Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice N Sleazy
The story..Crooked garage workers Alex (David Hess) and Ricky (Giovanni Lambardo Radice) help fix the car of a rich couple and invite themselves along to their party. It becomes clear that the rich party hosts are just bored and looking for laughs at the expense of the two underclass guests. When the tension is finally broken Alex takes them all hostage and begins to have...
Published on 17 Sep 2007 by J.M. "The Phantom"

versus
17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars USA wins on this film
House on the edge of the park is a very shocking and disturbing film including rapes,gross language and a lot of pissing round. Vipco UK release is cut by 11minutes 42seconds by the BBFC which removed or heavily edited all the assaults by David Hess on the women. It's better buying the US DVD which is uncut and understand how sick these guys are.
Great film but vipco...
Published on 3 April 2006 by Anthony


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars USA wins on this film, 3 April 2006
House on the edge of the park is a very shocking and disturbing film including rapes,gross language and a lot of pissing round. Vipco UK release is cut by 11minutes 42seconds by the BBFC which removed or heavily edited all the assaults by David Hess on the women. It's better buying the US DVD which is uncut and understand how sick these guys are.
Great film but vipco has a problem of releasing a lot of cut films which is very disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice N Sleazy, 17 Sep 2007
This review is from: House on the Edge of the Park [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
The story..Crooked garage workers Alex (David Hess) and Ricky (Giovanni Lambardo Radice) help fix the car of a rich couple and invite themselves along to their party. It becomes clear that the rich party hosts are just bored and looking for laughs at the expense of the two underclass guests. When the tension is finally broken Alex takes them all hostage and begins to have his own idea of fun with them.
Ruggero Deodato's follow up to the classic "Cannibal Holocaust" is a nasty little horror/thriller. It is, however, a good well shot film and David Hess as Alex seems to revel in playing the bad guy ( think Krug from "Last house on the left"). Most of the film is set in the house so you have a really good claustrophobic feel to proceedings as events spiral out of control. Make no mistake though "House on the edge of the Park" is an incredibly sleazy film and director Ruggero Deodato shows us once again how he can make genuinely full on films like few others of his era. The film contains little actual gore but you get beatings aplenty and cruel moments of humiliation, torture and rape. Special mention has to be made to Riz Ortolani's sleazy score and cheesy disco music that'll have you humming well after the films ended. I also have to say that do not under any circumstances buy the U.K release by Vipco as it's cut by over 11 minutes!
I recommend this to all fans of the genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A classic film, 22 Feb 2011
By 
P. Lockwood (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I watched this film uncut for the first time recently. Compared to modern standards it is tame and does not warrant the 12 minutes cut by the BBFC. If you like Italian horror from the eighties, you know what to expect. David Hess is fabulous and is reprising his role from Last House On The Left - 3 Disc Ultimate Edition (Uncut) [1972] [DVD]. The rest of the acting is varied but the plot is sound and the ending very surprising. Would recommend for any fan of Video Nasties but not anyone looking for gore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Me Rambling as Usual, 5 Oct 2009
By 
Cactus (Reading, Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
At last, some dodgy acting, dodgy dubbing, a dubious, sleazy plot and some gratuitous violence; and worst of all some seriously bad 70's music in the soundtrack; the dancing at the start of the party scene was especially cringworthy. I think it was made in English but then different voices were dubbed over the actors own ones as they spoke with Italian accents and it's meant to take place in New York. I think the uncut version is still technically banned in the UK; whether this has something to do with the music or its violent content (which compared with more modern films I don't think is that explicit, although what's being done isn't very nice), I'm not sure. Anyway, the baddie gets his comeuppance and the film is worth seeing just for his slow motion scream when he falls into the swimming pool; I guess I'd scream too if I'd just been shot in the balls. Watch it if you want to see a good example of 70's sleeze, terrible hairstyles, dreadful shirts, medallions and people being beat up, raped and cut with a razor. Have to say that I didn't warm to any of the characters in it. There were far too many, "why don't they just do" moments in it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not even 1 star !!!!, 13 Jun 2011
Another one torn to ribbons by the utter idiots at the bbfc who still seem to believe that adults in the UK need to be monitored and treated like children, European and USA versions are intact so forget this and go for one of those.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A surprisingly good exploitation thriller, 16 Nov 2005
By 
Apparently this edition of the film (vipco's screamtime collection) is cut by eleven minutes, so i don't know if i can congratulate Ruggero Deodato on his restraint from sleaze and extreme violence in this film, or whether it is (for once) good censorship editing from the BBFC. Either way, the edition i have seen was a surprisingly good and powerful thriller.
I expected it to be very similar to Wes Craven's 'Last House on the Left' and in many ways it is, but it is considerably better than Craven's equally infamous but appalling film. It has a 'point' factor and although obviously badly acted by many of those involved is a genuinely worthwhile film experience.
The film follows the demonic Alex (played gloriously OTT by David Hess- who usually plays the demented knife wielding rapist maniac) a charismatic mechanic and his mildly retarded friend. The film begins with a nasty but mercifully brief and off screen rape and murder of a young girl by Alex who then returns to his garage and prepares to go out nightclubbing with his friend. When a young couple turn up requiring an urgent job on the car they mention a party they are going to. Alex ceases the opportunity of a party by exchanging a car repair for an invitation along.
At the party Alex gropes and fondles a teasing and ultimately patronising middle class girl who leads him into the shower, prepares for sex, and then sneaks out to his annoyance. Meanwhile, the friend is being made a fool of by the other party members- a snobby group of young yuppies, who make him dance and strip to his underpants. Furthermore they rob him of his money in a game of poker to Alex's further annoyance.
Soon the party changes when Alex turns vicious with the snobbish yuppies and beats one into a pulp before wielding his razor blade. What follows is a malevolent descent into violent madness as the rich kids are held hostage and Alex's friend plays along (a little unsurely) to his sadistic games. Alex almost forces his friend to rape one of the girls but the guy cannot do it. He beats more people up, laughs and jokes, and takes things way too far. Eventually Alex is defeated by the people he has humiliated and abused and killed.
The plot is obviously violent and deeply antosocial but Deodato makes the film a twisting and turning and gut churning experience. David Hess introduces a venomous charm to his role- a charcoal black and ridicoulas humour that relieves some of the unbearable tension and makes it thankfully implausible. Deodato puts the rich kids in a very negative light before Alex's razor blade games begin which have us on his side for a small while- they seem to be getting what they deserve.
The retarded friend is presented as a victim of Alex's wrath and a confused tag along and a brief sub plot of romance (however implausible and erotically digressing it is) with one of the rich girls is quite endearing and a small light in the immoral tangle of characters.
Ruggero Deodato has crafted a very good exploitation thriller here that may be difficult for some to stomach but those familiar with his other works and the video nasties should enjoy it. It is more intelligent than a lot of cheap exploitation films in its shifting perspectives and its exploration of the retarded friend, and is interesting in its cold lack of 'good vs. evil' at some points.
Alex is a ridicoulasly overblown character- like Jack Nicholson in The Shining and should not be taken too seriously (hardly the Alex of Clockwork Orange) but his portrait of extreme sadism is both shocking and grimly humorous. A classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Gives exploitation films a bad name, 4 May 2003
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
You know a movie is awful when a sick and twisted rapist is the least annoying character in the film. House on the Edge of the Park may not be the worst movie in the world, but it comes pretty close. It’s an exploitation film with no redeeming values whatsoever, and I for one do not like the fact that it is sometimes passed off as a horror film. The action opens with a man forcing a woman’s car off the road, then raping and killing her. Then we follow a young couple taking a shortcut through town on their way to a little get-together with friends. When the engine starts sounding a little funny, they end up at a parking deck which is somehow also supposed to be a garage, and none other than our rapist Alex (played pretty convincingly by David Hess) happens to be the guy in charge. He and his mentally challenged buddy invite themselves along to the “party” and end up terrorizing, beating up, and raping a group of smarmy rich kids. There is really nothing too graphic about any of it, and I can’t really see why the UK forbids this movie in its complete form from being sold there. I have seen the complete movie, and I can’t for the life of me figure out how anyone could find one minute, let alone eleven minutes, of material to censor. This film’s disturbing and rather sick, but I’ve seen worse. What makes it so bad in this case is the fact that it goes on for over an hour. The moviemakers try to sneak in a little surprise at the end, but this final plot point borders on the ludicrous and does little to explain many facets of the whole ordeal. I do not oppose this type of exploitation movie on principle; House on the Edge of the Park is just a very, very bad movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So so, 28 July 2010
This is not a great film but in the same respect it's not bad as the story goes it's about two guys who gate crash a house party everything starts off fine until things change when the main villain (David Hess) decides to change the tempo of the party by beating,cutting and humiliating the hosts of the party this film is a bit slow at starting but ends with quite a good twist.
If you are thinking of buying this film I recommend this version as the uk release is cut by 11minutes and 23 seconds
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very pleased with this edition only took a few days to ..., 14 July 2014
Very pleased with this edition only took a few days to come and at a great price aswell. I had the cut version that Vipco released years ago and its cut to pieces, this German import is completely uncut its great to finally watch this classic restored to its full glory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars shredded ! BBFC is a Mary Whitehouse legacy, 1 April 2014
I feel embarrassed for the BBFC in this day an age. They truly are a legacy of Mary Whitehouse, who set back the UK culturally 30 years.

They should abide by their remit and classify not censor, this movie was a damp squib compared to the uncut version you as a Adult have the right to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

House on the Edge of the Park [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
Used & New from: 20.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews