Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW - A 'must have' for Christmas
This CD is just fantastic - be blown away by The Cambridge Singers renditions of John Rutter's Christmas album - the definative version of some of the prettiest and most lyrical Christmas choral music you will ever hear. I just keep playing it over and over again.

Choir members will be inspired to get out their music to re-visit any of these beautiful carols...
Published on 22 Dec 2007 by J. Cuzner

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Yes,it`s ok.
It is a little short of traditional Christmas music.
Not quite `my scene`.
The album was a bit disappointing in comparison
to John Rutter`s other works
Published 18 months ago by Kate.S


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW - A 'must have' for Christmas, 22 Dec 2007
By 
J. Cuzner (Redditch , Worcs, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The John Rutter Christmas Album (Audio CD)
This CD is just fantastic - be blown away by The Cambridge Singers renditions of John Rutter's Christmas album - the definative version of some of the prettiest and most lyrical Christmas choral music you will ever hear. I just keep playing it over and over again.

Choir members will be inspired to get out their music to re-visit any of these beautiful carols they have sung in the past.

This would make the perfect stocking filler for anyone who appreciates choral singing from a choirboy to your grandmother - or just indulge yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


136 of 140 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars John Rutter's Box of Delights, 26 Dec 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The John Rutter Christmas Album (Audio CD)
This compilation of some of John Rutter's work should be in everyone's Christmas stocking. With sixteen of his own original creations he has added seven arrangements he has made of traditional Christmas music and that written by other composers. What is useful is the grouping of the music into parts - Prologue, The Christmas Story, Christmas Night, Christmas Reflections, Christmas Joy and Epilogue - which allows the listener to select a long or short programme if required.
The performances, drawn from sources spanning the years 1985 to 2002, are sheer delight from beginning to end. The Cambridge Singers, with soloists Ruth Holton, Gerald Finlay and Stephen Varcoe, excel with the various moods and rhythms throughout, and the City of London Sinfonia adds stylish and colourful support. The direction of this wonderful festival of music for Christmas is in the capable hands of John Rutter himself who inspires his singers and players.
If I were to single out any items from the programme, who could possibly resist the lilting rhythms of `Jesus child' and the `Donkey Carol', and the jaunty bounce of `We wish you a merry Christmas'? On the reflective side, the various lullabies all receive sensitive performances.
If you are looking for the perfect combination of joy and reverence, not only at Christmas but at any time of year, you could not possibly rival this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas Magic, 6 Dec 2008
This review is from: The John Rutter Christmas Album (Audio CD)
This is the first time I have submitted a review, but those loving John Rutter's own carols and arrangements should know that this is a superb, almost certainly the best, compilation. It includes the beautiful and ever popular Nativity Carol and Shepherd's Pipe Carol which he wrote in his teens and after that most of the carols he has composed. The accompanying notes include all the words, which is such a help, and give information about when and for whom or what occasion each carol came to be written. And most importantly they were recorded when John Rutter had put together a superb singing group, The Cambridge Singers. It doesn't get any better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to have a beautiful Christmas, 16 Feb 2009
By 
J. Sproxton Miller (S E England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The John Rutter Christmas Album (Audio CD)
This CD made our Christmas - and that takes some doing! If you like show tunes, choral music generally, and you believe there is something magical about carols, then buy this. Beautifully sung and endlessly innovative, next year I am buying it in bulk as Christmas presents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas Joy, 7 Mar 2008
By 
S. Woods "stanwoods3" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The John Rutter Christmas Album (Audio CD)
I thought this CD had got lost in our recent house move and was delighted when it turned up in one the last boxes to be opened. I immediately rushed to listen again even though it is early March and am once again entranced by the warmth and beauty of the music and the singing. You really can play this CD anytime in the year and that is what I am doing now! If you buy it you will not be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful CD., 20 Nov 2007
By 
Fiona (Belfast, Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The John Rutter Christmas Album (Audio CD)
The more technical merits have already been pointed out. I have this on in the background now as its very relaxing. I recommend this as a Christmas treat to yourself, it is like being at an upmarket Carol concert (in a good way!) and when the music stops you find yourself putting it on again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The essence of Christmas, 15 Feb 2009
By 
V. Bailey (Braintree, Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The John Rutter Christmas Album (Audio CD)
I just loved this. Having heard various John Rutter carols on the radio I knew I had to have this cd. It will now form part of Christmas forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 6 Feb 2009
By 
Ms. C. E. Archer-wills (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The John Rutter Christmas Album (Audio CD)
Some lovely and unusual pieces - I could happily listen to it all year round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent recording, 15 Dec 2010
This review is from: The John Rutter Christmas Album (Audio CD)
I am in a church choir and I needed to practise The Star Carol and Christmas Lullaby. This CD was excellent. Who else knows how to phrase his works but the man himself. Other Beautiful Christmas songs. Great!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Singing with Rutter, 27 Nov 2010
By 
This review is from: The John Rutter Christmas Album (Audio CD)
It is different than the traditional carols with the wonderful voice of the choir makes excellent listening plus the time to join in
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The John Rutter Christmas Album
The John Rutter Christmas Album by John Rutter (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews