Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
200
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Mannequin is either a sweet affectionate nostalgia movie – or an empty vacuous experience that fronts the bad side of 1980s American film making? Of all the teen comedies and brat packer pictures that flooded the decade, Mannequin appears to be the one that has no in between fan base, you either love it for what it is, or despise it and everything it stands for.

So how do you review something like that? I mean if you have seen it already and are reading this, you don’t need any guidance from me. Your minds are already made up, if you have not seen it and have any interest in the 1980s strand of such fare, then give it a go. It’s hardly an abomination, while for fans of Kim Cattrall and Andrew McCarthy it has to be worth a watch to see them try to cope with such under written lead characters.

It’s frothy and cheerful, but yes, devoid of substance, while one stereotype coupled with James Spader’s worst performance hardly help matters these days. Soundtracking is decent enough, led by power pop ballad Nothing’s Gonna Stop Us Now sung by Starship, while the costuming is garishly period.

Not to be taken seriously, obviously, and it has flaws galore, but it does have fans. Who knows, you may become one as well? Or you may want to stick sharp implements in your eyes instead? Roll the dice and take the chance. 5/10
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2003
I watched this film as a young girl and have enjoyed it ever since. Yes it maybe a little cheesy but that was the 80's!!!
The humour is great and even tho the acting is a little poor it has the thumbs up from Me!!!! And it can't have done that much damage on Kim Cattralls career, as she has done so much since the Film!!! All I need 2 Say Is Sex In The City!!!
I would say watch it, just for a laugh.
It's A Classic!!!!!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2014
This film is certainly different and well odd. Maybe you could say it would make a great explanation of why you were found gaffer taped to a blowup doll. This film is not meant to be questioned, It is just a bit of fun. To be honest, you either hate it or believe it does have some merit. If you have not seen it either way you will agree with this review. Have fun and I know it really is a mannequin.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2009
Well I TOTALLY disagree with the official review. This film is brilliant! Sure the storyline is a little weird but it's fun and light hearted. I just love 'Holly Wood' his camp character has me in stitches every time. I love the setting of the department store- gives sense of time gone by. Also love the bulldog- what's there not to like about this film?
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2013
Haven't seen this movie for a long time. It was mentioned on a documentary about the films of the 1980's. It brought back happy memories then we discovered that our grown up family had never seen it. Going to introduce them to a fun movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2001
I've read many reviews of the supposedly awful Mannequin, and how refreshing it was to discover that I wasn't the only one who thought it was brilliant!!! Mannequin is a hugely enjoyable, very funny, massively original film, which appeals to the old romantic in us all. Mannequin benefits immensely from the lovely on-screen chemistry supplied by the charming Andrew McCarthy (you can't NOT like him) and the ever-smiling Kim Cattrall, in the lead roles as love-struck, window-dressing genius Jonathan Switcher and reincarnated Egyptian princess turned mannequin, Emmy. There's a wonderfully over-the top performance provided by Meshach Taylor as 'Hollywood' and the slapstick pairing of Felix the security guard and the super-smarmy Richards, is pure, on-screen magic. This film has it all - great performances, a sing-along soundtrack, an original plot, villains you love to hate, someone for both the guys and girls to swoon over, even an exciting finale, with huge smackings of comedy, romance and fantasy. Mannequin has a definite feel-good factor - guaranteed to lift you out of your depression, singing along to those infamous closing credits, with a massive smile on your face. Yes, it's predictable, slightly tacky and has a few, real-cringe-worthy moments - yet that just enhances the enjoyment of this typically 80s movie. It's not Oscar-winning, high-brow stuff yet with the magical combination mentioned above, loads of laugh out loud moments and a happy ending sure to get you sniffling - who cares?!?!?!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2014
Funny and sweet.
A bit different than other concepts like that. I saw it as a child and my kids heard the titel song at the Music chanel, and i promised to try and get the movie that belongs to the song by Starship.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2013
I love the silliness of this 80's classic. Ah from a simpler time, before the need for absurdity or vulgarity to get a cheap laugh. Wish they continued to make Movies like this daft feel good nonsense, love it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 8 April 2009
I just LOVE this Picture!

One of several harmlessly entertaining feel-good movies to be churned out of the 80s, and sometimes 'knocked' for its innocence. Others included 'Who's That Girl' and the original 'Hairspray'.

A guy gets too attached to a mannequin and suddenly life is breathed into it. This leads to some really hilariously funny scenes - with an award-winning performance from Meshach Taylor as 'Hollywood.

Now almost a quarter of a century old, this movie was made at a time when both music and fashion had their real last fling with success - now pleasantly dated, somehow makes this all the more entertaining. Once the 90s dawned, both music and fashion-style came to an abrupt end - along with its innocent movie-making.

N. B. Soundtrack features the massive Number One hit from Starship 'Nothing's Gonna Stop Us Now'.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2000
Without a doubt, the fantasy tale of 'guy-meets girl-and-has-to-work-real-hard-to-get-her' has never been achieved better than in this wonderful Michael Gottlieb film. This film is funny and emotional, with an incredible on screen chemistry between Andrew McCarthy and Kim Cattrall. The somewhat harsh review from the amazon.co.uk writer does not teach you the spell binding atmosphere that is within the film. The soundtrack fits perfectly; and who will ever forget the hit 'Nothing's gonna stop us now' from Starship. I fell in love with Kim Cattrall when I saw this movie, and have fallen in love with my original copy of the film. Ignore the critics. Trust a person that loves his films. I would recommend this film to anyone who has a sense of romance, fantasy and humour inside of them. This film will touch all those senses, and more.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)