Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jurassic Fantastic, 3 Mar 2003
This review is from: Power In Numbers (Audio CD)
As a big J5 fan, I find this their best album to date. With their trademark "retro" beats, they create fantastic music through breathtaking lyrical ability and feel-good beats and tunes. Their highly original sound is fantastic and every song is fresh.
There is something in the album for everybody, and the honesty in the lyrics, with the harsh words of "one of them" brings you closer and closer to J5.
I am having dificulty describing the music, but it is suitable and welcome for every ocassion.
I don't go anywherre without this album and I would recommend it to anybody.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new development for J5, but basics remain: quality hip-hop, 18 Nov 2003
By 
Alex Barker (Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Power In Numbers (Audio CD)
After a sizeable break since their last output, Quality Control, this was supposed to be the album in which the group changed, deviated from their distinctive style, alienating a portion of their original fan-base.
Sure the five-man collective have changed, substituting basic yet excellent beats (particularly evident in the Jurassic 5 LP) for a more complex formula that retains the nostalgic feel that identifies the group. The lyrics are still there; from Chali 2na and his bass-filled rhymes to Zaakir and his thoughtful, humourous flows.
The tracks themselves are quite different from each other; they consist of some upbeat tracks (High Fidelity, What's Golden), and beautiful compositions that relax your whole body (Hey). As stand-out tracks, I would pick Freedom, If you only Knew (piano and flute combo? brilliant!), A Day At The Races (guests: Big Daddy Kane and Percy P), What's Golden (Beat!), High Fidelity and Hey.
Give this album time (some tracks do take a few listens) and allow it to find a special place in your CD stack. The production (alternating between Cut Chemist and Nu-Mark, with a few joints by JuJu of the Beatnuts) is on the whole very tight, the album is an lesson in beat-making.
So in summary, an evolved J5 produce another spectacular album combining great lyrics with high-quality beats, resulting in yet another must-buy. I showed this to my friend as an introduction to real hip-hop, his verdict: 'It's great, they've got their own style going'. He has a point, the album is an amalgamy of styles set to a hip-hop template. So it goes without saying that this album is recommended to anyone into good, real hip-hop or to any admirer of remarkable composition skills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars J5 have kept their quality, 16 Mar 2003
By 
This review is from: Power In Numbers (Audio CD)
This album is another perfect combination of great, meaningful (and innoffensive)lyrics and good background beats as well as some excellent cutting and scratching by cut chemist and nu-marc. I would highly recommend this to any hip-hop fan or just a fan of quality music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars J5 gettin it right again!, 29 Oct 2002
By 
s lavrie (glasgow, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Power In Numbers (Audio CD)
Back to there best after there second album "Quality Control" which itself is a pretty good album. They will never out do the quality of there first LP, but with "Power in Numbers" there showing that they have the best ryhmes and beats out there. There tune with Nelly Furtado is one of the best songs on the album, showing for the first time that working with other artists expands there sound. Quality album that just about anyone will love, even if they don't like hip hop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic and amazing, 4 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Power In Numbers (Audio CD)
These people are just amazing, I hope they re-unite and come to Brixton so I can see them, I implore anyone to listen to this album, personally I think this is the best one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm not a hip-hop fan, and this is a revelation, 25 May 2011
By 
D. Stewart "Dave Stewart" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I've really got very little hip-hop in my collection; mainly I'm electro and electronic beats. I have a tiny bit of hip-hop from back in the day, but no modern stuff, and I probably lump the genre in with rap which is totally unfair (and wrong).

Anyway, this album is chock-full of amazing beats, riffs, rhythms, lyrics, and little musical journeys and experiments. I don't think I've said "Wow!" so many times when listening to a single album before.

What I think is so amazing about this album is that it could really be played on so many different occasions; every song is thoughtful and beautifully crafted, and has a great flow that keeps you nodding along, and just seems to enhance your own mood and thoughts. Dinner, picnic, chatting, chilling, bedtime, commuting - I would put this on.

Top, top stuff. Buy it :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!, 18 Mar 2005
This review is from: Power In Numbers (Audio CD)
This album is without doubt the best work Jurassic 5 have ever done. Sure, their debut LP/EP whichever one people own are great, but this album is a great full-length album with only a couple of songs I don't like. The beats are great, mellow, funky and very catchy in different places and are quite honestly irresistable. The lyrics are sharp and are similar in subject matter to typical J5 material like criticising commercial rappers who are in it for the money and J5 quite literally take it back to the concrete streets with this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars real hip hop/rap music, 6 Jan 2005
This review is from: Power In Numbers (Audio CD)
This is hip hop and rapping the way it should be made, non of the this over produced, over the top swearing, and pointless gangster rubbish you hear on the radio.
Its good old funky beats, meaningful rapping without hardly any swearing good example: Whats Golden 100% no swearing, and its non-machno/tough, listen to this album and your head will be nodding for this right reasons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars By Any Means Necessary, 9 Jan 2003
By 
Simon Paul Hughes (Vancouver, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Power In Numbers (Audio CD)
Have you heard 'Quality Control' by Jurassic 5? Well, if you haven't, you should have. One of the greatest Hip Hop Lps of the last 5 years just passed you by. Anyway, if you have heard it, you know that feeling where you just think 'this album can't get any better..' and it just keeps on, getting better? 'Power in Numbers' is just the same, except it has an added quality. Time spent on various remix projects by NuMark and Cut Chemist, the DJs/producers and work on side projects, such as Cha-Li-2na's Ozomatli involvement, have given the crew new depth. Where Quality Control, already their second album, showed promise that great things were to come from this collective of four MCs and two DJs, I was not ready for, for..................this! And, they don't hold back. I got goose bumps when 'Freedom', the very first track after the Intro, dropped. And like their previous opus, this just keeps on getting better. The raw beats and slick rhymes of 'Break' have a jaw-droppingly effective. Whilst maintaining conciousness, this LA based collective have done it again and brought us a truely funky hip hop Lp whist still a delivering a strong message.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, conscious, hip hop., 6 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Power In Numbers (Audio CD)
This is a great album, Jurassic 5 really know how to produce intelligent hip hop, which can hold it's own musically with any other rap outfit out there. Although I don't think all the tracks are great, the majority of them are. It's a great party record, good to play at a barbeque or house party or something like that. If anybody wants to invite me to either of those, just let me know. I'm a hoot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa7122c4)

This product

Power In Numbers
Power In Numbers by Jurassic 5 (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews