Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Totally cool
This is the coolest record I've ever heard: it can sooth you no matter how wound up you get.
The Modern Jazz Quartet, playing keyboards, vibraharp, double-bass and percussion have produced this little album of nine separate tracks. Each track is based on a tune, mostly from the works of Bach (though there are a couple of new ones), which is developed into about...
Published on 22 Aug 2003 by simon7261

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Bach in the blues?
Not quite as much Bach influence as I'd hoped for. I felt that the "Blues " tracks, nice as they were, did not have any Bach about them. There was a high pitched squeak on some tracks, perhaps that was a transfer glitch from the original record. Pity that the programme notes were in Japanese -It's a language that I'm not familiar with- and no running times unless...
Published 2 months ago by Scribe85


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Totally cool, 22 Aug 2003
This review is from: Blues On Bach (Audio CD)
This is the coolest record I've ever heard: it can sooth you no matter how wound up you get.
The Modern Jazz Quartet, playing keyboards, vibraharp, double-bass and percussion have produced this little album of nine separate tracks. Each track is based on a tune, mostly from the works of Bach (though there are a couple of new ones), which is developed into about single length. They capture completely in spirit what the composer Bach has come to mean to a modern audience - both the serenity and the emotional depth.
I'm sure I've heard these tracks more than once as movie scores (or at least the scores were heavilly influenced by them).
The only annoying detail is the occasional use of sleigh bells, which can be a bit tacky, but never spoils the whole effect..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blues on Bach - Review by an Oldie, 24 Sep 2010
This review is from: Blues On Bach (Audio CD)
This is fantastic CD. The music bridges the gap from Baroque to Modern but retains all the character and beauty of a by-gone age. Fantastic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Bach is best", 22 April 2012
This review is from: Blues On Bach (Audio CD)
Let me start with an admission - I love the music of JS Bach and consider him the greatest and most influential composer of all time. Having seen a grainy film of MJQ on the BBC some years ago I bought this album. The versions do no damage whatsoever to Bach's music and listening to it makes you realise just how forward-looking it is and that he was, in reality, far removed from the dry academic figure foisted on us at school when we were forced to listen reverently (and then were put off it for years). These are great interpretations of the greatest of composers. Listening to Bach's music you realise that this type of treatment was nascent from the beginning. The spirit of Bach hovers over the proceedings and he would, I think, have approved and loved it. Buy it and listen to it again and again and again etc. and then listen to (say) Glenn Gould playing the 'Goldberg Variations' or John Eliot Gardiner's recording of the Brandenburg Concertos or the Church Cantatas and you'll hear what I mean. Fabulous.Blues On Bach
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An end to end joy..., 23 Sep 2012
By 
os - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Blues On Bach (Audio CD)
Unbelievably,the MJQ when this album was recorded in 1973,the band had already been in existence in one form or another since the early 1950's. Yet listening today to 'Blues on Bach' this cleverly conceived and jauntily performed classical meets jazz hybrid, there is no sense of water being trod.What easily could have been a botched attempt at marrying two distinctive and disparate styles somehow sounds 'right'- a very pleasurable blend of the swing and grit of jazz and blues overlaying the richness of Bach's compositional sense.

This is thoughtful,gently swinging chamber jazz- perhaps a little too stiff, twee or polite for some, but for people like me, who don't always want to listen to 'hot' soloing or explore the more arcane areas of jazz,this album is a true pleasure.It's only by listening closely and repeatedly do you get to appreciate the subtlety and musical fire power of John Lewis (piano and harpsichord)and crew, who can on tracks like 'Blues in B Flat' and 'Precious Joy' get as close to perfection as any group is ever likely to get in this genre.

Taken as a whole then,this an easy set to recommend- good remastered sound,interesting and detailed sleeve notes from Stuart Nicholson and of course great music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gordon66, 1 July 2009
This review is from: Blues On Bach (Audio CD)
This is an excellent record for anyone just hearing the MJQ for the first time. Great recording from a much missed group of musicians
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome Bach, 21 Feb 2010
By 
R. Rowland "Big Bobby" (Fulking,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blues On Bach (Audio CD)
I had forgotten what a marvellous sound these guys make.Saw them in Brighton (The Imperial) in the late50's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice mix of classcial and jazz, 20 April 2009
By 
This review is from: Blues On Bach (Audio CD)
I fairly enjoyed this record. Milt Jackson is on topform and the selection of music on the disc is beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 7 Aug 2010
This review is from: Blues On Bach (Audio CD)
Excellent piece of work from MJQ. Superb Jazz classic I have listened to again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Bach in the blues?, 10 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blues On Bach (Audio CD)
Not quite as much Bach influence as I'd hoped for. I felt that the "Blues " tracks, nice as they were, did not have any Bach about them. There was a high pitched squeak on some tracks, perhaps that was a transfer glitch from the original record. Pity that the programme notes were in Japanese -It's a language that I'm not familiar with- and no running times unless you use a high power magnifying glass to read them off the back cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A disappointment, 7 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blues On Bach (Audio CD)
I bought this CD on the reputation of the MJQ. I have a few of their recordings and many years ago I saw them in concert at Manchester. For some reason that I can not explain I expected more from them, especially Milt Jackson and John Lewis. When you consider how other jazz musicians have approached the works of Bach, sadly, for me, MJQ do not match the lyricism of other interpretations. The other irritant is that John Lewis, on some tracks, switches to the harpsichord. Why? To my ears the sound of the harpsichord and the vibraharp do not make a happy marriage. I just expected more from musicians of the highest calibre
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blues On Bach
Blues On Bach by The Modern Jazz Quartet (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews