Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wayne's World- The Beginning Of An Era
This was our first glimpse of Mike Myers at his very best, with plenty of gags to assist him. There is no doubt these two films were the beginning of a line of films of this genre that lead to Austin Powers. Personally my favourite moment is in Wayne's World 2 when they unwittingly, when a spying mission goes wrong, end up in a bar doing the YMCA on the stage. These two...
Published on 25 April 2003 by pilkypne

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars iconic films
I have seen these films before and they really are iconic. Hilarious and so entertaining. The only reason I have given them 3 stars is because I disagree with the PG rating. The first one is ok but the second film has scenes of a sexual nature in them and lots and lots of inuendos. You dont see anything but the insinuation is there and made for very uncomfortable watching...
Published 13 months ago by Redmary


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wayne's World- The Beginning Of An Era, 25 April 2003
This review is from: Wayne's World/Wayne's World 2 [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
This was our first glimpse of Mike Myers at his very best, with plenty of gags to assist him. There is no doubt these two films were the beginning of a line of films of this genre that lead to Austin Powers. Personally my favourite moment is in Wayne's World 2 when they unwittingly, when a spying mission goes wrong, end up in a bar doing the YMCA on the stage. These two films are to comedy what Die Hard is to action. Need I say more...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Schwingggg!!!, 26 Feb 2006
By 
Louise Stanley (Reading, Berkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wayne's World/Wayne's World 2 [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
These two films are just about the funniest American efforts since "Airplane"...watching British sitcoms - even the classic "Only Fools and Horses" - straight after it they seemed wooden and detached in comparison, too absorbed in providing a "message" to be able to laugh from the heart.
Garth Algar and Wayne Campbell are two small-town, Anywheresville USA overgrown kids who have an amateur cable-access TV show on which they clown around, make fun of their guests - and each other - and are just out for a laugh. In both films they are pitted against two scheming executives from the twin media of TV and the corporate music industry, who successively have their eyes on the beautiful Cassandra, an Asian babe singer in a heavy-metal band that they bump into at their local nightclub. It's good clean fun in both films - the sex is simulated if it's there at all, and no knickers come off - but it works simply because, in both films, there are just so many in-jokes, cameos, homages to cinematic legends (such as "The Graduate", or the behaviour of actors at award ceremonies, or schlock endings from any one of a number of genres) and asides to make every minute worth watching closely for any little references you can spot. Revealing any specifics would spoil the fun, but this is how great comedy movies are made - you start with a rather facile and rudimentary plot, and spend the time building on these skeletal remains a body which is all padding - and none. There is not a single wasted minute in either film, and while by the second film they may have been running out of jokes specifically about heavy metal, they could afford to push the envelope a bit more with direct homages to "bad kung-fu movies" and - as mentioned before - "The Graduate".
The main characters are also fully fleshed out - Garth is the nerd before nerds were invented and insecure without Wayne to back him up, which leads to one of the most painful scenes in the film for those with an excess of empathy; Cassandra is the grunge-queen continually tempted by fame, fortune, and handsome smoothies with "babe-magnet" pads, and Wayne is the reluctant hero of the whole thing, always wanting to impress Cassandra and show up her suitors - and succeeding in his failure to do so. But this is really irrelevant as you will be so busy having a good time that the message of the film seems obvious. The directors explain - this is a movie for the kids, whether they are 15 or 55.
As the director of the first film explains, she was approached to make "This Is Spinal Tap" and turned it down because she was so involved in the rock world that she could not stomach making fun of it so mercilessly. The Wayne's World films laugh with the world, not at it - and so succeed not only as cultural satire but as a genuinely funny film. It's like all comedy, satirical or not, should be - not the cruel arrow of mockery but the warm bath of good humoured joking. And the endings are just hilarious. All six of them ;-).
The DVDs both come with director's commentaries and a separate "Extreme Closeup" set of cast and crew interviews, which are fascinating. The length of time between filming and the release of the DVDs actually allows the directors to comment on the changes in technical methods of filmmaking - and the film was done before CGI came on the scene in any great sense, so those people in those crowds - they're real. Which just of course adds to the genuine feeling of the movies and stops them being cold fish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Extreme Close up!", 28 Feb 2004
This review is from: Wayne's World/Wayne's World 2 [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
The Wayne's World film seems that it shouldn't really work but really it does so well. Wayne's World one is the story about Wayne Campbell, who hosts his own tv show from his basement which is bought over by big TV exceutives and he also meets the girl of his dreams.
The film is actually very funny. Mike Myers is very good as Wayne Campbell, introducing all the people around him who are very hilarious in there own way and Dana Carvey is very good as Garth, best friend to Wayne.
Wayne's World two is about Wayne having a dream where the late Jim Morrison of the Doors tells him to put on a concert in his hometown. It follows him and his friend Garth's troubles putting on the concert. It also has some excellent characters in it, especially Del Preston, the world's best Roadie. The story he tells of Ozzy Osbourne wanting 2000 brown M&Ms is brilliant for it being bizarre.
This movie isn't as good as the first but is still an excellent flick and has many laughs along the way.
This double pack seems excellent and a very good addition to a comedy lover's collection. Not for a total movie buff as its not the Godfather or Citizen Cane, but a very good comedy none the less.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars waynes world party time exlent, 7 Sep 2003
By A Customer
wyanes world rocks had it for many years but lost them when i moved so just got them again and cant get enough of them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars iconic films, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have seen these films before and they really are iconic. Hilarious and so entertaining. The only reason I have given them 3 stars is because I disagree with the PG rating. The first one is ok but the second film has scenes of a sexual nature in them and lots and lots of inuendos. You dont see anything but the insinuation is there and made for very uncomfortable watching with my 9 year old as it really wasnt appropriate. Ironically younger children would probably not notice anything but he is of the age where there is a tiny bit of knowledge and this just fuels it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
you gotta love em...bless!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT VALUE FOR MONEY, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My grandsons loved this film I bought it as part of there Christmas box and it kept them quiet for ages they watched it every night for weeks now they no it word for word great value for money I would recommend to a friend :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended., 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great low price for a little box set, 2 classic films in one. Delievered fast and in almost perfect condition. Party on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this an Xmas gift for my son who loves these movie , great value for the money .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars old favourite, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A Christmas present for my son who really likes this film. I do too and it was really cheap. Another good present purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wayne's World/Wayne's World 2 [DVD] [1992]
Wayne's World/Wayne's World 2 [DVD] [1992] by Stephen Surjik (DVD - 2002)
14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews