Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing video
This is surely one of the finest live videos ever released. It feautures some of Neil Young's greatest songs. Firstly Neil plays a few tracks acoustic including lovely versions of 'Sugar Mountain' and 'Comes a Time' and then brings out Crazy Horse for a tour-de-force electric set that includes 'Powderfinger','When You Dance' and awesome versions of 'Lotta Love' and 'Like...
Published on 24 Jan 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Hmm
Would advise sticking to the cd if I were you ... very dated grainy production as can be expected for the price .. unless you love Neil Young and the horse which I do, would like to see a good production of WELD
Published 20 months ago by Mr. M. E. Smith


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing video, 24 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This is surely one of the finest live videos ever released. It feautures some of Neil Young's greatest songs. Firstly Neil plays a few tracks acoustic including lovely versions of 'Sugar Mountain' and 'Comes a Time' and then brings out Crazy Horse for a tour-de-force electric set that includes 'Powderfinger','When You Dance' and awesome versions of 'Lotta Love' and 'Like a Hurricane'. The concert is set on a huge stage with giant musical equipment so it looks like just a young mans rock fantasy but the music speaks for itself. Superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 18 Oct 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Neil Young And Crazy Horse: Rust Never Sleeps [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
One of those "classics"!Looks like Neil Young taught Spinal Tap how to turn it up to eleven!!I was just about to buy the vhs being frustrated at the dvd not being available,then up it sprung.I got home and turned the lights low,turned the amp up.....then it took ages to get into it!The event looked great but the constant footsteps of the little jawa,s was a bit offputting.Afterwards i felt a bit ripped off,the quality was a bit fuzzy(i know its old but)then i watched it just by song selection instead of the whole movie and i got a much better feel for it.Well worth owning.A classic moment in history, some of his solos are unbelievable and the sound he makes with a 12string and harmonica is beautiful....he plugs it in and turns it up real good!!!!!A great dvd and im very happy with it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Neil at his peak, 25 May 2006
By 
demeni (Gloucestershire) - See all my reviews
What would you do if the world as you knew it had just come to an end? That's what the dinosaurs of rock faced in 1977 when the storm that was Punk swept in. Do you run and hide or do you join in and embrace it. Neil Young joined in when most ran and this is the result. Maybe not in the first acoustic part of this concert but it's there in Welfare Mothers and Sedan Delivery for example. Based on Johnny Rotten's 'it's better to burn out cause rust never sleeps' comment, Neil fuses old rock and new punk and comes up with Grunge although it wouldn't be called that for quite a while. This is the record of one of those rare moments in history when everything comes together perfectly. This is a seminal moment and needs to be preserved for posterity - it's that good. Buy it. You will not regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars neil, 12 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
play this all the time, have revisted since recent tour gig
good mix of folky & rock with alltime fave cortez the killer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you're a fan of neil then you're a fan of this dvd!, 30 Mar 2006
By 
N. Turner "lufc_spaceman" (Harrogate, North Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Although I am a bit of a Neil Young nut, this isn't clouding my judgement - this dvd is great! I am a fan of most of his work from his solo stuff to his work with crazy horse and buffalo springfield. The dvd starts well with two of my favourites sugar mountain and i am a child which are both beautiful acoustic renditions before playing most of Rust Never Sleeps. He also plays some classics - Cortez the killer, Like a Hurricane, When you dance, After the goldrush - these are all amazing. The only flaw is the floornoise everytime anyone walks across the stage you hear it but this isn't noticeable during any songs. The set of the dvd is as you would expect from Neil (getting into a sleeping bag on stage??!!!) and I'm not sure bout the stage hands - why are they dressed like the KKK? If you don't know what I'm on about buy the dvd - you won't regret it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rust Never Sleeps is a masterpiece!, 23 Dec 2003
This review is from: Neil Young And Crazy Horse: Rust Never Sleeps [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This concert from 1978 is something else and, from the opening solo acoustic set to the Crazy Horse accompanied electric numbers, Neil is in great form and the track list reads like a best of. The opening bars of When you Dance, Cinammon Girl and The Loner will have you jumping around your living room-this DVD is a must for all Neil fans, in fact it's a must for all music fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Like a pantomime, 9 Nov 2008
By 
Gizmophobic - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I'd forgotten I'd seen this on its release so was pleasantly reminded of a
pretty bizarre show. Musically its very good. I've never cared too much for Sedan Delivery and even less so for Welfare mothers but Shaky is relatively concise and economical here compared to later electric thrashes-hard to fault the rest of the songs, acoustic or electric.
The 'theatrical' aspect of it is best skipped through-The 'Roadeyes'-got to be the worst pun I've heard for some time- may be based on Star Wars characters as one reviewer suggests, but basically we have roadies dressed in habits with lights for eyes-think 'Lord of the rings' black riders but with hobbits inside the costumes-at one point they reenact the raising of the flag at Iwo Jima-but with a giant microphone instead..think I'm kidding? One of the few extras is a replica of the stage directions-e.g. Roadeyes bring out giant tuning fork-make tone-leave stage!
Its a tribute to Young that the quality of his set that we can have a laugh at this and still enjoy the music. He and Crazy horse are in fine form and seem unaffected by the 4th form production.
On the down side it looks like a VHS transfer and has little variation of shot. Still if you like the music that's all you need-incidentally I paid £6 at Fopp-maybe that's softened my view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Hmm, 14 April 2013
By 
Mr. M. E. Smith "Chaos13" (Teignm outh, Devon UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Would advise sticking to the cd if I were you ... very dated grainy production as can be expected for the price .. unless you love Neil Young and the horse which I do, would like to see a good production of WELD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crank it up to 11........., 19 July 2005
By 
Gary McCall (Chelmsfrod, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Neil Young And Crazy Horse: Rust Never Sleeps [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This is a brilliant concert. The noise that Young and Crazy Horse make is amazing. But the noise that Young makes on his own is mesmerizing. Even when playing just an acoustic and harmonica he gets the hairs standing up.
Picture quality is not brilliant but its the sound and electric atmosphere that you remember once you have watched this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Untamed!, 15 Sep 2010
By 
T. Blackburn (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a profoundly impressive and powerful live show, the like of which I have rarely encountered since. It will blow you away with its production and its sheer energy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Neil Young And Crazy Horse: Rust Never Sleeps [DVD] [2003]
Used & New from: £6.48
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews