Customer Reviews


119 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DANGEROUSLY ADDICTIVE
After the headstart made by Kelly Rowland, Miss Beyonce Knowles has made a speedy catch up with this amazing debut, containing previous hit singles 'Work It Out' and 'Bonnie And Clyde 03', and has spawned the smash number one single 'Crazy In Love'. So what's the album like then?
'Crazy In Love' is an absolutely amazing track, the only word that can describe it is,...
Published on 22 July 2003 by tomkatz4

versus
16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don’t believe da hype:
Shes got the body, the voice, she can move, shes beautiful and my dream woman.
The song “Crazy in Love” gets you moving, it makes me want to get up and do the Butt dance with her. its got good beats and is the first song on her Album.
So I was expecting the rest of the song on the album to be similar. But personally it was a BIG let down. Despite...
Published on 5 Aug 2003 by aby


‹ Previous | 1 2 312 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Misleading Adventure, 4 Aug 2003
By 
Claude d'Avegnon (Horsham, Sussex, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dangerously in Love (Audio CD)
I totally agree about what was said about this album being boring.
When the single came out a few weeks ago, I thought 'Wow, that sounds brilliant' so I decided to get the album, thinking that it was going to be 16 hot summery jazzy beats. You can imagine my surprise when 13 of the tracks were dead boring, slow, monotonous and un-imaginative.
If you like this style, then it's perfect for you. But I feel that it was quite improper of the record company to sell the album after just a couple singles, which are completely different. I somewhat regret not taking it back. Oh well, I'm short of tea coasters!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Riding on Crazy In Love, 18 Jun 2008
By 
Austen (Cornwall, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dangerously in Love (Audio CD)
Surprising myself, I bought this album after only one song...and was disappointed. Sure, "Crazy in Love" was undoubtdly a hit of the summer and I was counting on the rest of the albumto be of the same calibre.Wrong.

In my opinion the only decent tracks are the first four, "Crazy in Love", "Naughty Girl", "Baby Boy" etc and the last two, "Work it Out" and "Bonnie and Clyde '03". The rest can be skipped on account of being dreary,oversickly and pointless("Signs" particularly). Nowhere near as great as the Destiny's Child "Survivor" album. Let's hope "B'Day" is better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BOOTYLICIOUS, 2 Jan 2005
By 
B. Deacon "Truelips" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dangerously in Love (Audio CD)
1. Crazy In Love (Featuring Jay-Z)10/10 This song just makes you wanna get up and shake your booty. (BOOTYLICIOUS!)
2. Naughty Girl 9/10 Love this song, she is trying to send a message to all the gals, saying just be a naughty girla nd you guy will love you for it!
3. Baby Boy (Featuring Sean paul) 10/10 They both make fantastic singing partbers, this song is AMAZING. Love the video. Be's voice is really powerful on this song.
4. Hip Hop Star (Featuring Big Boi and Sleepy Brown) 7/10 I love the beat and rapping by the boy's. Be's voice is quite soft in this song. Not the best!
5. Be With You 8/10 This is a slow and sassy song, it's really catchy.
6. Me Myself & I 10/10 My favourite song on the CD. Love the lyrics and the meaning to it.
7. Yes 10/10 Love this, love the beat. Yes, Yes, Yes
8. Signs (Featuring Missy Elliot)10/10 Good Calloboration. I like how they talk about all of the star signs.
9. Speechless 8/10 Nice smooth ballad, lyrics are very thoughful.
10. That's how you like it (Featuring Jay-Z) 9/10 They both sound excellent, and make a great couple, not a bad song. Also LOVe Jay0Z rap on it, AMAZING!
11. The closer i get to you ( Duet with Luther Vandross) 7/10Sound's like a ballad from the 60's. Love it. Luther sounds da bomb! Although a bit slow ans dreary.
12. Dangerously in love 2 8/10 Touching words, good song Beyonce puts her heart into this song.
13. Beyonce Interlude 10/10, very touching words for such a short speech!
14. Gift from Virgo 4/10 a very bad song i have to say, the worst song on the album, extremly dull and boring, skip that one.
15. Work it out 9/10 Love the song, her voice potrays the song really well
16. Bonnie and Clyde 01 ( with Jay-Z) 10/10 One of my fav song's on the album. Her best song with Jay-Z, love the video.
Overall very good album, i would give it 5 stars, but i didn't give every song 10/10. Overall as an album i would give it 8/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BeYoNcE DeBuT iS bRiLL !!!!, 28 Oct 2004
This review is from: Dangerously in Love (Audio CD)
The brains behind Destiny's Child gives her debut album, and its more than I expected!! I have only one slight disappointment with this album: The amount of ballads! Don't get me wrong - i think hte ballads are lovely, its just that up tempo songs are much better!
CRAZY IN LOVE= This was the summer song of 2003 and no matter how many times you listen to it, it never gets boring! 10/10
NAUGHTY GIRL= OK. Its catchy, but takes a while to get used to. 8/10
BABY BOY= Very Good. Its got a Middle-Eastern feel to it and great vocals from Sean Paul 9/10
HIP HOP STAR= This is my fave. Its funky and great to dance to! 10/10
BE WITH YOU= This is where the album slows down. This is a good slow-jam song! Great to sway your arms to. 9/10
ME MYSELF AND I= Brill! Its a mid-tempo song about being your own best friend. 10/10
YES= The best ballad on the album. Its funky and sassy! 10/10
SIGNS= Its OK! Its a bit repetitve but still good. 8/10
SPEECHLESS= Sorry but it sounds like it was written in 2 mins. Its repetitve and effortless. 7/10
THATS HOW YOU LIKE IT= EXCELLENT! Its really funky and catchy! 10/10
THE CLOSER I GET TO YOU= This is sooooo good! Luther and Bey sound great together. 9/10
DANGEROUSLY IN LOVE 2= Same as the original. The continuous amount of adlibs at the end ruins it. 7/10
BEYONCE INTERLUDE= Its 13 secs long, no music, but lovely words. 9/10
GIFT FROM VIRGO= The worst. A bit boring and dull. 6/10
WORK IT OUT= Her 1st single. Its jazzy, funky and brill! 9/10
BONNIE AND CLYDE 03= Fantastic. Really chilled and laid back. 9/10
This is a must-have album and definitely worth the money. Tracks to skip straight to are:
*Hip Hop Star
*Crazy In Love
*Thats How You Like It
*Yes
*Me Myself And I
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars someone worthy of the title superstar, 19 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Dangerously in Love (Audio CD)
Beyonce proves on this album that she truly is a superstar and really shows off her vocal ability. Beyonce proves that she is here 2 stay in one of the RnB albums of last year. Many have criticized this album for having many slow songs but i think it is goos b coz it is showing that Beyonce can pull of more than just uptempo numbers. Listen 2 this album without any bias and listen 2 it as an album how does the fact that an album is filled with slow songs make it a bad album? In all honesty it is a great album tho i do think that "Stripped" was better tho technically that was released in 2002 so i would probably say that this album is my fave from 2003. Everythin uve heard about Beyonce. A superstar, a soulful diva, well all of this and more is proven on her debut solo album. i also have 2 commend her on the fact that she proves she can make it on her own without the help of the other members of DC and i also think that it is good that she has proven her critics wrong by coming back when every1 said that Kelly Rowland had stolen her crown and absolutely stormed the airwaves. Kelly Rowland is good i do like her but i have 2 say that she is not in league with Beyonce because this album is classy.
Beyonce is aiming for class with this album and you know what she achieves it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Quite "Dangerous," but Not Half-Bad, Either., 31 Jan 2004
By 
Burjiz (Schaffhausen, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dangerously in Love (Audio CD)
I never wanted to do this, but I feel compelled to give Beyonce Knowles some credit. A few years back, we gave her hell for being the stuck-up princess in Destiny's Child, but she ignored the haters and smartly turned herself into a one-lady institution. Burning the candle at both ends under a tight schedule, Beyonce has done modeling, acting, and now she's finally released the solo album we all knew was coming: "Dangerously in Love." The album is sporadically successful in presenting a mature Knowles, but the material doesn't always deliver on its promise to be a powerhouse r&b record. The disc falters mainly on the uptempo tunes, many of which just don't kick. "Naughty Girl" falls flat even as it borrows the groove from Donna Summer's "Love to Love You Baby;" "Baby Boy" is dumbed-down dancehall fluff featuring reggae flavor du jour Sean Paul, and "Hip Hop Star" with Sleepy Brown and Big Boi lacks both the hip and hop to make it remotely danceable. "Dangerously in Love" improves on the ballads which make the best use of Beyonce's voice. You can't say "no" to the seductive groove of "Yes" while Missy Elliott guests on the solid "Signs." And she shows that she can hold her own against an r&b veteran like Luther Vandross on their cover of "The Closer I Get to You." But the album's best track is "Speechless," a slow jam inspired by the old school that's so smokin' it almost saves the rest of the album. "Dangerously in Love" is ultimately spotty and weighed down by too many subpar tracks, but there's enough material to prove that she does have potential when paired with the right collaborators (she co-produced much of the album herself). On a scale of 1 to 10, I'd give it a 6.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Innovative strong debut, but long way still to go., 29 Jan 2004
By 
Leo4Neo-Soul (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dangerously in Love (Audio CD)
Now-a-days R&B records are homogenous. They address the same themes, contain the same musical instruments/beats and are produced by the same old celebrity music producers. So essentially you would predict Beyonce's first solo effort to be the same as her fellow R&B starlets.
But surprisingly Beyonce does something completely individual, she delivers what she promises: a classical R&B record. Combining her illustrious talents learnt from working on Destiny's Child, with the talents of celebrity and fresh new producers, they create a state-of-the-art R'n'B record, that sounds one part futuristic, one part modern and one part '60s soul.
Ranging musically from reggae 'Baby Boy', to rock/funk 'Hip-Hop Star' (noticeably influenced by Outkast's Big Boi) to the slick computerized R&B of 'Be With You'.
Her vocals are also splendid here, and range from a sexy provocative tone on 'Speechless' to a teenage yelling blissfully on the album's intro: 'Crazy In Love'.
Beyonce also covers a variety of themes on this record. From an emotional ode to her 'Daddy', to female empowerment on 'Me, myself & I' and 'Yes', to ineffable love with the title track.
Album highlights include: the very very very sexy and special 'Speechless', the intelligent and cute Missy Elliott created ode to the zodiac 'Signs'. 'Yes', and the very emotional 'Dangerously In Love 2'.
Though this album reveals how much Ms Knowles has come from 'No, no, no', she still has a long way ahead of her if she wants to reach her full potential. Also though this album is innovative, different and special, some tracks do fall near mediocre. So Beyonce next time you should concentrate on perfecting 20 songs instead of 45!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST HAVE!!, 20 Dec 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Dangerously in Love (Audio CD)
I love it! This album encorporates some great r'b beats with beyonce's soulful voice ( which i personally feel is not emphasised enough in this album!! ) It includes the captivating 'Crazy in Love' and 'Baby Boy'-if you like those two then you'll love the album. I especially recommend that you listen out for the hidden track (15) which is just beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dangerously In Love, 13 Aug 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Dangerously in Love (Audio CD)
Beyonce has been a great hit ever since the band, 'Destiny's Child'. She has proven to be talented and a great leader and has now made an attempt to go solo- this is it.
OK, so it isn't great, but I don't regret buying it. Overall, Beyonce's talent is shown, especially on songs like 'The Closer I Get To You' (a duet with Luther Vandross). However, a great voice and image aren't the only things you need to produce a successful album. The songs have to be good too!
The newly released song, 'Crazy In Love' featuring Jay-Z is great and as are her past releases, 'Work It Out' (the soundtrack for Goldmember) and '03 Bonnie & Clyde' featuring Jay-Z. All of the other songs are fairly average though there are a few catchy songs and a few ballads that you may be interested in.
I would only recommend this album to you if you are a Beyonce fan then maybe you'll appreciate the talent. It is not as bad as people make out so if you want it then don't hesitate to buy it. There are some tracks that I listen to over and over!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The independent woman strikes out on her own., 25 July 2003
This review is from: Dangerously in Love (Audio CD)
Beyonce has a beautiful voice and is well bootylicious in general but i was slightly let down by her album. There aren't a lot of destiny's child style songs so i didn't feel empowered after listening to it.
But having said that Beyonce is out to shed the butter wouldn't melt image and let the world know that at 21 she is now an independent woman in the truest sense of the word.
There are certain songs that had me cringing as Beyonce whines "Undress me!" and a lot of the people she has duetted with well the coupling suprised me. It seems with this album Beyonce is out to prove something and i'm not sure if it's to the world or to her parents.hmm. Worth a listen if your a fan though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 312 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dangerously in Love
Dangerously in Love by Beyonce (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews