Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the three?
Three Albums now by Faithless and all are superb.
Choosing a favourite is hard, it is'nt this one, but the obe before although dont get me wrong, this Album was long awaited and delivered the goods.
Tracks like 'crazy english Summer', 'Evergreen' and 'One step too far' are personal favourites. Most of the Tracks are wriiten and performed well, a couple a little...
Published on 6 May 2002

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Retrospective
Let's be clear at least for one time : with faithless everything is already known and decided before you put the record on : on one side you have the techno (almost commercial things) that are chart topping and get heavy player on Mtv; on the other side you have the soft songs massive attack (but most probably groove armada) would be proud of. It doesn't matter which are...
Published on 30 Sep 2005 by Riccardo


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the three?, 6 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Outrospective (Audio CD)
Three Albums now by Faithless and all are superb.
Choosing a favourite is hard, it is'nt this one, but the obe before although dont get me wrong, this Album was long awaited and delivered the goods.
Tracks like 'crazy english Summer', 'Evergreen' and 'One step too far' are personal favourites. Most of the Tracks are wriiten and performed well, a couple a little bit dissappointing but the vocals are excellent and moving.
An inspirational Album with quality tracks, not as good as Sunday 8pm but well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rollo strikes again. Pure Bliss!, 4 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Outrospective (Audio CD)
This album in many ways learns much from Rollo's superbly haunting album 'When we were young' (which he released last year as 'Dusted').
However, with Sister Bliss' wonderful sense of dance music injected into the mix, Outrospective brings the painfully Euphoric textures of Dusted to the fore in brilliant style.
Tracks such as 'Not Enuff Love', 'Crazy English Summer', 'One step too far' and particularily 'Evergreen' lift this album onto an altogether higher plane, with Maxi Jazz complementing the proceedings superbly with his mellow vocals/rap (which tended to be a little cheesy in Sunday 8pm).
All in all - another pretty much flawless faithless album. BUY! NOW!
I SAID NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Consistently Exciting, 21 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Outrospective (Audio CD)
Having heard the masterful 'Reverence' and parts of 'Sunday 8pm', 'Outrospective' seemed a logical progression into the future of Faithless. like their other albums, there are certainly some tracks that should have remained in the studio, but unlike the previous two, i can only pick out one or two of these. in the main, this album is occupied by thumping tunes and chilled melodies and in short, it's varied, constantly challenging, and well worthy of the five stars i award it. watch out for 'Tarantula', 'We Come 1' and 'Liontamer'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They've done it again, 29 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Outrospective (Audio CD)
Faithless are back and this time it's as good as the others. After buying the first album I was always impressed with the sound of Faithless, the lyrics and the constant change of mood that the music pulls you through. The second album had the same approach but I felt with a more angry mood about it.
The third album...well what can I say....mellowed, chilled out and angelic voices calm you down only to bring you back to the top as Maxi raps out his cold words in his strange ghostly voice with tunes you just cannot ignore.
With the strong tunes of We Come One which you know you'll be hearing in the clubs mixed into it's various guises and the smooth, chilled out music of Crazy English Summer and Evergreen there's a bit of everything in this album to please just about everyone.
This album in my eyes has been the hardest to listen to due to expecting more "anthem" like tunes but I have to say the direction that Faithless have taken with this album makes a worthwhile purchase. Faithless are back and once again they've done with style
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Quality, 18 Jun 2001
This review is from: Outrospective (Audio CD)
Well, after Reverence, Sunday 8PM was in all honesty a bit of a let-down. But after hearing their new work 'Outrospective' i was absolutely enthralled by the wide range of genius on offer! I love this even more than their first, because it manages to encorporate musical genius from many different slants. Maxi Jazz's powerful yet reserved lyrics in 'We Come One' is coupled with other tunes involving Dido and the other members. It is not often that i rave so much about an album but in all honesty this is undoubtedly the best album of the year so far and has not only achieved parity with Faithless's early work, but it has surpassed it! Pure Quality!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer quailty! Back to their Best!, 25 Jan 2002
By 
This review is from: Outrospective (Audio CD)
This is Brilliant return to form by a entranzing band. From the start this Album draws you in, the Album can quite easily be a chill out album, with the soft vocals from people like the always brilliant Dido, or it can be crancked up and blast you away, with Sister Bliss as awsome as ever. I say buy it now, it'll make an excellent addition to anyones CD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Retrospective, 30 Sep 2005
By 
Riccardo "gortex8" (italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Outrospective (Audio CD)
Let's be clear at least for one time : with faithless everything is already known and decided before you put the record on : on one side you have the techno (almost commercial things) that are chart topping and get heavy player on Mtv; on the other side you have the soft songs massive attack (but most probably groove armada) would be proud of. It doesn't matter which are the titles behind those things: from the debut "Reverence" to this Third album you don't see any improvement, yet you get the feeling that this group has found the formula for the big success.Anyway Faithless have created their own style in the same sense as the Chemical Brothers or the Prodigy, so it's not a shame on repeiting themeselves. They fill every song with a "London touch" (sorry Daft Punk)and most of All there's Maxi Jazz, some sort of good Tricky before he descends in a narcotic world that makes the difference in songs like Muhammed Alì, probably the highlight of Outrospective imo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Chillout Brilliance, 7 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Outrospective (Audio CD)
This is the kind of chillout music which was meant for everyone to hear, just in that one moment you're feeling down. Track four - Crazy English Summer is the best chillout track EVER made. There comes a day perhaps when I feel playing it, and not resisting to put the Cd-Player on loop. The only problem is the length. But if people take the time to listen to the track, with your speakers up and ur subwoofer on, you'll be able to hear a brilliance which is almost hidden in the depths of this album. Something almost similar to the groundbreaking atmospherics from Agaetis Byjurn of Sigur Ros (do a search for them on amazon and read the reviews). Just this one track, even it's 2:44 length I feel is worthy of the money I have spent on this album. Faithless should release it as an extended single, which could just play for hours and hours as atmospheric background music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My first Faithless album - yes, i'm a newbie, 27 Aug 2002
By 
Tozznok (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Outrospective (Audio CD)
This was the first Faithless album i shelled out for, in summer 2001. I wasn't ecstatic about it at first - i thought some of the lyrics were a bit pretentious after having only heard Insomnia before - but after completing my Faithless collection with Reverence and Sunday 8pm this album seemed to fit in to place and all of the vocal tracks have grown on me, although We Come One and Tarantula cannot lay a finger on Salva Mea, Insomnia or God is a DJ for quality. They are still good however - this is definitely one of the best albums of 2001.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A slow-burner..., 24 Jun 2001
By 
Mr I A Collinson (East Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Outrospective (Audio CD)
Ah, it's that difficult 'third album' syndrome again. Faithless have given it a great shot however, the result is their typical emotional range - from the driving energy of 'We Come One' to the tenderness of 'Evergreen'. Unfortunatly a few more of the tracks grate more than usual number ('Machines R Us' for instance), but the duds are still outweighed by the class. Zoe Johnston is a real vocal talent and I hope she continues to colaborate with the band in the future. Dido seemed underused this time round, which was a shame, considering her history with the band.
Not all it could have been, but a real grower all the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Outrospective (Reperspective the Remixes)
Outrospective (Reperspective the Remixes) by Faithless (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews