Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A long time coming but well worth the wait!
The wait is finally over, and for my patience i was justly rewarded! As soon as you hear the first strains of street fighting man you praise the wonders of digital remastering technology! The track listings really do speak for themselves and Licks pales Jump Back into insignificance. The two CDs really are what it says on the label - the definitive Stones collection. With...
Published on 2 Oct 2002

versus
24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars We miss you, Brian...
Criticising the Stones is almost impossible, so I'll attempt to confine myself to an objective assessment of this product. Disc 1 is gorgeous - an hour or so that provides you with a near-perfect guide to just why we listen to rock, fantastically crisp remasters of the Stones from their beginnings as a blues band via their flirtation with the dark side to the end of the...
Published on 11 Nov 2002


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A long time coming but well worth the wait!, 2 Oct 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Forty Licks (Audio CD)
The wait is finally over, and for my patience i was justly rewarded! As soon as you hear the first strains of street fighting man you praise the wonders of digital remastering technology! The track listings really do speak for themselves and Licks pales Jump Back into insignificance. The two CDs really are what it says on the label - the definitive Stones collection. With early classics from the London Years of the band - Get Offa My Cloud, Satisfaction, Jumpin Jack Flash and Sympathy for the Devil - its worth buying just to be able to listen to these sounding better than they did first time around!
Combine these with other rock master tunes no stones fan is without - Start Me Up, Brown Sugar, It's Only Rock n Roll to name a very few, and then mix with the new offerings from the greatest rock band ever to walk the planet (I personally reccommend Keef's track Losing My Touch - the last word of the album and boy does he put it well!). Overall the best of the best of the best from the cream of rock and roll, sounding better than ever (if that's possible!) A DEFINITE must have for any respected fan, but also for anyone who doesn't remember it all first time around! Just one word of warning - get those air guitars tuned - it's infectiously rocky! Bring on the UK tour!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Meet some men of wealth and fame, 30 Dec 2006
This review is from: Forty Licks (Audio CD)
Rolling Stones are quite simply one of the most famous and influential bands ever, up there with The Beatles, Pink Floyd etc. If, like me, you are interested in them, then get this. It spans their entire career (well, up to 2002) from their '60s heyday when they churned out such classics as 'Satisfaction' and 'Sympathy For The Devil' to the '00s when they churned out such classics as 'Don't Stop'. If you get just one Rolling Stones album, then get this. All the songs here are brilliant, and I mean that.

Of course, there are rock 'n' roll classics such as 'Satisfaction', 'Jumpin' Jack Flash, 'Honky Tonk Woman' and 'Brown Sugar', but their softer songs, such as 'Gimme Shelter' and 'Wild Horses' are beautiful; they are two of my favourite songs. Keith Richards writes, along with Jimmy Page, the best riffs ever, his range is great, and complemented perfectly by Mick Jagger's swaggering vocal performances. Charlie Watts isn't exactly a virtuoso drummer, but holds the beat brilliantly. Those who have come and gone over the years - Brian Jones, Mick Taylor, Bill Wyman, Ron Wood - they can all be heard here.

This is the definitive Rolling Stones compilation. Don't hesitate,don't read on - buy it and love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great overview of their career., 21 May 2006
By 
Alan Burridge (Poole,, Dorset. United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forty Licks (Audio CD)
Unless you feel the need to buy indivual Stone's albums for one reason or another, this double CD just about covers everything the casual music lover will need. There in the collection for when you feel in the mood for a blast from the greatest rock 'n' roll band of all time, this release has the early chart classics in abundance, along with latter-day hits which cropped up along the way, but are nevertheless just as memorable. As an aside, the booklet included has a fabulously written history and excellent photos from throughout the Stone's career. This is the one for me, and it gets played on a regular basis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars We miss you, Brian..., 11 Nov 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Forty Licks (Audio CD)
Criticising the Stones is almost impossible, so I'll attempt to confine myself to an objective assessment of this product. Disc 1 is gorgeous - an hour or so that provides you with a near-perfect guide to just why we listen to rock, fantastically crisp remasters of the Stones from their beginnings as a blues band via their flirtation with the dark side to the end of the sixties. This thing's worth your money if only for "Paint It Black". Disc 1 is a textbook, a manifesto, an unmissable, vivid, vital document of a band that defined what the snarling beast called rock could and should be.
Oh, and then there's Disc 2. Well, to be honest, they playlisted it very well - about fifteen minutes in a torpor descended and the sounds of a band going through the motions - for thirty years - took over. Contains a slightly different selection of later tracks to "Jump Back", again seemingly remastered rather admirably, but I wouldn't advise anyone to listen to both discs back to back. In isolation Disc 2 sounds fine, but it's infinitely depressing played after the sheer power and grandeur of disc 1.
There's some new material that's..... well, celebrity pub rock, really. I've heard better down my local of a Sunday afternoon, but it's beautifully recorded celebrity pub rock. Treat as filler, I think.
So, a representative and faithful (and fairly "warts and all", but most of the warts are on Disc 2) compilation of the Stones' output, but an inevitable part of that is accepting that fame and drink and drugs and endless touring and no Brian meant that they were never quite the same band again....
If only for Disc 1, unmissable. Think of Disc 2 as a bonus and it's still damn good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 7 Jun 2007
This review is from: Forty Licks (Audio CD)
This album is the diffinative collection, ts great, the best yet, being only 13 ive just gt into the Rolling Stones and this is the second album of theirs ive bought and well worth a look in, brilliant from start to finish, on continuous repeat on my ipod, i cant get enough
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia doesn't get any better than this., 2 Oct 2002
By 
L. HODGSON (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Forty Licks (Audio CD)
Lord Keef and co deliver forty of the almost best from a back catalogue that goes back - er forty years. I say 'almost' because they're bound to have left out your favourite.
(mine's Moonlight Mile since you ask). Forty Licks is a pretty well flawless collection. Re-mastering gets intruments and sounds coming through that you never heard on those mono singles. Turned up loud the songs on the first CD remind you why your parents really didn't like the Stones. You remember their outbursts just as you remember Stones moments in your life - with affection and gratitude. This collection is the stuff of nostalgia. Thanks boys. (As they tour the world - for the last time? - make sure you catch them and hear some of these Forty Licks played live).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A mixed bag that weaves a seductive spell, 7 Nov 2002
This review is from: Forty Licks (Audio CD)
Forty Licks is a compilation you will want to play again and again. Well, at least the first CD, which is a revelation. Believe everything you've heard about the remastering and prepare to rediscover the Stones as a band. The sound is more focused and detailed, but never loses its punch. If, like me, you bought the ABKCO reissues, this CD will show just how shoddy the mastering was on those CDs. I found myself hearing new things in almost every song...the acoustic guitar that drives Satisfaction...the fabulous bass guitar line in Under My Thumb...etc etc The songs themselves need no description - ok, We Love You is absent, but it's still an impressive catalogue of songs. One thing that comes across is how the Stones varied their approach with every song - this was a band that did not tread water.
Unfortunately, the sheer quality of CD1 means that CD2 is something of a let-down. True, there are some great songs here, but the overall effect is of a band losing its hunger and bite. They (particularly Mick) almost descend into self-parody too many times for comfort and it's hard to ignore the feeling of disappointment. The much-touted new tracks really are nothing special, and I don't understand the fuss about Losing My Touch - it's a formulaic torch ballad. Best to stick with the first CD, put yourself a programme together from CD2 and it's 12.99 well-spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, did they write all those songs?, 25 Sep 2005
By 
Pen Name "PN" (Marlow, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Forty Licks (Audio CD)
If you're not from the Stones era this is a great bet. Most of these songs are crackers. I was surprised by how many I recognised but didn't realise they were Stones tracks. There's a huge amount of energy and excitement on these two CDs. A lot better than most contemporary artists. Do yourself a favour and click Buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 40 Licks for 40 years (with more to come ...), 1 Oct 2002
By 
This review is from: 40 Licks (Limited Edition) (Audio CD)
Well, what can you say about The Rolling Stones that hasn't been said before? Answer: very little!
'Forty Licks' is the definitive Rolling Stones collection featuring 40 remastered tracks with 4 brand new songs on 2 CD's. We've all got various 'Best Of's' that have been released over the years, but this is THE one. In a ground-breaking deal between The Stones, Abcko and Virgin, this is the first time that this collection of songs has been released together.
Disc One deals sufficiently with everything in the Abcko back catalogue from the early years with absolute classics like 'Jumpin' Jack Flash', 'Satisfaction', 'Honky Tonk Women', 'Sympathy For The Devil', 'Under My Thumb' and 'Gimme Shelter'.
Disc Two gets it's teeth around the latter years Virgin catalogue with 'Start Me Up', 'Brown Sugar', 'Tumbling Dice' and 'Miss You', while also featuring lesser known tunes such as 'Shattered' and 'Beast Of Burden'.
The best thing about Disc Two though, is the 4 new tracks: 'Don't Stop' (the first single), 'Keys To Your Love', 'Stealing My Heart' and Keith's wonderful 'Losing My Touch'. These 4 tracks are so strong it's unbelievable! Normally, new tracks lack a certain something, but these 4 are just the tip of the iceberg of a marathon writing and recording session earlier in 2002 where over 28 tracks were cut.
If you haven't heard much of The Stones over the years:
a): Where have you been for the last 40 years??
or
b): Get this today
If you are a hardcore fan, get this anyway - it's the ultimate collection (and the new songs are great!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars maybe it should have been 45 licks?, 10 April 2006
By 
Deborah MacGillivray "Author," (US & UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
What can you say? It's Mick and the lads with 40 of their best. At that price it's a steal.
One sticking point some of the tracks are "Readers Digest" versions. They are not precisely the same song as they were originally.
So maybe they should have gone with 45 Licks and given the full weight. They should know fans recall every note.
Don't cheat die-hard fans! We don't appreciate it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

40 Licks (Limited Edition)
40 Licks (Limited Edition) by The Rolling Stones (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews