Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In at the deep!
Its not often that a low budget thriller comes along that can give some of the big budget movies a run for their money. If one compares this film with the dire 'What lies beneath' then it really does win hands down, no competition, but not necessarily because of it's storyline.
In 'The Deep End', British actress Tilda Swinton (last seen in 'The Beach' and outstanding...
Published on 22 Oct 2002 by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars quick turnover
Much as I admire Tilda Swinton (has she EVER given a less-than-perfect performance?)I have to low-rate this movie. It fails to capture the "noir" essence of the 1950s movie it is loosely modelled on and creates little tension. There are major questions about the plot: would it really be so easy to dispose of a body in Lake Tahoe, its shores apparently lined with homes?;...
Published 22 months ago by R. D. O'Neill


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 3 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Deep End [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Because I find Tilda Swinton a great actress, I was disappointed in the movie in general
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 1 Sep 2014
swinton never lets you down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Deep End, 7 Aug 2005
By 
Rich Milligan (Thatcham, Berkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Deep End [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
When I'd finally finished watching this film there was but one word floating round in my head, "motivation".
To be a little clearer it really was the lack of motivation that I was left wondering about. I could just not see the reasoning behind any of the characters' actions and their behaviour ranged from the puzzling to the downright bizarre.
To give a brief plot summary, Margaret Hall lives in the peaceful idyllic surroundings of Lake Tahoe with her three children and slightly distant father-in-law. Her husband we learn is away on manoeuvres with the Navy. Hall's eldest son, Beau, has fallen in with a dubious crowd emanating out of a gay club in nearby Reno. Beau, having a midnight argument with his boyfriend, unknowingly pushes him over the jetty and onto an upturned anchor. The next morning Margaret finds the body and takes it upon herself to hide the dead man thinking this will be the end of the matter. Alas it is not, as up steps blackmailer Al Spera, who is in possession of a compromising video tape of Beau and proceeds to attempt to extort money from Margaret.
OK, so there we have it, not a lot wrong with the plot idea. But what happens then is a list of motiveless actions from both the main two characters as they begin what is an almost sexless love affair. Hall, played by Tilda Swinton, careers from disaster to disaster, never loosing her cool and still managing to make her endless list of domestic task complete, whilst Spera played by ER heartthrob Goran Visnjic changes from heartless mobster to caring sharing protector in half an hour. I just didn't get it, there was no chemistry between these two people and I couldn't fathom out their actions for the life of me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 15 Feb 2006
By 
This review is from: The Deep End [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
The Deep End is an ambitious but ultimately frustrating and disappointing movie. Leading lady Tilda Swanson is hard to warm to as is her obnoxious son, so the whole drive of the film is lost as we end up not caring whether the characters succeed or fail . It's also another of those over-contrived films whereby you can't help but feel that if the main characters had just come clean in the first place then the proceeding events would have been avoided. There is very little in the way of tension which is a must in a thriller and the whole thing meanders to a disappointing end. Credit must be given to the fimmakers for attempting a different slant on the murder/blackmail genre but this fails to please in most areas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5*****, 6 Sep 2014
This review is from: The Deep End [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
all good,thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I've actually forgotten what it's about! Obviously made no impact on me!, 10 Mar 2010
By 
Sheilah King Watson (Dorset UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Deep End [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
As I've said already at this late date (about 4 weeks after watching the movie) I've forgotten the story line. You should ask buyers to review within a week of them receiving the CD. Therefore for me it wasn't a memorable movie. In the movies defence I can say Tilda Swinton always gives a believeable performance!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Deep End [DVD] [2001]
The Deep End [DVD] [2001] by Scott McGehee (DVD - 2002)
£4.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews