Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


111 of 118 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Grand Tribute
The title says it all: "Great Wildlife Moments" and "David Attenborough". What more could you want? This is a grand tribute to 50 years of wildlife documentaries from the BBC and from the Master. Not all are Attenborough productions but there are only so many places he can be at any one time. For the uninitiated, this is an excellent introduction to the scale and range of...
Published on 3 Jan 2004 by Movie Fan

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not impressed
I bought this DVD and thought I can see any new moments of Wildlife, but all this already was showing on TV regularly. So, nothing new for me...
Published 17 months ago by Natalia


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

111 of 118 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Grand Tribute, 3 Jan 2004
By 
This review is from: Great Wildlife Moments Introduced by David Attenborough [DVD] (DVD)
The title says it all: "Great Wildlife Moments" and "David Attenborough". What more could you want? This is a grand tribute to 50 years of wildlife documentaries from the BBC and from the Master. Not all are Attenborough productions but there are only so many places he can be at any one time. For the uninitiated, this is an excellent introduction to the scale and range of BBC productions in this field and, for afficianodos, probably every favourite moment will be found, from DA and the mountain gorillas (naturally), to the treacherous zebra crossing, the grotesque python sequence and the fabulous mimickry of the lyre bird. All 38 sequences are presented as they were originally and this leads to my only quibble for I think the production would have benefited from a narration linking the sequences and celebrating the BBC's achievement in virtually creating the wildlife documentary genre. David Attenborough does an introduction but then the sequences are played with no further commentary apart from that on their original tracks. There is an option to turn on a commentary by the producer of each sequence but these, though interesting in themselves, are individual to that particular excerpt (and a warning: not all sequences have a commentary, which could have you, like me, trying to turn it on for some time before realising you've chosen a sequence without it). Quibbles aside, this is a terrific compilation and a real tribute to the producers and presenters and especially the camera teams that provided us with such outstanding films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Attenborough chooses the moments - great!, 3 Dec 2011
By 
RR Waller "ISeneca" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Great Wildlife Moments Introduced by David Attenborough [DVD] (DVD)
Like another reviewer, seeing David Attenborough and the BBC on the cover was sufficient for me to buy this DVD. Many years ago, as a teenager, I read David Attenborough's "Zoo Quest for a Dragon" and was enthralled; I have been ever since. To have moments from wildlife chosen by Attenborough is like going round the Tate Gallery with Leonardo or Vincent, being shown a golf course by Jack Nicklaus, sitting in a concert hall with Beethoven, being taught the violin by Nigel Kennedy; he is the best there is and this DVD is excellent.

Not many bonus features just a whole host of wildlife moments. Viewers will watch, gasping and amazed.

Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The title says it all, 4 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Wildlife Moments Introduced by David Attenborough [DVD] (DVD)
Bought for a young five year old naturalist in the making, and completely captivated him. This inspiring collection could be the start of a wonderful life path.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars quality, 22 Aug 2011
By 
Mr. M. J. Horner "mervyn" (conil,spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Wildlife Moments Introduced by David Attenborough [DVD] (DVD)
the service was perfect,and quality very good,the main point is ,the product was as described and my granson plays it over and over!
ps wants the whole series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic dvd for the price, 10 Jan 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Wildlife Moments Introduced by David Attenborough [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this as a christmas present for my 18mth old son who loves watching animals. The dvd is divided up into 6 or so themes with some of the highlights of the best known wildlife documentaries (eg blue planet). I wasn't sure if he would be ready for watching wildlife documentaries so didn't want to spend loads on a box set, and at this price you can't possibly go wrong. 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars As usual, David Attenborough doing what he does best, 6 Nov 2009
By 
W. Rosser (Somerset UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Wildlife Moments Introduced by David Attenborough [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this DVD because it was offered at a bargain price, but it was worth its weight in gold. Every clip was well chosen and thoroughly entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Educational and entertaining, 1 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Wildlife Moments Introduced by David Attenborough [DVD] (DVD)
what can I say, any documentary I've bought involving David Attenborough has never disappointed, me just like this one they are all great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent program, 15 Jan 2012
This review is from: Great Wildlife Moments Introduced by David Attenborough [DVD] (DVD)
Bought this DVD for my wildlife-adventure-at-heart son. But he's not the only one enjoying it. Our family is great fan of David Attenborough and although some of the narrators are not David himself (I thought this was taken from David's programs), overall they are really good.
Really worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic! a must see,,,,,, 6 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Wildlife Moments Introduced by David Attenborough [DVD] (DVD)
a must for all lovers of wildlife! great veiwing for any age, attenborough at his best again! educational and amazing photography everyone should have this dvd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great summary!, 8 Aug 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Great Wildlife Moments Introduced by David Attenborough [DVD] (DVD)
This is an ideal introduction or if you are a DA fan then a super summary of wildlife filming at its best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Great Wildlife Moments Introduced by David Attenborough [DVD]
6.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews