Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best British rock album in ages
This is without doubt the best album i have heard in a long time. Inme are exceptionally talented and their music is both aggressive and progressive at different times, and sometimes at the same time, combining both frail chilling acoustic moments (The supreme Her Mask), and they also certainly know how to rock (The brilliant "Mosaic"), Dave Mcpherson is a sublime...
Published on 21 Nov 2003 by Amazon Customer

versus
5 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Overblown Eden
Doing the sort of Brit grunge that Compulsion did in 94 but without the brains InMe are the latest darlings of the metal press and of the glittery goth girl masses. To me there's little attraction in the band's fresh faced features so I stuck with the record itself. Utilising the old lull 'em, slaughter 'em trick that was Nirvana's patent there's very little difference...
Published on 30 Jan 2003 by Paul Taggart


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best British rock album in ages, 21 Nov 2003
This review is from: Overgrown Eden (Audio CD)
This is without doubt the best album i have heard in a long time. Inme are exceptionally talented and their music is both aggressive and progressive at different times, and sometimes at the same time, combining both frail chilling acoustic moments (The supreme Her Mask), and they also certainly know how to rock (The brilliant "Mosaic"), Dave Mcpherson is a sublime guitarist and vocalist. People either love or hate his voice. i Personally love it and the passion and rage he gives off with his singing/screaming are both beutiful and touching at the same time. As with the rest of the music his voice goes from beutiful melody to high pitch singing to low and rough as gravel growls and screams. Joe Morgan lays down fine bass tracks on the album, his base is a lot like dave's guitar in that it utilises the effects pedals that the band are so brilliant at using the record and provides ample backing vocals as well throughout. The only thing that suffers on this album is Simon Taylor's drums. Not that he is a bad drummer because the other band members leave him very difficult songs to figure out a drum pattern to, he manages briliantly and his playing is faultless. However i fell that in the production he got the rough end of the stick. The one complaint i have with the record is that sometimes the drums are left sounding a bit flat, especialy on the more heavy of the tracks, such as Natural and Crushed Like Fruit, the symbols in particualr just seem to fade into nothing. Apart from that minor hitch though, great album, great band, they put on a quality live show as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well above average, 13 Sep 2005
By 
WNxJedi (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Overgrown Eden (Audio CD)
I bought this album (and white butterfly) last week after hearing a few inMe songs on Kerrang, Crushed like fruit and Faster the chase. After listening to the cd I have to say it is totally amazing. The music its self is dramatic and mesmerizing, the pounding guitar riffs and thumping bass rip through your head and the lyrics are full of deep feeling and meaning.
Purchase both the inMe albums. I can guarantee you will not be disappointed.
:For best results play with a good 5:1 system :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars www.stateofemergency.net, 13 Feb 2004
This review is from: Overgrown Eden (Audio CD)
It would be fair to say that ‘InMe’ took the UK by sheer surprise when it came to their landslide rise to fame after the incredible success of their first single ‘Underdose’, this catchy Alt. Rock song filled with elements of nu-metal and grunge fill the music TV channels and airwaves for months, soon to be joined by equally successful follow up single ‘Firefly’. Two more singles ‘Crushed Like Fruit’ & ‘Neptune’ would follow, not doing quite as well as their predecessor yet still keeping the dream alive for this teenage 3 piece from Essex.
This album’s strongest points are; of course the sheer quality of the writing, that far exceeds any expectations for a band this young and the wide ranging accessibility for listeners from all different genre fan groups and walks of life.
In a time where pain and angst are at an all time high, with bands like ‘Staind’ marketing it to death as you would a new bathroom cleaner. Taking this into account, ‘InMe’ could have died on their feet but there is something special about this album, a genuine feeling of hurt and a resounding indication that this is a band of wise young men. ‘I went to the aisle to marry your soul, to miss you that much’ & ‘Rust in my eyes from my corroded halo’ from ‘Firefly’ suggest a real dark experience, this is moving and torturous and at the same time insanely catchy.
I would say that the good tracks on this album are very good and the not so good tracks are very wearing and mediocore, yet still all in all; a creative masterpiece for such a young band. Songs such as ‘Underdose’ & ‘Newptune’ are full of pain and hope swimming amongst creative and advanced, haunting guitar and pounding rhythms. Whilst somgs like ‘Energy’ offer nothing more than anonymity amongst a selection of instantly classic tracks. The line in ‘Neptune’; ‘This is the way forward, you are the way backward’ shows a delightful glimmer of hope, rather than just a wearing series of doomed anthems.
‘Overgrown Eden’ is a wise and well written affair that is sure to aid you with those homicidal feelings of lost love and hurt. ‘InMe’ are far more than the sum of their years, all they need to do now is to create a follow up without the slumps that are just packed with the exceptionally memorable and creative masterpieces that much of ‘Overgrown Eden’ was.
Standout Tracks: ‘Underdose’, ‘Firefly’ & ‘Neptune’
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best recent Brit rock band!, 11 Mar 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Overgrown Eden (Audio CD)
I'm only a teenager and maybe don't have a wide range of music,but i love this album!Alot of people don't tend to agree that this is one of the best alternative British bands to come out in along time.We tend to be contented with the over whelming American bands that are taking over our airwaves.It's nice to see actual Brits on the music scene.
My personal favourite songs on the album are "Natural","Wounds","Trenches","Lava Twilight" and "Energy".David McPherson's melodolic wails and "growling" mixed with his excellent guitar riffs,Simon Taylor's amazing drums,and Joe Morgans fantastic bass,make this one of THE must hear albums of the year!It's no wonder that they are such an up and coming band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well what can I say?, 12 Sep 2006
By 
Nj Freemantle "DieselTulip" (Bewdley UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Overgrown Eden (Audio CD)
I bought this album on the day of release in Feb 2003, I couldn't be bothered with a review before but I think it is about time. It still stands above White Butterfly in terms of musicianship, White Butterly is great but songs perhaps sound a little too layered? okay possibly only to me, but Overgrown Eden is much heavier and more agressive than White Butterfly.

There are really only 4 slightly mellow tracks but to me standout tracks are Underdose, Crushed Like Fruit, Natural, Neptune, IceWarm and Mosaic. Actually they're all great, I don't think InMe can be labelled for their music as they take in different styles. This is definately not an emo album, it can appeal to fans of rock and metal, moreso than White Butterfly which is more rock.

I'll put it simply, if you like good music you will either have already purchased this or will purchase it now. If not, stick to your S club or whatever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking..., 19 May 2003
This review is from: Overgrown Eden (Audio CD)
I first heard InMe on the music channel "Kerrang" and instantly fell in love with their music, unlike most new bands at the moment they are not over the top happy "punk" or sickly death metal. Their debut album begins with their first single Underdose, a strong start. Moving later into a couple of more mellow tracks including their second single Firefly. The album combines heavy "grunge" and "prog rock" elements with a good knowlage of music and thoughtful lyrics. Dave McPhearson mixes deep throated growls with a strong mid range and haunting falsetto along with his years playing guitar making everything sound just right, Joe Morgan who mixes in his powerful bass lines with unbridled enthusiasm and a powerful voice as the backing and finally Simon Taylor who (even though he is a meer 19 years old) is definatly a drummer with extraordinary talent. Some of the weaker songs on the album can tend to sound a little melodramatic but when followed by the hauntingly beautiful and unusually powerful Her Mask (p.a) and the explosive final track Mosaic. I personally could not wish for more from an album, it has many flavours and I cannot wait to hear more from the band in future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an awesome debut from an amazing band, 17 Jun 2005
This review is from: Overgrown Eden (Audio CD)
InMe are one the best bands to have come from Britain in the last few years. In a music scene full of the same talentless, 'emo', 'punk' and 'metal' groups, InMe have managed to break through and impliment some actual talent and emotion into their music. Overgrown Eden is their first, and to date only album, but i am eagerly awaiting the release of white butterfly. For now, i am going back through their classic debut and rediscovering why i love InMe so much. My favourite tracks off the album have to be 'lava twilight' and 'neptune', but i keep finding more songs that manage to capture me just as much as they did when i first listened to them. Dave's vocal abilities are apparent on every track, the guitars are always full of passion and present a style all of their own, whilst young drummer Simon shows he could be the next Dave Grohl. Not sure whether to buy overgrown eden? Go on...it'll definetely stay in your CD player for a long time to come. Listen and enjoy one band set to change music and the direction of the music scene today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Amazing Album!, 10 Feb 2003
This review is from: Overgrown Eden (Audio CD)
When I first saw InMe on TV in the summer performing their second single 'Firefly' I admit that at first I wasn't completely convinced of their brilliance!
I read about them on their website and downloaded their songs, and gradually realised what a great new band they are!
I couldn't wait for the release of the album and I was not left disappointed!
The album is brilliant - with deep tunes that evidently mean something to the band at the same time as being 'catchy' and enjoyable to listen to.
Unlike some bands InMe don't just create songs that only connect with them, their songs can connect with anyone. They are well put together musically and each song sounds different – which is always good!
My favourite songs on the album have to be ‘Her Mask’, ‘Trenches’, ‘Neptune’ and ‘Mosaic’. These four songs each sound different, and I never tire of listening to them!
‘Her Mask’ has a brilliant beginning, and it grows to create a brilliant climax and ending.
I like ‘Trenches’ purely because it has the longest acoustic section at the beginning, and I feel that more songs like this could be next for InMe.
‘Neptune’ has a brilliant beginning with a chance to create that pounding drumbeat that is needed in this deep song. I love the chorus to this song, as it is something everyone can relate too.
The final song of the album ‘Mosaic’ is perhaps the best. Joe Morgan’s bass and Dave McPherson’s guitar join with Simon Taylor’s drums to create the best intro on the album – with the bass continuing clearly throughout the verse. This song is flawless in my opinion and gives a great end to a magnificent album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the greatest british album ever, 27 Feb 2003
This review is from: Overgrown Eden (Audio CD)
without doubt the greatest album i have bought in a long time! The long awaited arival of the album after first hearing underdose way back in the summer of 2002 to the ariival of this amazin debut album in january 2003. Although i saw these live in sheffield b4 i bought the album i wud certainly say this album is a must 4 any1 that likes the grunge style of nirvana to the more punk genre of alkeline trio and fenix tx. Classic songs on the album are Mosaic and Crushed like fruit but every song has a unique sound and style which makes this album arguably the best ever!! Also Dave McPhearsons voice is totally unique in its own right. Class the only word 2 describe it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Genius, you must buy this!, 19 Mar 2003
This review is from: Overgrown Eden (Audio CD)
Although I had seen Inme before i got this album, i didn't really rate them that highly, but my, has that changed! This album is excellent from start to finish. I can honestly say that there is not a bad song on it, and the variety is great. From the great riffs of Crushed like Fruit and Underdose to the slow melodies of Trenches and Her Mask, this album is genius. My favourite tracks are Trenches and the rocking Mosaic, a great way to end the album. This is one of the best albums i own and i urge anyone into this type of music to go out and buy it now!
Overgrown Eden is brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Overgrown Eden
Overgrown Eden by Inme (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews