Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
12
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
11
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£21.84+ £1.26 shipping

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 February 2004
This is the first ever Camel DVD recorded in March 1997 at Billboard Live, Hollywood, California. The Camel line up for this tour/DVD is founder member Andy Latimer (vocals, guitars, keyboards), Colin Bass (bass, acoustic guitar, keyboards & vocals), Foss Patterson (keyboards & vocals) and Dave Stewart (drums & percussion).
The set features a complete "Harbour of Tears" plus a wide selection of tracks from previous Camel albums. There is also bonus footage of rehersals and pre-concert sound check as well as interviews with fans attending the concert.
Quality both visual and audio are good and at a total running time of 140 minutes - you more than get your moneys worth.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2006
As a Camel fan back in the '70s, I tend to associate that decade more with Yes, Floyd, Led Zep and Camel than ABBA, (well at least until the punks arrived to reassert the 'truth' that rock music is all about attitude and nothing to do with musical talent!). Anyway, I lost touch with Camel by the end of that fascinating decade and only found then again once the internet prog communities got going properly in the late nineties. A chance remark persuaded my son to buy me this DVD for my birthday a couple of years ago and what an extraordinary present it was.

Andy Latimer's guitar soars with even more power than it did back in the early days and I challenge anyone not to be moved by the version of 'Ice' towards the end of the first half of this concert. The following track 'Sasquatch' (a reference to Andy overly large feet!) is also masterly and showcases the extraodinary drummimg talents of Dave Stewart (not the Eurithmics guy!).

The seond half of the concert is a full rendition of their album 'Harbour of Tears' and is exquisite.

Words cannot do justice here, so if your musical tastes run to the emotive and sophisticated, as opposed to the rough and phlegmy, though Camel can still rock with the best of them when the occasion arises, then give this concert a listen.

Unlike a lot of music DVDs this one is long so you get your money's worth.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2007
I first heard of camel in the early 80's, bought a couple of their albums and realised this was the music for me, but only over the last few years (after other priorities have receded) have found time to build up a collection of Camel albums/DVD's.
This particular concert I feel is a must for all Camel enthusiasts,
starting with their earlier material in part 1 then moving into Harbour of tears in part 2.
What fantastic musicians these guys are......Andy Latimer as always is flawless.
This concert has it all,and shows a range of styles encompassing rock, jazz' folk. Check out part 2 in particular, with beautiful solo leads from Andy plus wonderful ballads.
Their best yet......get it you will not be dissapointed.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2014
Until recently, I had not heard of Camel, but heard they were playing in a local venue. I researched them on the internet and found their web site where you can listen to snippets of material from different albums. It was the sort of thing I liked so went along. I was blown away by them and that night bought this concert as a reminder of just how good they are. I will be going to see them again and again from now on. Brilliant DVD and the quality is excellent.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2015
This is another high quality live DVD from Camel Productions. This one's from the USA in 1997 with two sets plus extra features. It's all wonderful stuff, though the highlight for me is the performance of the then current album Harbour of Tears in its entirety. The picture quality is pretty good but I've rather harshly knocked off a star for the occasional, brief twee bit of footage put in over the stage action (such as images of flowing streams during the excellent Spirit of the Water.) Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2011
Camel has always been and always will be a classic group of musicians.
Shame Andrew Latimer has suffered ill health of late.
In this concert, the group shine.
It really is a great concert with some superb extras, including rehearsals.
DVD quality is top notch.
Go get it, if you are an afficionado of brilliant music.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2005
i am camel fan for the last 15 years and through these years i can say that Camel has passed through three phases, the seventies when most of their great albums were produsced and their material were mainly attributed to both Latimer and Bardens, the eighties when Camel survived so many new line ups and they were struggling to survive the 80s with not so much good albums ( as compared to the 70s), and the finally the 90s onward when Camel revived again with solid material and very good concept albums like Dust and dreams and Harbour of Taers and then Rajaz. and i always considered them as an amazing live band.live record and never let go lives were great and if you love these two albums you definitely will love Coming of Age. divided into two sets it contains material that span through the 70s, 80s and 90s. the second set is complete Harbour of tears album, with dazzling rock and superb musicianship i consider this album is their best. the first set is great but as not as the second set. the best tracks from the first set are Ice,Spirits of the water,Lunar sea and Hymn to her. the remainder are their 80s material that i dont really like so much. I forgot to mention about the 3 songs from Dust and dreams which are very good especially Rose of Sharon. Despite being a great Live concert, it lacks their early materials, as no song from their first and second albums, Camel and Mirage respectively, which i really like.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2010
andy latimar has never been recognised as a guitar hero or god ,but he should be .dvd well worth the money with plenty of footage on . love the harbour of tears stuff but what about the incredible guitar solo in ice .makes the hairs stand up on the back of my neck every time i hear it .
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2011
I'M A FUN OF THIS GROUP,I ALSO HAVE 12 CDS AND LPS.CAMEL HAD PLAYED IN MY COUNTRY 10 YEARS AGO,I ENJOYED THEM,NOW IT WAS THE TIME TO BUY A DVD WITH THEM. THE SOUND AND PICTURE WAS FINE,BUT MORE ENJOYABLE WAS THE CHOICE OF SONGS THEY PLAYED.I RECOMMENT THIS FOR THE FUNS,AND FOR EVERYONE WHO LIKES ROCK.ALL YOU WANT TO LISTEN IS HERE.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2014
I went to see the band on this tour in Glasgow and was blown away by them the this DVD just brought it all back.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)