Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.2 out of 5 stars17
3.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 November 2005
I must say I'm pretty confused as to why so many critics have slated this film in almost every review I've managed to feast my eyes upon - why? When I first viewed this little gem twenty-odd years ago before the dreaded Daily Mail had its wicked way with such classics, I was pleasantly impressed and even today the film hasn't lost any of its gusto. Of course the acting is second rate and mundane in places, of course the camera work is shoddy, of course the direction is somewhat inept and the script is tacky. But it was made on a tight budget for crying out loud. In fact, I'll gladly offer a billion quid to anyone who can name me just one perfectly directed slasher film. Nevertheless, there are more upsides than downsides to this movie: the violence can be quite shocking in places (especially the machette killing) which happens off screen but is still relentless and brutal. The synth music is eerily brilliant and the overall brooding atmosphere makes you think twice about visiting the toilet for a while. The shocking climax is also totally unexpected and will probably have most viewers leaving dents in the arms of their chairs...check it out - it's a really good horror film.
66 comments19 of 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2007
The basic story..3 girls are on the way to a festival but their car crashes in a raging storm. They awaken in the home of a woman and her wheelchair bound elderly mother, but it's not long before someone is stalking the mansion and the bodies pile up..
This one is often badly criticized due to the bad acting and lack of blood and gore. I know the bad acting of the girls can't be defended, but despite that I consider this a mostly enjoyable slasher with some nice creepy atmosphere. I liked the constant rainstorm and the claustrophobic feel and sense of dread is very effective. Of course this is mostly notorious for being a video nasty and how that ever came about will always remain mystery. The body count here is low and the killings not too gory but the tension builds nicely throughout and the twist ending is good. It's not among the best 80's slashers but "Unhinged" is still a must own for all 80's slasher fans.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2008
I would recommend any fan of 1980's horror to buy this now. Okay so the acting is not wonderful nut what do you expect from a horror movie, actually Janet Penner who plays Marion is quite good and Virginia Settle who plays her demented mother is a laugh, anyway no matter about the acting the atmosphere is really creepy in this movie for that alone I rate it 110 out of 10. There are a few boring bits but this film's strenghth is mystery and the creepy atmosphere. Buy it and enjoy!
0Comment8 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2015
3 young woman go on a road trip but there car comes off the road and they wake up in the house of a strange mother & daughter unaware their lives may be in danger.

A very strange horror choice from the early 80's,unlike many from the time this is by no means a body count movie. The movie does have a very eerie atmosphere throughout that helps to hold your interest, the killings are a rarity, but surprisingly violent and fairly bloody, and for a low budget looks very decent. However there are a few downsides, the acting is awful, our three young women who we are supposed to care about are so flat they may as well have been acting laying down, although the character Marion is by far the best and actually comes over very well. The film becomes so bogged down with dialogue is does become a bit boring and you may find your mind start to wonder as some of the chats seem to go on & on & on & on making the 77mins runtime seem like 177mins. The climax of the film is a real hoot though and something of a surprise.

Shockingly this was put onto the video nasties list (even more surprisingly in was on it for 2 years), a film that for many will be too talky and dare I say it dull, but others may enjoy the creepy atmosphere, brutal killings and the "sensational" end, make up your own mind. 2.5/5
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2011
For those of you that have recently watched the documentary "Video Nasties: The Definitive Guide DVD [2010" also available on amazon, you will probably be keen to actually see the films that made the notorious banned list. This is one of the movies that was previously banned during the 1980's and we can now watch it, to see what all the fuss was about.

In many ways, when compared to the modern horror movies like Saw and Hostel, Unhinged seems very tame stuff indeed and will probably disappoint the gore-hounds.

However, despite there not being wall to wall gore, there are some very intense scenes of violence especially towards the films disturbing conclusion. The general dingy nature of the transfer, together with the melodramatic acting puts one in mind of the dysfunctional Andy Milligan movies, or a John Water's movie played straight.

Overall, despite this being a rather talky movie, there are sufficient visceral thills and enjoyably dodgy acting to make it a worthwhile time killer.

I would recommend that fans of banned movies stay watching until the end credits have rolled, as you will get a nice mark of authenticity from the era and a clue as to where this DVD transfer was sourced.
11 comment4 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2015
This is an underrated little gem.
Very atmospheric and creepy with a killer finale.
The acting seems to have been slated but I thought it was passable.
If you're a fan of 70s and 80s horror like myself you will in all probability like this.
I'm glad I invested the time.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2005
This is an excellent classic movie from the 80's as a massive horror buff i had to purchase this as it was previously banned, if you like psychologial and graphic violence this is for you, the music is creepy aswell it's got a really good ending i won't go into detail but it will shock you even i wasn't expecting it, i recommend it to all horror fans.
0Comment5 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2014
A very enjoyable Horror/Thriller, quite tame though now to what's on the market these days, but well worth watching.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2013
This is a very cheap exploitation item where four girls on a trip to a concert - yawn - have a car accident and find themselves stranded in the home of an eccentric and weird family.

A man-hating matriarch and her repressed daughter have endless tea parties and chat endlessly about their chequered past history of family feuds and, slowly the girls get bumped off one by one in the night.

There are hints of something nasty in the woodshed,and after an hour of some of the worst acting I've ever seen, we eventually get a payoff of a few gory murders, and a surprise reveal that the daughter is not what she seemed after all.

Tedious for about 70 minutes, with a slightly more interesting climax, this will only appeal to people wanting to tick off the checklist of viewed nasties, and they will wonder what all the fuss was about.
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2015
Always wanted to see it. wasn't as good as the hype but at least i saw it
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.