Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars28
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£8.66+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 May 2008
Robert de Niro was very good in this film playing a serious-minded diligent policeman who gets teamed up for a reality tv show with Eddie Murphy who plays another cop who is loud and unsubtle, but the contrast between the two of them - which is supposed to be a a main feature of the story - didn't work that well and their coupling and the plot as a whole seemed contrived and unlikely even in the context of a comedy.There was lots of action in Showtime and some funny moments but overall it was a very average movie.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2011
i normally dont like movies in with Robart in them he bores me when he speaks and makes the movie boring but thats my opion on him anyway but i got this one because Eddie is in it and it was cheap and im glad i did cause this movie is the whole package its funny fullwith action a great mans night in movie i dont wanna give the story line away but this movie is a real bargin and i will keep watching this movie and its staying in my dvd collection so ya you should go and try this movie out
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2002
showtime is one of the best films out just now, i read the critics reviews and thought oh i dont fancy that much but i went to see it and it was great! if it isn't gladiator or pulp fiction its not worth a look in, this is a great buddy cop movie, de niro is actually really funny in it, if you like rush hour you will love this. tom dey is also a good director he made shanghai noon, so if you want to see a great buddy cop film here is the one to watch
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2011
I recommend this movie to all Eddie Murphy fans who is at his best here since his 1980s heyday(overacting brilliantly).DeNiro does his straightman bit which he believes passes for comedy(if you seen Meet the Parents or any DeNiro comedy you know what I mean. William Shatner and Rene Russo add additional class to the already overcrowed A-List leads. Funny in places and an average plot make this watchable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2004
Personaly i really enjoyed this film, although i do know a few people who dont feel the same.
The films opening really gives you a feel on how the rest is going to be, with each actor getting a suitable scene that best suits their acting styles.
Rober Deniro opens it with the "lowdown" on cop life, he gives the most serious, realistic and harsh version on how the average dectective lives and does their job. "..if you break the law, i will do all in my power to hunt you down and put you behind bars, that is a promise." Then the camera pans out and hes talking to an elementary school class! Which is the first of many humerous moments. He finishes it up by sayin that being a cop is not exciting and is not what you see on TV. The it immediatly skips to eddie murphy giving an excellent over the top performance whilst talkin gto his captain. Things like jumping off roofs shooting 2o guys, then you discover that he was just at an ordition for a television reality show. Where the humour really kicks in is 2 seconds later when you see that he is actually a real cop, which is quite sad!
The two actors hate each other at first, but over time the usual happens and they learn to like and learn from each other, becoming a team.
This film is worthit for the unique idea, the action and humour, and the great cast, including William Shatner from the original startrek who plays himself! If you happen to run into this film then hear it out, you wont b dissapointed.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2014
I like Eddie Murphy and Robert De Niro and their not two actors you expect to see in the same movie ...But actully its not a bad watch if you have nothing better todo but I wouldn't rush out specially to get it or pay any more than a couple of pounds for it,
But In summary not a bad watch on a boring day.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2014
Eddie Murphy is undoubtedly really had mastered his craft in comdedic acting in the hay day of the 80's. This is a film we can all relate to. I"ll Probaby going to watch it later.

de niro and murhpy what a classic combination.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2014
Remember renting this out years ago thought id give it a whirl. Lot funnier then I thought. Chemistry worked well between murphy and de niro. ... can't beat a cop buddy movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2013
A Great film with amazing acting... A Very good film to watch and enjoy.... A film you can watch again, even if you have seen it..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2014
De Niro in a comedy is worth the money alone. He struggles, but the result is very funny - not sure if it was intentinal though!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.