Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars That's The Way
This compilation is probably the best of the many that Earth Wind And Fire have on the market.
All the hits are here and still sound really fresh. The trademarks are the tight funk sound with superb horn arrangements along with the truly distinctive vocals of Maurice White and Philip Bailey.
The great bonus of this compilation is a whole second CD consisting...
Published on 3 Dec 2004 by scoon2

versus
29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Michael Jackson is right
Michael Jackson is right: Sony kills music. To date Earth Wind & Fire have not been served well in the CD reissue market, but this supposed "best of" takes the biscuit. "That's The Way Of The World" has been cut down from 5:43 minutes to 3:10 minutes, "In The Stone" from 4:26 minutes to 3:33 minutes, and-so-on. I feel sorry for those who are introduced to EW&F by this...
Published on 16 May 2003 by Andreas Haberbeck


Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars That's The Way, 3 Dec 2004
By 
scoon2 "scoon2" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Essential (Audio CD)
This compilation is probably the best of the many that Earth Wind And Fire have on the market.
All the hits are here and still sound really fresh. The trademarks are the tight funk sound with superb horn arrangements along with the truly distinctive vocals of Maurice White and Philip Bailey.
The great bonus of this compilation is a whole second CD consisting entirely of remixes. Some of these remixes date back to the time the tracks were originally released. There are also present day remixes of such tracks as Boogie Wonderland which are excellent contemporary slants on the originals. I personally recommend playing the remix disc at high volume in the car and just groove as you go from A to B.
'Essential' is often a misused word with compilation albums. However its use is appropriate here and, if you are only ever going to buy one EWF album, this should be the one.
I have deducted one star due to the fact that some of the tracks on Disc 1 are single versions and not the original album length.Still a great album though.
Reccomended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly an "essential" listen, 23 July 2007
By 
Rumbahbah (Hedge End, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Essential (Audio CD)
There are numerous Earth Wind and Fire Best ofs on the market but this can lay claim to being the best. CD1 contains pretty much every essential EWF track (Reasons is the only notable omission), from their best-known (Boogie Wonderland, September, Let's Groove, After the Love Has Gone) to some more obscure but excellent cuts (Devotion, Can't Let Go). However, it's the remix CD that really puts this compilation head and shoulders above all its rivals. Remixing classic songs of yesteryear is a dangerous game, often resulting in destroying the brilliance of the original by sticking a monotonous beat behind it or by stripping all the original backing away and replacing it with an ill-fitting mix that ruins what made the song great in the first place. However, this is not the case here - in fact, these are some of the most effective remixes of classic songs I've ever heard. Most of the remixers have treated the tracks with a great deal of respect, and instead of completely reimagining the songs have reworked them sympathetically, making them sound contemporary whilst still keeping their original spirit intact. Highlights are the Masters at Work take of Can't Hide Love, the Phats & Small remix of September and the downbeat mix of the wistful Feelin' Blue, an early track not featured on CD1, but most of the rest are well worth a listen too. As such, with a near-definitive collection of their greatest hits on one CD and the unexpected bonus of an extra CD of excellent remixes on another, this is by far the best Earth Wind and Fire compilation for the casual buyer currently available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Michael Jackson is right, 16 May 2003
By 
Andreas Haberbeck (Jeddah Saudi Arabia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Essential (Audio CD)
Michael Jackson is right: Sony kills music. To date Earth Wind & Fire have not been served well in the CD reissue market, but this supposed "best of" takes the biscuit. "That's The Way Of The World" has been cut down from 5:43 minutes to 3:10 minutes, "In The Stone" from 4:26 minutes to 3:33 minutes, and-so-on. I feel sorry for those who are introduced to EW&F by this travesty, which is a butchery of some of the best funk-soul music ever recorded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Worth it., 14 Aug 2007
This review is from: The Essential (Audio CD)
I enjoyed the grooves but the cd should have had full album versions of the songs.I find myself thinking twice about cd2 because the remixes spoil the mood that the first disc creates. Its a must have, capturing the evolving sounds of this unique band. I was born in the late 70's and I remember the storm that 'lets groove' caused. I was about 5 years old, singing a few lines!

I expected a gallery of photos..........Maybe next time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars class, 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential (Audio CD)
fan love there music good to list to them and it got some classic on this ablum so cant go wrong
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this EWF CD, 31 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential (Audio CD)
Love the remix disc, main reason I purchased it was for the Fantasy (Shelter DJ Mix)

Very Happy overall with this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album form an amazing band., 24 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential (Audio CD)
This is a great cd to have as all the hits are there, as well as some top remix versions by Master at Work, Blaze, Restless Soul etc.
Top quality collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential (Audio CD)
great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Party All Night!, 20 Dec 2002
This review is from: The Essential (Audio CD)
If you want an album to put on to really get you and your mates in the mood for that top night out on the town, THIS IS IT! You will be amazed how good this is and how many of the songs you recognise and want to sing along to. I rediscovered Earth Wind and Fire a few years back when I was playing in a funk band down in London. All the tracks are brilliant, disco funk fun and will make you want to dance and party all night. They are also great tracks to put on in the car, in my experience it can even brighten up the M25 (and that takes a damn good album!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Essential
The Essential by Earth, Wind & Fire (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews