Customer Reviews


211 Reviews
5 star:
 (147)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


97 of 103 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superlative and Very Different
"Amadeus", was a great success on stage prior to becoming a film that garnered 8 Academy Awards, together with dozens of other international honors. This director's cut version of the film not only adds 20 minutes to bring this exceptional film to 3 hours, it also has created a spectacular new digital transfer, and most interestingly a new film.
Many special editions...
Published on 19 Oct. 2002 by taking a rest

versus
78 of 82 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amazing film...Lazy Transfer
This film is definitely one of my favourites films. The fact it won 8 oscars underlines just how amazing the film is - the story,the acting, the editing and the music are extraordinary.

However I gave this 3 stars (and not 6!) simply because the video quality struck me as very lucklustre very quickly. I currently own the directors's cut DVD and to me the...
Published on 20 Feb. 2009 by hellodavey


‹ Previous | 1 2 322 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A classic, 3 Jan. 2007
This review is from: Amadeus -- Director's Cut 2-Disc Special Edition [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
This is a brillant film and the acting of Murray is simply breath taking! There has been so many versions on Mozart's life and this film just add its bit of speculation to the Conspiracy Theory list. Mozart was far beyond his time and the director captures this very well, seeing a young Mozart being frustrated by the system which is very much rooted by his elders! Rather than playing on this chord Milos throws in Salieri as the admirer, the traitor, the friend, the bitter enemy! A classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical Stuff!!!, 21 Nov. 2010
By 
Mrs. D. Guest (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Amadeus [DVD] [1984] (DVD)
Anyone wanting an accurate historical account of the life of Mozart please look away now! What we have instead is a screenplay version of Peter Shaeffer's stage piece which exaggerates, for dramatic effect, the rivalry between Mozart and the less gifted but powerful court composer, Antonio Salieri. However, what this movie lacks in historical accuracy it gains in the superb performances of Tom Hulce as the boy genius and F.Murray Abraham in his career defining, oscar winning role. The movie is a sheer joy from start to finish and you won't fail to get drawn into wonderful period feeling of eighteenth century Vienna (even though most of the shooting is actually Prague!). Don't worry if you don't like classical music too much as the story is a more than strong enough experience to stand as a great drama on it's own. However, if you do like Mozarts music then the whole experience is lifted to another level with the excellent contribution of Sir Neville Marriner and the Academy of St.Martin in the Fields. All in all superb, thoughtful, entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm sure everyone knows the slightly idiotic giggling cackle that Mozart gives from time to time, 14 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amadeus -- Director's Cut 2-Disc Special Edition [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
I know this film from a cinema viewing many years ago when it came out, it will be interesting to see what the director's cut offers in addition. This film is deservedly a classic, I'm sure everyone knows the slightly idiotic giggling cackle that Mozart gives from time to time. This is the film that pushes Mozart off his sacred plinth and shows him as a sort of aging Wunderkind who is still just a child at heart and still incredibly gifted, but is a total klutz socially. Contrast this with all the hagiographic Mozart films that preceded it, lots of music and an over-reverential script. The film just does not have a weak moment anywhere, as I recall, and the musical interludes are brilliantly done. But do not treat the film as reality, as Salieri was in fact on good terms with Mozart after some initial battles when they competed for the same jobs, and later taught music to Mozarts's younger son. Treat the confession as the product of senile dementia. And enjoy a film that is a classic of its genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a wonderful film, but a distorted view of Mozart, 1 April 2007
By 
hillbank68 "almac1975" (Fife, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Amadeus -- Director's Cut 2-Disc Special Edition [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
I find it difficult to rate this film. In its own right it deserves 5 stars, but it takes such liberties with the truth that I've gone down to 4 stars. However, that is not the film's fault but Peter Shaffer's. His play is an examination of what happens when talent meets genius and is morally destroyed by it, so that, finally, it must destroy the thing it recognises as God-given but cannot abide out of envy. He makes events fit that concept, for dramatic reasons. The real Salieri, a good composer in his own right but not a great one, was no doubt a rival of Mozart, but the old myth that he had a hand in the composer's death was well scotched long ago, and there is plenty of evidence that there is no truth in it. But I'm really being a bit unfair to the film. From the moment it starts to its tragic, and then tragi-comic ending, it is absolutely riveting and justifies its award of Best Picture Oscar on 1984. There is so much atmosphere, of the brooding dark streets in - well, it's supposed to be Vienna, but it is actually Prague - the squalor of Mozart's existence at certain times, the ominous arrival of the dark figure who commissioned the Requiem (in truth no sinster figure at all, but Mozart does seem to have been weighed down by this event and anxious about its significance), the glittering, artificial ambience at court, and above all the scenes in theatres, which are completely convincing and breath-taking - all are examples of very fine film-making. Musically the film is excellent too. All the cast do a good job, with F. Murray Abraham chief amongst them as Salieri. And in fact, having written this review, there is no way I can withhold 5 stars. It is an outstanding film, but please do not confuse some of what it says with the truth!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just like a fine Oporto Wine, 30 Jan. 2013
By 
Carlos Marques Bessa (Porto portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What can i say about Amadeus?
It's been a great movir for almost 30 years and it still remains great. The Blu-ray really adds a bit more quality to this masterpiece: the picture is very clean and full of vivid colors, and the sound (wich is the most important in this movie) it's fantastic. Mozart would be fascinated to hear his compositions in such a powerful way. The movie really got a first class treatment.

I really love this film. The acting, the costums, the sets, the plot, the lines and must of all...the music.

The wonderfull city of Prague gives this movie a real magic touch.
I wish filmmakers would go back making movies in real cities with real people.

Amadeus it's like a fine Oporto wine, it just keeps getting better with the years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, 21 Mar. 2009
By 
J. Aston - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I think this is a good transfer, although I agree with 'hellodavey' and 'K Oppegaard' - the film is not quite what it should be in places (although I think this is due to fairly subtle DNR, not the bitrate, which I think is ample for such a film).

I suppose if you don't know the film and expect a visual feast of background detail throughout, you may be disappointed, since the camera sometimes has a shallow field of focus, with only the very foreground completely in focus. However, this is primarily because the focus is on the player who is currently conversing (or narrating), which is quite appropriate for a film derived from a play. Amadeus is, after all, justly praised for it's great interplay and dialogue.

All that aside, I think it's important to emphasize that overall this is a quite a good transfer, and an improvement, and although DNR is always unwelcome, I don't think it's too obvious here.

Of equal importance, the 'third main character' which is the music, is also improved.

As a general point, I would say even a small improvement is worth having for a film you like, but in this case the improvement is noticeable. Give it a rent and see for yourself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even more satisfying than the original, 24 Feb. 2006
This review is from: Amadeus -- Director's Cut 2-Disc Special Edition [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
The original cut of Amadeus I have seen many many times so I watched this cut with trepidation and excitement at what those extra minutes might hold. For the majority the additions are not essential (hence the cut) but returned they do give an extra fullness to parts of the plot, particularly to Mozart's slow downfall which is only touched on in the original version. We see Salieri's devious manipulations of the Emperor and Viennese society work against Mozart who is unable to earn enough money to finance his extravagant lifestyle and is soon desperate enough to beg for loans. His pride prevents him from taking some work, such as in the very funny musical dogs scene but he returns there as a last resort only to be turned away. There is extra material about the relationship between Mozart, Madame Caballeri and Salieri but this does not offer any greater insight. But perhaps the most important addition is that which explains the animosity between Constanze and Salieri. In the original cut this is not explained and you are left wondering why she is so adamant he leave Mozart's side. But in the Director's Cut this is made abundantly clear... Constanze, desperate to help her husband agrees to sleep with Salieri, but when she is at her most vulnerable he humiliates her and turns her away leaving her to return home full of shame and sorrow. These scenes offer a greater insight into Constanze's character and what she is prepared to do for money, not to mention her genuine love for her husband but also re-inforces Salieri's own struggle between his sexual desires, his desire to harm Mozart and his promise to God. It is painful and powerful and truly enhances the arc of the story. I feel very attached the original cut, which is still the more familiar - however I am pleased to have made this addition to my collection and especially pleased with all the extras included which give a real insight into the casting and preparation of the film, not to mention the fact that Prague at the time was still behind the Iron Curtain. I really think this is an essential and captivating film - and everyone I have recommended this film to has become a fellow worshipper. I assure you, if you buy watch this film you will not regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic movie if factually suspect., 26 Oct. 2002
This review is from: Amadeus -- Director's Cut 2-Disc Special Edition [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
It's difficult to find fault with Milos Forman's interpretation of Peter Schaffer's play Amadeus. The original film is up there with the greats of cinema and the new 'Director's Cut doesn't disappoint.
However, so much of the story depicted in the film - and indeed play - is fiction that it is questionable whether the added scenes really give us much more insight to the relationship between Salieri and Mozart and indeed Mozart's short yet brilliant life.
Accepting that the film is a film and nothing else, we are presented with an example of cinema of the highest quality. As a serious examination of Mozart's life, don't hold your breath.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This film will make you cry !, 11 July 2003
By 
Robert Snedden (Edinburgh, Scotland United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Amadeus -- Director's Cut 2-Disc Special Edition [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
A totally different film from the original.
Look out for the scene between Constance and Salieri when Mozart's wife is compromised. This relationship is central to the film's end.
The documentary on the bonus disc is probably the best of its kind. When Milos Foreman recalls visiting the Opera House, where the World Premiere of "Don Giovanni" took place, I cried. Peter Shaffer is obviously passionate about Mozart.
This CD is an essential part of World Cinema. Go out and buy it. Do it, don't even think about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Divine music, 10 Feb. 2013
This review is from: Amadeus -- Director's Cut 2-Disc Special Edition [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
Colourful, beautiful sets and costumes, divine music, almost perfect, but I did find the mix of American and British accents a bit grating. Think I prefered the non directors cut, although we are now used to longer films, the added scenes didn't add much to the original.I don't think it matters that it is not historically accurate I just accepted it as the vision of the director and writer and not a historical truth. The special features were disappointing a making of, a commentary and not much else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 322 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Amadeus -- Director's Cut 2-Disc Special Edition [DVD] [1985]
£11.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews