Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely film
Perhaps not that well-known, but a really nice film- really heartwarming. Typical Disney in many ways, White Fang sets its own pace and gently eases you into what is a lovely story about a young man's adventure into the unknown. A great story, well acted, superbly shot- all in all a nice film. I'd definitely recommend it. Just be aware of some hairy dog-fights though!
Published on 31 Mar 2003

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Family Adventure
I remember watching cartoons of White Fang when I was a little younger and when this film came out I couldn't wait to see it. Remember Lassie? Well if you liked that, I can gurantee you will like this film, especially if you have the seen the cartoons. This is a typical family film based around a boys love of a very tame White Wolf. This film has it all, action,...
Published on 22 Feb 2004 by trev_04


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely film, 31 Mar 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: White Fang [DVD] (DVD)
Perhaps not that well-known, but a really nice film- really heartwarming. Typical Disney in many ways, White Fang sets its own pace and gently eases you into what is a lovely story about a young man's adventure into the unknown. A great story, well acted, superbly shot- all in all a nice film. I'd definitely recommend it. Just be aware of some hairy dog-fights though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely scenery, 7 Sep 2010
By 
Inspector Gadget "Go Go Gadget Reviews" (On the trail of Doctor Claw) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White Fang [DVD] (DVD)
I've never read Jack London's book, but it's certainly on my wishlist. And after seeing this film I think I might finally get around to buying it.

Ethan Hawke plays Jack Conroy a young gold prospector in Canada/Alaska during the gold rush of the late 19th century. His story is without considerable peril and seems to take a backseat to the more intimate story of a young wolf cub who loses his mother and ventures out into the world on his own. Many people (kind, cruel and indifferent) interact and encounter the wolf before Jack adopts him as "White Fang".

The scenes of the cub hugging his dying mother are heartbreaking, and the training the filmmakers did with the animals is really impressive. A disclaimer pops up before the film begins to explain that although all the animal cruelty looks realistic is was done safely.

The scenery is wonderful, but I am puzzled as to why director Randall Kleiser didn't shoot it in anamorphic Panavision. When filming in breathtaking parts of the world it's kinda dumb to not take full advantage. The resulting picture looks a bit TV-ish. But it's a minor quibble.

Basil Poledouris' score is also great. I am convinced Hans Zimmer might have also contributed as there are a couple of tracks that have the early 90s Zimmer sound. But it's definitely Poledouris' show, and it's a shame that a definitive score CD was never released.

For those of you who love wolf, adventure and great outdoors movies, this one is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great wee story, 8 Feb 2010
By 
Ric 1912 (Aberdeen Scotland UK) - See all my reviews
Ethan Hawke plays a teenager in search of making it rich in the gold area of Alaska in the 1800's following the death of his father. Two stories run parallel here, one of Ethan (gold seachcer) and one of White Fang (an alskian half wolf half husky dog). Where cleverly their paths constanly cross, and yet drift apart as quickly, and yet despite it all they finally are united, where the dog proves the boundries between man and beast are really crossable, where loyalty and devotion are second to none. Great little film for all the family that will really play on the heart strings. Great scenery, plots and the dog is just amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WHITE FANG, 8 May 2009
By 
P. I. Newman "pat newmanbook worm" (eastleigh,hants.england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White Fang [DVD] (DVD)
THIS FILM IS THE BEST ANIMAL FILM I HAVE EVER SEEN, ALTHOUGH SOME OF
THE FILM CONTAINS A FEW DOG FIGHTS, THAT IF YOU ARE A DOG LOVER YOU
WOULD CRINGE AT THE SIGHT OF DOG'S GETTING RIPPED AND SLASHED, IT ONLY
GOES ON FOR A FEW MINUITES, THEN YOU SEE THE REST OF THE FILM, I LIKED
THE SHOW OF LOVE AND AFFECTION BETWEEN THE MAN AND THE DOG, IT WAS WELL
WORTH WATCHING, FOR THE WHOLE FAMILY.......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully filmed, 22 April 2012
By 
Mme Stephanie Meric (South of France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White Fang [DVD] (DVD)
The whole family love this film and has now watched it several times. It's a great story that is beautifully filmed although it would be too long, and perhaps too distressing, for very young children. (My children are aged 9 and 13).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Family Adventure, 22 Feb 2004
This review is from: White Fang [VHS] [1991] (VHS Tape)
I remember watching cartoons of White Fang when I was a little younger and when this film came out I couldn't wait to see it. Remember Lassie? Well if you liked that, I can gurantee you will like this film, especially if you have the seen the cartoons. This is a typical family film based around a boys love of a very tame White Wolf. This film has it all, action, adventure and emotion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Film review, 17 Feb 2012
This review is from: White Fang [DVD] (DVD)
This film is a reasonable adaptation of the book but does not have the depth in terms of White Fang's early life as the book so fair but not as good as Jack London's written word.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best wolf film my family, mostly my daughter, have watched!, 17 Jan 2010
By 
N. M. Bradford "Nicola" (Wickham, Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: White Fang [DVD] (DVD)
I got this for my 10 year old daughter who absolutly loves wolves, every poster is a wolf, t-shirts of them, plays it at school, talks about them all the time, toys...you get the idea. This film was great even though there were dog fights, but only for a few minutes. Will recommend. My daughter loves it when the wolf is on. She says she loves wolves more than anyone in the world!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars kids will like it, 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White Fang [DVD] (DVD)
White Fang is a 1991 American adventure film directed by Randal Kleiser, starring Ethan Hawke, Klaus Maria Brandauer and Seymour Cassel. Based on Jack London's novel White Fang, it tells the story of the friendship between a Yukon gold hunter and a wolfdog.

White Fang is portrayed by a wolfdog, Jed, who also appeared in such films as The Thing (1982) and The Journey of Natty Gann (
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars yes, good american movie, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White Fang [DVD] (DVD)
also not the greatest of movies after watching some of the other Disneys, but this was fun to watch after Christmas when we all got fed up with Tom and Jerry and the ubiquitous Disney cartoons. good film for under 10 s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xab56f594)

This product

White Fang [DVD]
White Fang [DVD] by Randal Kleiser (DVD - 2002)
5.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews