it is one of the finest solo debuts ever. I can't recommend it highly enough. Congratulations John, this is brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Resurrected in Style!, 16 Sept. 2002
This review is from: Time Changes Everything (Audio CD)
We know Squire has been round the block and back again but he has talent that cannot be left without comment.This album, is a 'getting things off his chest album'.'Joe Louis' is a ruff around the edges slice of dirty bluesy rock accompanied by menacing lyrics with Squire's well pronounced northern tongue prominent.'I Miss You' is a beautiful song seemingly inspired by his regretful break-up with Ian Brown, this is a highlight for me, the melody is killer and the execution even more so.'Shine a Little Light' has dark cynical feel and the title track 'Time Changes Everything' is a mellow and flowing tune which, like other tracks, sees Squire expressing his true feelings.'Welcome to the Valley' is another dirty rock song with dark lyrics.'15 Days' is a more cheerful Squire recalling the days of old with The Stone Roses. 'Transatlantic Near Death Experience' has a folk rock feel with beautiful guitar licks.'All I Really Want' is a Lennon-esque style ballad bearing resemblence to 'Imagine'. 'Strange Feeling' is another folk rock indulgence with a chugging guitar sound and finally 'Sophia' which is a beautiful love song with a mellow guitar and a druken sounding voice. This album is a must, Squire is at his musical best and for the first time provides a well sustained voice. This is a beautiful, chilled out album! Well Done John Squire!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Time doesnt change Brilliance like this, 11 April 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Time Changes Everything (Audio CD)
This is one of my favourite albums of all time, it has been sadly overlooked by a media and audience who didnt want to give it a chance prefering John Squire to stay away from the mic. Its true as well, he'll never win Pop Idol with his voice, but then again thats my point exactly. The songs here are astonishingly deep both musically ,with layers of great guitars and lyrically. "Time Changes Everything" is a philosophical masterpiece and its vision is 15 days ahead of anything else around, and a whole lot better that any thing by the puzzlingly more succesful former Stone Rose Ian Brown .
Best tracks are "joe Louis", "I miss you" (an ode to Ian Brown) and my personal favourite "Sophia" which is so beautiful i could cry.
Buy this is you like deep and beautiful things, youll love this if you like the Roses, Bob Dylan, Nick Drake or the countryside.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth Making The Effort, 26 Sept. 2002
This review is from: Time Changes Everything (Audio CD)
John Squire's vocal efforts make it easy to understand why Ian Brown did the singing for the Stone Roses. His voice sometimes sounds like a gruff Bob Dylan or even David Bowie with a really bad throat infection. The only reason I gave this album a chance was becuase John Squire doesnt have to be "like" anyone else, from previous evidence he is one of the greatest talents of the last 15 years. I expected some spark of genius and was prepared to work at it to find it.
Lyrics and tunes started to pull me in quite quickly. I missed the much stronger vocals of seahorses and more rocky sound of second coming. Its different from anything Ive heard John Squire do before.
I found Lou Reed sytle female name songs abit irritating but really liked the progression from Time Changes Everything, Welcome to the Valley, 15 Days and my favorite Transatlantic Near Death Experience.
There are some good hard hitting lyrics. The most important things some people will ever do might be die but John Squire aint one of them people. Maybe becuase John is using his voice he hasnt felt it so important to have the traditional show off guitar solo, loads of funky guitar stuff to listen to behind the voice and I got used to the voice in the end.
Its not an immediately impressive experience but Im glad I gave Time Changes Everything becuase Im sure it will be listened to for a long time. (Nice Limited Edition Packaging too)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars what the world was waiting for?, 17 Sept. 2002
This review is from: Time Changes Everything (Audio CD)
most people who buy this expecting catchy melodies and guitar solos found on his previous work will be dissapointed. 5 years on, john has made a record that sounds nothing like the roses or the seahorses. not that it's a bad album but it takes time to like this album for what it is. a JOHN SQUIRE record with JOHN SQUIRE singing! his voice is unique, not typical mancunian but quite rough. it's still emotional though. which helps for repeated listening. if you can judge it on it's own merits then you should enjoy it. The lyrics are alot deeper than the seahorses stuff with many lyrics about happier times with the roses. stand out tracks are JOE LOUIS, I MISS YOU, TIME CHANGES EVERYTHING, STRANGE FEELING. worth a look. buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Immaculate, 14 Aug. 2009
This review is from: Time Changes Everything (Audio CD)
Firstly, not many records will make me log on to Amazon and actually bother to write a review, but this album is fantastic. From my perspective, im 25 now so kinda missed the Stone Roses era - of course i have the albums, and i do rate them (prefer Second Coming) but they didn't take over my life. I consider Do It Yourself one of the greatest pop records ever made, for it's pure 'it is what it is' -ness, sums up the sound at the time.

This album is perfect. Sat listening to it loud enough to really appreciate the stereo guitar work, I can remember why I love it so much. Personally it reminds me of my first year at uni, I remember everything - seeing him live at the Leadmill opening with Driving South, sitting in my dorm room trying to work out how to play the songs, the brown website, the mono bad quality clip of Time Changes Everything, this album an awesome part of my life.

The voice? You know what I like it. At first i thought it was a bit awful, but literally straight away it turned on me. The guitar work on this is brilliant, and with lyrics like 'I know why the caged bird sings' and 'falling for you it easy but standing back up again is gonna hurt', make this album a classic piece of work.

With a great concept album in Marshall's House under his belt too, I'm sad he's hung up his guitar, but then again these albums are so good, I'm grateful to just listen to these again and again, forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Give it a few plays..., 17 Oct. 2002
This review is from: Time Changes Everything (Audio CD)
When I first listened to the Seahorses, I expected something like the Stone Roses and was disappointed. When I first listened to this, I expected something like the Seahorses and was disappointed again. But both Do It Yourself and Time Changes Everything have a lot to offer.
Time Changes Everything contains some of John Squire's great musical signatures that we've seen in the past: sublime guitar work, balanced and incisive lyrics, and distinctive melodic hooks. But they are less obvious than in his previous work, and are greatly masked by a vocal style which can sound flat and uninviting at first.
Some songs are not as good as others, and Sophia particularly adds nothing to the album. But there does seem to be something about the rest of the album that you need to "get" and, once you do, it all seems to fit together and a lot of it comes over as being a little bit rather good. That said, this may just be a way of saying that it might appeal to some people, but might not to others.
It will be a shame if this is only bought by people looking for the Stone Roses connection, because musically it isn't there. This is a good album which needs to be listened to on it's own merits, and not by comparing it with something quite special that the artist was doing 14 years ago with a different group of people.
Definitely an album to try, just in case it turns out to be exactly your thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it ! Give it a few plays , love it !, 13 May 2010
This review is from: Time Changes Everything (Audio CD)
John at the mike !
Saw him live, he sang in tune throughout a great gig 2004.
Sofia, stange feeling , All I really want, are my favourites great songs!
The rest are good and the album grows on you after a couple of listens.
What surprised me at first wasn't so Much Johns' vocals, as the lack of his Les Paul rock outs, these I miss as I love Johns fantastic guitar playing. That said the songs are good and Johns voice works well.
After listening to this and Marshalls House and seeing him sing live, including Roses songs, Johns' ownership of his tracks from the Roses and The Seahorses is even clearer, he really was the architect of the greatness.
I have been listening to this album since it came out nearly 8 years ago and I stil enjoy it and play it regularly, which says much about the quality of the songs.
I hope John may pick up a Les Paul again one day, even if its only to solo as a guest for someone if he doesn't want the burden of public expectation and the pressures of the music business.
John if you dont come back thats ok but, thanks you for your songs all the same, they have, and will continue to, mean a lot to a lot of people.
Goodnight.
Buy this album, buy it , go on , you know it makes sense ! Buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars PUTTING THE RECORD STRAIGHT, 15 Nov. 2009
By 
M. O'Brien (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Time Changes Everything (Audio CD)
I don't normally take time to write reviews on Amazon, but so much has been said against this album, that I have to put the record straight.
"TIME CHANGES EVERYTHING" is a great album!
I don't know why people have knocked it so much.
No, it ain't the Roses, it is very different, but John Squire's work has always been measured against what he did with the Stone Roses and never considered on its own merits, as it should.
And he has a lot to give here!
The songs are beautiful and melodic, the lyrics personal and at times moving, the voice - a cross between Dylan and Lennon - is endearing and honest (and contrary to what others have said, in tune!), the guitar-playing subtle and gentle, but still of the high standard you would expect from such a legend.
It is difficult to choose a best track, as they're all so good, but I would say "I Miss You", "Shine A Little Light", "Time Changes Everything" and the delicate, nostalgic "15 Days" (about his time with the Roses) deserve a special mention.
Some said it is an album that requires time and a few listens to be appreciated... well, it didn't happen with me!
I fell for it on first play!
Don't listen to those who tell you this is no good: it is better than good! Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A valiant effort but..., 16 Sept. 2002
By A Customer
Well, it's been a long time coming - but it ultimately left me a little disappointed. I suppose the major talking point would have to be Squire's voice - it's not that bad actually, but it seems to me like he's trying too hard, trying to make his voice overly 'interesting' to cover up for an obvious lack of confidence. The guitar work is tasteful, but lacking a bit of passion. There's also more acoustic stuff on here than I'd expect, but Squire is as melodic as ever.
The songs actually aren't too bad - better than most on the Seahorses offering, but they're lacking depth. Those blues-rockers wanting more Led Zep guitar will need to look elsewhere, and those (like me) awaiting more first Roses album genius, well - the waiting will continue. All in all, a valiant effort, but I feel most will liken this to modern era Eric Clapton. Everyone knows the fire of his youth has gone, the best stuff has long sinced passed, but you just still keep hoping... Keep 'em coming, John - I'll still buy whatever you turn out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Time Changes Everything
Time Changes Everything by John Squire (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews