Customer Reviews


94 Reviews
5 star:
 (74)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE Masterpiece!!!
Ask any musician over a certain age to name the greatest albums of all time and he/she won't rattle off too many titles before he/she gets to "Dusty In Memphis". That's the kind of awe and respect this album inspires in us who make our living in Music; and, we're a pretty musically jaded lot. It is utter perfection - singer; musicians; producers; material - all four...
Published on 25 Oct. 2005 by Private Ear

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dusty Vinyl indeed !
Please note that this is a review of the Four Men with Beards vinyl LP of Dusty in Memphis. Despite this, other reviews listed here are of the CD version (which may, or may not, be superior in sound quality). If you want the vinyl format, however, this is currently the only available disc on Amazon.
This edition has been incorrectly eq'ed with far too much treble,...
Published on 30 Jun. 2012 by Decade


‹ Previous | 14 5 610 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Memphis sound straight to my living room!, 31 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dusty in Memphis [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Of course this is one of those 'must have' albums, but owning it on vinyl makes it really special. I chose this over a vintage copy because of the repressing into heavyweight vinyl. The mastering is fantastic and the sound is rich and warm at the bottom end and clear at the top. The music itself doesn't need a review (it speaks for itself), but those with a good turntable won't regret choosing the vinyl format, I'm sure!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dusty at her best, 14 May 2013
By 
Thomas Thacker "buckeye" (North Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dusty In Memphis (Audio CD)
As the sleeve notes say this was probably the best recording Dusty made when at the height of her career. although her agent was not sure whether the facilities at the Memphis studios would suit her the results proved their fears unfounded. The album contains some lesser known tracks but performed beautifully with a excellent musical backing. Good listening
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Was she ACTUALLY in Memphis?, 6 Feb. 2010
By 
Paul G. "Redbeard" (Deep South, Dorset England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dusty In Memphis (Audio CD)
I may be barking up the wrong tree but I seem to remember reading some time ago that the backing tracks were done in Memphis, but Dusty recorded her vocals in NYC.
It doesn't really matter of course as this cd of the lp, together with the bonus tracks, is a one of the handful of truly "must haves" in the history of popular music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dusty in Memphis, 21 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dusty In Memphis (Audio CD)
This is Dusty at her very best.
Recorded in the Sixties in Memphis,
This great CD has a real edge, the sound quality as well as the production is second to none. Make sure you order this particular version as their several versions available. Check the play list first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Power of TV, 2 Mar. 2013
By 
Keith Nield "Keith" (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dusty In Memphis (Audio CD)
I'll skip over the fact that this is not only one of Dusty's greatest albums, but also one of the greatest albums of all time and deserving of at least a listen if not a place in anyone's record collection.

No, what I find interesting and I'm sure that the marketing guys at Amazon know and anticipate this: is the BBC Friday Night effect. Let me explain, On Friday 1st March BBC Four broadcast an entire evening devoted to Dusty Springfield in their regular Friday night music slot. Being curious I checked the sales positions of several Dusty albums, including this one, they were all down in the 10,000 plus position, this one at 11,500 (ish). Low and behold, the next day there are three albums in the Amazon top 100. Sadly they'll disappear as quickly as they appeared, but for a few brief moments we remembered Dusty's remarkable talent and hopefully the legacy is that some more people have discovered Dusty.

And to new listeners, enjoy: I'm sure that you'll find listening to Dusty rewarding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Definitive, 15 Jan. 2010
By 
D. Chisholm "Mr Chis" (The Outback; UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dusty In Memphis (Audio CD)
It has mostly been said in earlier reviews on this page, but this is the definitive Dusty Springfield album.

The addition of the original mono mixes also reminds us how it was intended to be heard, but the advent of stereo really brings all sixties soul like this (and the wonderful Stax recordings by other artists) to life.

The remastering has been very carefully done and you do feel as though you have a front row seat at the very best concert.

Growing up as I did in the 60s, I've realised now that I never fully appreciated how talented Dusty was. Vocally, she was always absolutely on the mark ... and in this case, the songs, production and performance all come together as a piece of magic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yes!!, 23 Nov. 2013
By 
JGP (West Lancs, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dusty In Memphis (Audio CD)
Wotta pity that this girl isn't around anymore; that voice!
This item filled a gap in my collection that for too long had existed.
Fantastically remedied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE OLD ONES ARE STILL THE BEST., 18 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dusty In Memphis (Audio CD)
WHAT CAN YOU BUY YOUR 57 YEAR OLD FRIEND WHO'S TECNO PHOBIC for his birthday ?
Answer a CD !!! "hoooo that's what that slots for on my new van radio". bless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought for my husband, 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dusty In Memphis (Audio CD)
He has it in the car on repeat, he loves it so much if she were alive today he would be booking tickets to see her what a great voice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dusty cd, 22 Sept. 2013
By 
JS (Devon, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dusty In Memphis (Audio CD)
Had this delivered to my mum - she had old vinyl LP but it was in such a state I couldn't transfer it to cd. Absolute bargain!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 610 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dusty In Memphis
Dusty In Memphis by Dusty Springfield (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews