Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They can still deliver, 28 Feb 2004
This review is from: Camel: Coming Of Age [DVD] (DVD)
This is the first ever Camel DVD recorded in March 1997 at Billboard Live, Hollywood, California. The Camel line up for this tour/DVD is founder member Andy Latimer (vocals, guitars, keyboards), Colin Bass (bass, acoustic guitar, keyboards & vocals), Foss Patterson (keyboards & vocals) and Dave Stewart (drums & percussion).
The set features a complete "Harbour of Tears" plus a wide selection of tracks from previous Camel albums. There is also bonus footage of rehersals and pre-concert sound check as well as interviews with fans attending the concert.
Quality both visual and audio are good and at a total running time of 140 minutes - you more than get your moneys worth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soaring concert from a woefully under-appreciated band., 24 April 2006
By 
R. Sharpe (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Camel: Coming Of Age [DVD] (DVD)
As a Camel fan back in the '70s, I tend to associate that decade more with Yes, Floyd, Led Zep and Camel than ABBA, (well at least until the punks arrived to reassert the 'truth' that rock music is all about attitude and nothing to do with musical talent!). Anyway, I lost touch with Camel by the end of that fascinating decade and only found then again once the internet prog communities got going properly in the late nineties. A chance remark persuaded my son to buy me this DVD for my birthday a couple of years ago and what an extraordinary present it was.

Andy Latimer's guitar soars with even more power than it did back in the early days and I challenge anyone not to be moved by the version of 'Ice' towards the end of the first half of this concert. The following track 'Sasquatch' (a reference to Andy overly large feet!) is also masterly and showcases the extraodinary drummimg talents of Dave Stewart (not the Eurithmics guy!).

The seond half of the concert is a full rendition of their album 'Harbour of Tears' and is exquisite.

Words cannot do justice here, so if your musical tastes run to the emotive and sophisticated, as opposed to the rough and phlegmy, though Camel can still rock with the best of them when the occasion arises, then give this concert a listen.

Unlike a lot of music DVDs this one is long so you get your money's worth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 31 Oct 2007
By 
J. B. Clayson (New Romney UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Camel: Coming Of Age [DVD] (DVD)
I first heard of camel in the early 80's, bought a couple of their albums and realised this was the music for me, but only over the last few years (after other priorities have receded) have found time to build up a collection of Camel albums/DVD's.
This particular concert I feel is a must for all Camel enthusiasts,
starting with their earlier material in part 1 then moving into Harbour of tears in part 2.
What fantastic musicians these guys are......Andy Latimer as always is flawless.
This concert has it all,and shows a range of styles encompassing rock, jazz' folk. Check out part 2 in particular, with beautiful solo leads from Andy plus wonderful ballads.
Their best yet......get it you will not be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Latimer on form...., 27 Dec 2011
By 
BobM (South East England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Camel: Coming Of Age [DVD] (DVD)
Camel has always been and always will be a classic group of musicians.
Shame Andrew Latimer has suffered ill health of late.
In this concert, the group shine.
It really is a great concert with some superb extras, including rehearsals.
DVD quality is top notch.
Go get it, if you are an afficionado of brilliant music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ABSOLUTE PLEASURE, 6 April 2011
This review is from: Camel: Coming Of Age [DVD] (DVD)
I'M A FUN OF THIS GROUP,I ALSO HAVE 12 CDS AND LPS.CAMEL HAD PLAYED IN MY COUNTRY 10 YEARS AGO,I ENJOYED THEM,NOW IT WAS THE TIME TO BUY A DVD WITH THEM. THE SOUND AND PICTURE WAS FINE,BUT MORE ENJOYABLE WAS THE CHOICE OF SONGS THEY PLAYED.I RECOMMENT THIS FOR THE FUNS,AND FOR EVERYONE WHO LIKES ROCK.ALL YOU WANT TO LISTEN IS HERE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the ice man, 24 April 2010
By 
This review is from: Camel: Coming Of Age [DVD] (DVD)
andy latimar has never been recognised as a guitar hero or god ,but he should be .dvd well worth the money with plenty of footage on . love the harbour of tears stuff but what about the incredible guitar solo in ice .makes the hairs stand up on the back of my neck every time i hear it .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Camel Really Rocks, 14 Sep 2005
This review is from: Camel: Coming Of Age [DVD] (DVD)
i am camel fan for the last 15 years and through these years i can say that Camel has passed through three phases, the seventies when most of their great albums were produsced and their material were mainly attributed to both Latimer and Bardens, the eighties when Camel survived so many new line ups and they were struggling to survive the 80s with not so much good albums ( as compared to the 70s), and the finally the 90s onward when Camel revived again with solid material and very good concept albums like Dust and dreams and Harbour of Taers and then Rajaz. and i always considered them as an amazing live band.live record and never let go lives were great and if you love these two albums you definitely will love Coming of Age. divided into two sets it contains material that span through the 70s, 80s and 90s. the second set is complete Harbour of tears album, with dazzling rock and superb musicianship i consider this album is their best. the first set is great but as not as the second set. the best tracks from the first set are Ice,Spirits of the water,Lunar sea and Hymn to her. the remainder are their 80s material that i dont really like so much. I forgot to mention about the 3 songs from Dust and dreams which are very good especially Rose of Sharon. Despite being a great Live concert, it lacks their early materials, as no song from their first and second albums, Camel and Mirage respectively, which i really like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Camel at their best, 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Camel: Coming Of Age [DVD] (DVD)
I went to see the band on this tour in Glasgow and was blown away by them the this DVD just brought it all back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Camel revelation, 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Camel: Coming Of Age [DVD] (DVD)
Until recently, I had not heard of Camel, but heard they were playing in a local venue. I researched them on the internet and found their web site where you can listen to snippets of material from different albums. It was the sort of thing I liked so went along. I was blown away by them and that night bought this concert as a reminder of just how good they are. I will be going to see them again and again from now on. Brilliant DVD and the quality is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Camel: Coming Of Age [DVD]
Camel: Coming Of Age [DVD] by Camel (DVD - 2002)
Used & New from: £15.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews