Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another excellent 'qatsi' composition
This is pure nectar. I think it is better than KOYAANISQATSI (which I think is brilliant). If you are a fan of the Cello this is for you. The pieces vary from soulful relaxation to head-nodding liveliness. Listening to this album led me to purchase the 'Qatsi' film trilogy. If you have never watched a non-dialogue film with amazing imagery and music try these - it is...
Published on 25 Oct 2005 by Carl Horrocks

versus
51 of 54 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not great
The final part in the Philip Glass/Godfrey Reggio 'Qatsi' trilogy has been one of the most awaited works among Glass fans for the last decade, but unfortunately it comes as something of a disappointment. After the unforgettable and groundbreaking electronic soundscape of of 'Koyaanisqatsi' and the ethnic hybrid of 'Powaqqatsi', 'Naqoyqatsi' sounds, well, ordinary. Most of...
Published on 20 Jan 2003 by Mr. Warren M. Fisher


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another excellent 'qatsi' composition, 25 Oct 2005
By 
Carl Horrocks (High Wycombe, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Naqoyqatsi (Audio CD)
This is pure nectar. I think it is better than KOYAANISQATSI (which I think is brilliant). If you are a fan of the Cello this is for you. The pieces vary from soulful relaxation to head-nodding liveliness. Listening to this album led me to purchase the 'Qatsi' film trilogy. If you have never watched a non-dialogue film with amazing imagery and music try these - it is worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 54 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not great, 20 Jan 2003
By 
Mr. Warren M. Fisher (East Grinstead, West Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Naqoyqatsi (Audio CD)
The final part in the Philip Glass/Godfrey Reggio 'Qatsi' trilogy has been one of the most awaited works among Glass fans for the last decade, but unfortunately it comes as something of a disappointment. After the unforgettable and groundbreaking electronic soundscape of of 'Koyaanisqatsi' and the ethnic hybrid of 'Powaqqatsi', 'Naqoyqatsi' sounds, well, ordinary. Most of the music is forgettable and can slot anywhere into the background of Glass's canon. Like some of his work, it saddens me to say, this sounds like Glass just going through the motions.
After the groundbreaking musical pallettes of the first two parts of the trilogy, this is strangely conventional. I understand Glass's reasoning behind the warmth of an acoustic orchestra to juxtapose the harshness of Reggio's images of war, but that doesn't make the listening experience any more memorable. With war and militarism the filmic landscape I perhaps expected the pounding percussion of 'Mishima', or the haunting, blasted clarion call of 'Hamburger Hill'. Instead we get the standard flat orchestral appegios thrumming endlessly to little effect.
There are moments of beauty and power scattered through the 77 minutes, especially in the opening and closing pieces (Naqoqatsi & Definition), the latter particularly affecting in its use of the beat of the human heart. However they are not enough.
Please buy this if you are like me a Glass fan, and own the first two 'Qatsi' soundtracks, but don't expect to be excited or moved. Compared to other music this is still wonderful stuff, but compared to Glass's best it falls short, and after the 'Koyaanisqatsi' and 'Powaqqatsi' it is just a little disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a concert soundtrack, 4 Nov 2010
By 
This review is from: Naqoyqatsi (Audio CD)
If the soundtrack of Naqoyqatsi and the The Godfather III have something in common, it is that although many people had expected the quality of the trilogy to decrease, it certainly does not. Koyaanisqatsi was a monumental soundtrack, archetypical one might even say, and Powaqqatsi which was released five years later could not possibly disappoint either.
And then, we had to wait for 14 years and even though the movie is said to be less convincing, the Glass soundtrack again hits target. Less synthesizer sounds this time nor indigenous instruments or world music, but an orchestra and a sublime Yo-Yo Ma playing the cello. Sometimes you can hear Mr Ma play solo, as is the case Old World, New World and to some extent in The Vivid Unknown. On other occasions the dialogue with the orchestra leads to fireworks (Intensive Time) while in Media Weather I was reminded of the beautiful/lyrical second movement of the first violin concerto.
I could go on and tell about the mathematical beauty of Primacy of Number or the restrained tragedy to be heard in Massman, but rather than reading this review you should order this soundtrack asa, which is far more a concert really (and in that sense even better than Philip Glass' official cello concert with Julian Lloyd Webber)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful piece of glas, 27 Oct 2013
By 
M. D. Frampton "Pachacuti" (Newton Abbot. Peru.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Naqoyqatsi (Audio CD)
An iconic work, ,reflective, progressive and moving. A kaleidoscope of concatenate musical colours, meaningfully expressive.. Phillip Glass at his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Complete, 30 July 2013
By 
Ad Arma "Ad Arma" (Holland, (Les Pays Bas)) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Naqoyqatsi (Audio CD)
With nagoyqatsi the series is complete.
Yo-Yo found the essence and rythm, diction and flow.
Music to close the eyes by..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Philip Glass at his best, 17 Feb 2011
By 
Philip Crocker "freelife" (Dorset UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Sublime and perfect, easily on a par with Koyaanisqotsi, the movie Naqoyqatsi for which this music was composed, is the third of the Qatsi trilogy and is a mesmerizing portrayal of digital and manipulated film set to this wonderful music without dialogue. i particularly love the first sequence and the reference to the tower of Babel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rethink our life and west civilization, 17 Aug 2003
Philip Glass has again stuned its audience by providing music to challenge our foundations of living and the values of our "great" civilization.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A moving finale, 11 April 2004
This review is from: Naqoyqatsi (Audio CD)
You will be moved by this soundtrack. With Yo-Yo Ma's extraordinary cello Glass breaks the mould of his first two Qatsi tracks by focusing on a single instrument. Yet by reprising the first two in tantalising thematic glimpses he reminds us that this is a denouement, a rounding off of a film and music synergy that has spanned 20 years. Twenty years that took us from the chilling times of Cold War and superpower arms races to a new global threat -- that of terror and of politicians who manipulate public reaction to achieve foreign policy goals. Life as War in 2004? "War is Peace" in "1984". The music is beautiful - the message stark.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Naqoyqatsi
Naqoyqatsi by Yo-Yo Ma (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews