Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Season, Excellent Boxset.
"Sex and the City" ran for 6 seasons and became one of America's best loved and most watched programmes both at home and all over the world. In this, the fourth season, the writers began to deal with more challenging situations and there are some really heavy themes in this season. That said, this has to be the FUNNIEST season to date, also. At this point in the show,...
Published on 5 July 2005 by Trey Mercartné

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars dvds were missing, bad condition
I don't know why this was sold really. Granted the price was good and shipment fast, but dvds were missing out the case, and the the box was all tattered. No likey, no lighty.
Published 18 months ago by Kit


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Season, Excellent Boxset., 5 July 2005
"Sex and the City" ran for 6 seasons and became one of America's best loved and most watched programmes both at home and all over the world. In this, the fourth season, the writers began to deal with more challenging situations and there are some really heavy themes in this season. That said, this has to be the FUNNIEST season to date, also. At this point in the show, everything seemed to fit perfectly in place. The four leading ladies had become comfortable with thier characters (something that can take many seasons), the writers hit a high, the fashion was as fabulous as ever and the show was at it's commercial and artistic peak.
This 3-disc Boxset contains every episode from this excellent season. There are so many brilliant moments here, it would be difficult to pick a few. But the key points are Carrie's relationship with old flame Aiden, Miranda's pregnancy with ex-boyfriend Steve, Charlotte's marraige and it's eventual breakdown and Samantha's, well, Sam remains to be as controversial as ever - but that's why we loved her in the first place. As already mentioned, the heavier plots and storylines are perfectly balanced by the more comedic themes that exist throughout. Carrie and Aiden's argument (What did he expect, he wanted to get rid of her shoes! School boy error) in the episode "The Good Fight" has to be my favourite moment because it is just so true to life and is hillarious for it. There is also the first post 9/11 episode - the beautifully shot and written "I Heart NY" is, in places, shockingly relevant to the that terrible day in 2001 - It's probably one of the finest "Sex and the City" episodes ever, or, for that matter, of any long running American programme.
There are 18 fantastic episodes included in this boxset and they are episodes you'll watch and love over and over again if you're a fan of the show. If you haven't yet tasted the delights of "Sex and the City", the Season 4 boxset is a great way to introduce yourself to one of the best TV Shows ever made. If you're an established fan or a newbie to the series, this is one of the very best DVD Boxsets you can get and at such a bargain price you would have to be crazy not to take a fabulous trip to meet Carrie and her friends in the wonderful New York City - over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sexier than the city!, 11 Feb 2003
By 
H. Moore "Moore" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This series has got to be the best yet! Those who thought the writers had reached their peak - think again! Carrie and the sexy Aiden try to settle into a co-hab situation that ends up bringing Carrie out in a rash. Big and Aiden try to settle their differences for Carrie. Meanwhile Sam, fed up with men, decides to embark on a lesbian relationship with a painter, with hilarious results. After trying her hand at the lesbian game, to Sam's horror she finds herself falling for a hotel mogel, Richard, could it be love...? Charlotte and Trey try for a baby, with Bunny interferring, and Mirandas "sympathy shag" with Steve results with her getting pregnant - much to Charlotte and Miranda dismay. Have your tissues ready for the tear jerking end, no more Aiden, no more Big but a new baby is on the block. I love this series, it is a must have for all you Sex and the City fans and as always it leaves you wanting more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RUN don't walk to Amazon - buy this immediately!, 4 Nov 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Sex And The City: Series 4 [VHS] [1999] (VHS Tape)
From the first episode in this boxset - 'The Agony and the 'Ex'-tacy' where Carrie agonizes over the lack of men in her life and the 'horror' of turning 35, to the last episode, 'I Heart NY' where Miranda gives birth and Big leaves NY (hankies at the ready ladies) this show absolutely rocks! The intrepid foursome tackle everything from impotence to cancer to abortion with their usual wit, style and panache in this fabulous boxset which no hardcore fan should be without. Charlotte remains her prim self, while the other three ladies tackle the emotional aspects of life and love in the Big Apple - Carrie gets engaged to (then breaks up with) the GORGEOUS Aidan, Sam falls head-over-heels for the unnatainable hotel mogul Richard and Miranda sleeps with Steve and proceeds to give birth to his kid. Amazing performances, writing and direction make this a must-see for everyone, fans or not - it should find a way into everyones video collection.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Relevant and fun (and not just for girls), 25 Jun 2003
By 
Touring Mars (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
'Sex And The City' has proved itself over the last few years to one of the best shows to come out of the USA, and Series 4 does not let the side down one bit. Usually by this stage in the life of a show the storylines are becoming a bit predictable and stale, but somehow 'SITC' manages to stay fresh and new. Even without following the entire series, it is easy to get into this series as a stand-alone. Sure, there are some long-term storylines which pervade the episodes, but it is not difficult to pick them up.
This brilliantly written series is at times hilariously funny, and at times deeply affecting and relevant. Personally, I used to be quite skeptical of 'SITC' (being a man), and I must admit, some of the finer points of the series may well be lost on me (i.e. the fashion aspect). One major plus point about the series in general is that it doesn't come across as having been specifically written to cater solely for the 'girl's night in' audience, and is equally appealling to a male audience.
The four lead characters between them seem to have all the bases covered when it comes to possible attitudes and behaviour, and they are constantly being counterbalanced by each other and the men in their lives. Despite being a humorous and easy-going series, 'SITC' discusses relevant, personal and challenging issues. However, it manages to deal with them from the perspective of 'a problem shared is a problem halved', and shows how the characters overcome (or simply confront) their problems together.
The series looks great and is fun to watch, and leaves you feeling good. What more do you need?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best seasons., 5 April 2010
Dramatic and go-getting. Those are the words the first spring to mind when you think of Sex and the City, Season 4. And let me tell you, this season is a keeper. This collection of episodes in season 4 will have you riveted. I finished all 18 in one sitting to all hours of the morning. Buy this, watch this, fall in love with the series. Happy to say the legacy lives on with Sex and the City, the complete season 4 on dvd. What are you doing still reading this? Add to cart now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than a series, a religion!, 9 April 2009
By 
H. Carlton "autobiogfreak" (London, Eng.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Since being introduced to Sex & The City, my life has changed. It now divides into people who love the series and people who don't. If they love it, I feel I have discovered a fellow-addict, indeed someone who shares the same religion.
As witty as Oscar Wilde, the series simply gets better and better and better, and ends at its very peak.
Some of the half.hours can be favourably compared with the glossiest, wittiest, most elegant Hollywood movies. Writing, acting, photography becomes...by the last couple of series, the very best. I love Carrie, Miranda, Samantha and Charlotte. What is especially extraordinary is that every tiny bit-part is cast exactly right....a sales assistant in a shop, a waiter, a bankclerk, they are all the people of New York one sees at any visit. The girls' lives are real, touching and finally fairytale. What more could anyone want. To me this is the highest peak of entertainment ... witty, touching and with the added bonus of real wisdom behind the wit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab series!!, 29 Nov 2004
By A Customer
Fab series, I think it is the best so far. I'm yet to see 5 & 6 though but can't wait. Girls make sure you have your tissue's, there is some sad momments. Our 4 ladies have a couple of rough issue's to sort through. Definate keeper!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best DVD's I own, 21 Aug 2005
By 
Ms. C. Holmes "Cabbage" (Iver Heath) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is the first series of SatC I ever saw, on tv, then I had to go out and buy it! The day i got it I sat and watched the whole series in one go. The mood and feel that you get from watching this brilliant series makes you want to watch the next one and the next one and so on.
I love the characters and the sticky situations they get into. I cant wait till I get the other ones in a few days!
Buy it now, at this great price you cant go wrong!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A laugh a minute,really cheered me up a treat! Prompt delivery,good condition and as described. Will definately use again,top service!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this boxset., 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of the best series' ever!! I Love it so much and for the price, it is just brilliant. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sex And The City: Series 4 [VHS] [1999]
Sex And The City: Series 4 [VHS] [1999] by Sarah Jessica Parker (VHS Tape - 2002)
Used & New from: £1.36
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews