Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Concise Manic Street Preachers
Forever Delayed is OK. It essentially compiles the Manics' most accessible singles but its trump card is that a quarter of the twenty songs have never previously been available on any album. I don't have a problem with the tracklisting. There's a time a place for everything, and the place for The Intense Humming Of Evil isn't on a Greatest Hits. I also think that the...
Published on 25 May 2007 by Robert Williams

versus
10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what it could or should have been.....
OK, granted this compilation does feature some of the band's greatest tracks. Aside from the pure lyrical intelligence on display, I replay many of these tracks over and over for the fantastic guitar work of James Dean Bradfield. If ever there was an underrated guitist of his generation,then it would be JDB. Tracks such as You Love Us, La Tristesse Durera,Motorcycle...
Published on 1 Dec 2004 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Concise Manic Street Preachers, 25 May 2007
This review is from: Forever Delayed (Audio CD)
Forever Delayed is OK. It essentially compiles the Manics' most accessible singles but its trump card is that a quarter of the twenty songs have never previously been available on any album. I don't have a problem with the tracklisting. There's a time a place for everything, and the place for The Intense Humming Of Evil isn't on a Greatest Hits. I also think that the 'radio anthem' side of the Manics isn't celebrated enough, and it's telling that their most cherished song Motorcycle Emptiness feels totally at home snuggled up to You Stole The Sun From My Heart and Australia.

The main flaw with the collection is that they've had to edit quite a lot of the tracks to fit all twenty on. In some instances this means including the radio edits, in others the radio edits have been edited (!). This lets it down, and it's also now two albums out of date, so hopefully one day we'll get a more comprehensive Manics primer. I like the format of the Pet Shop Boys compilation Pop Art, with one disc containing their big radio anthems and the other gathering together their more 'arty' side. It would work well for the Manics - a band who can never please everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Collection of Singles, 8 July 2003
By 
R. Janis "spiritofeden" (Chicago, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
For someone relatively new to MSP (first picked up on them in 2000), but more recently familiar with the Richey-era, "Forever Delayed" makes a great starting point for anyone curious about the band. If I had followed the band from very early in the nineties, I would probably also bemoan the lack of songs from "The Holy Bible" in favor of the "Everything Must Go" and "This Is My Truth" period. Just the same, this collection provides a good balance of past and present. Besides, it's not as if the beautiful "Motorcycle Emptiness" had been left off the running order. Even the tracks from the misguided mess "Know Your Enemy" fit fine here, though I'd have to agree with several reviews that "Ocean Spray" and "Let Robeson Sing" would have been welcome. The best surprise, though, would be "There By The Grace Of God", a fantastic single that shows the band could be back on the upswing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent compilation despite slightly skewed selections, 25 Jun 2009
By 
Greg Farefield-Rose (Hertfordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Forever Delayed (Audio CD)
Manic Street Preachers are undoubtedly one of the best British bands of the last 20 years. Forever Delayed contains many of their best songs though its compilation is rather skewed against certain albums.

First the good news - the five best songs from the band's first two rather patchy albums are featured even though they weren't necessarily the biggest hits. Yes, doomed anthems Motorcycle Emptiness and From Despair To Where are included alongside the cocky You Love Us, La Tristesse Durera and lyrically poignant pop of Little Baby Nothing.

Album number three for the Manics was the harrowing, nihilistic art-rock of The Holy Bible, now considered by many to be the band's masterpiece. So why is only the exhilarating Faster included from it on Forever Delayed. She Is Suffering and Revol were also Top 30 hits so why couldn't at least one of them feature - possibly at the expense of some of the four tracks included from each of the band's subsequent two albums, the triumphant Everything Must Go and This Is My Truth Tell Me Yours.

Forever Delayed breaks off after album number six by the band. Be My Enemy was relatively speaking, a commercial and critical failure though surely the moving Ocean Spray should have been included in addition to the untypical Beach Boys like pop of So Why So Sad. The best of also includes a couple of non-album singles in The Masses Against The Classes and the band's sadly poignant cover of Suicide Is Painless (Theme From MASH). It also features two new tracks There By The Grace Of God and Door To The River, which, unusually for new tracks tagged onto compilation albums, are excellent and well worth their place.

Despite my quibbles about album allocations, Forever Delayed is still an excellent compilation which gets more right in its track selections than it gets wrong. It is also a fine introduction to the Manics though I would also recommend buying the Holy Bible and This Is My Truth LPs, both of which have several outstanding tracks not included on this compilation album. All in all, an excellent summary of much of the best work by one of the best bands of the last 20 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A causal introduction, 10 May 2003
Undeniably a compilation aimed mainly at the uninitiated, Forever Delayed still manages to pack in 20 classic singles. The inclusion of the previously non-album tracks Motown Junk, The Masses Against the Classes and Suicide is Painless, allied with the two new songs There By the Grace of God and the sublime Door to the River, also make this a worthy purchase for seasoned fans. Starting off with a contender for song of the '90s, A Design For Life, the album flows along a river of catchy tunes and thoughtful lyrics. It doesn't include career highlights Roses in the Hospital and Stay Beautiful, or the charming Ocean Spray and Let Robeson Sing from Know Your Enemy, but apart from that it is difficult to argue that this isn't the best compilation the band could deliver.
Some of the tracks have been edited to fit on to the disc. In some cases this works (the shortening of the solos of From Despair to Where and Suicide is Painless will be unnoticeable to the majority) and in some it doesn't (cutting two full minutes of The Everlasting takes away the song's epic feel, which is its saving grace). No two people will find themselves agreeing with the tracklisting for a Manics compilation, so we are left having to accept the job done by the band themselves, and most of the time it's spot on.
A fine document of a great band, which would have been better if they had allowed themselves the double-CD needed to fit in their lengthy and amazing career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You Love Us!!!, 28 Aug 2002
By 
After 12 years and six albums of preaching Marxist rhetoric over a continually evolving sound ranging from the Clash meets Guns 'n' Roses rawk of debut 'Generation Terrorists', to the shimmering Phil Spector-esq 'Everything Must Go', the Manics finally confirm what we all already knew: they know how to write a killer single.
The scope of these songs is breathtaking, the brash punk of 'Motown Junk', the grace and beauty of 'A Design for Life', the 'last great baggy single' AKA 'La Tristesse Durera' and both fantastic number 1's, 'If You Tolerate This...' and 'Masses Against The Classes' demonstrate an incisive, vital band in a league of their own. Who else can claim to have written a chart-topping single about the Spanish Cival War as well as having more Top 40 hits than anyone else in the 1990's?
As well as two new tracks, there are also the hard to find non-album singles of 'Motown Junk', 'Masses..' and 'Suicide is Painless', a cover of the theme from M*A*S*H.
The bit that really sends shivers down the spine, however, is the inclusion of 'the fourth Manic', Missing-In-Action Richey James Edwards on the front sleeve - gone, but by no means forgotten.
This couldn't have been improved upon. The Manics know their place - to quote Nicky Wire, 'Every generation has a defining moment - we are yours.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forever Delayed................, 9 Nov 2002
By 
Sarah (Notts United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
For those who think the Manics have 'sold out' by releasing a greatest hits.....................why??????? To me this is an album for Manics fan to enjoy over and over again. This is brilliantly put together, switching from old to new throughout. With the inclusion of Masses, Suicide and Motown and the 2 new songs, it's a gift from the band. For those who only know the Manics post Richey, it will give them an insight to the early stuff. Suicide is the song that first made me prick up my ears to the band, so for me the album is worth it for that alone.
Since I received the CD in the post it hasn't been out of the player and i'm sure it will remain there for some time to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bleak, yet uplifting, 14 Nov 2007
By 
A. Marczak "mazzarak" (Mordor) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forever Delayed (Audio CD)
As another reviewer rightly states, this is not a Greatest Hits package that a Manics devotee would necessarily give their approval too. Bands with such back catalogues are doomed to disappoint someone when they finally succoumb to the cop-out that allows them to release an "album" without actually having to be creative.

Having said that, a singles collection from one of Britain's most popular bands of the last 20 years is very welcome in my house.
There is a theme running through the majority of CDs I've bought in the last 5 years or so. During my student years I was (a) a Blur AND Oasis fan and (b) skint. So I bought Parklife and Definitely Maybe and so on, without being able to afford the "support feature" groups, e.g. Manics, Suede, Supergrass, and all the other bands that appeared on the front of Select Magazine.
Albums such as this allow me to catch up with the music I wanted to own, but couldn't justify buying all the albums (See Dodgy, Shed Seven, Ash, Space, who have all done similar releases)

This is a great album for taking you back to places you'd forgotten - pub nights out, indie clubs, that time at Glastonbury.
It seems that they are not all the full album versions of some that I remember, but then there are a lot of tracks on this album. So for a Manics aficionado, there is nothing new here, but for a newcomer, this is everything you need to get you started.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Xmas Present For The Masses, 17 Nov 2002
By 
A Manics Greatest Hits album is obviously going to be a classic and this is definitely one of the best hits collections in existence. However, I was disappointed at some of the omissions. What happened to 'Stay Beautiful', 'Slash 'N' Burn', 'Life Becoming A Landslide' and to omit 'Roses In The Hospital' is quite frankly a crime. Having said that the two new songs are excellant and it does contain 'Motown Junk', 'Masses' and 'Suicide Is Painless' which are not available on any other albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mostly Excellent, 13 Jan 2003
By A Customer
Let's get the gripes out the way:
Who the hell is Cornelius? And why was he/she/it entrusted to do a re-mix of a classic Manics song? He isn't the only culprit - why do re-mixers think they can change the harmonies of a backing and still get a coherent song? Mercifully, Design for Life gets a reasonable version, but it's still inferior to the original, while the two Chemical Brothers mixes are quite good, albeit completely detached from any resemblance to the original song.
Previously I owned Everything must Go and This is My Truth, so discarding those songs, I'd say my highlights of the album are Little Baby Nothing, From Despair To Where and You Love Us
Motorcycle Emptiness is good enough, but I've yet to find the brilliance that people have been talking about. Little Baby is beautiful, while From Despair and You Love Us are both cracking singalongs.
The two new songs are both very average fare, not quite as bad as some people suggest but not at all inspiring.
So Why So Sad? Because we have to listen to it. I'm sure that there's a decent melody in there somewhere, but sadly it sounds like a Christmas re-mix with sliegh bells. I can't believe I'm the only person who thinks of Christmas when listening to this.
So, overall the Manics are still superb - please include a B-sides collection next time. I can't believe any Manics fan really wanted a load of re-mixes of their favorite songs.
<You are pure, You are snow, We are the useless sluts that they mould>
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Delayed no more, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forever Delayed (Audio CD)
Not heard their music before. Had overheard people at work recommend MSP to others.so thought I might take chance with their greatest hits album. Was no disappointed & am now kicking myself for not getting it earlier. Would now recommend to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Forever Delayed
Forever Delayed by Manic Street Preachers (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews