Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT!!
If you were there in October 2000 you will surely agree that this was one of the best Numan shows in recent history (especially if, like me, you thought it was a bit pants in Hackney last year). In terms of choice of music and atmosphere, Brixton was the best single gig I can remember for a long time. Of course it was the launch of the Pure album too and this made the...
Published on 5 Feb. 2003 by Marc Guillot

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars 'More For those That Were There'
Now, I expect to get a fair bit of flack for this review. So, can I first say that I AM a Gary Numan fan but not a fanatical one.

I don't think any artist has released more live albums that Gary Numan. Gary has arguably therefore done more to 'give something back to the fans' than most. For all but the keenest Numanoid's however, after a while, unless you...
Published on 19 May 2009 by Antony May


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT!!, 5 Feb. 2003
By 
Marc Guillot (Salisbury, Wiltshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Scarred - Live At The Brixton Academy (Audio CD)
If you were there in October 2000 you will surely agree that this was one of the best Numan shows in recent history (especially if, like me, you thought it was a bit pants in Hackney last year). In terms of choice of music and atmosphere, Brixton was the best single gig I can remember for a long time. Of course it was the launch of the Pure album too and this made the night all the more memorable. This album catches the whole mood of the evening, all the tracks played that night were fantastic. You won't be disappointed if you buy this-its great value considering its a double CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Return, 22 Sept. 2011
Standing in the audience that night it didnt take long to realise that something very special was unfolding. The choice of material played was a perfect blend of old an new and the excitement in the audience was electric. There are two stand out gigs for me in Numans long and varied career, The first being the Wembley 81 show which i was lucky enough to attend and this show at Brixton being the second.
This gig for me felt like where it all fell back into place and Numans place in music was established again, and where the critics were proved wrong. The sheer power that came roaring out of the sound system is captured to great effect here although the audience are mixed well back because there was most certainly a lot more noise from the crowd. The music covers Numan from all aspects of his career and includes an incredible version of the track Replicas with its overwhelming drum beat and synth drone, the building shook when the keyboards kicked in and for me was the highlight of the night. A great recording of man finally nailing the old ghosts of derision and scorn to the wall and proving that he is amongst the true innovaters of electronic music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars INDUSTRIAL NIGHT !!!!, 5 Sept. 2006
By 
JUAN MARTIN GABASTOU (Weston Hills, FL United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
The concert revolves heavily around Gazza's last (at the time) 2 albums, Pure and Exile.The sound ranges from very good to excellent despite some tonal uneveness from one song to the other, with earth-shattering bottom end and slightly muffled upper treble easily compensated for with any decent equalizer. The first 8 tracks (out of 22 - 100'running time)are performed unispiredly and just in the same manner as on their respective studio records. I expect different versions when I buy a live record or attend a concert. From the ending of Cars on,on which drummer Rich Beasley unleashes a frenzy of trebley percussion, the concert really turns worth the while !; superb versions of Dead Heaven, A Prayer For The Unborn and THE most incredible I Can Breathe ever played by the band take place.The 2d disc ends with a variation of the song Dance, which I used to hate on the studio record but this version is lightyears better. I thought this 2cd would come sonically too close to the dvds I already owned, but ended up being a worthy addition to my Numan collection, as almost everything Numan is !!! Good bang for the buck (or value for the money, as brits say )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars 'More For those That Were There', 19 May 2009
By 
Antony May (East Sussex, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Now, I expect to get a fair bit of flack for this review. So, can I first say that I AM a Gary Numan fan but not a fanatical one.

I don't think any artist has released more live albums that Gary Numan. Gary has arguably therefore done more to 'give something back to the fans' than most. For all but the keenest Numanoid's however, after a while, unless you personally attended the recorded gigs, this tactic becomes less and less essential as far as 'adding another live set to the collection' goes. Sure, the great man is constantly developing and evolving his records so one version of 'Are Friends Electric' or 'Cars' isn't necessarily going to sound identical to another but let's face it most of us will always like the ORIGINAL version the best. After all, it's why we love him, isn't it?

And so, it is from such a respective, I review 'Scarred'.

For me, the major problem with this double cd set is the fact that it doesn't sound like a live album at all. The sound is so clear, the music so perfect and the vocals so audible that it sounds rather 'produced' and false.
Now, I am not saying that this is not a true reflection of Gary and his band's talent (after all they should be good by now!) only that, as a live record, it lacks atmosphere and soul. The only times you hear the crowd at all are in between songs and even then the applause is hardly euphoric. Maybe this is because as Gary has got older so have his fans and so just maybe we are less vocal than before I don't know - I wasn't there.
For Gary's part he says nothing at all in between songs until a few 'goodnights' towards the end of the songs on the second cd. This also creates a certain feeling of 'detachment' to seep through the speakers at the listener' and leaves you feeling that, to Gary, it was all just 'another day at the office'.

So then, a professional, well played and performed set? Definitely. A great selection of Numan classics and new material in a logical and effective order? Certainly. An atmospheric, exciting and rousing live album? No.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rich and dark, 21 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is not one concert but several sewn together. The music is first class with Numan full of intensity and clearly anxious to present his new ideas as a development of his old ones.

The quality of the recording is a little disappointing. This is music that ought to be played loud and you will need a good player to cut through the recording quality and give it the power it deserves.

The high points for me are "metal" and "prayer for the unborn" . There are no weak tracks at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars numan at his best, 29 Jan. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Scarred - Live At The Brixton Academy (Audio CD)
Its been a while since the last live album by Numan and its safe to say he is back to his best.The sound quality of the album is impressive with Numan mixing synthesiser and guitar extremely well.The outstanding tracks are Pure,Little invitro,This wreckage and a rarely played live version of Dance.For those who missed the gig its a stark reminder that Numan is here to stay.A must buy for Numan fans old and new.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2CD's of Gary Numan at his best LIVE, 29 Jan. 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scarred - Live At The Brixton Academy (Audio CD)
This CD is great taken from one of his gigs back in 2000, it is packed with all the stuff from his last studio LP "Pure" and quite a few from his earlier stuff "Observer" being one. Its dark and great listening material for the car. This CD is certainly better than anything Mr Manson has done live. A must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FAULTLESS a classic in every sense!, 2 Feb. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Scarred - Live At The Brixton Academy (Audio CD)
First 5 star rating I have ever given but this deserves it. A stunning collection of live work, brilliantly performed by Numan. Classic tracks are given the Indutrial shading of post-Exile production and all work brilliantly. This is wonderful material. Proof final, if any is needed, of just how stong Numan's work had become. Scarred offers a true wall of sound experience. This is ground-zero! Be prepaered to have your speakers tremble at some of the massive bass rumblings and slamming guitars. Numan truly rules the kingdom of Industrial-Gothic. Nobody comes close to his edge of soaring lyrics, multi-layered sound and angst delivery. The new studio album is eaglerly anticipated. I can see whay the radio doesn't play him, he's just too good, too strong and too powerful. The charts weren't meant for this. It is simply too good. Buy it, enjoy and marvel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 28 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scarred - Live At The Brixton Academy (Audio CD)
A great concert from Mr.Numan with some older classics also :~)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scarred - Live At The Brixton Academy (Audio CD)
Excellent album, great sound quality too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Scarred - Live At The Brixton Academy
Scarred - Live At The Brixton Academy by Gary Numan (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews