Customer Reviews


196 Reviews
5 star:
 (154)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I love this cookie compilation album it's far out man!
If you want Bowie's hits then this is for you, and it is a good introduction to the rest of David Bowie's music. The second disc is not as good as the first, but that is not the fault of the CD, it's just that Bowie's career didn't have as much success in later years as it did in the 1970s and early 1980s.

Make sure that you do not buy this album assuming it...
Published on 21 July 2006 by David Stewart

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars this is as good a collection of Bowie tracks as you might expect
For a career-spanning compilation, this is as good a collection of Bowie tracks as you might expect, although shame they didn't go for the album version of "Heroes". However, I was disappointed with the sound quality. The tracks which I have on vinyl sound too bright and unnatural here.
Published 7 months ago by trajis


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I love this cookie compilation album it's far out man!, 21 July 2006
By 
David Stewart (Glasgow, United Kingdom.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Best Of Bowie (Audio CD)
If you want Bowie's hits then this is for you, and it is a good introduction to the rest of David Bowie's music. The second disc is not as good as the first, but that is not the fault of the CD, it's just that Bowie's career didn't have as much success in later years as it did in the 1970s and early 1980s.

Make sure that you do not buy this album assuming it contains all of the best songs Bowie ever released, these are only the ones that were the most commercially successful. Bowie's albums are another topic altogether and you are advised to check out his albums since many of them are classics in their own right. Some of the most creative and experimental music that Bowie recorded is not to be found on this compilation but in the filler between the tracks found on this CD when they are on their original albums.

Overall, this CD is a good introduction to Bowie, but don't be afraid to dig deeper, there's a lot more gold down there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant Introduction, 4 Nov. 2002
This review is from: Best Of Bowie (Audio CD)
This is a brilliant introduction to Bowie's music - if you don't already own a compilation of his music, this is the one to get! From Space Oddity, through Ziggy Stardust, Hereos, Ashes to Ashes, Lets Dance (in fact all of his career apart from the terrible "Never Let Me Down" and "Tin Machine" albums) to this years "Slow burn", most of his classics are here. Of special interest are his collaborations, "Under Pressure" the (intentionally?) humourous "Dancing in the street", the mellow "This is not America", and "Hello Spaeboy" with Pet Shop Boys.
If there are any criticisms they would be that the track list is very similar to 1993's "The single collection2, so long term fans may not see the need to purchase these songs again, and personally I would have chosen "Everyone Says Hi" rather than "Slowburn" from Heathen. Howver this is a great introduction for Bowie initiates, and a great present for anyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Collection, 21 Nov. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Best Of Bowie (Audio CD)
Q: I already have 'The Singles Collection', so why on earth would I purchase this one too?
A: The remastering of the early material on this new collection is superb whilst the production quality on 'The Singles Collection' is very thin and shrill in places. This collecion corrects all that and then some. The Jean Genie blows you away with the shear fullness of the sound without having to crank up the volume to anti-social levels.
This is now definitely the best starting point for someone wanting to explore the Bowie catalogue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best compilation albums ever., 20 Nov. 2006
This review is from: Best Of Bowie (Audio CD)
I am ashamed to say that up until now I wasn't really a David Bowie fan. I was a bit young for the Ziggy Stardust era and apart from Lets Dance and Modern Love I wasn't aware of his past accomplishments. However I am a fan now.

This man is brilliant, I recognised the majority of the songs on this album, but what surprised me is that I never knew they were written and sung by David Bowie.

The diversity of his music is sublime. From bluesy Jean Genie to the sexy but sleazy John I'm only dancing, to the wonderful Life on Mars. This album has everything for everybody. I have played this album over and over again and still, I am not bored.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


64 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The hardest task would have been deciding what to leave out, 30 Sept. 2004
By 
amboline (York, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Best Of Bowie (Audio CD)
In general terms, this chock-a-block 2CD compilation does exactly what it says on the tin: compiles the vast majority of the best-known works from the back catalogue of one of the world's most prolific and defiantly original songwriters. Inevitably, not everything can fit on here, and there must have been some hearty arguments in the production room about what to put on and what to leave out. Not everything on this compilation was a hit; but then, not all of Bowie's hits were among his best work, and some representation of the "cult" material is clearly necessary.
CD1 equates more or less to "the legendary years" as we're introduced to Major Tom floating in his tin can, Ziggy Stardust playing guitar, and all the most familiar songs. The order is clearly intended to be chronological, but actually isn't ("Starman" is bizarrely out of sequence), although it holds up well, presenting Bowie's own artistic progression from guitar-strumming troubadour through his mastery of glam rock and electronica. His capacity to straddle genres is abundantly clear by about five tracks in, as is his skill as a chronicler of the changing fashions of the age, from glam rock ("You Pretty Things" and "Life on Mars") through the androgynous disco era ("John, I'm Only Dancing") to punk ("Rebel Rebel"). The first half of the CD contains all-time greats as well as some less familiar classics ("Drive-In Saturday" is my personal favourite). Personally, I find everything after "Diamond Dogs" a bit painful to listen to; "Fame" and "Golden Years" may be classics of their kind but they do represent Bowie in the throes of his musical wanderlust, and the quality of the melodies and the poignancy of the lyrics take a back seat. The last few tracks are, frankly, a let-down, and not a patch on "Space Oddity" or "Life on Mars".
CD2 redeems all that, picking up at the tail end of the 70s with the glorious instrumental of "Sound and Vision". "Heroes", following it, is over-familiar now thanks to car adverts and too much Radio 2 airplay, but gives a foretaste of what was to lie in store in the 1980s. There may be fewer all-time greats on CD2 ("Ashes to Ashes", "China Girl" and "Let's Dance" being pre-eminent), but a more melodic Bowie is showcased here: still an auditory experimenter, as shown in the deranged Mockney vocals of "Scary Monsters" and the thumping cacophony of "Little Wonder", but one with a deeply soulful side, best exemplified in the glorious "Absolute Beginners". This is also the collaborative Bowie, appearing here with Queen ("Under Pressure"), Mick Jagger ("Dancing in the Street") and the Pet Shop Boys ("Hallo Spaceboy"), tracks more usually omitted from traditional compilations. The late 80s are ignored altogether, and the selection of more recent tracks seems rather arbitrary, with only "Hallo Spaceboy" really seeming to work to justify its inclusion; consequently, CD2 also seems to end on a weak note. But so much brilliance has gone before that it's hard to complain, really!
It's unlikely that any listener will like *every* track on this CD. Bowie's musical repertoire was so wide-ranging that he will never please all the people all the time. Everyone will have their own ideas about what should have been left off (for me most of the "Fame"-era stuff could have happily been ditched) and what should have been included, but wasn't (I'd have had "Time Will Crawl" and "Never Let Me Down", not to mention "The Laughing Gnome"...). Perhaps that's the strength of this collection. Listen and decide for yourself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST OF BOWIE? SO CLOSE, AND SO FAR!, 4 Nov. 2002
This review is from: Best Of Bowie (Audio CD)
Does the world need another David Bowie greatest hits album? EMI certainly seem to think so. 1993's 'The Singles Collection' remains a near-definitive collection of tracks from the golden years, and we've had the 1969-1974 and 1975-1979 Very Best ofs (Presumably the planned 1980-1990 set is off the cards, shame), not to mention a recent collection of instrumentals.
Let's face it, only seasoned fanatics are going to be irked but such questions, and - like most Christmas compilations - 'Best of Bowie' (a title that's already been used once before!) is aimed fairly and squarely at the casual fan and absolute beginner. And why not - every Bowie album introduces some new fans to his work, and 'Heathen' has been a big critical and commercial success.
'The Singles Collections' famously included a few songs that weren't even singles, let alone hits, but you can't aim similar complains at the inclusion here of 'Oh! You Pretty Things' or 'The Man Who Sold The World', both popularised by other artists (it's surprising 'All The Young Dudes' isn't included for the same reason) - on the other hand, 'Diamond Dogs' and 'Scary Monsters' were hardly the best choices of singles from said albums and didn't exactly set the world alight either.
OK. Obvious complaints time. The idea of a Bowie 'best of' based on hit singles doesn't really give the whole picture. DB himself has admitted that he's not a singles artist, and some of his most famous songs (eg Changes, Heroes) didn't even get into the top twenty). Including five songs from the last ten years doesn't begin to illustrate Bowie's spectacular creative rebirth of the last decade. And where is 'Cat People', or the original single mixes of 'Jean Genie' and 'Rebel Rebel', far more punky than the widely available album versions? At this stage in DB's career, either a 3CD set of all his A-sides or a box set of key tracks, rarities and outtakes (it'd be about time) would make a better retrospective.
The collection's heavy bias toward the 1970s and early '80s (yeah, I know this is kind of missing the point) also continues the myth, perpetrated by lazy, cloth-eared critics, that Bowie's '90s material hasn't really produced much of note. For my money, a bonus disc of key tracks from the last 15 years would re-dress the balance. Don't believe me? Get a Bowie fan to put together the following tracks on a tape for you and see what you think:
1) Absolute Beginners 2) Underground (theme from Labyrinth) 3) When The Wind Blows 4) Time Will Crawl 5) Never Let Me Down 6) Amazing 7) I Can't Read 8) Pretty Pink Rose 9) Baby Universal 10) Shopping For Girls 11) Real Cool World 12) Jump They Say 13) Nite Flights 14) Buddha of Suburbia 15) Strangers When We Meet 16) Hearts Filthy Lesson 17) No Control 18) Thru These Architects Eyes 19) Telling Lies (Paradox Mix) 20) Little Wonder 21) Looking For Satellites 22) Seven Years In Tibet 23) Seven 24) Survive 25) Slow Burn
So, hardcore fanatics - get it for the single remix of Loving The Alien, but don't chuck away your 'Singles Collection' just yet. New fans? Get 'Best of Bowie' by all means, and enjoy the many delights of his back catalogue, but take note that his '90s work (yes, even the Tin Machine albums) has enough hidden gems to fill a 'Best of Bowie II'. Just don't expect anything like 'Let's Dance'!
As a footnote...The Us edition comes as a single CD or a double CD. The double CD includes "Panic In Detroit", "Cat People", "Thursday's Child" and even the Tin Machine debut single "Under The God" - these minor changes may well give it the edge over the British edition here. But is is more expensive!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Of Bowie, 1 Jan. 2010
This review is from: Best Of Bowie (Audio CD)
This is probably the best Greatest Hits collection of all-time from the number one rock performer.
David Bowie isnt just a living legend he is also the soundtrack of poular culture from 1972 to the present day.
From Ziggy Stardust to The Young American Bowie has ruled the world of pop music.
As well writing brilliant timeless songs he has also inspired everyone from The Sex Pistols to Spandau Ballet.
Without Bowie teaming up with Iggy Pop there would of been no punk rock.
If he hadnt of evented Glam there would of been no new romantics. No Boy George or Spandau Ballet.
And without his Hunky Dory and Aladin Sane albums no Oasis, Blur or Buzz Kids.
Bowie is the main reason that we now have/had Paul Weller, Oasis, Blur, punk poet Garry Johnson, Mott The Hoople, Lou Reed.
This album is a must for all music fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well Done *****, 23 Jan. 2003
By 
Medium Sized Duke (Abingdon, Oxon United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Best Of Bowie (Audio CD)
I think this is as definitive a compilation of Bowie's entire career as you could get. The compilers had an unenviable task, because if you moved too far away from 'The Singles Collection', fans would have complained.
However, fans are still complaining anyway, because there's not enough 90's/00's material on it. This is because you can only ever fit about 39/40 tracks on any double cd compilation.
Fortunately, they chose the "right" 90's/00's tracks to put on it, given the limited space, and replaced 'Day in Day out' with 'Loving the Alien', which was a good move.
So why not sacrifice the odd 1 or 2 weaker Eighties tracks to make way for more of the recent material then ? simply because even though Bowie's 90's & 00's works has been "A brilliant return to form", Bowie had more hits in the 80's, and this is compiled with the casual listener in mind.
Luckily, the DVD has room for the new material in spades, plus the two 'Best of 70's' Compilation cover the songs which had to be sacrificed from 'The Singles Collection' (apart from 'The Alabama Song'), so everythings covered one way or another.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fame and Fashion, 20 Sept. 2012
By 
This review is from: Best Of Bowie (Audio CD)
David Bowie is one of my top ten favourite singers of all time.
He was a superstar of the 70s and 80s with his magnifficent combination of Rock, Pop, Glam Rock, Art Rock, Industrial Rock and Space Rock.
This album showcases his best known hits.
The poetry of the lyrics is brilliant-and the music astronomical .
It begins with that wonderful space fantasy Space Oddity (1969). Remember this was the year that Neil Armstrong became the first man on the moon!
Changes (1972) outlines the strain of rapid change while pointing out its inevitability.
What follows is the wonderful disco funk of Suffragette City (1976), the superb The Jean Genie, Rebel Rebel (1974), slight transition from hard rock to cool funk with Young Americans (1975 and the hypnotizing Fame (1975), Golden Years (1975), the rhythmic Heroes (1977) which is classic Bowie. One of my alltime, favourites is Ashes to Ashes (1980) a type of reminiscence of Bowies career and life up to then with the central theme a major one of the 80's:A wake up to reality and a resolve to turn ones back on the drugs and decadence of the preceding years.The disco beat of Fashion (1980) contains a powerful social commentary.
Then there is the famous and successful collaboration between Bowie and Queen....Under Pressure (1981), The 80's disco of Lets Dance (1983) ,China Girl(1983) and another favourite of mine Modern Love (1983) shows how Bowie adapted to new eras in music without losing any of his talent, the superb Blue Jean (1984) and Modern Love (1983)which shows how Bowie adapted to new eras in music without losing any of his talent
The collaboration with Mick Jagger Dancing In The Street (1985) is followed by This Is Not America and I'm Afraid of Americans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you don't have these songs get it., 28 Feb. 2013
By 
M. S. Skeldon (Coventry, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Best Of Bowie (Audio CD)
If you're silly enough not to have any Bowie, then you should buy this immediately because he's the best.
I bought this for my Dad as he had a lot on vinyl that he couldn't play and this is a great collection for the car or whatever.

The song choices are on the whole pretty good. There's always stuff as a fan you'd change on these things but they have got a great balance and it was nice to see a couple of his newer songs making the CD.
Slow burn and little wonder are great additions. I'd like to have seen Thursday's Child or Survive from Hours, but hey.

The only downsides I can see is they have included the AWFUL pet shop boys remix of Hallo Spaceboy. The original is such a stomping solid track and they ruined it, and because the PSB version was a "single" they lazily included that version. At least put another later period bowie track like Strangers when we meet, or the Budda from suburbia if you can't bring yourselves to not put singles on.

The second annoying thing is Dancing in the street. That's a bloody awful version that nobody should EVER have to hear again. Of all the great songs they could have put, they choose that. Never Let Me Down, as an album is poor, but the title track is great. Put that on. ANYTHING but Dancing in the street!

That aside it's great. Buy it and then all his albums,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Best Of Bowie
Best Of Bowie by David Bowie (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews