Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DUSTY IN MEMPHIS- SO MUCH LOVE
I was just listening to `Welcome Home' from Dusty Springfield's `Where am I Going' album. It's a lovely soulful song and you can tell from sides like this, and even the album title, that she had to leave the UK to sing soul (which was all she wanted to do by 1967-8) and try to crack the USA market where she belonged. She was going to Memphis and New York where she...
Published on 1 April 2008 by Phillysound2

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Should have read previous reviews
With 8 duplicate mono tracks this is an odd way to present an album as remastered. As mentioned previously it would have been far better to have included the three tracks from the 1990 Rhino version. A great British singer no doubt but Aretha Franklin she aint.
Published 13 months ago by Nick Paul


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 26 Jan 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Dusty In Memphis (Audio CD)
The late Dusty Springfield is without doubt one of the best female singers Britain ever produced. Dusty in Memphis should reign along with The Beatles:- Revolver, Beach Boys:-Pet Sounds, Deep Purple:-Machine Head as an album everyone must own. Just listen to Just A Little Loving, Don't Forget About Me, I Don't Want To Hear It Anymore, Son of A Preacherman and my favourite Breakfast in Bed the album is nigh perfect. Dusty's voice in achingly beautiful, vunerable, touching and soulful. If you are buying Dusty for the first time purchase this, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dusty in Memphis (remastered), 9 Mar 2007
By 
Mr. S. P. Thompson "SteveT" (Suffolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dusty In Memphis (Audio CD)
Oh wow... I have bought Dusty's records, singles, albums etc since she went solo in the 60's and this latest remastered copy of 'Dusty in Memphis' is nothing short of ....ultimate brilliantcy. Track after track she either inflates your soul with brilliant songs like 'Son of a preacher man' or reminds you of your mis-deeds with covers of songs like 'I don't want to hear it anymore'. This is an album everyone should have a copy of.

I once saw D.S. at her cottage near Burnham,I waved but she never saw me...it didn't matter , I felt priveledged to have seen the real Dusty. Get this album and listen and see what the world of music is missing....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heart & Soul Music, 15 Dec 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Dusty In Memphis (Audio CD)
This is without question the greatest soul album ive ever heard. Simple as that. It's gorgeous, it sends shivers up the spine, everything is beautifully understated. Dusty is in top form and everybody needs a copy of this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dusty In Memphis: Dusty Springfield - So Much Love!, 28 Oct 2011
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dusty In Memphis (Audio CD)
Even in the midst of all the great music Dusty Springfield recorded, there is one album that stands head and shoulders above the rest - the sublime Dusty In Memphis. Recorded in Memphis after a bit of a lull in her career, Dusty worked with the finest producer (Jerry Wexler) and musicians of the time to produce an album of classic soul. Clearly it was music that she loved, and she poured her heart into it. Tracks such as `Son Of A Preacher Man', Windmills Of Your Mind' and `Breakfast In Bed' are out and out classics. With the best material, best co-workers and the finest soul voice England ever produced, it was guaranteed to be good, and it was. I cannot find the correct superlatives to describe this album, it is just classic.

This remastered/extra tracks release is a decent affair. The remastering is sympathetic, and gives Springfield's voice the prominence and clarity it deserves. The extra tracks are all mono versions of the stereo tracks. My ear cannot detect much difference between them, so they seem like unnecessary repeats, but hey, I was going to spin the disc again, so it saves me the effort of getting up and pressing play! All in all 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars She Hit the Heights of Her Career in Memphis, 13 April 2010
By 
Stephanie De Pue (Carolina Beach, NC USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dusty In Memphis (Audio CD)
"Dusty in Memphis," a 1968 release by Dusty Springfield, featured her soul-stirring rendition of "Son of a Preacher Man." The album, her first for Atlantic Records, was produced by Jerry Wexler, Tom Dowd and Arif Mardin, who chose to back their artist with the Sweet Inspirations, and some of Memphis's best session hands. Their handiwork became an international hit that reached #10 in the United States and #9 in her native UK. The song "Son of a Preacher Man," was written by John Hurley and Ronnie Wilkins, who had originally offered it to Aretha Franklin. The American Queen of Soul turned it down: only upon hearing Springfield's version did Franklin reconsider and record the song herself. By that time, however, Springfield's version had already become the hit. It was to be Springfield's last Top Ten chart hit for almost 20 years, until she teamed up with Pet Shop Boys for the single "What Have I Done to Deserve This?" in 1987.

Dusty was the childhood nickname of the tomboy Mary Catherine O'Brien, born in Ealing, West London on April 16, 1939. She began with, and left, the popular British folk group The Springfields early on, and was quickly dubbed the "White Queen of Soul." She was the first British soloist to break into the U.S. Top Ten with her 1964 hit, "I Only Want to Be with You," a pop classic that was followed by many other hits, including "You Don't Have to Say You Love Me." Today, many music historians simply include Dusty and her work under the umbrella of the Beatles-led "British Invasion" of the U.S. musical scene: but she was much more; for starters, the singer who introduced "soul" and gospel music to the British public, and who incorporated its tenets into her work. Furthermore, her studied appearance contributed to her iconic status, and to the generations of fans, and impersonators, who are involved with her to this day. She had big hair, raccoon eyes, and several British television shows. She was also relatively open, for her time, about her sexual ambidexterity. She was also surprisingly emotionally open -- for a Brit; perhaps as a result, her songs retain their emotional resonance still. She was once deported from South Africa for refusing to perform to a segregated audience. She had her emotional problems: the 1970's saw chronic drug and alcohol abuse, suicide attempts, and hospitalizations, as a result of which she was artistically inactive for a couple of decades. But when she came back, she came back big with the Pet Shop Boys. She died, unfortunately young, of breast cancer, on March 3, 1999, just about the time she was being inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, and being given the British honor, an OBE.

Springfield had a big strong sensual voice, great power, yet sensitivity. She was, as an artist, always very aware of what her American cohort was doing: in addition to monitoring Phil Spector's girl groups, she greatly admired the Motown girl groups, particularly Martha and The Vandellas. But she herself was unable to read or write music and therefore dependent on others for her material, and her arrangements: this led to some recording sessions of legendary frustration.

This may well be Springfield's finest album. She was arguably the greatest pop diva produced by the United Kingdom-- and the finest white, blue-eyed soul singer of her generation, the late 1960's-early 1970's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It really doesn't come any better than this!, 20 May 2010
By 
This review is from: Dusty In Memphis (Audio CD)
There is little I can say that other reviewers haven't already said. This is an example of what the word "classic" truly means.

Listening to this now, and looking back to the time of its original release, it is almost impossible to believe that this album, essentially, marked/instigated the decline of Dusty.

'Dusty in Memphis' - along with Carole King's 'Tapestry' - is quite simply one of the greatest albums by a female singer ever. And possibly one of the Top 10 great albums of all time.

Buy it. You will NOT be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dusty Springfield - In Memphis Or Anywhere Else, 24 Mar 2010
By 
Stargazer (St.Kilda, Victoria Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dusty In Memphis (Audio CD)
They used to call Dusty Springfield "Miss White Soul," and during the days of her TV show in the 60's, she did a lot to assist the careers of many black singers and groups,by inviting them on her show to ensure the British public knew how good they were. These were the artists with a new sound,the MOWTOWN sound. Dusty loved that music and left her brothers trio - known as the Springfields - to pursue that sound.
After a string of hits and some wonderful albums, A Girl Called Dusty, was one album of this time that I loved, her career went into a decline.
Then she went to Memphis, known for its fine studio musicians, and with the help of the immortal producer, Jerry Wexler (who loved working with black artists and produced albums by Aretha Franklin, Ray Charles, Ruth Brown, Wilson Pickett and of course, Dusty Springfield). He also gave the music he loved a name - rhythm and blues.
The album was completed after many stressful moments from the perfectionist Dusty Springfield. She knew what she wanted, and would not stop until she got it. And thank God she did ! Today we have an album that is universally regarded as a masterpiece. It failed at the time - probably wasn't getting enough air play on radio.
But when the movie Pulp Fiction was released, there it was, Dusty's Son of a Preacher Man climbing the charts for a second time, and a new generation became aware of who this singer was,and Dusty in Memphis enjoyed a renaissance like no other.
Occasionally, there is a song recorded that is perfect. Singer,songwriter, musicians,and producer join forces and the moment is captured on tape for time ever more.Doris Day's "Sentimental Journey" was one such moment, and Dusty Springfield's "Son Of A Preacher Man," is another.
Add the gentle Just A Little Lovin', Breakfast In Bed,and I Don't Wanna Hear It Anymore,Just One Smile,and a nice version of No Easy Way Down. You have a blending of R&B and Soul (& a little bit country) that makes this wonderful album one of the all time greats.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Definitive, 15 Jan 2010
By 
D. Chisholm "Mr Chis" (The Outback; UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dusty In Memphis (Audio CD)
It has mostly been said in earlier reviews on this page, but this is the definitive Dusty Springfield album.

The addition of the original mono mixes also reminds us how it was intended to be heard, but the advent of stereo really brings all sixties soul like this (and the wonderful Stax recordings by other artists) to life.

The remastering has been very carefully done and you do feel as though you have a front row seat at the very best concert.

Growing up as I did in the 60s, I've realised now that I never fully appreciated how talented Dusty was. Vocally, she was always absolutely on the mark ... and in this case, the songs, production and performance all come together as a piece of magic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Birthday Surprise, 9 Jun 2008
By 
This review is from: Dusty In Memphis (Audio CD)
I shall be forever grateful to the friend who brought this album into my life. Happy birthday to me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical, 21 Aug 2013
By 
Anna C (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dusty In Memphis (MP3 Download)
Only just got into Dusty Springfeild after hearing Windmills of Your Mind which I'd detested when it was a hit for Noel Harrison. Sung by Dusty you get all the subtleties and nuances of the lyrics which, far from being risible as I'd thought for years, actually ARE profound and moving. Gorgeous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb443a0a8)

This product

Dusty In Memphis
Dusty In Memphis by Dusty Springfield (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews