Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars141
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£24.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 August 2003
This DVD is a must see for anyone who appreciates Peter Kay`s true to Bolton-life sense of humour.The characters in Phoenix Nights and the one liners are all based on real Northern life.Peter Kay is obviously one of the great observers of normal everyday people. He cleverly brings them all to life in Phoenix Nights.The cast,Jerry the Saint Clair,Ray Von,Holy Mary,Max and Paddy in particular all have great comic timing and bounce off each beautifully.Viewers need to watch and listen carefully as the humour flows between each character,the storyline is strong and beautifully written.I have also enjoyed spotting local landmarks used in the filming.The "Royal Balti House" really does exist as does the actual club.Here`s looking forward to the next series.Special thanks to Peter for putting Bolton on the map.Judging by the out-takes everyone enjoyed the making of Phoenix Nights as much as we did watching it.A GREAT GIGGLE!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2002
More blinding fun from comedy geniuses Peter Kay, Dave Spikey and Neil Fitzmaurice.
Episodes 1-6 feature on this DVD following the Club that'll never Die-The Phoenix Club. There are hilarious deleted scenes, out takes and a Peter Kay commentary.
Don't buy this DVD at your peril, you'll miss out on the best comedy to come out of the north of England in years, plus you'll miss out on the fabulous Phoenix employees with, of course, the king of clubland-Jerry 'the saint'Sinclair (played by Dave Spikey-comedy god!)
This is one of the funniest comedy series I have watched in years.BUY IT-SHABBA!!!
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2004
Phoenix Nights for me was one of those slow release comedy shows. One that you kind of like at first, and then as time goes by, you gradually like more and more until you realise its possibly the greatest display of unfettered comedy genius in the last hundred years.
Every time you watch it, there seems to be stuff - very funny stuff - that somehow you missed before. It's things like this that give Phoenix Nights classic status - it maintains its long term appeal mostly because you miss so much the first time you watch it. It really does demand your undivided attention to be truly appreciated, but it rewards you for doing this. It delivers more than anything I've watched since 'Spaced', and 'Black Books' and in my opinion, even manages to surpass those great shows.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2002
Phoenix Night's is an absolutely cracking comedy. All the characters are brilliantly portrayed and acted. There hasn't been as good a family comedy show since Dad's Army. Brian Potter the wheelchair bound club owner played by Peter Kay and his compere Jerry "The Saint" St Clair played by Dave Spikey, remind me very much of the relationship between Captain Mainwaring and Sargeant Wilson.
Phoenix Nights will appeal to everyone, men, women, young, and old, I'm sure even the family pet would laugh at this series. Peter Kay even asked his mum about the standard of each episode before releasing it, just to get that different viewpoint.
The DVD has some wonderful features...the out-takes are 'fall off your chair funny', and Peter Kay and Patrick McGuiness' comments over each episode are brilliant.
This truly is a great comedy, whether you like Peter Kay or not (and how could you not?), this is magnificent observational comedy at it's best.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2002
This DVD is one of the best ever produced for Brit comedy. It's up there with the League of Gentlemen and Spaced for extras. A great commentary, some great documentaries, and a bunch of hilarious outtakes (I've watched the outtakes more than the actual episodes). A wonderful prog that needs a third series.
The DVD itself is slightly glitchy, with some bugs and heavy pixellation in areas, but it doesn't seem to matter. If you love off-the-wall situation comedy that doesn't resort to telling "jokes" at you like the spat of comedies we've been getting from the BBC recently, this is the one for you. I have no idea why there aren't more of these programmes..
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2002
I missed the first series on TV so when I found out it was coming out, I had to order it! And it is worth getting cos the more you watch it, the better it gets!
The DVD contains some out-takes (It'll be alright on the Phoenix Nights), deleted scenes and the marvellous Armchair Superstore.
What more can I say? Absolute genuis!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2003
I got this DVD a while back, after seeing the Live show he did at Blackpool and catching the repeats of 'That Peter Kay Thing' on TV where the characters from this show first appeared.
Phoenix Nights has everything needed to be a great comedy, great jokes both visual and verbal, a great cast, great writing, and characters that you just love.
The episodes all have the same sort of stoy, Brian Potter (Kay) has some great idea for the Phoenix Club, which by the end of the episode has backfired in an hilarious fashion. The accoustic folk band in the first episode who aren't blue or offensive but turn out to be completly racist, the country and western night that turns into a mass brawl and ends with a drunk horse getting it on with a mechanical bull.
The episodes also feature some very good and funny ideas, like when Brian tries to recreate Robot Wars at the club, and the talent trek episode with the Right Said Fred Tribute band and the Karate Kid Musical, will have you in stitches. Also the alternative comedy night has it's moments especially at the end when some loud mouth heckler finally pushes the Saint, Jerry Sinclair too far, who responds with some great (Obviously Peter Kay's) comedy jokes before finally sending the guy and his mates packing.
The DVD has lots of features, the commentary by the cast is an absolute must to check out. Talking through each episode pointing out gags you wouldn't have normally spotted, providing background information and pointing out parts in the plot which were meant to lead to one thing but were never realised. BR>The out-takes are also very funny and enjoyable to watch, certainly watching Peter Kay trying to master how to drive and steer a wheelchair is hilarious. Watching Kay's reaction during one scene where a light from the set crashes to the ground just inches from him. The out-takes also include what some might call deleted scenes, but were really more different versions of scenes that were in the episode. Peter Kay's character Max trying to order a watch off a television shopping channel shows his greatness for ad-libbing but they decided not to put the those scenes in, but they were restored in the out-takes for our pleasure.
What has prompted me to review this great show now is that I saw the repeat of the second series the other night on E4, and found it better then the first series. Peter Kay took over the directors role for the second series. I can't wait for that to be released on DVD too, because it has it's great moments too. I can picture Max & Paddy right now, in the first episode riding along in their minibus singing along to the radio and to such great songs as 'I could be so good for you' by Dennis Waterman the Minder Theme and then their rendition of 'Is this the way to Amarillo' with added toots of the horn, will have everyone in stiches.
So buy this DVD and watch the comedy genius that is Peter Kay, then check out the second series for even greater laughs. Also be on the look out for a new show by Peter Kay focusing on the characters of Paddy & Max (Max played by Kay) as they travel around the country in a Mobile Home. It's bound to be funny.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2002
Peter Kay strikes through to the big time with a fantastically observed look at the northern working men's club. Each of the characters are brilliantly fleshed out and believable from the sarcastic and stressed manager, Brian Potter right down to Ray Von, the mullet wearing DJ who thinks everyone is into hardcore dance music, even though most of the customers are over 60.
Like 'The Office' this is the type of show that gets better the more times you watch it as you notice jokes that passed you by before.
Peter Kay's Pheonix Nights is an easy recommendation as the humour is so broad, there's very little swearing, hardly any crudity (apart from a rather drunk horse and a mechanical bull...), the show is what the club is, nice clean family humour, with a bit o' blue for the dads.
The only thing about this show that you may dislike is it's VERY northern and quite a few of my southern friends just 'don't get it' but i say forget them, get me a pint o' bitter and bag o' pork scratchings and stick t'video on.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2003
This dvd has an appeal to anyone and everyone, young or old, its cult comedy at its best.
Im sure in years to come it will be looked back on like fawlty towers or only fools and horses.
Bolton born Peter kay leads his band of charicters through many highs and lows, and entertains us all the way. I am a confirmed fan but was in no doubt about buying the dvd, as i wanted to see any outakes or extra scenes etc, (anorak) I wasnt disapointed, and they even filled in some blanks in the series storyline, the optional commentry seemed all a bit last minute, but gave a lot of in-sights into the behind the scenes ups and downs including a falling out with one of the 2nd series regulars, and Jim bowens inability to learn his lines or get them right, due to his dementure. It is also a show that you can watch over and over (like the simpsons) without getting sick, and therefore represents value for money..... Excellent.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2003
It is difficult to describe in words just how enjoyably warm and funny Phoenix Nights actually is. I am thinking of sueing Peter Kay & Co. for splitting my sides I laughed so much, especially the episode where Brian Potter meets a lady friend; it's hysterical. You have to see it! And then watch it again with the comentary sound track on because it's just as funny as the show itself!
HAVE IT!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)