Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not your usual dj set
This is a great sampler album, made greater by not being the meat puppet of one record label (or media behemoth). As one of the reviewers below says, this is a hotchpotch of styles, and all the better for it. It spares us the effort many dj-mix albums require of listeners: trying to work out where one track ends and another begins.
Like all good samplers, it makes...
Published on 18 Nov. 2002 by Dobester

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Just Too Random...
I wanted to like this album but after several attempts it just doesnt hit the spots that so many of this series have for me. The tracks are of very different genres and do not mix well together making it a very awkward album to put on and enjoy. The tracks and beat along with the vocals become quite annoying how they just dont work as a mix compilation should.
Published on 4 April 2013 by Mr. Mark A. Bullers


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not your usual dj set, 18 Nov. 2002
By 
Dobester (Istanbul, Turkey) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Back To Mine: New Order (Audio CD)
This is a great sampler album, made greater by not being the meat puppet of one record label (or media behemoth). As one of the reviewers below says, this is a hotchpotch of styles, and all the better for it. It spares us the effort many dj-mix albums require of listeners: trying to work out where one track ends and another begins.
Like all good samplers, it makes you want to find out more about the artists' music. With artists as distinctive in style as Beefheart, the Primals and Missy E following each other, it's bound to broaden your record collection and shove you down previously uncharted musical routes. It is great. Buy it today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars something old, something new........, 6 Oct. 2002
This review is from: Back To Mine: New Order (Audio CD)
Having recently been resdiscovering New Orders's back catalogue this album gives a fascinating insight into some of the skeletons in their collective musical closets. Be prepared to take a few twists and turns through a collection which spans a good deal of the years that I've been listening to music. My six-year old son got a big kick out of Captain Beefheart, my nine-year old is humming to 'Venus in Furs' and my partner is singing 'I feel love'.
Something for all the family - recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Just Too Random..., 4 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Back To Mine: New Order (Audio CD)
I wanted to like this album but after several attempts it just doesnt hit the spots that so many of this series have for me. The tracks are of very different genres and do not mix well together making it a very awkward album to put on and enjoy. The tracks and beat along with the vocals become quite annoying how they just dont work as a mix compilation should.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars back to mine: new order, 16 May 2011
By 
Mr. R. Tomlinson "Tommo23" (Nottingham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Back To Mine: New Order (Audio CD)
Being a huge New Order fan I was intrigued to hear what sort of inspiration they took. This album clearly defines an eclectic mix of base rhythms, clever lyrics and the unexpected. This album is currently in my car and having listened to it several times you find that the forward switch tends to be used to locate favourites. However, relaxing at home the entire album is played and is enjoyed. 8 out of 10. You'll be reaching for your New Order albums afterwards. Enjoy and good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A real hotchpotch, 20 Oct. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Back To Mine: New Order (Audio CD)
This is a real mixture and it doesn't really work. There are some great standout tracks like Captain Beefheart's 'Big Eyed Beans From Venus', Doves' 'M62 Song' and the great remix of Donna Summer's 'I Feel Love' but nothing holds the album together other than the fact that New Order likes all the tracks. Not down tempo enough to chill out to or cohesive enough to sit all the way through, this album is not the sum of its parts, unfortunately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best in the series, 19 Nov. 2003
This review is from: Back To Mine: New Order (Audio CD)
Its hard to write a review based on a 3 star rating. Normally you either hate an album or love it. Both of these opinions would spur you to write a review. The thing is with this album is that it isnt a classic but it isnt that bad either and having greatly appreciated the assistance of reviews when purchasing albums I like to review everything I have bought.
So to the CD - well it certainly is an eclectic mix and I must admit that I bought this CD on the strength of the tracks on the CD, the reviews on this page and also that I was getting pretty cheaply. Had it been full price I might not have bought it.
What I like about the past editions of Back to Mine is that they are good music for chilling to. This isnt. There are some good tracks on here but they do not gel togther very well and can make the listening experience a bit up and down - there is no pattern.
OK so these are the tunes New Order like to listen to at home, fair enough, there are some good ones on here. But I am afraid this mix is far too eclectic and not chilling enough for me.
Its not a bad album but I dont think I will play it that often in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Diverse range of brilliant music, 4 Oct. 2002
By 
A. Cook (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Back To Mine: New Order (Audio CD)
I will be honest I was not expecting that much from this album as most of the 'back to mine' series has fallen far short of it's potential. However this is fantastic. The album skips from blues, to dance to all out rock, yet it all fits together perfectly. The first 6 tracks on this album are exceptional, whilst the rest of the tracks are still great it doesnt have the same impact as the first half of the cd.
This album is well worth a purchase and I am sure most people will at least like a few of the tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Back To Mine: New Order [VINYL]
Back To Mine: New Order [VINYL] by New Order (Vinyl - 2002)
Click for more info
Currently unavailable
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews