Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars this is not really horror
The reviewers who said "crap" & "oh dear" seem to treat the film rather unfairly just as the DPP treated the film abhorently. after 50 seconds of cuts and an extra 6 mins saved from the original Vipco release in the early 80's, the DPP finally allow the release of The Driller Killer a much maligned cult classic from Abel Ferrara (Ms. 45, Bad...
Published on 2 Jun. 2000 by david simpson

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Driller Killer- Drill out the tedium
As his life starts crumbling around him a struggling artist starts to lose his grip on reality and with his drill goes on a killing spree.

The movie that was almost certainly responsible for the whole video nasty period, thanks to a particularly lurid VIPCO cover image, is actually a deeply depressing indie psychological horror. There are several problems, the...
Published 2 months ago by L.J.F.64


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Driller Killer- Drill out the tedium, 12 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As his life starts crumbling around him a struggling artist starts to lose his grip on reality and with his drill goes on a killing spree.

The movie that was almost certainly responsible for the whole video nasty period, thanks to a particularly lurid VIPCO cover image, is actually a deeply depressing indie psychological horror. There are several problems, the deadening pace for long periods nothing seems to be happening just a lot of talk, the film is only 96 mins long but even that seems a good 20 mins too long, a lot of scenes are way too padded out. Ferrara plays the lead Reno OK but because he is virtually the whole story everything is dependant on him it needed someone like Keitel, Walken to take it on and give it far more depth. Carolyn Marz who plays his girlfriend Carol is by far the best in the film all the others are just below average. The characters are bland no-one apart from Carol really stands out, so you don't really care what happens to them. The story is a bit of a mess, for the first 70 mins or so it's all over the place and it is very difficult to keep interest in it and tedium does set in, the last 15-20 mins do improve slightly. There are a couple of OK things though, Ferrara does a competent job in the directors chair, for a grimey low-budget picture he does shoot it well and gets a decent feeling of New York in the late 70's, also the killing spree scenes, a 5 minute period towards the hour mark is probably the best part of it.

The overall the feeling of this one is how relentlessly depressing, unless you're in the mood this is a bit of a hard one to get through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Overall I was disappointed, 29 Mar. 2001
By A Customer
After hearing so much uproar about this film I thought I should see it. Infact I bought it. Now I'm wishing I hadn't. Poor acting on a storyline that deserved better. I was disappointed all round with this film. I was expecting gore by the minute, but hardly any materialised. I could not get settled into it and I had to watch it in two parts. It's certainly not a film I'd recommend if you want to be scared witless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars this is not really horror, 2 Jun. 2000
By 
david simpson (Maidenhead, Berkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
The reviewers who said "crap" & "oh dear" seem to treat the film rather unfairly just as the DPP treated the film abhorently. after 50 seconds of cuts and an extra 6 mins saved from the original Vipco release in the early 80's, the DPP finally allow the release of The Driller Killer a much maligned cult classic from Abel Ferrara (Ms. 45, Bad lieutenant). First saw this film on Channel 4 and again on FilmFour, this film is not really easy to pigeonhole. you could call it horror, a thriller, slasher movie, whatever.
despite the graphic violence it remains a compelling film and very much compared to Taxi Driver. My only complaint is that the punk rock music is immediately annoying but the suspense is very much will he, won't he. It could also be seen as a study of life under capitalism. How poverty can drive you beyond the insanity.
It never deserved to be banned in the first place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't believe the hype!, 20 Dec. 2001
By 
Craig Hale (Cheltenham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Right - let's make something clear: Abel Ferrara made this film on a budget that probably consisted of two coins; he played the main character himself (the credit went to a fictional actor called Jimmy Laine) and he filmed this movie with a bunch of mates, bad equipment and used locations that most of us would not use as a toilet, let alone film in.
That said and done, I believe the film to be a deeply faulted but respectable amature student film. The suckers that believed the hype and ran out and bought a copy, thinking that they were going to get a blood-laden, vein-bursting horror film will be deeply disappointed; what 'DrillerKiller' exposes is not brains, guts and blood, but lonliness, solitude, love, lust and hate. Of course these things are much cheaper than special effects and work on a higher level than the majority of people that fell for the film's title and the ridiculous ban the movie was given.
But, all that intellectual stuff aside, it's still fun to watch a bad actor run around NewYork putting a drill in a tramp's head.
So, all in all, don't expect nothing to good and snazzy. This ain't really a horror film. But if you want to see how one of the most daring directors of our generation got started this is a must see. For a movie buff such as myself, I found it worthwhile viewing - but if you think 'Lethal Weapon' or 'Top Gun' is the bee's knees, Man! don't buy it - you will be awfully disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars If you like artsy films, 13 April 2015
By 
Holly-Anne (Forres, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Driller Killer (Uncut) [DVD] (DVD)
Before purchasing this DVD, I had heard a lot about it, I mean, which horror fan hasn't? Especially a horror fan interested in 70s horror. It wasn't what I was expecting, I expected gore and kills around every corner but it wasn't like that. It had a slow build up which isn't always bad. It kept me in suspense about whether he was going to go through with his fantasies or not.

I would describe this as a psychological horror with a few gory moments. The moment that particularly got my horror interest tingling was the scene with the head kill. It was uncensored, bloody and just delightful horror.

I don't recommend this to anyone who wants a movie with non stop action and kills but for someone who wants to relax and to be taken on a trip into a man's insanity and frustration partly caused by a noisy band next door and an art dealer being displeased with his art.

It is worth a watch and well worth the purchase. For £1.78 one can't complain or whine about wasting money. Do your research on this first, watch some trailers and see how you feel about it. Oh and if punk rock playing almost constantly, you will love this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars You will more than likely be dissappointed!, 2 Mar. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Driller Killer (Uncut) [DVD] (DVD)
What can be said about this film that has'nt been said before? It's one of those (untill recently) rare 'video nasty' gems that everyone knows someone, who knows someone who owns a copy. But now we have no need to watch the grainy bootlegged versions anymore as we have it here fully restored and uncut. While all this may be good, it still don't make it a great film. Marking the talented Abel Ferras directorial debut, the 'Driller Killer' follows the story of a New York artist who is putting the finishing touches to his self-proclaimed 'Masterpiece'. While the painting is actually finished, he still feels its not. With the pressure of this and the troubles of having no money to pay the bills his girlfriend and her girlfrined are running up, it all gets too much for him. and to top it all off there is band practising upstairs at full volume in the late hours of the night. So our friend chooses to buy a power drill and take his frustration out on unsuspecting tramps and any other who he feels the need to drill!!!! When the killings do begin they seem very out of place. Come to think about it everything in this film seems out of place, it's like a horror/band documentary film with not a hell of a lot of plot. Sometimes i watch this film and like it, other times i really dislike it. It's a very original film with some good moments, overall it just lacks that certain bite which would make it great.
It first hit the UK shelves again in 1999, in a cut form. But it was NOT cut by the BBFC. The distibutor cut the now restored 54 seconds before submitting it to the BBFC, which i personally think the BBFC would have passed in 1999. More than likely a little cashing in scheme going on there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good film, good acting, crap picture quality, 21 Feb. 2003
By A Customer
The title of my review pretty much sums up this film.
Being a big fan of the late 70's/early 80's horror films I'm used to watching films with non-existant plots but Driller Killer is definitely one of the strongest I've come across. Here we get a reason for the madness going on on screen. However dedicating effort to a half decent plot seems to have detracted from the gore content. I must admit to being partial to a bit of gore so I was disappointed at the lack of it in this film (Maybe its the BBFC thats done this,I'll have to check out the recently released UNCUT version to see). When Reno does go drill happy we actually see very little, the only exception is the ONE head drill scene which is nicely done. Quite how this film became so notorious is beyond me, I've seen far far worse believe me.
Another point to note is the great performance of Abel Ferrara in the lead role. Its one of the best performances I've seen in a 'Video Nasty', maybe as he was the director too, he knew exactly what he wanted Reno to be like and the character is more believeable because of it. I started off the film thinking Reno was a bit of an arse but later on began to sympathise with him, his life has fallen apart and he's got nowhere to turn, poor chap. Still thats not a real excuse for going off on one with a cordless drill is it :)
The only bad side to this dvd is the god awful picture quality. It is honestly the worst I've ever seen and really detracted from a great film. I think I'll have to get the new uncut version as that reportedly has a much better picture.
All in all its a good film, i'd definitely recommend it to anyone who's a fan of the genre, and possibly to people who aint as well.
One last thing I wanna say- The final scene was genuinly scary for me, I wont spoil the film by saying what happens but it did really scare me which dont happen often!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TAKE IT FOR WHAT IT IS: A GREAT GRINDHOUSE THRILLER, 12 Nov. 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
THE MOVIE

Before Abel Ferrara, one of my favorite directors, made the excellent masterpieces MS. 45 and BAD LIEUTENANT he made DRILLER KILLER, a horror film with some psychological depth and one ultra gory head drilling scene which caused an outrage at that time (1979) and it was banned in many countries. Thankfully we can view it with different eyes today, as the violence in this film is nothing in comparison to what is passed uncut today.
DRILLER KILLER is not as great as his mentioned above masterpieces, but it's stylish and very well-made. Stars actor Ferrara in the lead (credited under the synonyme Jimmy Laine though). Don't be expecting a dumb slasher a la Jason, there is much more to this film than just mindless killings.
It's a cult classic!

THE DVD

Reviewed version: 2008 4 Digital Media UK DVD
Feature running time: 96 mins. (uncut)
Rating: R (MPAA) / 18 (BBFC)
Aspect Ratio: 4:3 (non-anamorphic)
Audio: English 2.0
Subtitles: NONE
Chapters: 8
Extras: Theatrical trailer, Commentary, Filmography
Region: 0

Poor picture and audio quality, but it gives it that "Grindhouse"-feel. I would have very much liked anamorphic widescreen. Extras are OK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Missing the point!!, 21 Mar. 2007
By 
Mr. Faron D. King (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Driller Killer (Uncut) [DVD] (DVD)
I really think a lot of the reveiws here are written by people expecting a gore movie, this isn't one, though the murders are gory. this is an "art" movie, quite literally! the point everyone seems to be missing is the fact that Reno kills the tramps and the wino's because that is what he fears he will become (we kill what we fear), the pressure of no money, the phone being cut off, the rent unpaid and unable to finish his painting. As Kim Newman (respected film critic and writer, particularly horror), Reno is the first psycho in films to be driven mad by his economic situation and as such is unique in horror films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars no makita, 4 April 2013
By 
P. J. Pyke (norwich uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
i gave it 5 stars because it was 100% better than i thought.the soundtrack had some great dirty guitar and for a low budget film a great soundtrack.i thought the film had a good feel of spaced out young people.in places i found it mildly erotic.the storyline is not bad at all for what is one of the first slasher type movie.all in all i enjoyed the film and now my curiosity
about this film over the years are fullfilled.dont know if anybodyelse noticed but only males were executed in this film.very unusual as horny women are the main targets.judge for yourself and watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Driller Killer (Uncut) [DVD]
The Driller Killer (Uncut) [DVD] by Abel Ferrara (DVD - 2005)
£1.84
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews